Jack the Giant Slayer

Jack the Giant Slayer Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Feb 27, 2013
    88
    A rousing, original and thoroughly entertaining adventure.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Feb 28, 2013
    75
    A giant chef character is an icky bit of inspiration (complete with booger humor to soothe any shell-shocked young’uns in the audience), and the monsters are key to an epic-scale third act. If you thought the tale ended when Jack clambered back down from the skies, then you haven’t given it as much thought as Singer.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Feb 28, 2013
    63
    Peter Jackson devotees may not like to hear this, but Jack the Giant Slayer is far more accomplished, visually speaking, than The Hobbit: An Unexpected Snooze, I mean, Journey.
  4. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 28, 2013
    58
    This is how a fairy-tale movie gives us our money's worth today. Even if once upon a time, it was called overkill.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Feb 28, 2013
    50
    Jack's problem is that he's a commoner, but the movie's problem is that its script is commoner still, an enchantment-free pretext for animated action, straight-ahead storytelling and ersatz romance.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 28, 2013
    50
    It's a bloodless, gutless piece of PG-13 fodder, geared to go down easy. That it does. It practically evaporates while you're watching it, lulling when you most want it to levitate.
  7. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Feb 27, 2013
    12
    This epic waste of $190 million plunders the grab bag of overused plotlines, failing to put its own stamp on much of anything.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 59
  2. Negative: 5 out of 59
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    Just came from seeing this with my kids. Was not too violent. Kids had a total blast and so did I. Total fun! An Oscar winner for bestJust came from seeing this with my kids. Was not too violent. Kids had a total blast and so did I. Total fun! An Oscar winner for best picture? Never, but who cares! This was totally enjoyable. Collapse
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    If you were to combine The Lord of the Rings' story with Robin Hood's personality and The Chronicles of Narnia's fantastical whimsy, you'd getIf you were to combine The Lord of the Rings' story with Robin Hood's personality and The Chronicles of Narnia's fantastical whimsy, you'd get Jack the Giant Slayer. With thrills, spills, and chills, Jack is a good adventure film that successfully modernizes its' fairy tale basis while lovingly nodding towards the classic tale.

    Great visuals and acting by the cast, with the stand-out being Ewan McGregor, who brings an Errol Flynn-like personality to Elmont. There's a few good messages also on embracing responsibility, bravery, and self-sacrifice. As far as a family movie night is concerned, Jack the Giant Slayer is a very mild PG-13, but I wouldn't recommend it for children under age 10. For while there is no on-screen blood or gore (the head-chomping is off-screen and the effects are seen from a distance), it still could spark a nightmare or two for younger ones. There's also a bit of mild language and giants are seen having gross habits.

    For a more detailed review, visit www.moviestakenseriously.blogspot.com
    Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2013
    7
    I admit I didn't expect much going into this, given the mixed reception. But I actually left very entertained. The story is loosely based onI admit I didn't expect much going into this, given the mixed reception. But I actually left very entertained. The story is loosely based on the old tale of Jack and the Beanstalk and while it for the most part stays true to it, it doesn't feel like some lazy copy from fairy tale book to movie script. But at the same time it didn't feel like a pathetic try-hard attempt to make a fairy tale "edgy" a la Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters. It hits a nice middle ground that's able to work well on its own merits. In other words the story isn't a rehashing or butchering but rather a reimagining. The characters, while not particularly unique or original, do work in the roles they're given. Even if the whole lower-class-guy-meets-upper-class-girl thing is kinda done-to-death, especially when the latter is royalty, and you know very well how the story's gonna end in that department. Also I like the idea of there being practically a whole other world within the beanstalk, rather than just an hour of climbing, which I feared the movie would be at first. It makes for a lot of great visuals and action scenes. Speaking of which, the fight scenes are very well-written/performed. Some notable ones (no spoilers) are the one with the giant chef and the one between Jack and Roderick in the stream. The giants, aka the "villains", have a nice design to them. And while I wouldn't say the CGI was amazing for them (especially in the close-ups) it worked well enough. Though they were clearly the most "cartoony" part of the film. One other thing I appreciate is how just when you think there's a cheap linear storybook ending about 3/4 in, it (somewhat realistically) continues in a way that would otherwise leave a massive plothole. And I think it pays off quite nicely, with the final battle making for a great scene that really hooks you in, ending on a creative and kinda funny note, depending on your sense of humor. Overall Jack the Giant Slayer exceeded my expectations and was very entertaining, albeit with a fairly predictable storyline and main character arch. It's not a tear-jerker or a laugh riot but more of just a fun adventure. I'd give it a 77/100. It probably won't end up my favorite movie of 2013 but it is for now. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2013
    6
    This was a fun movie. It doesn't try to be anything it's not and is filled with good action and characters. Only complaint is that the cgi wasThis was a fun movie. It doesn't try to be anything it's not and is filled with good action and characters. Only complaint is that the cgi was a little spotty at times. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2013
    6
    Besides from some lame jokes and mediocre visuals, Jack the Giant Slayer is a good adventure film that successfully modernizes its' fairy taleBesides from some lame jokes and mediocre visuals, Jack the Giant Slayer is a good adventure film that successfully modernizes its' fairy tale basis while staying true towards the classic tale. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    5
    THis wasn't a great movie. I found the action scenes very good, but the movie was all over the place. At points it was a comedy, but sometimesTHis wasn't a great movie. I found the action scenes very good, but the movie was all over the place. At points it was a comedy, but sometimes it was a serious adventure, or a fantasy war movie, and I don't know what they were thinking with linking it to real life. As well as that, it wasn't even consistent with who it was made for. The plot was too simple for the older crowd, but too violent for the children the plot seems to cater for. I also found that not many people have much of a motive. Why did the obviously evil guy keep killing his teammates? Why did Princess Isabel run away from a moderately reasonable request from her father and king? There were some good points, like the action scenes and the character of Jack, but not enough to justify more than a 5. Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2013
    0
    Awful, just awful. The acting is atrocious, the main male character too ugly to convince that he could charm a princess, the CGI is simplyAwful, just awful. The acting is atrocious, the main male character too ugly to convince that he could charm a princess, the CGI is simply poor. The story is boring and incoherent. Why are these movies made They will never make the studio money... Expand

See all 59 User Reviews

Trailers