Universal Pictures | Release Date: November 4, 2005
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 233 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
157
Mixed:
43
Negative:
33
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JoeB.Jan 29, 2007
If they were trying to show the boredom of war, they succeeded pretty well, because this movie is pretty boring and pointless. Very little entertainment value. Boy, I sure hope the real Marines aren't really like that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DavidMar 21, 2006
The movie evoked no emotions in me. Pointless and plotless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PaulC.Nov 7, 2005
The movie is bad. And worse, boring. The fact that there is only about 5 minutes of combat (grenades exploding all around our heroes,no gunfire) is bad enough. However, when the story drags down and the characters are lifeless and The movie is bad. And worse, boring. The fact that there is only about 5 minutes of combat (grenades exploding all around our heroes,no gunfire) is bad enough. However, when the story drags down and the characters are lifeless and emotionallly absent, it really makes for a bad film. A waste of 9 dollars. Avoid at all costs! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PeterG.Dec 6, 2005
I wish I never saw this movie because I lost respect for Sam Mendes. American Beauty was brilliant. Jarhead is flat, narcissistic, contrived and totally overdone. I guess now that Sam is a Hollywood big shot he has gotten a bit to impressed I wish I never saw this movie because I lost respect for Sam Mendes. American Beauty was brilliant. Jarhead is flat, narcissistic, contrived and totally overdone. I guess now that Sam is a Hollywood big shot he has gotten a bit to impressed with his own ego. Wreched movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PeteMay 5, 2006
Just plain horrible. Language and disturbing content pretty accurately spelled out on the cover. It's not entertaining at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SandwichOct 1, 2007
It kept my interest, if only because I was hoping for a scene or maybe a line that would get me thinking. It never did. Visually, it was well done. Intellectually and story-wise it was complete garbage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnS.Jan 24, 2007
A poor, dull film. Nothing happens in this film. The worst true story ever. It is a concept which can't be done well in a film. The characters are loud and annoying. It deserves a much lower score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
davidNov 15, 2005
Dude hollywood should be ashamed.the marines in this movie r portrayed as a bunch of immatures, sex cravin. desecratin, whinin a holes. i know marine that dont and never did act like this.u will never see a troop act like this that dont all Dude hollywood should be ashamed.the marines in this movie r portrayed as a bunch of immatures, sex cravin. desecratin, whinin a holes. i know marine that dont and never did act like this.u will never see a troop act like this that dont all need to be pistol whipped. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CappaDosteNov 1, 2005
One of the worst scripts ever written--pointless, boring, disconnected... the movie felt endless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarkS.Nov 7, 2005
This is one of the WORST military movies, and a complete disgrace to the marine corps, and our government. Besides the fact it has no story line and a dumb ending, the film is useless. Don't waste your time, money or brain on this This is one of the WORST military movies, and a complete disgrace to the marine corps, and our government. Besides the fact it has no story line and a dumb ending, the film is useless. Don't waste your time, money or brain on this one---remember I told you so....not even worth seeing on video if they let you have it for free---SERIOUSLY!!! This is a stupid, liberal, hollywood jerk off film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PatC.Apr 10, 2006
Poor imitation of recent memorable war movies. Seems to attempt to show our ineptitude in war, but this is more about ineptitude in movie making. Poorly edited to boot. Makes one not want to support our troops. Bring on the terrorists - Poor imitation of recent memorable war movies. Seems to attempt to show our ineptitude in war, but this is more about ineptitude in movie making. Poorly edited to boot. Makes one not want to support our troops. Bring on the terrorists - I'm sure their lives are much more fulfilling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TashaC.Apr 22, 2006
The fact that a supposedly TRUE story lies outright using urban legends and BS situations is not the least of this movies problems. Every marine corps wife wasn't unfaithful as the movie tries to portray...every marine wasn't a The fact that a supposedly TRUE story lies outright using urban legends and BS situations is not the least of this movies problems. Every marine corps wife wasn't unfaithful as the movie tries to portray...every marine wasn't a pants wetting thief. This is just the absulutely WORST "true" account I have ever seen. Married to a MARINE who proudly served in Desert storm. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrianG.Nov 6, 2005
I left this movie headed for a psychologist. This was the most depressing movie I have seen in a long time. It is basically a bunch of men wondering aimlessly around the desert looking to kill something and never actually getting to do that. I left this movie headed for a psychologist. This was the most depressing movie I have seen in a long time. It is basically a bunch of men wondering aimlessly around the desert looking to kill something and never actually getting to do that. It reminded me of Three Kings without the action. My vote it to wait for this one to come out on video. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveL.Nov 7, 2005
This movie was terrible, should have been rated X, purely political to disgrace our country and those that serve.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GregS.Nov 7, 2005
What a terrible film for the USA to offer to the fundamentalists and terrorists to exploit, to show US troops as animals, to show young US marines as pigs. How low and absurd.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
1stsgtCampbellJan 12, 2006
This movie is complete and utter fabrication and exageration. The author is a pathetic excuse for a Marine. He was a S-BIRD at best when he was lucky enough to actually wear our uniform. In my 22 years of first hand experience in our beloved This movie is complete and utter fabrication and exageration. The author is a pathetic excuse for a Marine. He was a S-BIRD at best when he was lucky enough to actually wear our uniform. In my 22 years of first hand experience in our beloved Corps, I never witnessed the unprofessional acts portrayed in this cup cake movie. Jamie Fox couldn't pass for a boot corporal, much less a 0369 Staff Sergeant. He'd get ate alive in the enlisted ranks. This movie was not accurate and a very poor attempt to make a buck off the country's most selfless warriors. I am ashamed for the author. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SeanT.Mar 11, 2006
I am appauled by this movie. I am also afraid! I hope our young men are not the psychotic immoral group that they are portrayed to be in this movie. God help us if they are...and if they are being trained the way they were depicted to be in I am appauled by this movie. I am also afraid! I hope our young men are not the psychotic immoral group that they are portrayed to be in this movie. God help us if they are...and if they are being trained the way they were depicted to be in this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveT.Jan 31, 2007
This movie is boring. I had more fun when I got my wisdom teeth pulled.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Guy!May 13, 2007
This movie wasn't funny or exciting, it was DISGUSTING!!!!! Are marines really that obbsessed with sex?!?! Plus: this movie goes nowhere, it just takes place in a camp where nothing happens. I watched this movie hoping for something This movie wasn't funny or exciting, it was DISGUSTING!!!!! Are marines really that obbsessed with sex?!?! Plus: this movie goes nowhere, it just takes place in a camp where nothing happens. I watched this movie hoping for something like Saving private Ryan or WIndtalkers, and I got the story of a pack of wild animals living in the desert. Don't make the same mistake I did, and don't watch this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeB.Nov 14, 2005
Greatest recruiting tool ever for bin Laden. The marines are shown disrepecting Islamic dead and veiled women. God help us if this is shown overseas. The marines received no good publicity from this flick; Islamic extremist will have a field Greatest recruiting tool ever for bin Laden. The marines are shown disrepecting Islamic dead and veiled women. God help us if this is shown overseas. The marines received no good publicity from this flick; Islamic extremist will have a field day with this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CooterPatooterFeb 21, 2012
A film that keeps you thinking the big payoff is just around the corner... then nothing happens. Perhaps this is an intentional analogy of the main character's military life or perhaps the film is just stilted and boring. I felt completelyA film that keeps you thinking the big payoff is just around the corner... then nothing happens. Perhaps this is an intentional analogy of the main character's military life or perhaps the film is just stilted and boring. I felt completely disconnected from the characters and their attempts to convey the emotions of overseas deployment elicited nothing more than a shoulder shrug. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews