New Line Cinema | Release Date: April 26, 2002
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 142 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
78
Mixed:
24
Negative:
40
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
TheQuietGamerApr 25, 2015
Once you get over the absurdity of the premise you can see the potential for a good film here. A slasher film set in space sounds awesome. While we technically already got that with 1979's "Alien" this movie had the advantage of having aOnce you get over the absurdity of the premise you can see the potential for a good film here. A slasher film set in space sounds awesome. While we technically already got that with 1979's "Alien" this movie had the advantage of having a legendary horror villain to use that could have set it to greatness. However the results aren't as satisfying.

In it's best moments it can seem like a low-budget version of Alien. In it's worst the intentionally self-aware sense of humor cranks up the absurdity dial and pulls you out of the experience. Not that it was that great of a movie anyway. As always with this series the scares are non-existent and the appeal is just on watching characters get killed in brutally amusing ways while maybe getting to see some boobs in the process. It's mindless, but entertaining.

You think that the jokes would actually end up adding some value to the experience, but they actually just end up bringing it down. Self-aware doesn't always equal funny. Sometimes the jokes can just be cringe worthy. However the only times things get bad is during an intentionally goofy showdown between Jason and a one-liner spouting android. That whole scene is just awful.

I think the film would actually have benefited if it had taken the serious tone of the earlier Friday the 13th films. The idea would still be out there, but at least we would have avoided the bad jokes. As it stand though there is some entertainment to be had here. It can be quite fun and it's pretty cool to see Jason cutting down space marines. Your enjoyment depends on whether or not you can get behind the premise, as well as how big a fan you are of this series. As far as I'm concerned it's far from Jason's worst killing spree.

I give "Jason X" a 6.5/10.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
JenseC.Mar 13, 2003
The film was just fine for people who love the slasher-kind-of-movies, although there are not alot of things possible in our reality,the movie want to proof otherwise (the year is 2455,so...) good to watch before going to bed, but certainly The film was just fine for people who love the slasher-kind-of-movies, although there are not alot of things possible in our reality,the movie want to proof otherwise (the year is 2455,so...) good to watch before going to bed, but certainly not one to buy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TheElusivePossomMay 27, 2003
Well, with a premise involving a psycho-hockey-mask-wearing serial killer aboard a futuristic space ship that can regenerate himself, you just know that this is going to be a pile of inundulating cack. But that's not why I'd watch Well, with a premise involving a psycho-hockey-mask-wearing serial killer aboard a futuristic space ship that can regenerate himself, you just know that this is going to be a pile of inundulating cack. But that's not why I'd watch it. Surprisingly, the redeeming features in this film lie in it's imagination and humour. The death scenes in this movie are numerous and generally intuitive (liquid nitrogen on face ;)) and there are one or two rare moments that will LITERALLY have you laughing your head off (a scene in a virtual woodland with 2 girls springs to mind). Also, the DVD houses a pleasingly appropriate interface to browse. Why not hire it for a laugh? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GilbertMulroneycakesLiveAtTheHollywoodBowlNov 27, 2002
Titter. This film WAS A joke. That's the point. Look, everyone, it says, I'm an imbecile! Really not worth spending cinema-ticket-and-popcorn money on, but rent it if you're after a nice, brainless waste of time. It's Titter. This film WAS A joke. That's the point. Look, everyone, it says, I'm an imbecile! Really not worth spending cinema-ticket-and-popcorn money on, but rent it if you're after a nice, brainless waste of time. It's rubbish; but it knows it's rubbish. Which doesn't make it less rubbish, but it does make it more entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AnthonyFJul 15, 2009
The filmmakers have fun with the absurdity of the series in this one. Jason X is better than a lot of the original sequels partially because everyone involved in it knows it's stupid. The plot is stupid, the characters are stupid, the The filmmakers have fun with the absurdity of the series in this one. Jason X is better than a lot of the original sequels partially because everyone involved in it knows it's stupid. The plot is stupid, the characters are stupid, the dialog is stupid, and we, the audience, for buying into it, are stupid too. For that, everyone is happy. Sort of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ArkonBladeAug 23, 2010
by no means look at that score of 5 and think im doing that because its was a ok movie. no it gets a 6 for how awsomely bad its is . what do i mean by "awsomely bad" ? i mean a film thats acted so bad , a story so stupidly rediculas itsby no means look at that score of 5 and think im doing that because its was a ok movie. no it gets a 6 for how awsomely bad its is . what do i mean by "awsomely bad" ? i mean a film thats acted so bad , a story so stupidly rediculas its comical . not many films meet this standerd most films are just horrable , bad , wachable , ok , good , great , or awsome . very few meet my awsomely bad standerd . this film should be viewed by no one . unless you get the laugh of how exceptionaly comicaly bad theese kinda films are . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
billrullerApr 23, 2013
Is it stupid? Yes! Is it entertaining? Well, I would say so. The plot is incredibly silly, Jason Voorhees in space. That alone makes you know that this isn't gonna be taken seriously. But out of all the Jason movies, I think this one has theIs it stupid? Yes! Is it entertaining? Well, I would say so. The plot is incredibly silly, Jason Voorhees in space. That alone makes you know that this isn't gonna be taken seriously. But out of all the Jason movies, I think this one has the most body count. Speaking of that, the gore was pretty good and I come back mostly to watch that. Overall, it is a stupid movie, but its also fun and imaginative. I kinda like this better than "Jason Goes to Hell". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Kyle39Sep 9, 2012
Almost like Jason becomes The Terminator. Has some good moments, but the plot is inane and there's too much comedy here for my taste. Hodder, again, is great in the role of Jason. Some slick kills, but the characters are un-likeable andAlmost like Jason becomes The Terminator. Has some good moments, but the plot is inane and there's too much comedy here for my taste. Hodder, again, is great in the role of Jason. Some slick kills, but the characters are un-likeable and somewhat idiotic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews