Jersey Girl

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 65
  2. Negative: 11 out of 65

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. ChristaL.
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    KEVIN'S BEST!!!
  2. C.J.
    Mar 28, 2004
    8
    Our boy Kevin Smith is growing up. Share in his growth by going to see Jersey Girl.
  3. ChadH.
    Mar 28, 2004
    9
    This is a movie that I, as a Kevin Smith fan, was able to take my wife to see. We both cried at times and I did not feel the sentiment to be coerced. I wonder if some of the reviewers have spouses and children, because this movie stands to make you ask yourselves difficult, but (sadly) real questions about the hearts longevity outlasting that of your loved ones' bodies. Fine acting This is a movie that I, as a Kevin Smith fan, was able to take my wife to see. We both cried at times and I did not feel the sentiment to be coerced. I wonder if some of the reviewers have spouses and children, because this movie stands to make you ask yourselves difficult, but (sadly) real questions about the hearts longevity outlasting that of your loved ones' bodies. Fine acting all around. Very emotional and sometimes funny, much like life. Expand
  4. ChadH.
    Mar 28, 2004
    9
    This is a movie that I, as a Kevin Smith fan, was able to take my wife to see. We both cried at times and I did not feel the sentiment to be coerced. I wonder if some of the reviewers have spouses and children, because this movie stands to make you ask yourselves difficult, but (sadly) real questions about the hearts longevity outlasting that of your loved ones' bodies. Fine acting This is a movie that I, as a Kevin Smith fan, was able to take my wife to see. We both cried at times and I did not feel the sentiment to be coerced. I wonder if some of the reviewers have spouses and children, because this movie stands to make you ask yourselves difficult, but (sadly) real questions about the hearts longevity outlasting that of your loved ones' bodies. Fine acting all around. Very emotional and sometimes funny, much like life. Expand
  5. TomO.
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    Go see Jersey Girl. It strikes all the right chords. Well done, Kevin.
  6. TexansGal
    Mar 31, 2004
    10
    This movie is an awesome movie!
  7. Fantasy
    Apr 10, 2004
    10
    Let me preface my remarks that I have no allegiance to Kevin Smith or any of the actors in this film. I had no idea what I was walking into in the packed theater. Obviously, this is a "word of mouth" film. Well, I walked away examining my life and family? If this flick does not touch a cord with you, you probably do not have any blood flowing through your veins? This movie is simply Let me preface my remarks that I have no allegiance to Kevin Smith or any of the actors in this film. I had no idea what I was walking into in the packed theater. Obviously, this is a "word of mouth" film. Well, I walked away examining my life and family? If this flick does not touch a cord with you, you probably do not have any blood flowing through your veins? This movie is simply fantastic even if somewhat corny and totally predictable. The ensemble cast tugs at your heart strings making you cry, laugh, experience the pain, frustration and anguish. In the end, it puts an exclamation point on what is truly important in the competitive game of life! Little Raquel Castro captivates the silver screen. If you can't handle the gamut of emotions, you will not like it, but if you can, this is a Memory (pun intended) that will touch your heart forever. Don't miss it. Collapse
  8. Bob
    Apr 16, 2004
    10
    Just a wonderful feel good movie about real values and family.
  9. BreeW.
    Apr 20, 2004
    8
    Raquel Castro stole the show and I can't wait to see next movie as I did with Dakota Fanning from Uptown Girls! Well Done!!
  10. KristiB.
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    Terrific feel-good movie. It was great all around. Affleck is not the greatest actor but the supporting cast more than made up for his shortcomings. Kevin Smith really did well with his departure from his usual fare. Good Job!
  11. AlexN.
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    I would start off by saying that while I have seen a large portion of Smith's body of work, I am in no way a "fan" of any of his prior View Askew films. I find his self-referential and often scatological humor to be trite, obscene, and pointless. That said, he has skill in working actors to give performances in tune to the environment of the work. This piece may not be similar to I would start off by saying that while I have seen a large portion of Smith's body of work, I am in no way a "fan" of any of his prior View Askew films. I find his self-referential and often scatological humor to be trite, obscene, and pointless. That said, he has skill in working actors to give performances in tune to the environment of the work. This piece may not be similar to Smith's earlier, less family-oriented work, but it is important to remember that Spielberg made both "Amistad" AND "E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial." A director has no responsibility to his earlier work, and Smith's "Jersey Girl" stands alone just fine as a dramatic piece about family, love, life, losses, and how adults cope with the world around them. This is not, as so many people claim, a family film, but rather a film about family. It is intended for adult audiences - adult in both senses of the word - people who search only for Smith's juvenile humor will be sorely disappointed with this film. This is a film for parents, for mature viewers looking for an easy watch, for people who want a film that has something to say, but also remembers its primary role as entertainment. Sure, it isn't Doctor Zhivago, but at least it isn't Mallrats. It is moving, thoughtful, entertaining, and even if it is a little too sweet, that's better than the alternative. Worth the rental for you and your girlfriend, wife, partner, etc. Expand
  12. JanetteF.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    A movie with a heart.
  13. JaredSS
    Mar 27, 2004
    7
    Now, my cinematic relationship with Kevin Smith is tricky...while I love Clerks and Chasing Amy, i have sort of a love-hate relationship with Dogma, and while i do feel that Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back and Mallrats are good for cheap laughs and funny dialogue...they're not exactly "good" films. Jersey Girl was a refreshing change from Smith's earlier efforts. It's his Now, my cinematic relationship with Kevin Smith is tricky...while I love Clerks and Chasing Amy, i have sort of a love-hate relationship with Dogma, and while i do feel that Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back and Mallrats are good for cheap laughs and funny dialogue...they're not exactly "good" films. Jersey Girl was a refreshing change from Smith's earlier efforts. It's his first film that actually exists in the "real" world...as opposed to the View Askewniverse that his other movies take place in. It was very very funny and well-written...as well as well acted. Some parts were a little on the sappy side, but I stood it. Some predicaments were on the cliche side...but I stood it. I guess I just have a soft spot for Kevin when it all comes down to it... Definitely worth-watching. Don't listen to the critics on this one. Expand
  14. CherylFayeS.
    Mar 27, 2004
    10
    Not since I watched E.T. many years ago, have I experienced such a wide range of emotion while watching a movie. Writer/Director Kevin Smith created what will certainly become a classic. There was richness and depth of emotion that we haven't seen from him in the past. The cast worked well as an ensemble and this was Ben Affleck's best performance yet. You will want to see this Not since I watched E.T. many years ago, have I experienced such a wide range of emotion while watching a movie. Writer/Director Kevin Smith created what will certainly become a classic. There was richness and depth of emotion that we haven't seen from him in the past. The cast worked well as an ensemble and this was Ben Affleck's best performance yet. You will want to see this movie more than once. I saw it March 10 and I saw it again March 26. Expand
  15. DennisL.
    Mar 29, 2004
    9
    Nothing like any of Smith's previous works but still a great flick. For anyone who has grown up with Smith from Clerks to present day understands that as our lives change, so do our experiences. Smith has made an amazingly sweet and mature movie about growing up and evolving from what you were into what you were meant to be. As stated in other reviews, don't listen to the Nothing like any of Smith's previous works but still a great flick. For anyone who has grown up with Smith from Clerks to present day understands that as our lives change, so do our experiences. Smith has made an amazingly sweet and mature movie about growing up and evolving from what you were into what you were meant to be. As stated in other reviews, don't listen to the critics on this one. Expand
  16. JaredG.
    Mar 31, 2004
    8
    Ben Affleck has proved himself as a good actor after last year's 2 movie daredevil and gigil. Also George Carlin was fantastic as a supporting character.
  17. MarkB.
    Apr 14, 2004
    8
    A delightful, endearing, witty and wonderfully acted comedy about adulthood, responsibility and big decisions, this not only stands proudly beside some of the best films about parenthood of the last several decades, ranging from Penny Serenade to, well, Parenthood. Why is Kevin Smith getting a bum rap from critics who should know better who have been accusing him of selling out? Besides A delightful, endearing, witty and wonderfully acted comedy about adulthood, responsibility and big decisions, this not only stands proudly beside some of the best films about parenthood of the last several decades, ranging from Penny Serenade to, well, Parenthood. Why is Kevin Smith getting a bum rap from critics who should know better who have been accusing him of selling out? Besides the fact that there's enough material here about porn films, masturbation and sexual embarrassment to instantly peg this as the work of "the Clerks guy" (in fact, this movie really does push the boundaries of the PG-13 rating at times) but Smith has always been at his best when blending juvenile humor with serious concerns such as the imploding of a relationship (Chasing Amy) and the existence and purpose of God (Dogma). (The Smith movies that stay entirely in the sandbox, specifically Mallrats and Jay and Silent Bob Strilke Back, are for me pretty near unwatchable.) Affleck's subtle, low-key performance reminds us of his best work in Amy and in Changing Lanes; George Carlin as Affleck's semi-alcoholic blue-collar dad proves that he can be as great an actor as he is a comedian; Raquel Castro in the title role makes me look forward to her next movie as I did with Haley Joel Osment a few years ago...and, hard as it is to believe considering the year she and Ben just finished putting us through, Jennifer Lopez's brief scenes with him earn the highest compliment: they left me wanting more! Expand
  18. JosephM.
    Apr 16, 2004
    7
    Not one of Kevin Smith's better movies, but not bad at all. Carlin was great. Felt like it had Smith's humor in it but toned down for a broader range of viewers.
  19. WendelC.
    Apr 18, 2004
    10
    Simply wonderful family entertainment that all can enjoy. It hits the mark on what is important.
  20. MegC.
    Sep 24, 2004
    8
    Very cute :)
  21. BrandonE.
    Sep 8, 2004
    10
    Excellent...the cast is great...and the story line was perfect...very heartwarming movie...felt a tear in my eye several times...also a great movie to watch with your girlfriend...a+
  22. MitchA.
    Dec 3, 2007
    9
    This film may be soppy and extremely sentimental, but do they always have to be bad points. Not the usual Kevin Smith film, but for what it lacks in dick jokes and snootchie bootchies it makes up for in heart.Very funny!!
  23. TarasE.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Simply great.
  24. RaoulD.
    Mar 26, 2004
    9
    Great movie. Some parts are a bit forced, but a terrific script and cast prevails.
  25. JasonB.
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    I walked out of the movie actually thinking about having kids...and I hate kids. Honestly, I don't know if I would have seen this movie if it wasn't a Kevin Smith project, but now that I have, I want to recommend it to the biggest Kevin Smith haters out there
  26. GregT.
    Sep 13, 2004
    8
    A fun and redeeming family movie but not for the kids. It redeeems families for adults who are seeking a daddy just like Ben Affleck's character, and for those people who think that fathers are not always the villians in the breakdown of the American Family.
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 35
  2. Negative: 9 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    63
    Smith is looking more and more like a developing major talent, so it could be years until we get a handle on this movie's legacy. The film is not only defensible as a cute one-shot, but also as a positive sign for the future.
  2. If Affleck stumbles, Smith's script does nothing to catch his fall. Surprisingly, Smith's truest talent – that of writing – is Jersey Girl's weakest link.
  3. 75
    It's an unabashedly square picture, and proud of it. It is also a warm, funny, earnest movie, a stand-up exercise in a kind of Hollywood melodrama -- the feel-good weepie -- that has long been out of fashion.