Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    May 4, 2012
    50
    Even for a surreal black comedy, Jesus Henry Christ requires massive suspension of disbelief.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    May 3, 2012
    50
    Whatever it intends, Jesus Henry Christ is not especially funny. There are witticisms galore in both the thematically recurrent imagery and the dialogue, but very few qualify as jokes, and any laughter is hard to come by. Willfully zany would be a more apt description.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    May 9, 2012
    42
    As with his previous film "Fireflies in the Garden," writer-director Dennis Lee scratches the skin of family bonds until it bleeds. This time, he uses whimsy as a salve.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 3, 2012
    20
    It winds up just being annoying.
  5. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    May 1, 2012
    20
    Why anyone would want to spend time with a foursome whose bathetic misery is, like the overly mannered visuals of writer-director Dennis Lee (Fireflies in the Garden), defined by such insufferable quirkiness is anyone's guess.
  6. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Apr 15, 2012
    50
    Amusing but scattered and unconvincing comedy.
  7. 38
    Try not to be in the same room as Jesus Henry Christ. At the very least run when the first fire alarm sounds.
  8. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Apr 30, 2012
    12
    The title alone invites you to cuss at this smug film, and you may do so the second you catch a whiff of the portentous first shot: a Wes Anderson put-on.
  9. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    May 1, 2012
    60
    Making their screen debuts, young Spevack and Weinstein give the film's most natural performances and provide its little bit of warmth, but it seems time to petition Collette, a truly gifted actress, to take a long hiatus from playing bitter single moms.
  10. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Apr 19, 2012
    70
    This time out Lee looks to bake a touch of twee-ness into the film in the hopes of keeping things light, though more often than not, the film's flourishes come off as Wes Anderson-lite.
  11. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    Apr 19, 2012
    50
    Henry can finish a college application test in two minutes, yet Jesus Henry Christ doesn't know what to do with 90.
  12. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Apr 15, 2012
    70
    Too deliberately eccentric to attain quite the level of wigginess it aspires to, Jesus Henry Christ does feature some standout performances and a refreshingly unconventional approach to telling its slight story.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Dec 7, 2014
    6
    When you watch as many independent films as I do, you know you're going to come across a few weird ones. Jesus Henry Christ may take the cakeWhen you watch as many independent films as I do, you know you're going to come across a few weird ones. Jesus Henry Christ may take the cake though, as it was really out there. 10 year old Henry Herman (Jason Spevack) is a genius, with one of the highest IQ's ever recorded. This genius was actually a test tube baby, and his lifelong goal has been to find out where his genius comes from. It's certainly not from the Herman family, which is the definition of a dysfunctional family, so whoever it is, has to better than them. Henry will come to discover that his father is a college professor, who wrote a book about how to condition your children to be gay from birth. He has a sister too, who thanks to her father, is the laughing stock of her whole school. When the two halves of Henry come together, hilarity ensues in this screwball comedy. Young Jason Spevack stars, and while he's just a kid, his character was super annoying. If you hate people who think they are smarter than everyone, try watching a kid who knows he's smarter than everyone. Thankfully, there is more to the movie then the musings and rambles of young Henry. His Grandfather and half-sister are both hilarious, and easily are the best part of the movie. Unfortunately, they don't have huge roles, and the film is left with simply moments of hilarity. Overall, Jesus Henry Christ is a strange film, with a few funny moments, but generally it's pretty slow and uninteresting. Toni Collette of Sixth Sense fame is the only person of recognition in this cast, but her role was so insignificant, that she doesn't do much to help an otherwise young and inexperienced cast. While it's not a bad film, Jesus Henry Christ isn't great either. It has it's moments and the story is somewhat interesting, but unless the storyline interests you, I would go ahead and skip this one. Full Review »
  2. Jan 13, 2014
    1
    I'm autistic, so you could say I'm someone like Henry, and in a few ways, I guess I am. But that's like movies based on real life facts forI'm autistic, so you could say I'm someone like Henry, and in a few ways, I guess I am. But that's like movies based on real life facts for me. With the exception of Saving Private Ryan, almost none of these movies entertain me. And in this case, I don't like movies like these because they kind of insult me. It didn't just do that, but it seriously annoyed me. Full Review »