Jin Roh: The Wolf Brigade

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 3 out of 20

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EricC.
    Oct 10, 2001
    9
    I got this movie in the Cantonese version on VCD, even though I've lost my knowledge of chinese ever since moving to a foreign country, the film is still amazing. I do understand what is going on. Jin-Roh uses wolves as symbols of killers and death. There are some gore scene that I've never seen in any anime before. One of the finest tales I've seen in any anime film.
  2. JuanR.
    Mar 8, 2002
    9
    Jin-roh was an excellent piece of work.
  3. NormanG.
    Jul 19, 2001
    8
    An artful anime film which mixes 1940's armament, 1950's cars and sci-fi technology in an alternate-reality take on post-war Japan. The human realities of living in a protofascist country and how what goes on in smoke-filled rooms affects many lives adds to the downbeat but interesting story line, which is layered enough to require real viewer attention, possibly a negative in An artful anime film which mixes 1940's armament, 1950's cars and sci-fi technology in an alternate-reality take on post-war Japan. The human realities of living in a protofascist country and how what goes on in smoke-filled rooms affects many lives adds to the downbeat but interesting story line, which is layered enough to require real viewer attention, possibly a negative in this attention deficit riddled society. Ultimately though, an artistic triumph. Too bad it wasn't subtitled, though the dubbing was done well. Expand
  4. JoshS.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    Some of the negative criticism is spot-on, I will admit. The animation does not adequately convey the emotional agony that I think Fuse is going through. The background information provided in the movie is barely enough to make the plot sensible - a little more would have helped. But having said all this, I still find myself compelled to watch it again and again. I am only a casual fan of Some of the negative criticism is spot-on, I will admit. The animation does not adequately convey the emotional agony that I think Fuse is going through. The background information provided in the movie is barely enough to make the plot sensible - a little more would have helped. But having said all this, I still find myself compelled to watch it again and again. I am only a casual fan of the genre, but the good things I could say about this movie would not fit in the available space! I strongly recommend it. Expand
  5. JimB.
    Jul 28, 2001
    10
    I have a subtitled version of this movie. And while the subtitler needed just a few more English lessons, I found it to be one of the most beutifully drawn, artistic anime's I've ever seen. I haven't seen the dub so I cann't compare it to that. Personally I use this film as a standard when I judge an animated movie. Attention to details. I cannot but praise the makers I have a subtitled version of this movie. And while the subtitler needed just a few more English lessons, I found it to be one of the most beutifully drawn, artistic anime's I've ever seen. I haven't seen the dub so I cann't compare it to that. Personally I use this film as a standard when I judge an animated movie. Attention to details. I cannot but praise the makers of this film in this category, from the movements of the characters, the realistic condensation of people breathing, and the formation sweat. Characters: One of thefew anime's out there that doesn't resort to using wild hair to distinguish characters. All of the characters show evidence of much thought and intelligence, and intense emotional dynamics. Plot/purpose: This movie blends a observation of political backstabbing, while demon straighting how each character is both the wolf and the prey/red-riding hood. This film makes great uses of symbolism and allusion here, far better than any anime I've seen, and most live action movies. Animation: Wow... better than Mononoke in some ways, what I really loved is that the artwork not only had lots of detail but surfaces had texture and depth, through the entire film. Not just the slow scenes, but also in the fast. While I don't consider this an action movie, The "actionesque" scenes are very realistic and again much care was taken from body/object movement Even bullets are kept track of. Music: I ended up hear on a sidetrip on my way to find the soundtrack. Expand
  6. WilliamK.
    Feb 20, 2008
    7
    Rather heavy-handed in the Red Riding Hood symbolism, and the various conspiracies are not well-explained at all. Why exactly are there so many terrorist organizations? What is the Wolf Brigade? Why is the girl so important? Who the hell is the protagonist and what is he trying to do? Even at the end you will have no idea what the answer to any of these questions are. Also it's way Rather heavy-handed in the Red Riding Hood symbolism, and the various conspiracies are not well-explained at all. Why exactly are there so many terrorist organizations? What is the Wolf Brigade? Why is the girl so important? Who the hell is the protagonist and what is he trying to do? Even at the end you will have no idea what the answer to any of these questions are. Also it's way too slow-paced to be taken as a straight action movie, so it's not like these flaws can be ignored. That said some of the action scenes were great, and the beginning scene was pretty sweet. It only starts to disappoint near the end, where the characters begin to overtly refer to the symbolism and you realize that the movie will NOT be explaining what the hell is going on to you. I don't really get the criticism that the characters didn't express enough emotion. They expressed plenty. These are all stoic and traumatized people, they're not going to go around revealing their emotions by making goofily exaggerated faces. I think the subtle approach works much better than whatever Looney Tunes crap people were expecting. Expand
  7. MellisaW.
    Aug 3, 2001
    10
    This movie is absolutely amazing in all every respects. The animation is astounding, and the story and characters are well thought out and extremely engaging. The plot is something rare in American movies: intelligent. It forces you to think about the images and dialouge that you are witnessing and hearing. This is a must for anyone looking for more than "Legally Blonde" and for the This movie is absolutely amazing in all every respects. The animation is astounding, and the story and characters are well thought out and extremely engaging. The plot is something rare in American movies: intelligent. It forces you to think about the images and dialouge that you are witnessing and hearing. This is a must for anyone looking for more than "Legally Blonde" and for the hard-core anime fan. Expand
  8. PascalL.
    Apr 12, 2002
    10
    Incredible... Deep story.
  9. FrankC.
    Jun 22, 2002
    9
    Well animated, great plot, and likeable characters. A little confusing, but all around good movie. Not the basic Tragedy story.
  10. SteveC.
    Nov 4, 2002
    8
    This movie is very good. The scenario was made by Mamoru Oshii and his movies are the best !
  11. Dec 30, 2014
    10
    this is one of the best anime films i have ever seen. the film makers use a lot of symbolism that normally would come across a pretentious but in this film's case it's used to great effect. both the story and animation are incredible, the acting in the english dub is performed very well and if you see it you'll feel better for having watched it. it deserves a better average score than it has
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 80
    A superbly crafted science-fiction fairy tale that's both Grimm and grim.
  2. 40
    Something to behold; it's just not much to watch, despite admirable ambition and a few tense, well-thought-out sequences.
  3. 50
    Characters are undermined by the inexpressive animation that mars the majority of animated films: Their haunted inner lives are clearly meant to take center stage, but their faces are blank and two-dimensional.