Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 150 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 15, 2013
    80
    Entertaining and smart, with a great, career 2.0 performance from Ashton Kutcher.
  2. 63
    It’s superficial, but that plays into the hands of the film’s star, Ashton Kutcher.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Mar 18, 2013
    60
    The filmmakers do fall into the trap of overly sentimentalizing a widely beloved public figure who represents an enormous cultural significance. At the same time, however, they keep the movie frequently engaging.
  4. Reviewed by: Kyle Ryan
    Aug 14, 2013
    50
    For (nearly) every yin of Ashton Kutcher’s Steve Jobs flashing a moment of brilliance, there’s a yang of someone saying he’s changed or is his own worst enemy. The unwritten, but understood, full title of Joshua Michael Stern’s film is "Jobs: Brilliant Asshole."
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Aug 15, 2013
    50
    One thing it doesn't do is offer a revealing look at the mercurial entrepreneur. The movie that bears his name settles on a blandly superficial treatment of a deeply complex man.
  6. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Aug 21, 2013
    40
    It fails to rise above the inherent limitations of the traditional Hollywood biopic and it's about as insanely great as a Mac "low cost" LC model – which was, to be fair, pretty cool.
  7. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Aug 12, 2013
    0
    Steered by a lead actor and director, Joshua Michael Stern, who are both way out of their respective leagues, Jobs is excruciating, failing to entertain and all but pissing on its subject's grave.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 42
  2. Negative: 11 out of 42
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Ashton kutcher did an amazing performance. The movie itself could be better directed. Yet it is still inspiring and amazing. Kutcher by farAshton kutcher did an amazing performance. The movie itself could be better directed. Yet it is still inspiring and amazing. Kutcher by far did the best performance of his career and showed that he has a great potential. Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    8
    I really don't see what the negative criticism surrounding this movie is all about; it was pretty good. Whether or not the movie is accurateI really don't see what the negative criticism surrounding this movie is all about; it was pretty good. Whether or not the movie is accurate in portraying Steve Jobs, I don't know. Did it gloss over some important things in Steve's life? Maybe. But I do know is that this is a compelling drama film and Ashton Kutcher's performance was good. Liked seeing Steve Job's humble beginnings. I don't think the film is biased or "just another piece of Apple advertising"; on the contrary, it shows the positive and negative aspects of Steve's personality and life. I wish the film had covered more of his life, particularly leading up to his death.

    Too bad Steve sometimes seems kinda like a douchebag and an insane perfectionist. (He even refuses to support for or provide for his own daughter!)

    If you liked this review, read my other ones on a wide variety of movies and TV shows and mark this review as helpful.
    Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2013
    7
    Pure entertainment. Critics have ruined it for me. The ending was good, although it could be much better if it was with Jobs as an old man. IPure entertainment. Critics have ruined it for me. The ending was good, although it could be much better if it was with Jobs as an old man. I saw some directing mistakes, but Ashton Kutcher did an AMAZING performance!!!!! Excellent to him. A huge well done to the movie. Do not listen to the critics, and watch it! Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2013
    5
    Ashton Kutcher may have the talent to play Steve Jobs, but the rest of the movie cuts out a few very important details of his life, whileAshton Kutcher may have the talent to play Steve Jobs, but the rest of the movie cuts out a few very important details of his life, while being monotonous in the process. But it is worth watching. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    "Jobs" 10 Scale Rating: 5.5 (Decent) ...

    The Good: Kutcher is one of the few actors whose mere appearance in a film will cause it to lose
    "Jobs" 10 Scale Rating: 5.5 (Decent) ...

    The Good: Kutcher is one of the few actors whose mere appearance in a film will cause it to lose points for me, but he was actually pretty good in this. In fact, the entire cast did a good job. Jobs is a fascinating person, so it wasn't hard to keep my interest.

    The Bad: Jobs has been described as difficult and downright anti-social at times, but "Jobs" makes him out to be a Grade A jackass. I don't think that was their intent, but when the lead is this unlikeable, it really takes away from a film. Other critics have already pointed this out, but the film also feels like a made-for-television movie.
    Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2013
    3
    Jobs is a boring movie. It feels like the low budget, made-for-tv version of The Social Network. I'm angry that I wasted money on it, and I'mJobs is a boring movie. It feels like the low budget, made-for-tv version of The Social Network. I'm angry that I wasted money on it, and I'm upset at how bad it turned out to be considering how good the trailer looked. Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2014
    0
    I agree with SimpleMethod. Jobs really does come off as a straight to TV movie and try as he might, Ashton Kutcher was a god awful choice toI agree with SimpleMethod. Jobs really does come off as a straight to TV movie and try as he might, Ashton Kutcher was a god awful choice to play Steve Jobs. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers