Joe

Joe Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: An ex-con (Nicholas Cage), who is the unlikeliest of role models, meets a 15-year-old boy (Tye Sheridan) and is faced with the choice of redemption or ruin.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Sobczynski
    Apr 11, 2014
    100
    If your moviegoing needs are driven less by a need to "feel good" afterwards and more by a desire to see something that will grab and touch you in ways that you will not be shaking anytime soon, this is the movie for you.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Sep 16, 2013
    83
    If Joe marks a new beginning for some of its characters, the same description applies to its director and star.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 17, 2014
    80
    Cage is getting down and dirty again in Joe, and it's pretty remarkable — the performance more so than the film, and the film's good.
  4. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Apr 10, 2014
    75
    Joe works better as a study of character and environment than as the thriller it tries to become in its final act.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Apr 11, 2014
    75
    Sheridan, so good in "Mud" with Matthew McConaughey, excels here as a vulnerable sapling.
  6. 70
    You can be of two minds about the movie’s climax without shame. It’s galvanizing and, after all the accumulated tension, longed-for. And it’s too easy. And it’s rousingly well done. And it’s cheap. And that’s what makes the vigilante myth so vexing.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Keough
    Apr 10, 2014
    38
    Joe is one more in the line of Southern Gothic miserabilism that includes “Winter’s Bone” and “Beasts of the Southern Wild,” films that many have praised but some find condescending.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    This film is worth to watch. "Joe" is a real-life story, a emotional drama with nice shot and nice scriptconcept. Cage give his whole bestThis film is worth to watch. "Joe" is a real-life story, a emotional drama with nice shot and nice scriptconcept. Cage give his whole best performance on this, can be his best performance this year, a big praised also sent to Sheridan and Gary Poulter, a fit and impressive ensemble. Collapse
  2. Apr 25, 2014
    9
    Joe is a film that breaks the heart, awesome performances, Nicolas Cage was so good at the movie and the new boy, Tye Sheridan is a promess toJoe is a film that breaks the heart, awesome performances, Nicolas Cage was so good at the movie and the new boy, Tye Sheridan is a promess to hollywood. It's a little slowly but exhilarating. I love it. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2016
    8
    Really great movie--I would rate it higher if I found more depth in the script instead of the good small-town story it has. Other people sayReally great movie--I would rate it higher if I found more depth in the script instead of the good small-town story it has. Other people say this movie is "hypnotic" and I agree. A good tragedy movie for Netflix binges. On a side note, I should add that the interrelationships of the characters is really something that rings true to life and seems like a good source of insight to American life. Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2014
    7
    Nicolas Cage on point once again. I found this movie particularly for the reason that he was the main character. I had no idea what to expect,Nicolas Cage on point once again. I found this movie particularly for the reason that he was the main character. I had no idea what to expect, but the trailers showed promise. I was not disappointed. The angle was more on the drama side than action. I was especially impressed with the portrayal of the young teen Gary. There was a razor sharp emotional grip this film had. Seeing Gary's father and family situation seems disturbingly real as though it was live footage of real people as opposed to dramatic actors. Cage helps us step into Joe's life and the conflict within him to lash out at the world and lose control of his anger. Of course it did get pretty extreme and violent. Kind of leaves you thinking, why are so many of these people in this town so messed up? Also begs the question of just how many teens suffer from the same type of thing...probably a lot more than people bother to admit. Low scale and on the slower side. Definitely strong acting though. You get to play around with the thought of whether Joe is really more of a criminal than a good man. I think the end is a sour way to wrap up that enigma but understandable. Worth a watch. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really can't recommend this movie to anyone. While the three lead actors in this movie give great performances, the movie ultimately leaves you feeling empty and unhappy even with the optimistic ending it has. It's a really downer of a movie.

    Also, if you've seen "Sling Blade" or "Taxi Driver" then you've seen this same sort of story working much better in a movie. I'd give those two a try before this movie.
    Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2014
    5
    Nicholas Cage plays a troubled man (no news there) who befriends a 15-year-old boy (Tye Sheridan) with an abusive father. Before it's allNicholas Cage plays a troubled man (no news there) who befriends a 15-year-old boy (Tye Sheridan) with an abusive father. Before it's all over, the inevitable unfolds. Cage enjoys the opportunity to be gruff, yet tender and Sheridan is both sweet and sad. The supporting cast is made up of obviously non-pro actors who add to the low-class vibe. The darkness that should creep around the edge of this film tends to overpower it too early and too obviously. Director David Gordon Green ("Pineapple Express") can be greatly blamed for the oppressive and mean spirit of this predictable endeavor. Expand
  7. Jun 22, 2014
    0
    If you like movies about drunks and degenerates then you'll love this movie. I couldn't figure out the point of this movie even though it wasIf you like movies about drunks and degenerates then you'll love this movie. I couldn't figure out the point of this movie even though it was completely predictable. The whole time I kept thinking it had to get better, since it had high ratings, but it never did. Makes me think these rating are scammed. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (5/22): This Week's New Movies & Trailers

    Film Friday (5/22): This Week's New Movies & Trailers Image
    Published: May 22, 2015
    Find a guide to this weekend's new theatrical releases and watch all of the week's movie trailers, including new looks at Joe Wright's Pan, Danny Boyle's Steve Jobs, Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials, and much more.
  2. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013 Image
    Published: December 22, 2013
    Here are the highest-scoring games released for iOS this year.
  3. Spring Movie Preview: 21 Notable Upcoming Films

    Spring Movie Preview: 21 Notable Upcoming Films Image
    Published: March 6, 2013
    Get a look at all of the films coming to theaters in March and April, including the latest Stephenie Meyer adaptation, a G.I. Joe sequel, a Tom Cruise sci-fi film, and new movies from Danny Boyle, Terrence Malick, Derek Cianfrance, and Shane Carruth.
  4. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for January 2013

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for January 2013 Image
    Published: January 31, 2013
    A port of "Joe Danger," a new pixel-art town-builder, and a sequel to "Temple Run" are just some of the best iOS games released in recent weeks. Get the full list inside.