John Dies at the End

John Dies at the End Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: We're talking about a drug that promises an out-of-body experience with each hit. On the street they call it Soy Sauce, and users drift across time and dimensions. But some who come back are no longer human. Suddenly a silent otherworldly invasion is underway, and mankind needs a hero. WhatWe're talking about a drug that promises an out-of-body experience with each hit. On the street they call it Soy Sauce, and users drift across time and dimensions. But some who come back are no longer human. Suddenly a silent otherworldly invasion is underway, and mankind needs a hero. What it gets instead is John and David, a pair of college dropouts who can barely hold down jobs. Can these two stop the oncoming horror in time to save humanity? No. No, they can't. Based on the novel by author David Wong, John Dies at the End was adapted and directed by horror auteur Don Coscarelli. [Magnet] Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 7 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Jan 31, 2013
    80
    It lays waste to linear narration, thematic coherence, psychological plausibility and just about everything else you might expect to encounter. It zigs, zags and trips over its own feet and on its own home-brewed hallucinogens. It's a ridiculous, preposterous, sometimes maddening experience, but also kind of a blast.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Jan 9, 2013
    80
    Give or take the titular disclosure, John Dies at the End is a thoroughly unpredictable horror-comedy -- and an immensely entertaining one, too.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Feb 7, 2013
    75
    John Dies at the End isn't deep. But it is deeply amusing, in the sickest possible way.
  4. Reviewed by: James White
    Mar 18, 2013
    60
    Gonzo freakiness in such doses that cult status is practically ensured.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jan 24, 2013
    55
    Once the colorful anecdotes sprawl out into an actual narrative, the film gets convoluted and loud, amplifying the weirdness without doing much to clarify it.
  6. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jan 9, 2013
    50
    A supernatural action comedy that can never live up to its exciting opening scenes, Don Coscarelli's John Dies at the End mixes horror-tinged mayhem with smart-alec laughs but loses momentum early and gets bogged down in exposition.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Jan 22, 2013
    10
    John Dies at the End is a product of a parallel universe where slacker flippancy never got old-and, oh, it is terrible.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A cautionary tale of the real secret of the universe, the title is not really a spoiler but more of a "side effect" of the film's supernatural narcotic called Soy Sauce, giving us a glimpse into a weird, exciting, and horrifying Earth where all that stands against ultimate destruction is David Wong and his friend John. Expand
  2. Feb 3, 2013
    8
    I'm not sure if this is the best movie of 2012 that I've seen, but it's by far the most creative. Whether or not you like it, between theI'm not sure if this is the best movie of 2012 that I've seen, but it's by far the most creative. Whether or not you like it, between the stunning visuals, strange supernatural themes, philosophical undertones and multi-layered storyline, it's definitely a movie you won't forget any time soon, and one you won't regret seeing. While I do admit the plot could've used some further explanation, one could argue that the ambiguity adds some kind of mystique to the situations presented here. I thought it was very enjoyable all-around, and in my opinion the great acting, great visuals, creative thought-provoking plot and unorthodox execution make John Dies at the End a must-see movie of 2012. (Even if the wide release was technically in 2013...) Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2015
    8
    John Dies at the End is one of those delightfully weird movies. Yes, it lacks here and there in various aspects (e.g. plot) but none of thatJohn Dies at the End is one of those delightfully weird movies. Yes, it lacks here and there in various aspects (e.g. plot) but none of that detracts from the fun. While I found it to be a notch below classics such as Repo Man, still it is undeniably a good time. Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2013
    7
    A quirky and unusual comedy/horror it's not anything special except it's really different. It should hit cult icon status. Oh BTW I never readA quirky and unusual comedy/horror it's not anything special except it's really different. It should hit cult icon status. Oh BTW I never read the books. I did hear there were issues between the movie leaving a lot out. If your in the mood for something different and a comedy then this is for you. The spiders bit cracked me up. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2013
    7
    This is a weird, wonderful film which will be either loved or hated. It you like things such as Shaun of the Dead, Tucker and Dale vs Evil,This is a weird, wonderful film which will be either loved or hated. It you like things such as Shaun of the Dead, Tucker and Dale vs Evil, or Todd and the Book of Pure Evil, you will love this one. Filled with comedy, bizarre supernatural occurrences, and miscellaneous mischief, this film is very enjoyable. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    "John Dies at the End" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: Starts out darkly amusing and entertaining, with snappy and witty
    "John Dies at the End" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: Starts out darkly amusing and entertaining, with snappy and witty dialogue that will elicit a chuckle or two. Solid ending that redeems the film somewhat.

    The Bad: Goes way WAY off the tracks and ends up all over the place. It will no doubt end up a cult classic, but the absurdity becomes a little too much for my tastes.
    Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    2
    I went into this move with high hopes. I love quirky. I like horror comedy. I like non-standard narration. I like Paul Giamatti. The problemI went into this move with high hopes. I love quirky. I like horror comedy. I like non-standard narration. I like Paul Giamatti. The problem was that this never added up to anything. It was a series of gaping plot holes strung together for no apparent reason.

    It did make me chuckle occasionally, but more in the I-can't-believe-something-so-absurd-is-happening way than something actually being funny.

    Again, I have not read the books. I can only assume that this series of events had some sort of internal logic in them.
    Collapse

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers