Johnny English Reborn

Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. 60
    The mix of groin injury and over-explanation could totally reach 9-year-olds and a greying Atkinson is still relentlessly lovable.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Oct 20, 2011
    60
    As the movie glides along, it may not elicit explosive laughter, but it plants a steady smile on your face and doesn't leave you feeling molested. If that's another way of saying Johnny English Reborn is old-fashioned, so be it.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Oct 20, 2011
    60
    All that matters with efforts like this is whether the cookie-cutter plotting serves up enough situations for Atkinson to contort himself into and out of jams. After all, are the narratives what you remember from the "Pink Panther" movies? Or the silly things, like that Clouseau could so easily get his finger caught in a spinning globe?
  4. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Oct 20, 2011
    60
    Johnny English Reborn never quite ignites, even though it starts out promisingly enough.
  5. Reviewed by: Russell Edwards
    Oct 16, 2011
    60
    More a resuscitation than a rebirth, Johnny English Reborn finds British comedian Rowan Atkinson reviving his spoof spy character with this enjoyable if somewhat wheezy reprise.
  6. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Oct 19, 2011
    58
    Johnny English Reborn's sharpest gags riff on its protagonist's unshakeable Britishness.
  7. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Oct 19, 2011
    58
    Fans of sophisticated humor may feel empathy with, if not sympathy for, the lead character on those many occasions he is kicked in the nuts.
  8. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Oct 21, 2011
    50
    Johnny English Reborn sounds like a reboot, but it's actually a tired recycling of something that wasn't exactly fresh to begin with.
  9. Reviewed by: Megan Lehmann
    Oct 16, 2011
    40
    Even the most desperately deprived secret-agent devotee will find little to cheer in this yawn-tastic 007 send-up.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    Johnny English Reborn is a love it or hate it movie. Some people won't like the humor, some people will. Personally, I almost couldn't stopJohnny English Reborn is a love it or hate it movie. Some people won't like the humor, some people will. Personally, I almost couldn't stop laughing. Johnny English and Johnny English Reborn are one of my favorite movies of all-time. Yes the jokes are predictable but that's what makes them so funny in my opinion. I rate this movie a 9/10 because the first movie was better, especially the interaction between Johnny English and Bough made it so great. This movie is a bit more over-the-top and sadly Bough is missing here. Still a 9/10 is a good score and this is a must see movie for all Johnny English fans. Full Review »
  2. Oct 21, 2011
    3
    Johnny English is back and unfortunately not for the better. I found the the original surprisingly funny therefore its a great shame theJohnny English is back and unfortunately not for the better. I found the the original surprisingly funny therefore its a great shame the sequel is a massive disappointment. Since the first film English has been dismissed from MI7 after a disastrous mission in Mozambique but is brought back to MI7 to prevent a group of international assassins from killing the Chinese Premier and causing global chaos. The original was far from the funniest film ever made but provided some genuine LOL moments. Sadly, Reborn rarely has you break into laughter or for that even crack a smile! Don't get me wrong there are some, very few, infact they are few and far between funny bits but it fails to sparkle and fizzels out to be a dreadfully dull movie. The fact is the film tries to be funny and provide funny moments but its just an epic fail, simple as that. For any fans of the original trust me when I say stick to that because Johnny English Reborn isn't a patch on its predeccesor and even that wasn't the funniest of films, tells you everything you need to know. As a fellow reviewer said; painfully unfunny, and that sums this film up to a tee! Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    This is the funniest movie I have ever seen! It is original with its skits and everything, and there is one point in the movie that I think IThis is the funniest movie I have ever seen! It is original with its skits and everything, and there is one point in the movie that I think I will remember for all of my life. Please watch this movie, its so original. Full Review »