Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the years since MI-7's top spy vanished off the grid, he has been honing his unique skills in a remote region of Asia. But when his agency superiors learn of an attempt against the Chinese premier's life, they must hunt down the highly unorthodox agent. Now that the world needs him once again, Johnny English is back in action. With one shot at redemption, he must employ the latest in hi-tech gadgets to unravel a web of conspiracy that runs throughout the KGB, CIA and even MI-7. With mere days until a heads of state conference, one man must use every trick in his playbook to protect us all. For Johnny English, disaster may be an option, but failure never is. (Universal Pictures)

    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Kate Taylor
    Oct 21, 2011
    75
    Like the incompetent spy himself, this is a comedy that will sneak up on the skeptical and defy low expectations, producing something smart enough to neatly balance the thrills and the yuks.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Oct 20, 2011
    63
    It's breezy stuff, to be sure. And while English is far from becoming the Pink Panther for the Facebook generation, Atkinson has a breezy rapport with junior Agent Tucker (Daniel Kaluuya) that's reminiscent of Peter Sellers' Inspector Clouseau and his relationship with sidekick Kato.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Oct 20, 2011
    60
    As the movie glides along, it may not elicit explosive laughter, but it plants a steady smile on your face and doesn't leave you feeling molested. If that's another way of saying Johnny English Reborn is old-fashioned, so be it.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Oct 21, 2011
    50
    Johnny English Reborn sounds like a reboot, but it's actually a tired recycling of something that wasn't exactly fresh to begin with.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Oct 26, 2011
    38
    "English Reborn" isn't terrible and is certainly seriously harmless.
  6. Reviewed by: Sean OConnell
    Oct 20, 2011
    38
    I spent most of Johnny English wondering whom the filmmakers were targeting. While childish and silly, it's far too violent for young kids.
  7. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Oct 21, 2011
    20
    It must be said that everyone - including Dominic West and Rosamund Pike -- works awfully hard to entertain us. But that just makes it all the more depressing when joke after joke falls painfully flat. Stay home and introduce your kids to Mr. Bean, instead.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    This is the funniest movie I have ever seen! It is original with its skits and everything, and there is one point in the movie that I think I will remember for all of my life. Please watch this movie, its so original. Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    Johnny English Reborn is a love it or hate it movie. Some people won't like the humor, some people will. Personally, I almost couldn't stop laughing. Johnny English and Johnny English Reborn are one of my favorite movies of all-time. Yes the jokes are predictable but that's what makes them so funny in my opinion. I rate this movie a 9/10 because the first movie was better, especially the interaction between Johnny English and Bough made it so great. This movie is a bit more over-the-top and sadly Bough is missing here. Still a 9/10 is a good score and this is a must see movie for all Johnny English fans. Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2012
    8
    Johnny English Reborn is a silly yet fun spy comedy that will appeal to fans of James Bond, Mr. Bean and the first Johnny English film. The film will make a great time if you are watching it with friends or family. Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2012
    6
    The story is somewhat unorganized, but it makes up for it with great humor. The acting is mostly convincing. It could have been better storywise, but its a fun little treat. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2013
    5
    I found this to be a very disappointing sequel. It still manages to provide some laugh out loud hilarious moments. Unfortunately it's nowhere near as funny as it's predecessor. Much of the humor ends up falling very short of the mark. The plot just ends up being filled with familiar twists that we've seen time and time again in the serious spy movies. All in all I don't recommend this for a watch, even if you were a fan of the original. I found myself saying "wow that was stupid" way more than I was saying "wow that was funny". To me that's the sign of a lackluster comedy. Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2012
    4
    Jhonny english reborn is a good film but not that good it was a huge dissapoint compared to the first one which was full of comedy. This one however was not I found it had good moments and bad moments and every now and then it had boring moments. If you expect this to be as good as the first one or better ,which I did, then u r most likely to be dissapointed. Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    A disappointing sequel to Johnny English, the plot and the jokes are weak. The movie is so bland and is trying to be serious from time to time, sometimes too serious so it ends up getting awkward. The jokes in this movie aren't funny at all they are just cheap and stupid. The same goes for the new characters in this sequel, they are not humorous just boring and serious. This movie should never have been made. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews