Johnny English Reborn

Johnny English Reborn Image
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the years since MI-7's top spy vanished off the grid, he has been honing his unique skills in a remote region of Asia. But when his agency superiors learn of an attempt against the Chinese premier's life, they must hunt down the highly unorthodox agent. Now that the world needs him onceIn the years since MI-7's top spy vanished off the grid, he has been honing his unique skills in a remote region of Asia. But when his agency superiors learn of an attempt against the Chinese premier's life, they must hunt down the highly unorthodox agent. Now that the world needs him once again, Johnny English is back in action. With one shot at redemption, he must employ the latest in hi-tech gadgets to unravel a web of conspiracy that runs throughout the KGB, CIA and even MI-7. With mere days until a heads of state conference, one man must use every trick in his playbook to protect us all. For Johnny English, disaster may be an option, but failure never is. (Universal Pictures)

    Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Kate Taylor
    Oct 21, 2011
    75
    Like the incompetent spy himself, this is a comedy that will sneak up on the skeptical and defy low expectations, producing something smart enough to neatly balance the thrills and the yuks.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Oct 20, 2011
    63
    It's breezy stuff, to be sure. And while English is far from becoming the Pink Panther for the Facebook generation, Atkinson has a breezy rapport with junior Agent Tucker (Daniel Kaluuya) that's reminiscent of Peter Sellers' Inspector Clouseau and his relationship with sidekick Kato.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Oct 20, 2011
    60
    As the movie glides along, it may not elicit explosive laughter, but it plants a steady smile on your face and doesn't leave you feeling molested. If that's another way of saying Johnny English Reborn is old-fashioned, so be it.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Oct 21, 2011
    50
    Johnny English Reborn sounds like a reboot, but it's actually a tired recycling of something that wasn't exactly fresh to begin with.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Oct 26, 2011
    38
    "English Reborn" isn't terrible and is certainly seriously harmless.
  6. Reviewed by: Sean OConnell
    Oct 20, 2011
    38
    I spent most of Johnny English wondering whom the filmmakers were targeting. While childish and silly, it's far too violent for young kids.
  7. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Oct 21, 2011
    20
    It must be said that everyone - including Dominic West and Rosamund Pike -- works awfully hard to entertain us. But that just makes it all the more depressing when joke after joke falls painfully flat. Stay home and introduce your kids to Mr. Bean, instead.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    This is the funniest movie I have ever seen! It is original with its skits and everything, and there is one point in the movie that I think IThis is the funniest movie I have ever seen! It is original with its skits and everything, and there is one point in the movie that I think I will remember for all of my life. Please watch this movie, its so original. Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    Johnny English Reborn is a love it or hate it movie. Some people won't like the humor, some people will. Personally, I almost couldn't stopJohnny English Reborn is a love it or hate it movie. Some people won't like the humor, some people will. Personally, I almost couldn't stop laughing. Johnny English and Johnny English Reborn are one of my favorite movies of all-time. Yes the jokes are predictable but that's what makes them so funny in my opinion. I rate this movie a 9/10 because the first movie was better, especially the interaction between Johnny English and Bough made it so great. This movie is a bit more over-the-top and sadly Bough is missing here. Still a 9/10 is a good score and this is a must see movie for all Johnny English fans. Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2012
    8
    Johnny English Reborn is a silly yet fun spy comedy that will appeal to fans of James Bond, Mr. Bean and the first Johnny English film. TheJohnny English Reborn is a silly yet fun spy comedy that will appeal to fans of James Bond, Mr. Bean and the first Johnny English film. The film will make a great time if you are watching it with friends or family. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    6
    Before I started to watch the movie I knew it was not going to be as good as Johnny English 1. I wasn't surprised. Some laughs, but nothingBefore I started to watch the movie I knew it was not going to be as good as Johnny English 1. I wasn't surprised. Some laughs, but nothing hilarious. Not disappointing as I wasn't expecting much. Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2014
    6
    Johnny English Reborn is funny and inventive with another hilarious performance from Rowan Atkinson. Not as funny and memorable as it'sJohnny English Reborn is funny and inventive with another hilarious performance from Rowan Atkinson. Not as funny and memorable as it's predecessor but still a riveting time. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2014
    4
    Perhaps slightly better than its predecessor, this sequel still remains mostly dull. It tries to be an intense spy movie, but all we'rePerhaps slightly better than its predecessor, this sequel still remains mostly dull. It tries to be an intense spy movie, but all we're getting is a silly, tired spy comedy. Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    A disappointing sequel to Johnny English, the plot and the jokes are weak. The movie is so bland and is trying to be serious from time toA disappointing sequel to Johnny English, the plot and the jokes are weak. The movie is so bland and is trying to be serious from time to time, sometimes too serious so it ends up getting awkward. The jokes in this movie aren't funny at all they are just cheap and stupid. The same goes for the new characters in this sequel, they are not humorous just boring and serious. This movie should never have been made. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Trailers