User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 99
  2. Negative: 42 out of 99
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    4
    "Jonah Hex" is a terrible wild-western action flick that succeeds in mindless action but fails with a obvious plot.
  2. Aug 24, 2014
    6
    Despite the slightly hard-to-follow beginning, the story turned out stylish in its own way (especially the comic-style recap of past events).

    I liked the music and the dark, humorous, sarcastic edge that was present all the time. It's hard to tell whether Josh Brolin as Jonah Hex was good or not; other than the attitude and nice lines, he was nothing special. Megan Fox didn't look
    Despite the slightly hard-to-follow beginning, the story turned out stylish in its own way (especially the comic-style recap of past events).

    I liked the music and the dark, humorous, sarcastic edge that was present all the time.

    It's hard to tell whether Josh Brolin as Jonah Hex was good or not; other than the attitude and nice lines, he was nothing special. Megan Fox didn't look like herself, but she was otherwise fine; not a big part, but essential in some way, I guess. John Malkovich as Quentin Turnbull stayed a bit hollow and hard to grasp despite the attempts to explain his motives. Michael Fassbender was amusing and badass - although a bit too amusing sometimes.

    Not the greatest film ever, but I kind of liked it. With all the shooting, creative weaponry and grim storytelling, it was kind of appealing. DC people sure don't sugar coat their stuff...
    Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    4
    This movie wasn't quite as bad as the "experts" made it out to be but it was still far from a good movie. The action sequences and fight scenes are decent, the acting is good enough, and the character's back story is interesting. The execution of it all is poor and this is one of the few movies where it's nice that it's so short. The movie was about 70 minutes... much longer and itThis movie wasn't quite as bad as the "experts" made it out to be but it was still far from a good movie. The action sequences and fight scenes are decent, the acting is good enough, and the character's back story is interesting. The execution of it all is poor and this is one of the few movies where it's nice that it's so short. The movie was about 70 minutes... much longer and it would've stunk. One of the only bright spots is Megan Fox. She always gets a bad rap from the critics for some reason but she's a capable actress that is never the weakest one on screen. She is stunning though and that never hurts. Overall, I don't think this is a story that translates well to the big screen. Talking to dead people, being nearly invincible, and crows helping you along your way may work in the comic books but on film it just feels silly. Expand
  4. Aug 13, 2010
    5
    From his 2008 novel "Man in the Dark", Paul Auster writes: "In the men's room, he finally took the trouble to examine the money and was encouraged to see the face of Ulysees S. Grant engraved on the front of the bill." Owen Brick, the man in the dark, wakes up one day, inexplicably, staring up from a hole. In the other America, there was no 9/11, no war with Iraq. This America of AugustFrom his 2008 novel "Man in the Dark", Paul Auster writes: "In the men's room, he finally took the trouble to examine the money and was encouraged to see the face of Ulysees S. Grant engraved on the front of the bill." Owen Brick, the man in the dark, wakes up one day, inexplicably, staring up from a hole. In the other America, there was no 9/11, no war with Iraq. This America of August Brill's making has state after state breaking away from the union after George W. Bush was sworn into office. And while some things may remain the same(Grant on the fifty-dollar bill), there are differences that makes this "weird world roll on." The weird world rolls on in "Jonah Hex", too. Set in the civil war, this alternative western, because of its graphic novel pedigree, doesn't play like a descendant of Ned Buntline's play about Buffalo Bill("The Scouts of the Prairie"), and the "shoot 'em up" novels of Zane Grey and Max Brand, which lent the film genre its template. Because Jonah Hex(Josh Brolin) was originally a comic book character, not only is the cowboy an anti-hero; he's also an anti-superhero, as well. He has two daddies: John Wayne and Superman. When President Grant asks for the services of the confederate soldier-turned-bounty hunter, it's like Jimmy Carter forming a partnership with The Man of Steel, had Richard Lester's "Superman" employed the former peanut farmer instead of a generic commander-in-chief. In this other America, Eli Whitney left behind plans for fiery orange balls, and it's of considerable significance that Colonel Turnbull carries out Whitney's superweapon designs to fruition. The science is incongruous to its time period. American Atheist leader Maddalyn Murray O'Hair often liked to say that we'd have a man on the moon, as early as the nineteenth century, was it not for the church's influence. That's why the science in "Jonah Hex" fascinates. The scientifically advanced cannonball hints at the absence of god. This other America has the potential of putting a man on the moon; this other America with its alternative Eli Whitney, presumably has an alternative Leonardo DaVinci, as well. Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    Although JONAH HEX is really short and has terrible acting, the film is quite entertaining and I enjoyed watching it.
  6. Oct 9, 2010
    5
    "Jonah Hex is another blandish Western Derango kinda of flick , that tries to hard to be the next Wild Wild West , it runs a mere 72mins , it moves quick , Brolin tries to Hard , but it was somewhat entertaining which i can muster a mild recommendation.." .. C
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    5
    Jonah Hex is not a good movie, simply put. However, it wasn't quite as bad as most people made it out to be. I started out really disliking it, but in the end, I didn't really hate it. As for the issues, there are quite a bit of them, At 80 minutes, the film feels incredibly rushed with how it jumps from one scene to another. The story is so silly that I can't imagine why someone wouldJonah Hex is not a good movie, simply put. However, it wasn't quite as bad as most people made it out to be. I started out really disliking it, but in the end, I didn't really hate it. As for the issues, there are quite a bit of them, At 80 minutes, the film feels incredibly rushed with how it jumps from one scene to another. The story is so silly that I can't imagine why someone would want to adapt it from a comic book from which it should have stayed. There's not much here to talk about in terms of performances because everybody here is incredibly wooden. With all that being said, it's not awful. However, that doesn't mean it's worth checking out. Expand
  8. Sep 3, 2010
    5
    Could have, and should have, been more fun. It has some neat visual flourishes, great rock soundtrack, and Michael Fassbender in scene-stealing form. However it's shoddily edited, underwritten and lacking character. Malkovich sleepwalks his way through his role, Fox looks great but is given very little to work with and Brolin is wasted with barely a memorable line. At 80mins, it'sCould have, and should have, been more fun. It has some neat visual flourishes, great rock soundtrack, and Michael Fassbender in scene-stealing form. However it's shoddily edited, underwritten and lacking character. Malkovich sleepwalks his way through his role, Fox looks great but is given very little to work with and Brolin is wasted with barely a memorable line. At 80mins, it's obviously been cut down, with all the violence cut out - it so nearly could have been a guilty pleasure. Expand
  9. MovieLover
    Jun 20, 2010
    5
    Anonymous why did you give it such a bad rating you omited that in your review we at least I would like to know why it was so bad because I was really looking forword to this movie.
  10. Dave
    Jun 21, 2010
    6
    Was what I expected from a minor comic book character movie. I knew nothing about Jonah Hex, but found his unique back story intriguing, if not slightly confusing. There was not much imagination used in the film. It could/should have been better, especially with the acting talent involved. It's Ghost Rider without the motorcycle.
  11. JohnH
    Jun 18, 2010
    5
    I thought the movie was average at best. Not really faithful to the comic series.
  12. Oct 20, 2010
    6
    While it's not as bad as some reviews might lead you to believe, it still fails because of a poor screenplay. All the more disappointing to me when I learned that Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor (the guys behind the brilliantly bonkers Crank) wrote it. It's a shame they couldn't make more of what is very good source material. Despite the poor screenplay, I made it through the full 80 or soWhile it's not as bad as some reviews might lead you to believe, it still fails because of a poor screenplay. All the more disappointing to me when I learned that Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor (the guys behind the brilliantly bonkers Crank) wrote it. It's a shame they couldn't make more of what is very good source material. Despite the poor screenplay, I made it through the full 80 or so minutes simply because it's fairly well directed (at times the film looks beautiful) and the action set-pieces do entertain, especially a brilliant but brief train robbery in the opening minutes. It's the bits inbetween the action that hold Jonah Hex down. That, and some pretty godawful CGI, which to be fair, isn't terrible throughout the film, but very noticeable when it is. There is a good film in here somewhere, and at times we can catch a glimpse of it, but in the end this really feels like a missed opportunity. Expand
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 32
  2. Negative: 16 out of 32
  1. Jonah Hex somehow manages to waste the talents of Josh Brolin, John Malkovich, Michael Fassbender, Will Arnett, Aidan Quinn and Jeffrey Dean Morgan in a story that combines vengeance, the occult and an Old West war on terror (really).
  2. 50
    It's based on some DC Comics characters, which may explain the way the plot jumps around. We hear a lot about graphic novels, but this is more of a graphic anthology of strange occult ideas.
  3. 50
    Brolin is so damned good in the saddle, in the hat and in the part that a half-sober viewer could half forget how half-arsed this movie he's starring in is.