Universal Studios | Release Date: April 11, 2001
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 71 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
59
Mixed:
8
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LukeK.Feb 4, 2005
Rachael leigh cook rocks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KelseyXApr 9, 2009
I first saw this movie when I was 9 years old. I fell instantly in love. The soundtrack is totally catchy and the girls have great chemistry together. I feel the movie would have seen more success had it been given a PG rating, as it really I first saw this movie when I was 9 years old. I fell instantly in love. The soundtrack is totally catchy and the girls have great chemistry together. I feel the movie would have seen more success had it been given a PG rating, as it really did appeal to younger than 13. I still frequently watch it now, but mostly because it gives me that warm fuzzy feeling. The language isn't too bad, and don't worry, your little girls won't get the sexual references. I know I didn't (until I was older anyways). It's good fun for the pre-teen crowd, and the music is fun and clean too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimB.Jul 28, 2001
One of the funniest movies I've ever seen. Even the product placements are jokes. Any one who doesn't like this movie has no notion of what the modern music is like.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrinaD.Jul 27, 2002
OMG!!! it was a great movie, and if u didn't like it, get a life!! the music (especially 3 small words) was soo good. I thought it was gonna be s**t but i've bought it on video and the soundtrack! it rocks, love the music, And tara OMG!!! it was a great movie, and if u didn't like it, get a life!! the music (especially 3 small words) was soo good. I thought it was gonna be s**t but i've bought it on video and the soundtrack! it rocks, love the music, And tara reid is a legend in it and shows real talent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimL.May 22, 2001
"Josie and the Pussycats" is the best movie of the year. It has exactly what the media doesn't want exposed. Rock on!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Sep 30, 2001
Rachael Leigh Cook is hot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkK.Jan 4, 2002
I thought it was put together really well and the music in it is awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jul 6, 2002
IT ROCKED!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennaL.Apr 10, 2003
I love this movie! And if Josie reads this I just want to say, I totally look up to you you are so cool!!I love Melody and Valery too!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaG.May 13, 2003
I love this movie I love the music in it....I just love it...=)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CrystalR.Oct 17, 2001
I thought it was the best movie I've seen in a long time! I've downloaded songs off the soundtrack and just listening to them makes me want to learn to play guitar. It's awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaniJ.Jun 23, 2001
It was funny and kool, I liked it and sort of like their music!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonK.Aug 20, 2001
The movie was hilarious and with hot chicks like Rachael Lee Cook & Terra Reid, what more could you want. The plot and characters were hilarious. Funniest movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielP.Nov 9, 2002
Great music and very funny. Definately my favourite movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurenL.Jun 10, 2002
It is ironic this movie appeals to a crowd that would never see a movie like this. To be honest if my brother did not have such a serious thing for Rachel Leigh Cook, I would have never seen, or cared to have seen this surprisingly smart It is ironic this movie appeals to a crowd that would never see a movie like this. To be honest if my brother did not have such a serious thing for Rachel Leigh Cook, I would have never seen, or cared to have seen this surprisingly smart movie. I have to say as far as girly fun movies go...this is one of the best, at least in recent times. Alan Cumming and Parker Posey are absolutely hillarous. My guess is if you didn't like this movie you probably did and are just to stubborn to admit it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LatassiaK.Aug 31, 2002
Rachel leigh cook and tara reid was both fantastic.. rachel's really talented.. tara was so funny.. this piece really rocks! i really love d soundtrack, itz kewl!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristineW.Oct 17, 2001
It's a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
*~rockstarpromQ~*Dec 20, 2001
This was a really good movie. Awesome PLOT, CLOTHES, SONGS, and GIRLS.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieL.Dec 20, 2001
Cool!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NicoleAug 14, 2001
COOL!!! This movie is fun, hilarious, stylish, cute...and unlike some other trashy teen movies this one has class and style. All teen girls will like it cuz of the great clothes and music. And I think Rachael Leigh Cook was awesome and did great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewH.Aug 25, 2001
I dunno those other kids, and I feel bad for lowering the average score, but this movie got a bum rap. Check it out, it's fun and funny. Some of the in-jokes are really great. It's just a silly movie, but I really had a good time I dunno those other kids, and I feel bad for lowering the average score, but this movie got a bum rap. Check it out, it's fun and funny. Some of the in-jokes are really great. It's just a silly movie, but I really had a good time watching it. (And I like a lot of arty indie stuff too. Gotta have fun sometimes.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamanthaB.Jun 28, 2002
This flick was totally f'n awesome!!! it soooo inspired me to succeed a career in music! i mean come on now how could u not like this movie!! the story is great, the actors are absolutely perfect...i mean u couldnt get any better thanThis flick was totally f'n awesome!!! it soooo inspired me to succeed a career in music! i mean come on now how could u not like this movie!! the story is great, the actors are absolutely perfect...i mean u couldnt get any better than Josie and the Pussycats!! i have the soundtrack, posters, movie, my wall is purple leapord, and i have the dvd even though i dont have a dvd player!! great work directors/actors! this movie ROX!!!!!!!!! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanP.Sep 19, 2002
I think that this movie was great, I loved it. I think that Tara Reid was hillarious!! I liked all of the other characters to and thought they were all funny, I just liked Tara Reid's character the best. I also liked the music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PinkGalSep 25, 2002
I sooo luv dis movie. it's a real feel good movie and the music in it is so upbeat and lively. definately a film 2 watch! enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilyN.Nov 21, 2001
I Loved It!!! It wuz SO funny!! Melanie wuz hilarious i cried i wuz laughing so hard!!! JOSIE AND THE PUSSYCATS Rocks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisM.Nov 24, 2002
I love this movie! All of the actors and actresses rocked. The music rocked the plot rocked it IS my favorite movie IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN IT YET GO SEE IT!!! its an awesome movie find a video dvd, download it tape it off starz its so good!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Mantis10Dec 28, 2016
A lot of people don't get that this movie is tongue and cheek. It's SUPPOSE to be cheesy and slap stick. There is a boy band with Donald Faison, Seth Green, Cary Elwes and Breckin Meyer... who have a hit song "Back Door Lover"! Scrubs, RobinA lot of people don't get that this movie is tongue and cheek. It's SUPPOSE to be cheesy and slap stick. There is a boy band with Donald Faison, Seth Green, Cary Elwes and Breckin Meyer... who have a hit song "Back Door Lover"! Scrubs, Robin Hood Men In Tights, The Princess Bide, Austin Powers, Robot Chicken........ this is what you are dealing with. Oh and PeeWee Herman is the band manger. This is NOT A SERIOUS MOVIE. It's slap stick! Oh and before you hear about all the advertisement in the movie, it's part of the plot and the film creators did not accept ANY MONEY from ANY company for product placement. Get a sense of humor, take off your captain serious hat, and enjoy this very well done comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksJun 22, 2016
It's funny how harsh the critics were on this movie as it was clearly a satire that commented on consumerism in the early 2000s as well as adding great music. Nothing was to be taken seriously, but rather as a large joke. My favourite cultIt's funny how harsh the critics were on this movie as it was clearly a satire that commented on consumerism in the early 2000s as well as adding great music. Nothing was to be taken seriously, but rather as a large joke. My favourite cult classic of all time, though if I had been the creators I would have ensure it was PG instead of PG-13, as it then would have had a larger box office draw. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews