Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 11, 2008
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 119 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
47
Mixed:
33
Negative:
39
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
BrendanFOct 20, 2008
I'd highly recommend this movie to anyone. Considering it's little more than a gimmick to promote the use of 3d, this film is far better than it has any right to be. The film maker cast the movie well, and made a great decision to I'd highly recommend this movie to anyone. Considering it's little more than a gimmick to promote the use of 3d, this film is far better than it has any right to be. The film maker cast the movie well, and made a great decision to make it take place in a modern time period rather than constraining it to being a period piece. It doesn't follow the book very closely, but it has it's own plot that centers around the book. It's nothing deep, but it's great fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
phils.Jul 26, 2008
Excellent Saturday morning fun. My 6 year old loved - and that is who it is aimed at - excellent cartoon fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Oct 23, 2008
Granted, not a deep and meaningful movie, but it was a hell of a lot of fun to watch. Good special effects, imaginative, very well paced and highly entertaining. I very much enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ConcreteTesterJul 12, 2008
Well made. Slightly childish. Makers probably thought they needed 3D to make the story interesting. Of the course the orginal movies was better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieR.Jul 10, 2008
The movie delivers what it promises... a fun ride for the whole family. Is it a perfect movie? No. Are the visual effects great? No. Is the acting riveting? No. But who cares... it entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AaronN.Jul 19, 2008
(Not a rating of movie itself, but more like the plot) How can this be that bad? Well, Ian mcshane isnt in it so it has to be REALLY Terrible! I mean, how popular was Narnia when it came out to knock off of it?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardW.Jul 20, 2008
Went with my two children and we all loved this movie. It is as advertised....fun and humorous. We found the 3-D effects to be awesome and realistic.Evidently from the startled gasps of others they agreed. At times you feel a need to move to Went with my two children and we all loved this movie. It is as advertised....fun and humorous. We found the 3-D effects to be awesome and realistic.Evidently from the startled gasps of others they agreed. At times you feel a need to move to get out of the way of what looks like objects coming right at you. Loved the story and action and amazingly in today's cinema, not one objectional word or action...hooray! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
caporegimeJun 10, 2009
All visual effects spectacle.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AdrianM.Jun 30, 2008
I thought this was a great action movie. It's not a James Bond- type of action film, but it worked out well with some comedy mixed in with it. It wasn't as corny as you might expect it to be. Brendan Fraser and Anita Briem gave I thought this was a great action movie. It's not a James Bond- type of action film, but it worked out well with some comedy mixed in with it. It wasn't as corny as you might expect it to be. Brendan Fraser and Anita Briem gave good performances It's a good movie to bring the whole family to. The 3D aspect wasn't perfect but definitely made it more interesting. My advice is to sit somewhere in the middle of the theatre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JRHJul 11, 2008
I can't think of one good thing to say about it. We thought it couldn't be too bad if Brendan Fraser was in it. Wrong.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ThismoviesucksJul 12, 2008
Amazingly bad dialouge, fx and redicuously unrealistic stunts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrandonJul 13, 2008
How people did not learn anything after the first Mummy movie is beyond me. Consistently dreadful dialog and endless greenscreen usage is all I see. Don't waste your hard-earned money on this tripe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CyrusG.Jul 14, 2008
The screen writing comes across as relatively easy. Once the professor, the nephew, and the tour guide fall into the center of the earth, the movie goes into autopilot and becomes predictable. But this is not a bad thing. Here's a movie The screen writing comes across as relatively easy. Once the professor, the nephew, and the tour guide fall into the center of the earth, the movie goes into autopilot and becomes predictable. But this is not a bad thing. Here's a movie that never takes itself seriously and simply admits that it is a silly and campy adventure story. If you just sit back, turn off the brain, and relax, you will enjoy the movie. My only complaints is that the movie lacks ambition and the emotional parts feel cheesy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EdwardS.Jul 17, 2008
In 3D, in a theater with 1st class projection and the proper screen, this film is the most fun of any I've seen this summer - not the best, nor the most serious, nor the most worthy - just the most fun. It is what it is - a cotton-candy In 3D, in a theater with 1st class projection and the proper screen, this film is the most fun of any I've seen this summer - not the best, nor the most serious, nor the most worthy - just the most fun. It is what it is - a cotton-candy fun-house ride, and a perfectly enjoyable one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
keikd.Jul 17, 2008
You people are weird i mean this was the best movie EVA!!!!!!! you are all stupid and listen to the critics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
paull.Jul 22, 2008
This modern version of it couldn't handle the same element of the old one and kept using this as a vehicle for Fraser. This film sucks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaleMJul 27, 2008
The movie never takes itself seriously. It's whole purpose is fun and it succeeds at its purpose. A real relief after some comic book movies which take themselves a bit too seriously.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
paigeJul 30, 2008
I defanitly had fun and it was enjoyable. This is mainly a movie for a younger audience. Only because there was no adult humor and such unbelievable events that happen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShepD.Aug 8, 2008
It was totally a kick -- but has to be viewed in 3-d.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BatWMay 31, 2009
This is absolutely one of the worst films I've ever seen. Horrendous story line, horrendous acting...the special effects may be the only redeeming value, but that can't even save this movie. Trite, vapid and a movie that should This is absolutely one of the worst films I've ever seen. Horrendous story line, horrendous acting...the special effects may be the only redeeming value, but that can't even save this movie. Trite, vapid and a movie that should appeal to small children or those who have been lobotomized. I can't believe anyone would give this movie anything over a score of 1. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HyperSDec 9, 2008
An amusement park for the imagination. How can you go wrong with that? Its one outlandish stunt after another covered in eye candy. If you can turn off the brain, ignore Newton's law of gravity for a hour and a half, and take it for An amusement park for the imagination. How can you go wrong with that? Its one outlandish stunt after another covered in eye candy. If you can turn off the brain, ignore Newton's law of gravity for a hour and a half, and take it for what its worth and I guarantee the entire family will enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.Jul 12, 2008
A rock pile is found on the littoral of an acheronian beach, determined by the exploration party to be the remains of a long, lost brother and father. Since the laws of physics precludes the deceased from being a gravedigger, basic syllogism A rock pile is found on the littoral of an acheronian beach, determined by the exploration party to be the remains of a long, lost brother and father. Since the laws of physics precludes the deceased from being a gravedigger, basic syllogism dictates that the dead man was not alone. But for some unknown reason, nobody broaches the possibility of being under observation by an other, or that the dearly departed might have been the digger. The two men have a good cry and move on. Maybe the boy's father trained the dinosaur to dig a hole. Attention to detail was apparently reserved for the 3D effects(kind of bitchin'), because "Journey to the Center of the Earth" handles this awesome safari like a treacherous camping trip. At one point, Trevor Anderson(Brendan Fraser) tells Hannah(Anita Briem) to go home, as if it was a matter of canoe or raft. All she has to do is reach the river, according to the professor, who must possess some arcane knowledge about vertically flowing water that can bust through layer after layer of rock. What this movie needed was for the actors to convey a sense of their isolation from the terraneous world. They don't seem terribly concerned about where they're situated. As a result, the center of the world seems more like a theme park. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanielH.Jul 13, 2008
The best 3D sequences in the movie were the opening and closing credits. Nowhere else in the movie was the 3D used as effectively. I could hear the kids in the theatre yawning once the intitial thrill of the 3D wore off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KelvinL.Jul 14, 2008
May keep you entertained long enough to determine whether your headache was caused by the 3D glasses or the mind numbing dialog. A completely silent crowd after a big punchline is never a good sign.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FantasyJul 16, 2008
TURKEY time in July. In line for the Raspberry for the worst movie of the year. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LA.Jul 23, 2008
This is an OK young kids movie. But when the 3D is added it is a really fun movie for any aged person who has some love of fun in them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MasonB.Jul 29, 2008
Other than the 3-D effects used from top to the center of the earth, it's pretty bad. Movie: 4 With 3-D: 6
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RoseDJan 13, 2009
A silly movie who's plot revolves mostly on impossible cell phone reception,corny effects and bad acting. the 3-d glasses do NOT save the plot and performance of this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AnonymusAnonymusJan 17, 2009
Don't get me wrong, but..., OK, plain and simple, this movie is stupid. Who cares about the crap that you may lay eyes on? Please, oh please, don't waste your money on this junk. The theaters don't know what junk they're Don't get me wrong, but..., OK, plain and simple, this movie is stupid. Who cares about the crap that you may lay eyes on? Please, oh please, don't waste your money on this junk. The theaters don't know what junk they're putting out. But, of course, I'm one person, and when you want your money back because you PAID to see it, don't come crying to me when you don't get your money back. If you like the movie, and read this review, I'm quite embarrassed. Anyways, just don't watch this crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SpongeBobJan 17, 2009
I's slightly better than Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle, but that's really not saying much. OMG the logic in this film is non-existent. I'm amazed that Braden Fraser's career even exists after this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LaurensJan 19, 2009
Indiana Jones wannabee! this movie doesn't even cut the "average" movie. It bunks itself in between "worthless" and "awful" my 8 year old cousin told me he fell asleep while watching it. Only a 2 year old would find it eye opening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AustinM.Dec 11, 2008
I'd would give this a 6, but 3D gave it a point up. I'd say this a really good family film. Really Good. I was expecting it to be atleast okay, because I saw the Mummy movies with Brendan Fraser, and he was good in those. This I'd would give this a 6, but 3D gave it a point up. I'd say this a really good family film. Really Good. I was expecting it to be atleast okay, because I saw the Mummy movies with Brendan Fraser, and he was good in those. This movie actually beat my expectations. Watch this with a mediocre feeling, you'll like it more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MovieLonely94Nov 2, 2010
this is probably for fans of Brandon Fraser and Josh Hutcherson only. so, why a 60%? well, it was rushed due to its storyline, but the acting was decent and the visual effects were good. this movie is enjoyable, but not memorable. its a wellthis is probably for fans of Brandon Fraser and Josh Hutcherson only. so, why a 60%? well, it was rushed due to its storyline, but the acting was decent and the visual effects were good. this movie is enjoyable, but not memorable. its a well fast-paced adventure ride for the whole family. Grade: D+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
avatar16Jan 1, 2012
Tout portait à croire que cette énième version du roman de Jules Verne serait destinée à un jeune public. En effet, Voyage au Centre de la Terre possède un humour bonTout portait à croire que cette énième version du roman de Jules Verne serait destinée à un jeune public. En effet, Voyage au Centre de la Terre possède un humour bon enfant, des bons sentiments et surtout de l'action. Pour ce qui est des spectateurs plus âgés, c'est une autre affaire... Cet humour pour gosses devient dépassé (sans même faire sourire par moment), l'ambiance émotionnelle frôle la niaiserie et l'ensemble a tout d'un aspect téléfilm. En somme, Voyage au Centre de la Terre a tout du divertissement que l'on regarde qu'une seule fois (il faut dire que l'on s'attache aux personnages, l'univers visuel est inégal mais jouissif et que l'ensemble ne manque pas de ryhme), mais certaiment pas que l'on s'y attarde une seule seconde de plus. Un régal pour les enfants (ludique et agréable), un nanar visuel qui fait passer le temps pour les adultes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
grandpajoe6191Feb 13, 2012
Dafuq.
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
6
ZilcellMay 5, 2012
It takes an overused but stylish story direction and it is quite amusing. The adventure is a fun ride to watch and Brendan Frasier does great here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Jan 28, 2012
Journey to the center of the Earth is funny, entertaining and visually dazzling and the chemistry between the three stars lights up the screen which helps the film be a heartfelt and surprisingly original adventure. I give this movie 79%.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
OfficialDec 29, 2013
"Journey to the Center of the Earth" was so boring at times that I wanted to just stop watching it. Well, I still lived through it. I'm just gonna say that this movie is mostly dull and has some fun and cheesy scenes here and there."Journey to the Center of the Earth" was so boring at times that I wanted to just stop watching it. Well, I still lived through it. I'm just gonna say that this movie is mostly dull and has some fun and cheesy scenes here and there. Seriously, the script was so damn terrible. The only reason I am not giving this film a lower rating is because there are some decent CGI. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
It is original but does not entirely convince.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JawsLaxerDramaDec 20, 2012
WHY WAS THIS MOVIE MADE? Sorry for the all caps rage! This is a mediocre waste-land where good movie go to die. Horrible, cheap, played for "laughs". Jesus....what a freakin' waste.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
It's not completely unbearable, but the script is trash, and the CGI effects are mediocre at best.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
KivaJun 12, 2013
Liked the 3d but this movie needed something more. A better script probably
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieGuysJan 11, 2014
Visual effects are on par, but the story and the acting sink this movie way down the list. Almost everything could've been improved, including the miscast of Brendan Frazier. Boy, is that guy making some crap movie nowadays.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Journey to The Center of The Earth is just plain poor.
It begins uninteresting with an unhappy teenager and his dad. It gets better as it goes along with some good special effects, but then returns to being uninteresting towards the end. The
Journey to The Center of The Earth is just plain poor.
It begins uninteresting with an unhappy teenager and his dad. It gets better as it goes along with some good special effects, but then returns to being uninteresting towards the end. The characters make poor choices on purpose and the script is basically trash.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
homer4presidentMar 27, 2015
An ok action/adventure film for the whole family to enjoy, especially younger kids. The story isn't great, but the visuals and SFX are pretty good. It has enough to keep all ages entertained for 90 minutes but the kids will no doubt enjoy it more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoAug 1, 2015
Incredible special effects , could be enough but worth it for a fantastic journey to the center of the earth, and dino at the center of the earth jaj ! I do not believe them ! .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
PachekoviskMar 16, 2016
BAD
When I watched it as a kid I liked it.
Now ...... it's bad.
It's not even comparable to Jules Verne original novel and even the 50s film was better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
choomtabi31Jan 28, 2016
Good movie, I liked all the cool looking places, I thought it was neat. Acting was fine.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-424-Journey-to-the-Center-of-the-Earth-3D-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews