Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: October 5, 2001
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 161 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
143
Mixed:
12
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
moviemongerAug 11, 2011
Quite a few scenes in this movie were edge of your seat, nail biting moments. The movie unraveled, with hills and valleys, pretty well until the end. For some reason this movie got my adrenaline going and then I fell a little flat. I hadQuite a few scenes in this movie were edge of your seat, nail biting moments. The movie unraveled, with hills and valleys, pretty well until the end. For some reason this movie got my adrenaline going and then I fell a little flat. I had to ask myself if 5 minutes of the film was strong enough to disappoint me after watching the previous hour and a half? I think, yes. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
StephanieL.May 25, 2004
I loved the movie! Very edge of your seat and has comedy and great actors. The ending was a bit confusing though...but i can't wait for the sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RobertB.Oct 8, 2001
Meh...maybe I've just seen too many of these kinds of movies, but this didn't really thrill me. Not too bad, I guess, and there were one or two suspenseful moments. The ending was so thin it almost made me mad, though...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffM.Oct 29, 2002
Good fun. Silly and, of course, proposterous, but who cares? Bottom line: Entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DarcyApr 5, 2004
Paul Walker has the best rump in the business!...Oh, good movie too!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusiMar 30, 2005
I just love this movie! thrilling and also funny (just thinking of the scene where the 2 guys have to go naked in a shop) And all the bonus stuff on the DVD....it's all amazing!!! Really worth watching!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AngelaM.Oct 26, 2001
Geared at the teeny~pop generation, this movie doesn't do one thing for me. The best part of the movie was the 20 or so second shot of Walkers back side, and that wasn't even that great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffDec 8, 2001
Much better than expected. It worked because it was realistic. This situation could happen to anyone...maybe not with the extreme conclusion, but still. Steve Zahn's humor and Lee Lee Sobieski's tight shirts helped also.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LukeM.Oct 6, 2001
Sucked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AndyS.Oct 8, 2001
Reasonably well made but almost tension-free, it fails to generate the trippy, pulp kicks of Dahl's much better "The Last Seduction" or his best, "Red Rock West." It's especially disappointing in the character department, where Reasonably well made but almost tension-free, it fails to generate the trippy, pulp kicks of Dahl's much better "The Last Seduction" or his best, "Red Rock West." It's especially disappointing in the character department, where Dahl is capable of serving up a menagerie of sharply drawn eccentrics. Here he gives us a collection of near ciphers with which the hard-working cast can do little. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenOct 20, 2002
I love this movie. Paul Walker is so hot in it. I love all of the suspense. It also has humor in it which makes it one exellent movie. There had better be a second one because the guy doesn't die at the end. So it better have the same I love this movie. Paul Walker is so hot in it. I love all of the suspense. It also has humor in it which makes it one exellent movie. There had better be a second one because the guy doesn't die at the end. So it better have the same actors and stuff as before. It was awesome. I recommend this movie to everyone! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenT.Feb 28, 2002
Dave Henderson is a STAR!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DarlaH.Apr 21, 2002
Loved this movie, I screamed 5 times, plot was ok, but it was a fun joy ride of the wicked kind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackieApr 29, 2002
This movie was awesome. It was pretty scary and not too predictable. And paul walkers butt? WOW!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TiaF.Jun 28, 2002
This movie was great! It was really freaky, and the acting was awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertZ.Oct 7, 2001
Better than I expected. Remarkably effective and intelligent for its genre. Pity about the silly ending though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KatieK.Oct 9, 2001
It is so cool. I LOVE YOU BYE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jan 9, 2002
My cuz thinks this movie kicked so i'm agreeing w/ her.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KelseyO.Apr 11, 2002
This movie was awesome! I really liked it because it is something that could really happen instead of those stupid horror movies that are so fake. After I watched that movie, I was afraid to drive on the interstate. My favorite part though This movie was awesome! I really liked it because it is something that could really happen instead of those stupid horror movies that are so fake. After I watched that movie, I was afraid to drive on the interstate. My favorite part though was when it showed Paul Walker's butt. That was cool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephDec 9, 2003
Paul Walker is so hot in this movie!! this is a great movie! i love all the suspense in it!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveK.Mar 19, 2004
Great movie can't wait to see joy ride 2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RamanG.Jun 23, 2004
Scary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
snekir.Dec 15, 2005
Brilliant (also their official cite) but it is litlle predictive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NormanO.Jul 26, 2005
It had me ticked that the Truck Driver got away but the whole show had me in the pit of my stomache and I can't wait for the sequel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanM.Oct 15, 2001
A fun-filled literal rollercoaster ride, not tainted by gratuitous blood and gore, also Zahn is terrific.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatherineNov 16, 2002
Love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardDec 27, 2002
A lot of fun, with terrific performances and sustained suspense all the way through, and for once an ending that doesn't disappoint. Steve Zahn is a genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryM.Mar 15, 2002
This movie was a definite END OF YOUR SEAT nailbiting thriller. It was zany too with Steven Zhan in it. And well if nothing else is a ten those nude were sike it was a really good thriller. I was creeped alil and a horror film hasn't This movie was a definite END OF YOUR SEAT nailbiting thriller. It was zany too with Steven Zhan in it. And well if nothing else is a ten those nude were sike it was a really good thriller. I was creeped alil and a horror film hasn't creeped me like this one since Halloween (Micheal Myers) Rent it, buy it, whatever it was crazy for real!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaryC.Sep 22, 2002
Paul Walker has a hairy butt and those 12 cheeseburgers I would eat and swallow them down. Great and awesome movie. Thrill ride for the people's people is what I'd say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NatashaL.Dec 12, 2003
i loved this movie!! it was a great movie and it makes it even better that paul walker was in it! he is SO hot!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisS.Mar 15, 2003
Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SaerA.Feb 17, 2004
This movie was fair with sequences of terror and I liked it but the ending got me confused.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahS.Apr 14, 2004
[***SPOILERS***] I love this movie! Paul Walker is so hot and a great actor by the way lol. Anyways a note to Jen who posted here, just to tell you, the guy on the CB radio at the end IS him. You know that ice guy that gave Lewis his [***SPOILERS***] I love this movie! Paul Walker is so hot and a great actor by the way lol. Anyways a note to Jen who posted here, just to tell you, the guy on the CB radio at the end IS him. You know that ice guy that gave Lewis his mastercard? The killer put his body in the truck when it plowed into the Motel. Thats why the police said it was 'some guy working for an ice company in Wyoming' and they all looked at eachother like 'what the hell? Ice company guy?' so yah the real killer got away and put the ice company guy in his place. There isn't two killers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaG.Aug 12, 2004
I thought this movie kept you on the edge of your seat. When is Joy Ride 2 coming out thought?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeB.Jul 26, 2005
I thought the girl was hot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertR.Nov 15, 2001
This film is awesome! It's very rare that a movie has you shaking, even AFTER the movie ends. Great performances, excellent production design, eerie music, and an almost-unbearably intense climax highlight the best thriller or 2000 and This film is awesome! It's very rare that a movie has you shaking, even AFTER the movie ends. Great performances, excellent production design, eerie music, and an almost-unbearably intense climax highlight the best thriller or 2000 and 2001: Joy Ride! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SEROJAug 28, 2016
A movie so intense and fun that it won't bore you even for a moment! This is one of the movies that you'll like to watch more than once, because... okay, no spoilers!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeMay 8, 2016
With believable acting performances and an interesting story, Joy Ride is another early 2000's horror movie that succeed at being both terrifying and entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jim222001Apr 14, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Two brothers played by Paul Walker and Stephen Zahn prank on a truck driver with a CB radio while on a road trip to pick up a friend (Leelee Sobieski). Very soon after they regret playing the prank. The truck driver is insane and makes their lives a living hell.
What makes Joy Ride, late Paul Walker's best film is that it's a fun thriller heightened by chilling voice work by Ted Levine (Silence of the Lambs) as the truck driver. Walker impersonating a woman named Candy Cane on the CB radio which starts everything, is pretty funny. I'm not sure how anyone would believe he was a lady.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ThazariMay 7, 2016
Watched this movie as a sneak preview in theatres and discussed with the rest of my group to walk out half way. Managed to stay until the end just to see what would happen, but the movie didn't redeem itself. It's just a bore with uninspiredWatched this movie as a sneak preview in theatres and discussed with the rest of my group to walk out half way. Managed to stay until the end just to see what would happen, but the movie didn't redeem itself. It's just a bore with uninspired characters and unrealistic events. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews