Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 6 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Kevin C. Johnson
    Jan 14, 2012
    38
    Nothing more than uninspired mushiness.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jan 13, 2012
    38
    Latifah, a formidable actress who's almost always better than her movies, easily dominates this hokey cross between "Glee'' and "Sister Act.''
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jan 11, 2012
    38
    Joyful Noise is an ungainly assembly of parts that don't fit, and the strange thing is that it makes no particular effort to please its target audience, which would seem to be lovers of gospel choirs.
  4. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Jan 12, 2012
    30
    A well-meaning production that consistently fails to deliver on even the most basic of cinematic expectations, all while covering up stunning ineptitude with bloated song-and-dance numbers.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jan 11, 2012
    30
    The film feels about as genuine and spontaneous as its evident lip-synching.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    I like this movie, my 12-year-old son and 17-year-old daughter. Gospel and contemporary popular music, it appeals to all ages. The film is interesting, not too heavy, but delivered a healthy good news. Dolly has been a long time, I like, I almost forgot how much fun she can. Hope for the whole family can take away the noise from the joy of the message. Who knows the Queen Latifia can sing so wonderful? This is an all-star cast of talented young people, a witty twist, a great, from start to finish optimism.
    You can watch her momomesh.com

    I want to see the movie people can use a good laugh for the suggestions!
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 3, 2014
    9
    " this is the reason why musical movies are sepical . the fact that i watch this Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton are two reason why i came to see this film . Grade A+ Full Review »
  3. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Terrible plot. Bad romance. I couldn't take it looking at Dolley Partons fake face.
    And her freakin southern accent. Keke Palmer apparently is a strong christian in the film but makes out with a guy in every scene. Stupid, Dumb, and an idiotic film
    Full Review »