Joyful Noise

Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 6 out of 31
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Jan 12, 2012
    75
    Joyful Noise certainly has its demographics covered.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jan 11, 2012
    67
    The movie's musical numbers are catchy and rollicking and, in their bright sunshiny way, rather soulful.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jan 11, 2012
    67
    Joyful Noise is a good movie when it lifts up its heart and lets people sing.
  4. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Jan 12, 2012
    63
    Though one wishes Graff's eye were as developed as his keen ear, he elicits rafter-raising musical performances from Latifah, Palmer, and Jordan that are irresistible fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jan 10, 2012
    63
    Grousing aside, this is a disarmingly sweet movie, enjoyable to the hilt, with music that really stomps.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    I like this movie, my 12-year-old son and 17-year-old daughter. Gospel and contemporary popular music, it appeals to all ages. The film isI like this movie, my 12-year-old son and 17-year-old daughter. Gospel and contemporary popular music, it appeals to all ages. The film is interesting, not too heavy, but delivered a healthy good news. Dolly has been a long time, I like, I almost forgot how much fun she can. Hope for the whole family can take away the noise from the joy of the message. Who knows the Queen Latifia can sing so wonderful? This is an all-star cast of talented young people, a witty twist, a great, from start to finish optimism.
    You can watch her momomesh.com

    I want to see the movie people can use a good laugh for the suggestions!
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 3, 2014
    9
    " this is the reason why musical movies are sepical . the fact that i watch this Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton are two reason why i came to" this is the reason why musical movies are sepical . the fact that i watch this Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton are two reason why i came to see this film . Grade A+ Full Review »
  3. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Terrible plot. Bad romance. I couldn't take it looking at Dolley Partons fake face.
    And her freakin southern accent. Keke Palmer apparently is a strong christian in the film but makes out with a guy in every scene. Stupid, Dumb, and an idiotic film
    Full Review »