Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: January 13, 2012
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 37 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
9
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MomoMeshJan 18, 2012
I like this movie, my 12-year-old son and 17-year-old daughter. Gospel and contemporary popular music, it appeals to all ages. The film is interesting, not too heavy, but delivered a healthy good news. Dolly has been a long time, I like, II like this movie, my 12-year-old son and 17-year-old daughter. Gospel and contemporary popular music, it appeals to all ages. The film is interesting, not too heavy, but delivered a healthy good news. Dolly has been a long time, I like, I almost forgot how much fun she can. Hope for the whole family can take away the noise from the joy of the message. Who knows the Queen Latifia can sing so wonderful? This is an all-star cast of talented young people, a witty twist, a great, from start to finish optimism.
You can watch her momomesh.com

I want to see the movie people can use a good laugh for the suggestions!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ilikemovies88Jan 15, 2012
I really enjoyed this movie....I love music and will definetly be getting the soundtrack! I was loving the song at the end with all the remixes :) its was a good kind of corny and so much fun to watch
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 2, 2012
A really incredible film, this new work of Todd Graff (BandSlam) is great, I love Joyful Noise, with a really normal trama, you can pass a really good time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JC2013Jan 9, 2013
Pure joy. How many movies can move us spiritually anymore -- and really make our hearts be lifted? The story was relevant (especially for my 14 year old son, who questions God, as the young man did in the film). I had heard that this gotPure joy. How many movies can move us spiritually anymore -- and really make our hearts be lifted? The story was relevant (especially for my 14 year old son, who questions God, as the young man did in the film). I had heard that this got mixed to negative reviews in Hollywood....It's hard to believe, given the beauty and talent here. This is one that Mom's should take the time to share with their kids. We have put four children through faith based parochial education, and yet in just over an hour, they got a stronger message from Queen Latifa, Dolly and an AMAZING group of performers. Amen to that! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RachelDragonSep 6, 2016
So charming and cute. It has Dolly Parton. How can you go wrong with Dolly. It had a great mix of old and new. I could tell the budget was probably low but it made no difference. Good natural acting. KeKe Plamer was really cute to watch. SheSo charming and cute. It has Dolly Parton. How can you go wrong with Dolly. It had a great mix of old and new. I could tell the budget was probably low but it made no difference. Good natural acting. KeKe Plamer was really cute to watch. She has a natural acting skill and I enjoyed watching her. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lukechristianscApr 3, 2014
" this is the reason why musical movies are sepical . the fact that i watch this Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton are two reason why i came to see this film . Grade A+
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
movieboyApr 14, 2012
Loved it for the music, especially Keke Palmer's fabulous Man in the Mirror. Story's fairly corny but has some sweet moments, so no wonder it got brutalized by critics. You got to love gospel and feeling uplifted. Good for Queen LatifahLoved it for the music, especially Keke Palmer's fabulous Man in the Mirror. Story's fairly corny but has some sweet moments, so no wonder it got brutalized by critics. You got to love gospel and feeling uplifted. Good for Queen Latifah championing this project. And interesting how it spotlight our troubled economic times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
smoman03Jan 20, 2012
The singing in this film is what makes it good. The story is fun but some points could use some work. Loved the interaction between Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton, especially during the fight scene in the restaurant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sesostrisJan 28, 2012
Angels:
This movie is entertaining. If I was going to pigeon-hole this show, I would call it a musical/musical comedy. Perhaps the most important ingredient then, is the music. And the music was very enjoyable-uplifting, vibrant,
Angels:
This movie is entertaining. If I was going to pigeon-hole this show, I would call it a musical/musical comedy. Perhaps the most important ingredient then, is the music. And the music was very enjoyable-uplifting, vibrant, pulsating, tuneful gospel music. The movie is worth the price of admission just for the music! The plot was a standard one about group competitions-it could have been basketball teams, cheerleading teams or in this case church choirs, but the resolution of the competition was perfect. I cannot say more or I will spoil it for you. The Queen, and Dolly did just fine. The script did not ask them to stretch their acting talents, and they both carry a tune nicely. I would say that the situations were not drawn as clearly or as plausibly as they might have been. One example: why was there so much animosity between the Queen and Dolly? I still don't really get it. But, this movie was a vehicle for the music, and once you understand that, you will enjoy the movie because you enjoy the music.
Glow Brightly tonight Angels.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Feb 9, 2016
In the end, it's impossible to resist the film's exuberant high spirits.

Watch this here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29af1e-Joyful-Noise-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LuhaJan 14, 2012
I thought the movie was quite entertaining, and elevated by fine performances from Queen Latifah, Dolly Parton, and Jeremy Jordan. Can't remember the last time I walked out of the movie theater grinnig from ear to ear.I thought the movie was quite entertaining, and elevated by fine performances from Queen Latifah, Dolly Parton, and Jeremy Jordan. Can't remember the last time I walked out of the movie theater grinnig from ear to ear. http://luhathoughts.blogspot.com/2012/01/joyful-joyful-i-adore-thee.html Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DanedadJan 15, 2012
This movie was okay enough but it kind of slow moving and some of the plot elements seemed to be disjointed. I thought the language was kind of crude and the sexual innuendos were out of place given the overall subject matter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
mema7911Jan 15, 2012
I felt this was geared toward religious groups but then had obvious conflicts of profanity and sexual inferences so it therefore hit no particular audience. It was REALLY loud in my theatre and this also took away from the enjoyment. OnI felt this was geared toward religious groups but then had obvious conflicts of profanity and sexual inferences so it therefore hit no particular audience. It was REALLY loud in my theatre and this also took away from the enjoyment. On another note, I just could not get past the vast amount of cosmetic changes in Dolly Parton's face and her inability to show basic emotions, especially during close up shots. She has had one too many botox injections and lip stuffings. It really took away from her performance and could have added so much to the sensitive plots if she could have really acted. On another note, some of the music was nice but seemed a mix-mash of different genres. Dolly had to get a few of her songs in the movie so this did not necessarily mesh with the gospel theme.

If you are into religious themes and can handle the "noise" and a little profanity and sexual inferences, it might be for you.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
PyschOutBabyJan 24, 2012
I would have enjoyed this movie more if they had better writers and got rid of Parton who didn't really do much anyways. My biggest problem is that they tried preachIng about goD every other scene which gets very annoying I would understandI would have enjoyed this movie more if they had better writers and got rid of Parton who didn't really do much anyways. My biggest problem is that they tried preachIng about goD every other scene which gets very annoying I would understand once or twice. The music was ok. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
LansdenrsJul 5, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible plot. Bad romance. I couldn't take it looking at Dolley Partons fake face.
And her freakin southern accent. Keke Palmer apparently is a strong christian in the film but makes out with a guy in every scene. Stupid, Dumb, and an idiotic film
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
EdmonchuckJan 16, 2012
I know that many like Latifah and Dolly...I definitely do. However, this movie was either poorly written or sponsored by a church membership drive. It is more cliche than anything I've seen from Disney. A 3 minute song that simply saysI know that many like Latifah and Dolly...I definitely do. However, this movie was either poorly written or sponsored by a church membership drive. It is more cliche than anything I've seen from Disney. A 3 minute song that simply says "fix me Jesus" is nauseating. Dolly's corny remembrancewith Kris made me roll my eyes. The voices in the movie sing wonderfully. However, the camp and cornball littered with an obvious plug for churches made even the heartwarming moments Gravol-ready. The voices keep this movie from being rated a 1. Wait for late night TV for this one folks. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
TheDRauchOct 28, 2012
A mild blend of Glee and fundamental christian values, 'Joyful Noise' will fail to satisfy either parties that would be willing to see it. It has too much sexual content to appeal to those who love gospel choir (though, on the whole, it isA mild blend of Glee and fundamental christian values, 'Joyful Noise' will fail to satisfy either parties that would be willing to see it. It has too much sexual content to appeal to those who love gospel choir (though, on the whole, it is still very PG-13) and it is too preachy to be accessible to those who would enjoy the choral arrangements of pop songs. Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton make for formidable opponents, but their clashes never go for the throat and come off as subdued. The plot is also really predictable, almost groan-inducing. So then, what is there for audiences to grab a hold onto? Not much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews