Relativity Media | Release Date: June 10, 2011
3.6
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 23 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
7
Mixed:
1
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
WinstonoboogieJul 9, 2011
Cute kids' comedy plays like a more girl-centric version of Diary Of A Wimpy Kid, as plucky young Judy Moody (Jordana Beatty) sees her big plans for summer break go down the drain when her two best friends wind up going out of town for theCute kids' comedy plays like a more girl-centric version of Diary Of A Wimpy Kid, as plucky young Judy Moody (Jordana Beatty) sees her big plans for summer break go down the drain when her two best friends wind up going out of town for the summer. Things look up when, inspired and aided by her free-spirited Aunt Opal (Heather Graham), Judy comes up with a wacky list of dares and adventures to be undertaken by both her and her faraway friends. Nothing hugely original here, but Beatty (an Australian actress doing a flawless American accent) is appealing, Graham is tremendously sexy and loveable, and in one of the more surprising bits of casting this summer, Jaleel White - yes, I'm talking iconic TV nerd Steve Urkel - is genuinely charming as Judy's teacher. I know the reviews are crummy and the Megacritic scores reflect that, but I'd take this over Mr. Popper's Penguins or (God help me) Transformers: Dark Of The Moon any day. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
PinkFloyd4everJul 24, 2011
I took my neice to see this, it was the worst movie i have ever seen in a long time. Why are the vast majority of films that are being released nowadays sucking so bad? It was horrendous. Even my 8 year old neice hatted it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
fablepaulAug 2, 2011
I enjoyed LeahAndNic's review. Right on. I saw it with a full house opening week - and, while I would have enjoyed a few more quieter, less frenetic moments in the film - it thoroughly entertained the kids - and adults - in the audience -I enjoyed LeahAndNic's review. Right on. I saw it with a full house opening week - and, while I would have enjoyed a few more quieter, less frenetic moments in the film - it thoroughly entertained the kids - and adults - in the audience - including me. The CG graphics were a fun nod to a world-gone-gamified - and, aside from some unnecessary fixation on poop jokes (of course, getting some of the best "ewwws!" and laughs from the kids), the film provided a playful romp with decent messages. Loved that Aunt Opal is a walking creativity-maven. And if this film gets kids reading the book series it was based on, that's not such a bummer summer either. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
LeahAndNicJun 20, 2011
I get confused by critics and their reviews of kids movies these days. I'm not a huge fan of them myself. So I stay away from discussing them in terms of rating other than good or bad. But with such overwhelming negative reviews I thoughtI get confused by critics and their reviews of kids movies these days. I'm not a huge fan of them myself. So I stay away from discussing them in terms of rating other than good or bad. But with such overwhelming negative reviews I thought I would jump in.

It's good. It's fun. It's completely unbelievable. But what I can tell you is that my 8 year old really smiled through it watching a character she read about come to life. Judy can be annoying as any kid can from time to time But I loved the idea of a list of Bummer Summer Killers. And my daughter made one for herself on her own after seeing it. She chose challenging, exciting stuff to try for her first time. And I'm proud of her for it. And this movie got her to try it.

So by all accounts it's a done it's job. It's made a kid smile, a parent not angry and it's challenged my daughter. I know it's not talking cars, dancing penguins or cowboy lizards.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
AngelleMar 17, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Judy moody is a fun,exciting,and funny movie. It's great for kids. I love the movie and I am sure you will too! It so creative and wonderful. It's and exciting adventure through Judy Moody's summer. They are such good actors and actresses. Just watch it! It might even give you some ideas for the summer. The only thing that you might want to worry about but maybe not is that they say a word that you might or might not consider a curse word. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
MegWhiteleyMay 15, 2012
One of the most terrible movies ever!. The Judy Moody books are really cool, and funny, when Relativity Media do the announce of this movie, I think: wow, great idea. But what happen? This movie is a big disaster. The story is really stupid,One of the most terrible movies ever!. The Judy Moody books are really cool, and funny, when Relativity Media do the announce of this movie, I think: wow, great idea. But what happen? This movie is a big disaster. The story is really stupid, and the development is slow, strange, stupid, is like a freak show. The performances are horrible, any have a great moment. Judy Moody and the Not Bummer Summer is one of the worst movies of the last year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
UNARMED_JORDJul 19, 2016
one of the most worst adaptations of a beloved children's series ever do not watch it as you will regret it if you like the books stick to the books just dont watch this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews