Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jug Face tells the story of a pregnant teen trying to escape a backwoods community when she discovers that she may be sacrificed to a creature in a pit. The entity in the pit requires a life for keeping the community safe. The face of the person to be sacrificed is crafted onto a ceramic jug. When ignored, the entity unleashes an evil onto the community. [Modern Distributors] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Nick McCarthy
    Aug 8, 2013
    75
    Chad Crawford Kinkle impressively imbues this supernatural world of backwoods mysticism with a plausible milieu while still staying committed to the film's own brewing insanity.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Aug 6, 2013
    70
    The brisk, brief feature appears more atmospheric than terrifying, but its bare-bones tale gets under the skin.
  3. Reviewed by: Pete Vonder Haar
    Aug 6, 2013
    70
    Kinkle shows a deft hand at pacing and the gore is kept to a minimum.
  4. Reviewed by: Marsha McCreadie
    Aug 9, 2013
    63
    After all the thrills, chills, and jumped up machinery in both big and little films these days, there's not too much that can shake us up; show me something I can't get anywhere else, like Jug Face's rare joyful hillbilly dance sequence, with heels-tapping and spoons clanking.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Aug 7, 2013
    60
    Kinkle's debut refreshingly sacrifices gore showpieces (though it is bloody at times) for a steadily increasing dread tied to a young woman's desperation.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jul 15, 2013
    60
    Intriguing without ever proving insightful, the film nonetheless has a formal patience and meticulousness that sets it apart from its jump-scare-loving mainstream-horror brethren.
  7. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Aug 9, 2013
    38
    This morbid, cruel movie seems leached of all things that might inadvertently give viewers pleasure.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Sep 11, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. PLEASE only read this if you have watched the movie, as even the worst movies deserve that much.
    I had high hopes for this movie at the beginning (the VERY beginning I should say since after maybe the first few minutes my enthusiasm rapidly diminished) but after watching the distasteful ending it left me wondering why I'd even bothered in the first place. I suppose what makes a good horror movie is the writers' ability to scare the viewer. At no time during this movie was I even remotely perturbed for several reasons.
    After the first person was killed by the "evil entity", which by the way remains unseen for the entirety of the film, I began to wonder if this was really even a horror movie. It's not like Paranormal Activity though, where fear of the invisible unknown is actually greater than seeing what's causing the terror. The film is more of an ethical and spiritual dilemma than a true horror flick.
    It's hard to feel anything for people who are so blinded by dark ritualistic habit that they truly cannot think for themselves. They truly and completely believe that they must do what they are doing and something about that is inherently bothersome to me. What is so entertaining (or scary) about watching a hoe-dunk town full of depressed cultists play Russian roulette with what I can only assume is a demon or vengeful spirit? Nothing at all, I tell you.
    What bothers me most about ANY film, regardless of whether or not it's a horror movie, is the believability of the characters. What I mean by that is if the films' stars truly seem to think for themselves, or make decisions that are AT ALL logical. In the case of Jug Face, the only practical decisions the protagonist makes is her failed escape attempt and trying anything to save her unborn child. Now I'd also like to clarify that I don't hold any of this against the actors or actresses. They actually did a very good job in terms of pure acting ability and for this very reason I gave this film a score of 3. Without the acting talent this movie fortunately possesses, I would have given it a 0.
    Although the protagonist was the only character which evoked any feeling from me whatsoever, by the end of the film when she is about to be killed and the moment arrives where I expect to feel saddened by her impending death, I only felt disgust. Much as I would witnessing a mass suicide.
    You can take my word for it because from the "shunned" ghosts that everyone can apparently see to the blood crazed vengeful spirit that leads these cultists this movie can't be taken seriously. And horror films that can't be taken seriously are not horror films at all, like Scary Movie. Do yourself a favor and just stay away from this one.
    Expand

Trailers