Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 7, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 176 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
127
Mixed:
32
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
killdarrenAug 26, 2009
Rip your hair out by it's roots, scream at the top of your lungs, pound head against the wall infuriating! The premise is ridiculous. Omg, look at me I have a boring life and I'm going to write a blog about it. Aren't I so Rip your hair out by it's roots, scream at the top of your lungs, pound head against the wall infuriating! The premise is ridiculous. Omg, look at me I have a boring life and I'm going to write a blog about it. Aren't I so interesting and clever? NOOOO!!! Stop it. Meryl Streep's accent is nails on chalk board and Amy Adams is one determined but you'd never- know-it fame whore leaching off her fame. It will soon fade away and be forgotten, thank you Julia Child's ghost. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
HollyR.Nov 14, 2009
Meryl Streep did a great job but this movie sucked. Unless you love Julia Child and her life story and watching it interspersed with a lame, pathetic woman who claims as an adult to have never eaten an EGG, don't waste your time.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
DavidDec 13, 2009
This movie sucked. It was very boring. Nothing "happens" in this movie. I feel like I should've been watching grass grow. The sorry excuse for a plot was so paper thin it was hard for me to enjoy.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
SandraTAug 8, 2009
Nothing exciting about this movie. First movie ever where I wanted to leave early!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BerylV.Sep 2, 2009
Other than the spectacular performance of Meryl Streep, I found the movie completely uninteresting. Maybe I wasn't hungry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PorterhouseWAug 10, 2009
The Julie part of the movie is a snooze. Meryl Streep now more than ever impresses me as an actress who can never let the audience forget she's being a great actress to the detriment of the character and her co-stars. Someone please The Julie part of the movie is a snooze. Meryl Streep now more than ever impresses me as an actress who can never let the audience forget she's being a great actress to the detriment of the character and her co-stars. Someone please convince Nora Ephron to retire before we get another trifle like this one. Almost as bad as "Bewitched" was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
StevenOAug 22, 2009
Worst movies ever seen! Love both main actresses and was ruined by a bunch of keckling women who laughed at every word said. Would possibly liked the movies at home without the audience laughing at every word that wasn't funny. Worst movies ever seen! Love both main actresses and was ruined by a bunch of keckling women who laughed at every word said. Would possibly liked the movies at home without the audience laughing at every word that wasn't funny. Meryl's husband was to unreal and too gay to be realistic. Love him but didn't cut it! This was definitely a woman and gay man's movie. I'm gay and hated it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoeN.Dec 25, 2009
Nora Ephron had done what I thought impossible; made me dread watching the real Julia Child and the actor who played her in this film again...anytime soon. The real Julia is delightfully funny in her various cooking programs, but Nora Ephron had done what I thought impossible; made me dread watching the real Julia Child and the actor who played her in this film again...anytime soon. The real Julia is delightfully funny in her various cooking programs, but Streep's goose-like portrayal in this film made me nauseous, as if I'd eaten way too much fois gras. The Julie portion is to horrible to comment on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JimboHDec 30, 2009
Puke. O.k. Give it a "1", just because....? 'Chick flick'. too polite. How about self-indulgent Nor E. direction dictates dickless Julie husband, and obnoxious Julie and Julia. Do women really see the genders and the word around Puke. O.k. Give it a "1", just because....? 'Chick flick'. too polite. How about self-indulgent Nor E. direction dictates dickless Julie husband, and obnoxious Julie and Julia. Do women really see the genders and the word around tem this way? God, no wonder! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
UptonKAug 25, 2009
Dear Nora Ephron: Please stop making movies. You are not good at it. You take wonderful ideas and run them through some kind of vanilla pudding-nator until they are rendered so bland and meaningless that whatever kernel of originality that Dear Nora Ephron: Please stop making movies. You are not good at it. You take wonderful ideas and run them through some kind of vanilla pudding-nator until they are rendered so bland and meaningless that whatever kernel of originality that once existed and prompted the filming of said material in the first place ends up airing its tepid undies on the silver screen with all the grace of a lobotomized Sunday school teacher on valium. Julie & Julia is no exception to this rule. My suggestion? Retire. Take up badminton or the shoeing of horses. Invite people over to your mansion and play let Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
danielw.Aug 8, 2009
Was I watching the same movie as the critics? Has Meryl Streep become the teflon actress, a critic's pet regardless of what she throws up on the screen? This was one of the most extreme and selfish pieces of overacting I have seen in Was I watching the same movie as the critics? Has Meryl Streep become the teflon actress, a critic's pet regardless of what she throws up on the screen? This was one of the most extreme and selfish pieces of overacting I have seen in ages. Streep sucks the oxygen out of every scene she's in. Even as talented an actor as Stanley Tucci has trouble registering, given how much scene chewing she engages in. I actually found the modern-day Queens' scenes a relief from all the grandstanding. Not to say that they amount to very much either. Ephron homogenizes and pasteurizes all the situations and characters, to the point where one has a lot of trouble seeing what the demons are that could have driven the main character to take on her year-long encounter with Childs, or what could have driven Childs herself. Adams' character doesn't seem to have any inner demons. When she has a fight with her husband, it comes as a total surprise. The characters until then do not seem to have the depth required to actually generate some conflict. Too bad. There are clearly two good stories here that could have been told. Childs was a more multi-faceted character than what the screenwriter and director Ephron has let on, and as for the Julie Wallace character, a quick perusal of her blog reveals that she was much more interesting and complicated than the character that was provided to Adams. This is what happens when you underestimate your public's intelligence and ability to deal with real, multi-dimensional characters in movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarkDSep 8, 2009
I got in to see this movie free and STILL feel cheated! Two hours of Meryl Streep rolling around the screen like a barroom drunk on helium, and this a blessed relief from the whiney Amy Adams and her insipid man accessory's I got in to see this movie free and STILL feel cheated! Two hours of Meryl Streep rolling around the screen like a barroom drunk on helium, and this a blessed relief from the whiney Amy Adams and her insipid man accessory's dope-with-a-heart act. Nora Ephron directs with all the subtlety of a road side burger van vendor, add a bucket of syrup, a few lades of cheese and serve; guaranteed nausea! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AngoraBAug 14, 2009
A summer popcorn movie is not one thing I usually like. Of course, this is not an exception. Meryl is good, as always, but the only point I give this movie is her. Nothing more should be rewarded.
0 of 0 users found this helpful