User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 164

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In this movie Meryl Streep drives us to the concept of cooking with the same charisma than Remy in Ratatouille, but this time with a lady who is not afraid of what people will think. Marvelous. Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Sorry for the translation, is mechanical. Thank you.

    What's for dinner? Qu'est-ce qu'on mange? Paris 1949 Queens, New York 2002 Two women, two "ways of being" different, two lives, two ways of addressing it. Motivational-ironic-energetic-enthusiastic Mrs. Child, analytical and emotional-volitional Mrs. Powell. Julia Child, the wife of an official U.S. government moved to Paris
    Sorry for the translation, is mechanical. Thank you.

    What's for dinner?
    Qu'est-ce qu'on mange?

    Paris 1949
    Queens, New York 2002

    Two women, two "ways of being" different, two lives, two ways of addressing it. Motivational-ironic-energetic-enthusiastic Mrs. Child, analytical and emotional-volitional Mrs. Powell. Julia Child, the wife of an official U.S. government moved to Paris to work, seems to have found his "real" city. It immediately take "possession" a real French feeling. Gourmet with a passion for cooking, envy the French because the French eat a daily basis. This observation, will begin the project of his life. Teach Americans to eat French. She has two large "gifts". First, she learns quickly and develops what is taught and that is how the age of 37, began attending classes at the Cordon Bleu School in Paris. She is' full of life, want to discover the secrets, the new experiences it is based, short for Julia's life is a huge package filled with gifts. The second, she is an excellent teacher and this will be universally acknowledged by those who got to attend his tuition, then wins with his manner, whole masses television. Julie Powell, who moved with her husband, reluctantly, from Brooklyn to Queens for work of Erik, are home on a pizzeria. Work at LMDC - Lower Manhattan Development Corp., a receptionist job that does not satisfy, it defines a "bureaucrat who tries to manage the side effects of 11 September." When he returns, it is always destroyed, why can not internalize the point 2 of the guidelines to be observed in relations with customers and that is "not get involved emotionally when they denounce the incident." Motivational-ironic-energetic-enthusiastic Mrs. Child, analytical and emotional-volitional Mrs. Powell. Julia Child, the wife of an official U.S. government moved to Paris to work, seems to have found his "real" city. It immediately take "possession" a real French feeling. Gourmet with a passion for cooking, envy the French because the French eat a daily basis. This observation, will begin the project of his life. Teach Americans to eat French. She has two large "gifts". First, she learns quickly and develops what is taught and that is how the age of 37, began attending classes at the Cordon Bleu School in Paris. She is' full of life, want to discover the secrets, the new experiences it is based, short for Julia's life is a huge package filled with gifts. The second, she is an excellent teacher and this will be universally acknowledged by those who got to attend his tuition, then wins with his manner, whole masses television. Julie Powell, who moved with her husband, reluctantly, from Brooklyn to Queens for work of Erik, are home on a pizzeria. Work at LMDC - Lower Manhattan Development Corp., a receptionist job that does not satisfy, it defines a "bureaucrat who tries to manage the side effects of 11 September." When he returns, it is always destroyed, why can not internalize the point 2 of the guidelines to be observed in relations with customers and that is "not get involved emotionally when they denounce the incident."
    Meryl Streep gives us another fresco film showing what it means to be an actress and as much sensitivity must be in support, to carry out that work. Result, even if he were in front of cutouts of any script, the remains of a camera, if working with a director maybe drunk or disoriented can, with his immense ability, capacity and skill training again even more beautiful mosaic. A script becomes a "Creature" not sparing in professional generosity. The spectator has the accurate perception of the character played managed to capture all the personality traits.
    The film in question is a film adaptation "passion" of two stories. The books that inspired director and screenwriter Nora Ephoron, are: "Julie & Julia" by Julie Pewell (Amy Adams) and "My Life in France" by Julia Child (Meryl Streep) and Alex Prud'hommme.

    Good Ciak!
    Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2010
    9
    I loved this film. Meryl Streep is utterly brilliant in it, and completely believable as a cook and cookery writer. I do have 3 slight reservations about cast and script tough.
    Firstly, Stanley Tucci did not entirely work for me as Julia Child's husband (nothing to do with his acting) but, to my eyes, he looked far too young to be 10 years older than she was . We can see that he is a
    I loved this film. Meryl Streep is utterly brilliant in it, and completely believable as a cook and cookery writer. I do have 3 slight reservations about cast and script tough.
    Firstly, Stanley Tucci did not entirely work for me as Julia Child's husband (nothing to do with his acting) but, to my eyes, he looked far too young to be 10 years older than she was . We can see that he is a dapper dresser and particular about his appearance but in those days someone his age did not look that youthful (all shiny complexion and wrinkle free face). Secondly although Julia Child is a household name in the US, in Europe we had no idea who she was and I felt that there could have been a couple more scenes before Amy Adams' character embarked on her cooking odyssey to somehow explain to the audience the size of the leap that was about to take place between being able to cook simple but tasty food like bruschettas (as we see her do at the beginning of the film I think) and the demanding technical skills she would have to acquire to be able to cook Julia Child's food. It took me a while to realize we were entering serious food territory.
    Thirdly, the lady who plays one of the characters involved in trying to put together the first draft of the cookery book (the one who never puts in any work) is not a native speaker and it it does feel rather strange to hear a supposedly French person , in Paris, speaking accented French. It is a small detail but could a native French speaker not be found? None of the above ruined my enjoyment of the film though I have to say and I am very pleased to see that my long held belief that Amy Adams is the best character actress to come out of the US in the last 5 years remains as strong as ever. Long may it continue!
    Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2011
    6
    hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
  5. Aug 28, 2011
    5
    Meryl Streep has been the unopposed Queen of the Screen for 3 decades - the interest in her movies is as much to see her sculpt a character as it is to see the movie itself. Julie and Julia did not disappoint, with regard to Meryl - she was fantastic, as always. Instead of a movie intertwining two separate plots, I viewed two completely different movies. Ironically, I rooted for JuliaMeryl Streep has been the unopposed Queen of the Screen for 3 decades - the interest in her movies is as much to see her sculpt a character as it is to see the movie itself. Julie and Julia did not disappoint, with regard to Meryl - she was fantastic, as always. Instead of a movie intertwining two separate plots, I viewed two completely different movies. Ironically, I rooted for Julia Child, already knowing her life's outcome and really could not have cared less about the Julie Powell, the Amy Adams character, I knew nothing about - the whiny, somewhat unlikeable character. The movie boils down to, simply, a tribute to a beloved "character" for generations....Julia Child. Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2012
    7
    It's not just some of the food featured that's light and fluffy, but rather the context of this film. That's not to say Julie & Julia is a bad movie but if you were looking for a more serious and somber biopic then you may have to look elsewhere. The acting is marvelous with Meryl Streep the standout, however that is to be expected by now. I do have another bone to pick though and itIt's not just some of the food featured that's light and fluffy, but rather the context of this film. That's not to say Julie & Julia is a bad movie but if you were looking for a more serious and somber biopic then you may have to look elsewhere. The acting is marvelous with Meryl Streep the standout, however that is to be expected by now. I do have another bone to pick though and it relates to the feeling that there's two features in one. I perhaps would have rated this flick much higher if the Julie Powell storyline was wiped altogether. Expand
  7. Aug 27, 2014
    7
    Streep brilliant portrayal of Julia Child aside, Julie & Julia is a foodie with a twist. Nora Ephron beautifully paints two different lives and perspectives to create one fascinating story.
  8. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    Julie & Julia is a mostly average film, but the reason I rate it so high is because it is teeming with the joy of life. Bolstered by a brilliant lead performance from Meryl Streep, but also by Amy Adams who does a lot with very little, the film manages the capture the spirit of these women. Sweet, charming, well-done, and entertaining, J&J is a film I'd recommend to anyone and everyone.
  9. Mar 21, 2014
    7
    this is quite interesting film about two woman who are trying to be the perfect cook and there so passinate about cooking . i kinda made me hungry . Meryl Streep was a passionate actress when he deciding to be in this film so did amy adams
  10. Jul 30, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Julie & Julia" is a film about cooking, supported best by a superb Meryl Streep as Julia Child and an adorable Amy Adams as Julie Powell. Its 'Julie' part of the plot may seem a bit cheesy, in contrast to the intriguing story Julia Child narrates. The film is well-directed and its vivid colors make it more pleasing to the eye and ideal for its character. Streep delivers many laughs with her refreshing humour. The single fact I disliked was that the film hinted Child's dislike of Powell's blog was unjustified, while it is not so. I also found Powell's struggle to be ridiculously extravagant. Except for this tiny bit, "Julie & Julia" is an enjoyable film above average. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. As enjoyable as this foodie movie is, you wish it would take a deeper, more nuanced measure of the women who, in two different eras, star in the movie's kitchens.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    50
    This middling melange of Child biopic and contempo dramedy feels overstuffed and predigested as it depicts two ladies who found fame and fulfillment in their respective eras by cooking and writing about it.
  3. Julie & Julia is full of holes, but you don't even care when Streep is onscreen.