Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 7, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 175 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
126
Mixed:
32
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JohnP.Dec 15, 2009
Great parity , Both lead characters attained thier lifelong goals . Terrific creativity and good stories.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RONGIUSep 11, 2010
Sorry for the translation, is mechanical. Thank you.

What's for dinner? Qu'est-ce qu'on mange? Paris 1949 Queens, New York 2002 Two women, two "ways of being" different, two lives, two ways of addressing it.
Sorry for the translation, is mechanical. Thank you.

What's for dinner?
Qu'est-ce qu'on mange?

Paris 1949
Queens, New York 2002

Two women, two "ways of being" different, two lives, two ways of addressing it. Motivational-ironic-energetic-enthusiastic Mrs. Child, analytical and emotional-volitional Mrs. Powell. Julia Child, the wife of an official U.S. government moved to Paris to work, seems to have found his "real" city. It immediately take "possession" a real French feeling. Gourmet with a passion for cooking, envy the French because the French eat a daily basis. This observation, will begin the project of his life. Teach Americans to eat French. She has two large "gifts". First, she learns quickly and develops what is taught and that is how the age of 37, began attending classes at the Cordon Bleu School in Paris. She is' full of life, want to discover the secrets, the new experiences it is based, short for Julia's life is a huge package filled with gifts. The second, she is an excellent teacher and this will be universally acknowledged by those who got to attend his tuition, then wins with his manner, whole masses television. Julie Powell, who moved with her husband, reluctantly, from Brooklyn to Queens for work of Erik, are home on a pizzeria. Work at LMDC - Lower Manhattan Development Corp., a receptionist job that does not satisfy, it defines a "bureaucrat who tries to manage the side effects of 11 September." When he returns, it is always destroyed, why can not internalize the point 2 of the guidelines to be observed in relations with customers and that is "not get involved emotionally when they denounce the incident." Motivational-ironic-energetic-enthusiastic Mrs. Child, analytical and emotional-volitional Mrs. Powell. Julia Child, the wife of an official U.S. government moved to Paris to work, seems to have found his "real" city. It immediately take "possession" a real French feeling. Gourmet with a passion for cooking, envy the French because the French eat a daily basis. This observation, will begin the project of his life. Teach Americans to eat French. She has two large "gifts". First, she learns quickly and develops what is taught and that is how the age of 37, began attending classes at the Cordon Bleu School in Paris. She is' full of life, want to discover the secrets, the new experiences it is based, short for Julia's life is a huge package filled with gifts. The second, she is an excellent teacher and this will be universally acknowledged by those who got to attend his tuition, then wins with his manner, whole masses television. Julie Powell, who moved with her husband, reluctantly, from Brooklyn to Queens for work of Erik, are home on a pizzeria. Work at LMDC - Lower Manhattan Development Corp., a receptionist job that does not satisfy, it defines a "bureaucrat who tries to manage the side effects of 11 September." When he returns, it is always destroyed, why can not internalize the point 2 of the guidelines to be observed in relations with customers and that is "not get involved emotionally when they denounce the incident."
Meryl Streep gives us another fresco film showing what it means to be an actress and as much sensitivity must be in support, to carry out that work. Result, even if he were in front of cutouts of any script, the remains of a camera, if working with a director maybe drunk or disoriented can, with his immense ability, capacity and skill training again even more beautiful mosaic. A script becomes a "Creature" not sparing in professional generosity. The spectator has the accurate perception of the character played managed to capture all the personality traits.
The film in question is a film adaptation "passion" of two stories. The books that inspired director and screenwriter Nora Ephoron, are: "Julie & Julia" by Julie Pewell (Amy Adams) and "My Life in France" by Julia Child (Meryl Streep) and Alex Prud'hommme.

Good Ciak!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JohnFAug 10, 2009
It made me laugh and it made me cry. Streep is amazing. Amy Adams is delightful. Best of all the film introduces a whole new generation to Julia Child.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndresB.Aug 7, 2009
Great film and a wonderful performance by Meryl Streep. Her chemistry with Stanley Tucci is unmissable. A total winner!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelD.Aug 7, 2009
What a satisfying film. Watching Meryl Streep is a lesson in film acting...and All the cameo parts are a treat to see. Delightful from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidB.Sep 7, 2009
Tremendous fun. Lots of warm, affectionate laughs. Very human. Meryl Steep channels Julia Childs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
chuckhAug 10, 2009
Streep was terrific, she WAS Julia Child. Still cannot figure out how they could drive a 1950 Buick on arrival in France when they actually went there in November ,1948. The film said 1949. Hey, that car had not been built yet.The industry Streep was terrific, she WAS Julia Child. Still cannot figure out how they could drive a 1950 Buick on arrival in France when they actually went there in November ,1948. The film said 1949. Hey, that car had not been built yet.The industry makes a lot of mistakes with old cars, look at Public Enemies. 1935 and 1936 models when Dillinger died in 1934.It isn't that hard to get it right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindsayFAug 10, 2009
I think this movie was a masterpiece. Stanley Tucci and Meryl Streep were extraordinarily touching and believable. I grew up watching my grandparents watch (and adore) Julia Child. This movie brought her indomitable optimism and generosity I think this movie was a masterpiece. Stanley Tucci and Meryl Streep were extraordinarily touching and believable. I grew up watching my grandparents watch (and adore) Julia Child. This movie brought her indomitable optimism and generosity to the fore, and showed how the urge to create great food becomes a spiritual calling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurenAug 11, 2009
Perfect movie. Makes you feel so good coming out of it. Meryl Streep deserves an Oscar hands down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
barbarahAug 12, 2009
Loved it. Made me go home and reread all of my Julia's cookbooks ,also cook, cook , cook.After all life is a banquet and you know the rest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesFAug 10, 2009
It's smart and funny and moving in unexpected ways. Streep and Tucci are amazing together. Linda Emonds also delights with what should be a unnoticed role. The sense of period and the food itself is done perfectly. It is the It's smart and funny and moving in unexpected ways. Streep and Tucci are amazing together. Linda Emonds also delights with what should be a unnoticed role. The sense of period and the food itself is done perfectly. It is the contemporary story that slightly disappoints, not in the initial watching but afterwards. I have gone for several days with scenes and lines popping into my head, but they were all of Julia and never Julie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnHAug 15, 2009
Meryl Streep is unbelievable. Her acting talent is always a thing to behold. Also, I personally regard Amy Adams as one of the most adorable actresses in the world. Combine with an entertaining screenplay and I was very happy with the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lizhAug 10, 2009
A perfectly delightful film, and the men seem to love it too. The chemistry between both couples is wonderful to watch. The Paris scenes are stylistically beautiful as is Julia's car. A feel good film that is not all sticky, gooey A perfectly delightful film, and the men seem to love it too. The chemistry between both couples is wonderful to watch. The Paris scenes are stylistically beautiful as is Julia's car. A feel good film that is not all sticky, gooey (except for the food). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeanSAug 15, 2009
It didn't have the depth that I wanted in the character of Julia Child.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TDKinDallasAug 19, 2009
I liked it. Worth the $$$.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColleenHAug 30, 2009
We saw this movie while visiting Montreal and loved it! Meryl Streep was superb as Julia Child and I note the sales of Julia's cookbook have soared. I have made two of the recipes already! Can't wait for its release here in We saw this movie while visiting Montreal and loved it! Meryl Streep was superb as Julia Child and I note the sales of Julia's cookbook have soared. I have made two of the recipes already! Can't wait for its release here in Australia as I will be off to see it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherK.Aug 7, 2009
Excellent! Streep should win another Oscar for fleshing out what could have been a farce of a character! Don't listen to all the complaining about Adams-she's good too! Excellent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RonaldoCAug 8, 2009
This film is not perfect, and the story of Julia Childs is much more fascinating than the story of Julia. But these tales DO intersect. They mirror each other as tales of women (people?) who do not know what to do with themselves finding This film is not perfect, and the story of Julia Childs is much more fascinating than the story of Julia. But these tales DO intersect. They mirror each other as tales of women (people?) who do not know what to do with themselves finding themselves by writing about food: Julia writes the first french cookbook for Americans, as we all know, and Julie writes a blog detailing her adventures cooking all the recipes from that book. Modern day Julie just cannot compete with the wild character of Julia, and Meryl's performance often times pushes into camp. But that's okay. It's great fun. Julie, with her work-a-day worries, and Internet hobby is us. Childs is the big boned myth. How could they compete? Consequently the film drags on a bit with the Julia side of things. Maybe it has to do with not being a woman and not being endlessly fascinated by relationships skidding this way and that. But then it was all so predictable, too. Anyway I forgave it all because Streep was just so funny and alive. Millions will be reminded of this female icon. Before the feature hit the screen, we were treated to previews of four films about women made by women, and it is as a film about a strange female hero that I appreciated Julie & Julia. If Julie is along for the right, 'sallright. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BartJAug 9, 2009
While it's true that Jule & Julia can sometimes sag when it's "Julie", one wishes for less whining from her, this film is a great crowd pleaser. When I saw it, in an almost-full matinee screening, the audience laughed throughout While it's true that Jule & Julia can sometimes sag when it's "Julie", one wishes for less whining from her, this film is a great crowd pleaser. When I saw it, in an almost-full matinee screening, the audience laughed throughout and at the end gave it generous applause. Meryl, if you won't marry me, couldn't you at least adopt me? What a delight, every second that Meryl/Julia is on screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sheilafAug 9, 2009
Wonderful film..As tasty as the fancy food prepared with lusty abandon. Streep and Tucci are the sexiest odd couple ever and Amy Adams' plucky energy is the secret sauce. She holds her own in the unenviable position of Streep's Wonderful film..As tasty as the fancy food prepared with lusty abandon. Streep and Tucci are the sexiest odd couple ever and Amy Adams' plucky energy is the secret sauce. She holds her own in the unenviable position of Streep's other half. .and together they serve up a delicious meal! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaleMAug 9, 2009
This film was very enjoyable largely because of Meryl Streep's portrayal of Julia Child. I think the film also captures a genuine love of food preparation and cooking. It also has some wonderful scenes of post-war Paris street vendors. This film was very enjoyable largely because of Meryl Streep's portrayal of Julia Child. I think the film also captures a genuine love of food preparation and cooking. It also has some wonderful scenes of post-war Paris street vendors. However, there are a number of things which prevent this film from really taking advantage of Streep and its material. The stories (both Julie's and Julia's) are straight forward rags to riches stories which show hard work and persistence paying off in the end. This is not a bad formula to build on, but the film doesn't build much on it. The characters lack depth, especially the husbands, who are portrayed as saints with little lives of their own. Even the main characters lack much complexity in their lives or in their inner selves. There are no major story twists. The Julie story especially becomes a get-rich-quick-with-remarkably-little-work story. Julie isn't very eccentric or interesting as a character. She seems to have just had a good idea, a love of cooking, and some talent at writing. At least the Julia story showed someone working for years (not just a year). Julia just loved cooking and kind of oafishly bungled her way to success. Her story was much more interesting than the Julie story. The scenes in the Paris streets with the vendors were a pleasure to watch. I also think more could have really been made about the genuine love of food preparation. Some great contrasts could have been made between our fast food, buy-it-prepared, convenience philosophy of food and the genuine love of preparing food. At first it looked as though the film was going in this direction, but then it became about get rich quick by blogging for a year Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomWAug 9, 2009
Meryl Streep does an excellent job acting, impersonating Julia Child. But the movie I saw in San Diego Aug. 7, the Boom Operator should get an Academy Award for the mics apperance 3-4 times, from the top of the screen. Turns this picture Meryl Streep does an excellent job acting, impersonating Julia Child. But the movie I saw in San Diego Aug. 7, the Boom Operator should get an Academy Award for the mics apperance 3-4 times, from the top of the screen. Turns this picture into a B movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JulieSAug 9, 2009
I loved everything about this movie! Pure enjoyment from beginning to end! Meryl becomes Julia and we get a glimpse of the person behind the celebrity! It's just wonderful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardWAug 9, 2009
Meryl Streep brilliantly becomes (not "acts as," "becomes") Julia Child and is surrounded with a great ensemble (Amy Adams is getting a bad wrap from some) in Nora Ephron's triumph.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoyceTAug 9, 2009
The critics are being unduly cranky. This movie is a delight. it may reduce Julia Child a bit, but it's saucy nonetheless and celebrates good marriages as well as good food. My eight comes with at least another half point for good cheer The critics are being unduly cranky. This movie is a delight. it may reduce Julia Child a bit, but it's saucy nonetheless and celebrates good marriages as well as good food. My eight comes with at least another half point for good cheer and a few well placed political digs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EnzoP.Aug 9, 2009
Julie and Julia based on the true story and the book shows you how to drool for food. The food in that film looked delicious I wanted to grab it of the screen and munch it down. The food looked like it was just delivered from heaven. Ok, now Julie and Julia based on the true story and the book shows you how to drool for food. The food in that film looked delicious I wanted to grab it of the screen and munch it down. The food looked like it was just delivered from heaven. Ok, now back to the movie Meryl Streep was superb. Meryl Streep in this movie reminded me why she is my favorite actress in hollywood. Now don't forget Amy Adams in her second movie with my favorite actor. Amy played great not oscar worthy but nice job she can really act. In this romantic comedy they showed how julie and julia's life got changed by food and how similar their life were. I never expected this film to be so funny. It was some laugh out loud stuff. I felt like they went overboard with romance just to much. It would of been better off with less romance. Overall a funny and delightful movie but not a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristenT.Sep 4, 2009
If you're a foodie, a woman, middle-aged, tall, and independent of mind you will love this movie. Can't think of the last time I saw a movie with women in the leads that was as well made. It's funny, poignant and well crafted. If you're a foodie, a woman, middle-aged, tall, and independent of mind you will love this movie. Can't think of the last time I saw a movie with women in the leads that was as well made. It's funny, poignant and well crafted. Nothing blows up, no one is shot. Not every movie has too appeal to adolescent male movie goers. Support a fine woman director and a great movie about the lives of two women -- a rare thing these days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeeR.Sep 6, 2009
Streep and Tucci are fantastic actors. Both are so versitile and seemingly effortlessly recreate the characters they portray. It is unfortunate that Mr. Tucci is not given the billing recognition that he merits as a "co-star". Without these Streep and Tucci are fantastic actors. Both are so versitile and seemingly effortlessly recreate the characters they portray. It is unfortunate that Mr. Tucci is not given the billing recognition that he merits as a "co-star". Without these two, the movie itself could not rate higher than 3 stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElliotP.Jan 3, 2010
Well done. Acting and directing inspired and inspiring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesH.Dec 11, 2009
Impressive. Meryl Streep
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VibhavP.Dec 6, 2009
Meryl deserves her 3rd Oscar for this! Adams and Tucci certainly add their share of charm in this movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AEOct 28, 2009
Meryl Streep continues to amaze. Sure, there are moments when her technique breaks the surface of the narrative, but they only serve to dazzle us with her brilliance like a silvery fish leaping in full moon. She then, again, plunges so fully Meryl Streep continues to amaze. Sure, there are moments when her technique breaks the surface of the narrative, but they only serve to dazzle us with her brilliance like a silvery fish leaping in full moon. She then, again, plunges so fully into character, pulling us back down with her, that she becomes more Julia than Julia. It is a startling and singular talent not unlike shamanic possession. Such a presence could threaten to overcome a film (and some have argued it does), rather it appropriately heightens Child Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CaroleL.Oct 7, 2009
Great Entertainment, excellent story line, good acting. Human. Feel-good. Anyone who is a Foodie - a cook, a chef, a wannabe chef or a wannabe writer identifies with the characters in this movie. I have spoken to so many who just loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillySAug 11, 2009
Julie & Julia would have been two great movies had they been made independently of each other, melding them together was pure genius by Nora Ephron! Both stories are immensely entertaining and perfectly cast and designed in two different Julie & Julia would have been two great movies had they been made independently of each other, melding them together was pure genius by Nora Ephron! Both stories are immensely entertaining and perfectly cast and designed in two different eras, the thing is though, when you have a performance so channeled as Meryl Streep's, you tend to overlook the whole movie and remember Julia Child. Even the clip of Dan Ackroyd's famous take on SNL, you are thinking of Streep's Julia and not the real Child! Much like Philip Seymour Hoffman's Capote, Meryl Streep becomes Julia Child and wins you over from frame one right up to that walk up to the podium on Oscar night 2010!!! An Iconic Performance from an American Icon. Bon Appetite! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IdaJAug 14, 2009
Loved it! Now I would like a movie just about Julia Child.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DomoRAug 15, 2009
The movie is good and perfectly enjoyable but I think it doesn't really show the true Julia Child. It is a feverish, commercially narcissistic endeavor from start to finish given a great deal more merit due to Meryl Streep's The movie is good and perfectly enjoyable but I think it doesn't really show the true Julia Child. It is a feverish, commercially narcissistic endeavor from start to finish given a great deal more merit due to Meryl Streep's performance. All the shallow wanna-be chefs in the audience made it all the more ironic: they're devouring this film as if it were scripture. Sad really, since those vain little pretentious bores lapping it up will never have the talent or passion that Child had. Instead they'll watch the film, act like they've been touched by god and go out and buy some overpriced olive oil at Whole Foods and think they too are gourmands. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TomMAug 18, 2009
Streep and Adams are terrific, as well as Tucci. I thought it dragged a little in the middle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TDKinDallasAug 20, 2009
Took my Mom hoping that it would be passable and it turned out to be a very good movie. There was only one other guy in the theater and he liked it a lot more than he was expecting too! If you are considering it, then go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
victorianAug 24, 2009
Wonderful story of two women with time to make a small difference in many lives of other bored women. What a portrayal by Streep of a memorable chef!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
kellypAug 8, 2009
Thoroughly entertaining. But don't take my word for it...a packed theatre laughed out loud at the many funny and endearing scenes. A little gem!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NathanLAug 9, 2009
Meryl Streep delivers another Oscar worthy performance in this charming film! Streep and Tucci are so perfect together that you'd never think this was acting. However, I want to concentrate on Adams because she does not get the credit Meryl Streep delivers another Oscar worthy performance in this charming film! Streep and Tucci are so perfect together that you'd never think this was acting. However, I want to concentrate on Adams because she does not get the credit she deserves. It is very difficult to serve as the other half to the unforgettable Streep and add the fact that Julie is nowhere near perfect. You could very easily make the arguement that her role is more challenging (which it is not but still wonderful). She makes this simple every woman just as interesting as Julia Child's larger than life character. And like Child herself that is no small feat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NormGAug 9, 2009
A warm, old fashion, entertaining, throughly enjoyable movie is the only way to describe Julie & Julia. You probably heard about the parallel stories, separated by 40 years, that make up the plot. Most critics seem to favor the Meryl Streep A warm, old fashion, entertaining, throughly enjoyable movie is the only way to describe Julie & Julia. You probably heard about the parallel stories, separated by 40 years, that make up the plot. Most critics seem to favor the Meryl Streep side (even predicting another Oscar win). I have no argument with that. Streep's performance is just that . . . a great, broad, performance. But I kinda like the small warm performance of Amy Adams (who is headed to a Streep like reputation) as struggles with food, career, marriage and the blogosphere. I loved Julie & Julia. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HansEAug 9, 2009
I have to side with those who find the "Julie" part of this movie weak. Streep is amazing as Julia Child; her way of being is life-affirming and the chemistry with Stanley Tucci as her adoring husband is fantastic. By contrast, Amy I have to side with those who find the "Julie" part of this movie weak. Streep is amazing as Julia Child; her way of being is life-affirming and the chemistry with Stanley Tucci as her adoring husband is fantastic. By contrast, Amy Adam's Julie is just plain petty and she doesn't seem to learn a thing about food or life from her experiences. Still, this is a good movie. I just kept wanting more exuberant Julia and less whining Julie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
jamesmSep 5, 2009
A very enjoyable movie. Meryl Streep plays another life-affirming role with audacity and style. The younger couple were a tad annoying, but otherwise a real treat...not just the food!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CarolynM.Sep 7, 2009
The premise seemed ridiculous to us, but both my husband and I saw this last night and were completely charmed. And of course Meryl Streep can do anything and everything, and does it here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LawrenceCAug 11, 2009
Meryl Streep was sheer perfection! Stanley Tucci was outstanding. Amy Adams was very good. I found this to be a sweet, tender romance of a film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
helenpAug 14, 2009
I am just a layman,not a movie connoisseur, but I and my famly enjoyed this movie more than any other movie we have seen in a long time. I thought the two female actresses balanced each other perfectly and the story was wonderful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveAug 16, 2009
Definitely a feel-good movie. There's really not any conflict in the plot other than Julie inexplicably detesting her Long Island apartment and her job. So, from that end there's really not much to it other than showing two stories Definitely a feel-good movie. There's really not any conflict in the plot other than Julie inexplicably detesting her Long Island apartment and her job. So, from that end there's really not much to it other than showing two stories side by side (really, the only thing the two women have in common is that they are married). Meryl Streep was unreal, and it was great to just watch her as Julia Child, one of the most charming and good-natured people to ever grace our pop-culture. Fun and funny...worth the price of admission. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoanAug 18, 2009
One of the most delightful films that I have seen in quite a while. Meryl gives yet another Oscar-worthy performance. The whole look and feel of the film, as well as the soundtrack, radiates a genuiness that seems to be missing from many of One of the most delightful films that I have seen in quite a while. Meryl gives yet another Oscar-worthy performance. The whole look and feel of the film, as well as the soundtrack, radiates a genuiness that seems to be missing from many of the other movies we have seen this summer...a totally enjoyable movie experience, especially for those of us who remember Julia Child (and the original cast of "Saturday Night Live"!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillAug 21, 2009
If Meryl Streep doesn't win her 3rd (and well deserved) Oscar win from this, there is no justice. Just magnificent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
richardhAug 22, 2009
Bon cinema! thoroughly enjoyed this charming, heartwarming work of art. the carping critics got it all wrong. i was totally charmed by its humor (not an easy thing) and humanity (all too rare in movies today). more than a few times i teared Bon cinema! thoroughly enjoyed this charming, heartwarming work of art. the carping critics got it all wrong. i was totally charmed by its humor (not an easy thing) and humanity (all too rare in movies today). more than a few times i teared up at moving or happy moments that were very skillfully created. Brava/bravo to the writers, the original sources, all the performers and the director who created this gem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LarryAug 24, 2009
The Julia side of this story was really excellent! The Julie side, while weaker, was nowhere near as bad as I expected from the professional reviewers. Her story served as a quite decent vehicle for delivering Julia. In some sense, I think The Julia side of this story was really excellent! The Julie side, while weaker, was nowhere near as bad as I expected from the professional reviewers. Her story served as a quite decent vehicle for delivering Julia. In some sense, I think the professional reviewers got bogged down in details that had fairly little impact on the whole movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanaMSep 13, 2009
Entertaining movie. Worth seeing on the big screen. It definitely has a feel goodness about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NancySep 26, 2009
I quite enjoyed this film. The two halves may not make quite a whole, but close enough. And as delightful as it was to watch Meryl Streep, an entire film of her as Julia Child might be a bit exhausting. Amusing and genial, the Julia 1/2 had I quite enjoyed this film. The two halves may not make quite a whole, but close enough. And as delightful as it was to watch Meryl Streep, an entire film of her as Julia Child might be a bit exhausting. Amusing and genial, the Julia 1/2 had the greater interest, in characters (well, come on, Stanley Tucci and a soupcon of Jane Lynch? Delish!) but also in setting and style. The Julie 1/2, I consider to be the frame within which the Julia 1/2 shone. It did provide contrast, it didn't shine in the same way, but as a matter of necessity it was truncated (or perhaps painted with broad strokes) as there wasn't alot of room/time to explore the in-depth issues of the lives of Julie and her husband. Lots of chuckles and a few laughs and a not a bad movie value. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelPJ.Dec 14, 2009
Though Julie's story pales by comparison to Julia's, the movie is charming thanks to Meryl Streep. Her portrayal of Julia Child -- or rather our idea of Child as the Salon critic put it -- is so entertaining, making it easy to Though Julie's story pales by comparison to Julia's, the movie is charming thanks to Meryl Streep. Her portrayal of Julia Child -- or rather our idea of Child as the Salon critic put it -- is so entertaining, making it easy to overlook the not particularly interesting script. Stanley Tucci, Linda Emond and Jany Lynch also are pleasures to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveMartin97Aug 13, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In this movie Meryl Streep drives us to the concept of cooking with the same charisma than Remy in Ratatouille, but this time with a lady who is not afraid of what people will think. Marvelous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
olympiansNov 6, 2010
I loved this film. Meryl Streep is utterly brilliant in it, and completely believable as a cook and cookery writer. I do have 3 slight reservations about cast and script tough.
Firstly, Stanley Tucci did not entirely work for me as Julia
I loved this film. Meryl Streep is utterly brilliant in it, and completely believable as a cook and cookery writer. I do have 3 slight reservations about cast and script tough.
Firstly, Stanley Tucci did not entirely work for me as Julia Child's husband (nothing to do with his acting) but, to my eyes, he looked far too young to be 10 years older than she was . We can see that he is a dapper dresser and particular about his appearance but in those days someone his age did not look that youthful (all shiny complexion and wrinkle free face). Secondly although Julia Child is a household name in the US, in Europe we had no idea who she was and I felt that there could have been a couple more scenes before Amy Adams' character embarked on her cooking odyssey to somehow explain to the audience the size of the leap that was about to take place between being able to cook simple but tasty food like bruschettas (as we see her do at the beginning of the film I think) and the demanding technical skills she would have to acquire to be able to cook Julia Child's food. It took me a while to realize we were entering serious food territory.
Thirdly, the lady who plays one of the characters involved in trying to put together the first draft of the cookery book (the one who never puts in any work) is not a native speaker and it it does feel rather strange to hear a supposedly French person , in Paris, speaking accented French. It is a small detail but could a native French speaker not be found? None of the above ruined my enjoyment of the film though I have to say and I am very pleased to see that my long held belief that Amy Adams is the best character actress to come out of the US in the last 5 years remains as strong as ever. Long may it continue!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
eTurkeyFeb 13, 2012
It's not just some of the food featured that's light and fluffy, but rather the context of this film. That's not to say Julie & Julia is a bad movie but if you were looking for a more serious and somber biopic then you may have to lookIt's not just some of the food featured that's light and fluffy, but rather the context of this film. That's not to say Julie & Julia is a bad movie but if you were looking for a more serious and somber biopic then you may have to look elsewhere. The acting is marvelous with Meryl Streep the standout, however that is to be expected by now. I do have another bone to pick though and it relates to the feeling that there's two features in one. I perhaps would have rated this flick much higher if the Julie Powell storyline was wiped altogether. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
Streep brilliant portrayal of Julia Child aside, Julie & Julia is a foodie with a twist. Nora Ephron beautifully paints two different lives and perspectives to create one fascinating story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
worleyjamersJun 19, 2013
Julie & Julia is a mostly average film, but the reason I rate it so high is because it is teeming with the joy of life. Bolstered by a brilliant lead performance from Meryl Streep, but also by Amy Adams who does a lot with very little, theJulie & Julia is a mostly average film, but the reason I rate it so high is because it is teeming with the joy of life. Bolstered by a brilliant lead performance from Meryl Streep, but also by Amy Adams who does a lot with very little, the film manages the capture the spirit of these women. Sweet, charming, well-done, and entertaining, J&J is a film I'd recommend to anyone and everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FreedomFightersNov 21, 2016
Making a film based on a blog may not sound like the most interesting idea in the world, and it might be a turn-off for many filmgoers, but somehow, "Julie & Julia," what is apparently the first major motion picture based on a blog, is prettyMaking a film based on a blog may not sound like the most interesting idea in the world, and it might be a turn-off for many filmgoers, but somehow, "Julie & Julia," what is apparently the first major motion picture based on a blog, is pretty entertaining. It decently mixes two plots together, has some interesting charm to it, and it's well-acted (Meryl Streep steals the show as Julia Child). It's not the most brilliant film you'll ever watch, but it's sweet, light, and fun, and overall, worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lukechristianscMar 21, 2014
this is quite interesting film about two woman who are trying to be the perfect cook and there so passinate about cooking . i kinda made me hungry . Meryl Streep was a passionate actress when he deciding to be in this film so did amy adams
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews