Jumper

Jumper Image
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 460 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The science fiction thriller leaps into a new realm with Jumper, which begins the epic adventures of a man who discovers that he possesses the exhilarating ability to instantly teleport anywhere in the world he can imagine. From New York to Tokyo and from the ruins of Rome to the heart ofThe science fiction thriller leaps into a new realm with Jumper, which begins the epic adventures of a man who discovers that he possesses the exhilarating ability to instantly teleport anywhere in the world he can imagine. From New York to Tokyo and from the ruins of Rome to the heart of the Saharan desert, anywhere is possible for David Rice. That is until he begins to see that his freedom is not total and that he's not alone. Instead, he is part of an ongoing, global war that threatens the very survival of his rare and extraordinary kind. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 36
  2. Negative: 14 out of 36
  1. 67
    It may be mindless and sexless and humorless, but Jumper jumps.
  2. Liman, for all his craft, doesn't have enough FUN with the premise.
  3. 50
    But what can you do with Hayden Christensen? He's as close as we have to an android actor. It's all a chore for him. He never looks sufficiently scared, impressed, or surprised by any of this.
  4. 50
    It's a feature-length teaser for a never-to-be sci-fi franchise.
  5. Jumper, the film, goes everywhere and nowhere.
  6. 30
    The result is more or less a remake of the great scene in “Sherlock Jr.,” where a dozing Buster Keaton dreams himself through a shuffled sequence of backgrounds. Jumper is ten times as brutal, maybe a thousand times more costly, and eighty-four years late, but it’s a start.
  7. Jumper, based on the novel by Steven Gould, re-defines -- downward -- the notion of dreadful. It does so by dispensing with everything a movie needs for a shot at being merely awful. Dramatic development? None. Entertaining dialogue? Ditto. Internal logic? Puhleez. Intriguing characters? No characters, thus no intrigue. Interesting performances? Essentially none, though with an asterisk.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 110
  2. Negative: 42 out of 110
  1. May 19, 2011
    10
    I think the movie was quite enjoyable. What I sometimes do not understand are the casting choices. There was a chick he picked up in a bar inI think the movie was quite enjoyable. What I sometimes do not understand are the casting choices. There was a chick he picked up in a bar in London, she should have played the main female character. A hundred times more attractive and hot than that small ugly chick they finally selected. Special effects were great, I did not feel the need to zap away or take a nap once, and that says a lot ! Expand
  2. DamonC.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    The scenery's are stunningly looked at, and the action is way intense. A fast-paced heavily entertaining film.
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    8
    Jumper is a very underrated movie with an interesting plot. The nerd community hates on Hayden Christensen so, with this movie being more inJumper is a very underrated movie with an interesting plot. The nerd community hates on Hayden Christensen so, with this movie being more in the sci-fi/fantasy genre, it really didn't stand a chance. However, he's a capable actor and the support of Samuel Jackson, Rachel Bilson, Jamie Bell, and other cameos gave this movie a solid cast. As I said, the plot was pretty interesting and original as well. The only real problem I had with the film is that it was only 88 minutes, which didn't really give it time to fully develop the concept of "jumping" and the relationship because them and the Paladins, an organization that hunts down jumpers. With more development I think this would've been a great movie. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    5
    Everyone in the movie seems so miserable. How can anyone expect US to be happy with it?
  5. Feb 19, 2016
    3
    Jumper jumps to victory at the beginning to end up being blindfolded in the middle of nowhere. In short conclusion, Jumper jumps to get earlyJumper jumps to victory at the beginning to end up being blindfolded in the middle of nowhere. In short conclusion, Jumper jumps to get early start when you should know early starts make movies look bad. Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2015
    2
    ''Jumper'' sets a very interesting premise and gives interest to public with its somewhat original story, but all this is spoiled by its''Jumper'' sets a very interesting premise and gives interest to public with its somewhat original story, but all this is spoiled by its extremely tiny script and cheesy acting by all of its cast (unfortunately, Samuel L. Jackson too). Expand
  7. IanC
    Feb 15, 2008
    0
    Awful awful awful awful. I WAS completely awestruck by Jumper, at how on earth this kind of junk gets made any more. The special-effects-only Awful awful awful awful. I WAS completely awestruck by Jumper, at how on earth this kind of junk gets made any more. The special-effects-only era is over, isn't it? We're in the dawn of a new era of a return to plot, character development, story as a basic requirement, aren't we? Hayden C has got to be one of the least charismatic actors around, he doesn't even LOOK the part. it's like he can't be bothered to even try acting half the time. This crud isn't worth the substance you excrete to coat your eyeballs so they don't dry out as you stare at this unbelievable heap of dreadfulness. As for the comments Oscars, irony surely? Hopefully? PLEASE? Expand

See all 110 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.