Juno

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1170 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    this movie successfully created the most unlikable main character ever. then they add hipster belle and Sebastian songs to make it seem so against the man. god it made me laugh...so bad...
  2. JasonZ.
    Oct 8, 2008
    3
    A terrible, horrible, and COMPLETELY over rated comedy. It was an hour and a half of hipster bollocks being shoved down my throat. There was ONE part that made me laugh. The other 89 minutes or so I was looking for something to shove into my ear drums to stop the relentless hipster soundtrack. UGH.
  3. rainer
    Feb 17, 2008
    3
    Wholly implausible, overly written, hipster-wannabe Industry calling-card script flatly directed.
  4. Isaac
    Jan 2, 2008
    2
    if you have a penis, do NOT see this movie. It will fall off. Also, worst soundtrack ever.
  5. MattTies
    Feb 3, 2008
    2
    Juno - the bottomline

    Message to filmmakers: Don't put anything on screen that you don't have the slightest clue about! Do your homework and research first. Did you notice anything while watching this film? 1.: The film, as so many others, once more reinforces outdated mis-information about childbirth despite very contrary research findings, reaching a huge audience and
    Juno - the bottomline

    Message to filmmakers: Don't put anything on screen that you don't have the slightest clue about! Do your homework and research first.

    Did you notice anything while watching this film?

    1.: The film, as so many others, once more reinforces outdated mis-information about childbirth despite very contrary research findings, reaching a huge audience and in doing so contributing to bad birth decisions - which unfortunately too many parents make already these days on a routine basis.

    Take an hour and do a Google search to find out why - and don't only read the first two pages that come up - or just believe the nonsense this and other films dump into your brain, but don't say later you couldn't know any better. Your choice.

    "Birth in hospital is normal and best." WRONG. Fact: For healthy mothers with normal pregnancies, birth in hospital is more dangerous than at home.

    "An epidural is normal and necessary." WRONG. Fact: Epidurals routinely cause serious side effects on mother and baby with not uncommonly terrible health impacts that last for years or a lifetime. They also slow down the birth process, often making further medical interventions necessary that wouldn't have been necessary without an epidural.

    "Birth is given lying on your back." WRONG. Fact: Lying on your back makes the whole birth process significantly slower, harder, and more painful, increases the risk of birth injuries and also the likeliness of further medical intervention like instrumental birth, medical induction / speed up, and caesarean section.

    Did you notice any of these things when you saw the film? No? That's how seriously you have already been manipulated throughout your life into thinking that all this is "normal" and "right".

    2.: The only responsible solution for teenage pregnancy is giving the child up for adoption. Particularly in the film's setting, this is sheer nonsense. There is absolutely no reason why a sixteen year old mother can not responsibly raise her child if she has the intelligence of Juno as well as the sound financial AND moral support of her parents - be it with or without the father of the baby. Simply assuming that this is not possible is disregarding all those young mothers - and also fathers - who do a really great job raising their children, with the help of relatives and friends, and often provide a much better environment for their children to grow up than the typical neurotic hung-up and emotionally immature couples that seems to be the norm in many "normal" families these days.

    Bottomline: An interesting film concept, taken into an unreflected, outdated stone age direction, and in doing so, unfortunately ruined. Additionally the film sabotages the efforts of all those who work hard to make objective birth information a part of public knowledge, and adds to the misinformation and manipulation that parents-to-be are bombarded by already.

    Don't believe a single source of information - DO YOUR HOMEWORK and find out for yourself.

    Thanks for thinking. Your baby will love you for it!
    Expand
  6. kyleb
    Apr 14, 2008
    1
    This movie has no conflict. It's a bunch of well adjusted people dealing maturely with a problem and then it ends. The hint of conflict that does arise with Bateman's character not wanting to play along never goes anywhere. That plot line is simply abandoned. The whole movie is just an excuse for Ellen Page to make mildly funny hipster wise cracks. The people raving about this This movie has no conflict. It's a bunch of well adjusted people dealing maturely with a problem and then it ends. The hint of conflict that does arise with Bateman's character not wanting to play along never goes anywhere. That plot line is simply abandoned. The whole movie is just an excuse for Ellen Page to make mildly funny hipster wise cracks. The people raving about this movie are the type that look at a painting of a solid red square and claim to be deeply moved because someone labeled it modern art. It's a movie for posers, about posers. Expand
  7. EdC.
    Apr 26, 2008
    0
    There was no action. I never laughed once. The dialogue was just a bunch of wise mouth cracks. There was no flow. There was no climax. It was awful.
  8. HarryParatestes
    Apr 27, 2008
    0
    For the love of god. I felt like I was just watching MTV for and hour and a half. And I hate MTV. Here is Juno in a nutshell: Blast Unbearable Indie music , blast more terrible indie music , Crank more horribleFor the love of god. I felt like I was just watching MTV for and hour and a half. And I hate MTV. Here is Juno in a nutshell: Blast Unbearable Indie music , blast more terrible indie music , Crank more horrible indie music Expand
  9. JakeJ.
    May 3, 2008
    0
    This movie sucks. It has a horrible plot!!!
  10. SallyM.
    Jan 17, 2008
    0
    Sadly over-praised, and smugly over-pleased with itself. This isn't the fault of the actors, who were for the most part good, but of the writer and director. I didn't find it funny or within the realm of reaity or original. I found it utterly stupid and manipulative. The irony is that I went to see it and after 45 minutes, the projector broke. Had to go back and watch and listen Sadly over-praised, and smugly over-pleased with itself. This isn't the fault of the actors, who were for the most part good, but of the writer and director. I didn't find it funny or within the realm of reaity or original. I found it utterly stupid and manipulative. The irony is that I went to see it and after 45 minutes, the projector broke. Had to go back and watch and listen to the same self-satisfied crud again. Very disappointed. Most over-estimated movie of the year. Expand
  11. GeoffG.
    Apr 28, 2008
    3
    I think it's just childish to insult others for their opinion on a review site (LET ME TELL YOU WHY I'M RIGHT AND YOU'RE NOT). Everyone has different tastes, just give your output and don't insult. That doesn't help ANYONE. Those comments aside, I disliked Juno. The premise is untapped and fresh, the cast are all in their prime, and it's produced by fox I think it's just childish to insult others for their opinion on a review site (LET ME TELL YOU WHY I'M RIGHT AND YOU'RE NOT). Everyone has different tastes, just give your output and don't insult. That doesn't help ANYONE. Those comments aside, I disliked Juno. The premise is untapped and fresh, the cast are all in their prime, and it's produced by fox searchlight. It had the makings of a fantastic flick, but failed miserably in the script writing. I actually think Diablo Cody masturbated to the script while writing it, in the way he blatantly force-feeds cool. The unlikeable character Juno alone ruined the movie for me, every scene where she was meant to "stick it to the man", she comes off looking like a snooty, self-serving, preggie bitch. Expand
  12. AndyH.
    Jun 18, 2008
    3
    By no means Oscar worthy, Juno is a contrived attempt at recreating what made films like Little Miss Sunshine and The Royal Tenenbaums great.
  13. peterfile
    Oct 15, 2009
    0
    This film is as unintelligent and trashy as the self-absorbed redneck charcters that feature in Juno. The music seems like it was picked by a deaf squirrel and the script written by a filthy arab goat. In fact, I would rather feed my genitals to ravenous vultures, eat my own feces and support the collingwood football club than watch this insufferable film again. Juno only appeals to This film is as unintelligent and trashy as the self-absorbed redneck charcters that feature in Juno. The music seems like it was picked by a deaf squirrel and the script written by a filthy arab goat. In fact, I would rather feed my genitals to ravenous vultures, eat my own feces and support the collingwood football club than watch this insufferable film again. Juno only appeals to dull-minded, dirty, inbred rednecks and people who take sick pleasure from watching lacklustre actors hack through a sub-par script with tacky, self-indulgent one-liners. Expand
  14. Robert
    Dec 23, 2007
    0
    An awful movie. This is the kind of humor an elderly person might enjoy. The main character gets annoying and it is simply not funny. Don't waste your money.
  15. JonahT.
    Dec 5, 2007
    0
    All the hype around Diablo Cody and this movie had me dying to see it. First day - I'm there. Wow. What a disappointment. It is just dreadful. The characters all sound the same, none of it is the least bit convincing (not even as a funhouse mirror reflection of reality) and the humor has no snap. Terrible acting and soundtrack. It's just wall to wall bad. I can only assume all All the hype around Diablo Cody and this movie had me dying to see it. First day - I'm there. Wow. What a disappointment. It is just dreadful. The characters all sound the same, none of it is the least bit convincing (not even as a funhouse mirror reflection of reality) and the humor has no snap. Terrible acting and soundtrack. It's just wall to wall bad. I can only assume all the glowing reviews are a byproduct of the feel-good-girl-power-breakout-screenwriter bandwagon. It happens sometimes. Remember how Nia Vardalos was going to take over Hollywood? Sorry... but the emperess has no clothes. Which kind of makes sense... Cody used to be a stripper. Maybe she shouldn't quit her night job. Expand
  16. NickG.
    Dec 5, 2007
    2
    Dialogue that is only heard in the heads of the insane. Bad acting. Bad direction.
  17. SandyP.
    Dec 5, 2007
    1
    Yikes, did this ever stink. Everyone I was in the theater with couldn't wait to leave. The critics must be itching for another Little Miss Sunshine. Sorry, but this ain't it.
  18. AaronS.
    Dec 6, 2007
    2
    Overrated. A smug and hipper than thou film that never rings true.
  19. emilywilde
    Apr 23, 2008
    2
    Nice try Nick. This movie blew and no matter how defensive you get, that simple fact will not change. Trystan M. pretty much summed up why this movie sucked with his comments. This year's Little Miss Sunshine. Trying to be too smart for its own good and just ends up failing miserably.
  20. liamb
    Oct 18, 2009
    0
    This film is absolute filth. i wish i could have ripped that foetus from Juno's belly with a pair of unsanitary tongs, scraping the insides of her vagina for added effect.
  21. Feb 21, 2012
    3
    Juno is a film full of extremely unappealing people which has been tailor-made to appeal to a teenage audience, who luckily for director Reitman, don't have a fully developed crap-detector yet. Side note - Ellen Page wasn't playing Juno... she was playing Ellen Page as Juno. Previous and subsequent performances are all Ellen Page clones. The whole sarcasm-dipped banter thing isn't freshJuno is a film full of extremely unappealing people which has been tailor-made to appeal to a teenage audience, who luckily for director Reitman, don't have a fully developed crap-detector yet. Side note - Ellen Page wasn't playing Juno... she was playing Ellen Page as Juno. Previous and subsequent performances are all Ellen Page clones. The whole sarcasm-dipped banter thing isn't fresh or funny anymore, my dear. Broaden your horizons immediately, if you're even able, before the slow death of type-casting takes hold. Expand
  22. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    Such an annyoying movie. That one kid who acts like an alien in every movie is horrible. Ellen Page was a total you know what. Gross. Making teen pregnancy look like something fun.
  23. E.Allen
    Jun 3, 2008
    0
    Honestly, I would never give this rating if I didn't fully agree with it. I despise every aspect of this film. It is a giant commercial with a tired plot, canned and incredibly stupid dialogue, and paper-thin characters. If these flaws weren't bad enough, every time it appears to take a good turn the film simply shoots itself in the foot. To be honest, my rating would be a 1 or Honestly, I would never give this rating if I didn't fully agree with it. I despise every aspect of this film. It is a giant commercial with a tired plot, canned and incredibly stupid dialogue, and paper-thin characters. If these flaws weren't bad enough, every time it appears to take a good turn the film simply shoots itself in the foot. To be honest, my rating would be a 1 or a 2 if not for all of America congratulating itself for loving something so zany and "indie." Expand
  24. JacobW.
    Jan 1, 2008
    0
    The hyperventilated dialogue in this suffocatingly cute movie will suck the oxygen out of any cinoplex within the first five minutes. Ellen Page is a very fine actress. Maybe next time she'll find a solid script worthy of her talents.
  25. DavidR
    Feb 3, 2008
    1
    This movie, like Republican front-runner Mitt Romney, has the face of new America with the values and speech of the last mutterings of Lester Bangs as Soft Cell blared in the background. While watching the hideous asian confrontation in front of the abortion clinic scene in "Juno" I was reminded of Romney's much hyped "Mormon speech" that was supposed to recall JFK's "Catholic This movie, like Republican front-runner Mitt Romney, has the face of new America with the values and speech of the last mutterings of Lester Bangs as Soft Cell blared in the background. While watching the hideous asian confrontation in front of the abortion clinic scene in "Juno" I was reminded of Romney's much hyped "Mormon speech" that was supposed to recall JFK's "Catholic speech." I found Diablo Cody's hateful mocking of "engrish" just as appaling as Romney's stress on his five sons all sharing similar facial features of Joseph Smith. Ivan Reitman must look at his son the way JFK is looking down on Romney, with contempt. Expand
  26. Andy
    Apr 30, 2008
    0
    I found this film insulting. Everybody raves about how cool and witty the dialogue is, but it is so unrealistic. Nobody talks like that, especially not a 16 year old girl. You may find the dialogue impressive if you are used to the normal Hollywood fare, but this is a crock. There is no depth to any of the characters, you can see right through them and predict the entire film in a matter I found this film insulting. Everybody raves about how cool and witty the dialogue is, but it is so unrealistic. Nobody talks like that, especially not a 16 year old girl. You may find the dialogue impressive if you are used to the normal Hollywood fare, but this is a crock. There is no depth to any of the characters, you can see right through them and predict the entire film in a matter of minutes. I cannot imagine how this won an academy award for best screenplay. Hollywood sure likes to find little "indie darlings" and make money off of them. Put this right up there with Garden State and Little Miss Sunshine. A complete joke. Go see a real film. Expand
  27. LissettS.
    May 6, 2008
    2
    This movie is really stupid! I don't really think any parents would be so okay with their 16 year old daughter getting pregnant. I hate how they make it seem ok to get pregnant, that supposedly it's not your fault , and it's not a big deal.... no real impact in your life, right? Very outdated, crude, and lame movie.... really don't recommend. And I was really This movie is really stupid! I don't really think any parents would be so okay with their 16 year old daughter getting pregnant. I hate how they make it seem ok to get pregnant, that supposedly it's not your fault , and it's not a big deal.... no real impact in your life, right? Very outdated, crude, and lame movie.... really don't recommend. And I was really dissapointed in it especially since really good friends and my boyfriend recommended it.... Sorry to say this, but it was all a waste of production, money, and actors. Expand
  28. Megan
    Jan 16, 2009
    0
    The people that like this movie are the same annoying people who say "WTF" and "OMG" in normal conversation. They shouldn't be allowed to live. The movie makes Juno out to be so smart and clever, but are we to believe that Little Miss Juno had the forethought to plan her deflowering but not the brains to bring protection? Give me a break, Diablo. Stick to stripping, because your The people that like this movie are the same annoying people who say "WTF" and "OMG" in normal conversation. They shouldn't be allowed to live. The movie makes Juno out to be so smart and clever, but are we to believe that Little Miss Juno had the forethought to plan her deflowering but not the brains to bring protection? Give me a break, Diablo. Stick to stripping, because your writing is cloying and atrocious. Expand
  29. ChrisG
    Jan 17, 2008
    1
    The only reason this movie even gets a 1 is because of Michael Cera. Everything else about this film was just crap. Boring, unbelievable in any way, Juno spoke as though she were the 40 year old writer that created her and it just tried waaaay to hard to be hip and witting. No plot, nothing happened, the 2 'crisises' in the movie were barely noticeable and solved quickly and The only reason this movie even gets a 1 is because of Michael Cera. Everything else about this film was just crap. Boring, unbelievable in any way, Juno spoke as though she were the 40 year old writer that created her and it just tried waaaay to hard to be hip and witting. No plot, nothing happened, the 2 'crisises' in the movie were barely noticeable and solved quickly and easily. 1/2 through I wanted to punch myself in the face but my wife was eating it up so I stuck around to make her happy. Let her go w/ the girls. You don't want to see this. Expand
  30. NicolasB.
    Jan 2, 2008
    3
    The only reviewer here that really got this movie right is Michael Sragow at the Baltimore Sun. The dialogue in this film was damn near unbearable. Too hip, too smug, way way way too overdone. I can't believe Diablo Cody is getting the acclaim she is getting for this. The movie is so hyped and overrated that I can hardly wait for the backlash.
  31. DaveS
    Jan 30, 2008
    2
    Has anyone seen the recent clips of Mitt Romney quoting "Who Let The Dogs Out?" while meeting numerous black youths? That is about the best way I can describe this movie. The dialog (Mainly Juno's) reeks of that same, over-reaching-to-fit-in type of "hipness", and she, as Mitt, completely fail at sounding anything but even more out of touch with pop culture. From the discussion about Has anyone seen the recent clips of Mitt Romney quoting "Who Let The Dogs Out?" while meeting numerous black youths? That is about the best way I can describe this movie. The dialog (Mainly Juno's) reeks of that same, over-reaching-to-fit-in type of "hipness", and she, as Mitt, completely fail at sounding anything but even more out of touch with pop culture. From the discussion about guitars to the "three-way tie" for first place of Juno's favorite bands, it all seems like Diablo just visited Google's zeitgeist feature and cherry picked the "hippest sounding" things. And I don't even know how I'm supposed to be sympathetic towards Juno. She can't keep her mouth shut, doesn't conform to social conventions, and seems to be aloof most of the time. All of these are great traits in say, Larry David, but he does it with finesse. And wit. And somehow I can forgive Larry, while Juno, well, comes across as just a bitch. The only redeeming factor was Michael Cera, and he got so close to just chewing Juno out there near the end, but alas, he forgets about how unlovable she is and seems to settle in with her, much to my dismay. Expand
  32. LindaW.
    Jan 6, 2008
    2
    This movie is unrealistic as it gets. Juno tells the adoption attorney that she wants a closed adoption. Is the NCFA behind this message?Juno tells a friend that the father nor she wanted to see the baby. The Juno sequel should be that Juno and father marry soon and have another baby. I have found that is the reality of many natural parents who relinquish.
  33. AndrewW.
    Feb 5, 2008
    0
    I would gladly pay twice the cost of this movie for my 2 hours back, and a brain scrubber.
  34. AndrewD
    Feb 9, 2008
    3
    This movie benefitted from some solid acting (though I'm convinced Michael Cera actually cannot act) and a few moments of clarity. And thats about it. Otherwise it was a muddled mess...total garbage. Every reviewer points out that the first thirty minutes - which I spent grinding my teeth - were miserable. Why do they forgive it? No other movie would be shown that kind of charity, This movie benefitted from some solid acting (though I'm convinced Michael Cera actually cannot act) and a few moments of clarity. And thats about it. Otherwise it was a muddled mess...total garbage. Every reviewer points out that the first thirty minutes - which I spent grinding my teeth - were miserable. Why do they forgive it? No other movie would be shown that kind of charity, That's not all: Juno is wholly unlikable, the faux-Indie motifs are a big joke, the music is overbearing, and the character and plot development nonexistent. This movie is total trash and we can only hope that in time, more will come to agree with this assessment. Expand
  35. D.T.
    Apr 30, 2008
    2
    Boring American Stereotypes.
  36. Jim
    May 12, 2008
    0
    Most obnoxious movie I've seen in a long time.
  37. SarahM
    May 3, 2008
    0
    I'm 15. I walked out of the theater before it was a quarter of the way finished. It was crude, raw humor and all the jokes were of sex. I was constantly closing my eyes for what I saw on the screen. It wasn't a movie that I (myself... not knowing what makes others stumble) could watch all the way through without feeling sick.
  38. JoshR
    May 8, 2008
    0
    This is just a straight Cheezy movie it almost put me to sleep.
  39. Kitty
    Jul 6, 2008
    0
    I wish I had never seen this movie, it totaly ruined the perfectly good day I had been having.
  40. SammyE
    Dec 10, 2007
    2
    'Juno', it seemed to me after seeing it in Toronto, is like the Urban Outfitters of indie film: it's overpriced, overhyped, rife with a host of prepackaged 'quirk' (a half-sister named Liberty Bell was the anvil that broke the camel's back) and gratingly twee cues. And like it's commercial counterpart, while it tries so hard to emulate the more original 'Juno', it seemed to me after seeing it in Toronto, is like the Urban Outfitters of indie film: it's overpriced, overhyped, rife with a host of prepackaged 'quirk' (a half-sister named Liberty Bell was the anvil that broke the camel's back) and gratingly twee cues. And like it's commercial counterpart, while it tries so hard to emulate the more original and capable efforts in its genre, it hits so very off-center. But with Fox Searchlight's coffers wide open in promotion for the flick, I fear we may yet be subject to more of Ms. Cody's and Mr. Reitman's product. And I can't say I'm happy (at all) about that. Expand
  41. DWilly
    Dec 10, 2007
    2
    Rumi said: "If we could give up cleverness and tricks, that would be the cleverest trick of all." I walked out of Reitman's snarky "Thank You For Smoking," too. (see Michael B's spot on user review)
  42. Marley
    Dec 20, 2007
    1
    Juno tried so unbelievably hard to impress that I was tired of it after 15 minutes. The more serious scenes, instead of being moving, were hollow and contrived. Had Diablo Cody been able to keep from trying to show off, this might have been a gem; instead is simply one of the most overrated movies in recent memory.
  43. lizo
    Dec 23, 2007
    2
    The most overrated and hyped movie in the past century. Boring and "witty". This movie tried to impress itself by dropping musicians and band names all over the place. Save your money.
  44. MichelB.
    Dec 26, 2007
    1
    Once in a while,critics will go collectively ga ga for a movie obviously unworthy of the praise.This time around, the movie is JUNO,the most overrated movie of the year,if not of the last decade. Never before a movie tries so hard to be cool (endless pop references,namedrops of critically reverd bands,hipster lingo..).While I realize that the main girl was supposed to be funny and Once in a while,critics will go collectively ga ga for a movie obviously unworthy of the praise.This time around, the movie is JUNO,the most overrated movie of the year,if not of the last decade. Never before a movie tries so hard to be cool (endless pop references,namedrops of critically reverd bands,hipster lingo..).While I realize that the main girl was supposed to be funny and cute,she came off as painfully obnoxious.The whole time I waited for someone to heartily slap her across teh face.Only then,the movie would have been worth the six bucks I spent on it.I really could go on and on about the faults of this flick(and believe me there are many),but instead i'll just warn whoever will listen to stay away from this movie.But then again, some people enjoy getting their teeth pulled... Expand
  45. Hassan
    Dec 26, 2007
    0
    Chic Flic Alert! Absolutely boring and contrived. Bring No Doz
  46. seth
    Jan 13, 2008
    3
    This movie tried way too hard to be witty. If you just took out all that stupid annoying slang, it would be just a boring movie. Although mildly entertaining, Michael Cera was alright, the plot was not complex or thought provoking at all. Also, I found Juno to be annoying. Every character had the same personality somewhat. Just a non-interesting movie that was trying to be a wes anderson This movie tried way too hard to be witty. If you just took out all that stupid annoying slang, it would be just a boring movie. Although mildly entertaining, Michael Cera was alright, the plot was not complex or thought provoking at all. Also, I found Juno to be annoying. Every character had the same personality somewhat. Just a non-interesting movie that was trying to be a wes anderson movie, but failing horribly. Expand
  47. JesseH
    Jan 18, 2008
    3
    Juno? JuNOOOOO! Oh dear lord. please do not believe the hype. it's a way overdone, too-witty-for-its-own-good indie circle jerk. i was a little worried it was going to turn out that way, but i went with an open mind nevertheless. within the first 10 minutes it was all i could do to keep the tortilla soup on board. the movie for all those people ( i.e. critics) that think they are Juno? JuNOOOOO! Oh dear lord. please do not believe the hype. it's a way overdone, too-witty-for-its-own-good indie circle jerk. i was a little worried it was going to turn out that way, but i went with an open mind nevertheless. within the first 10 minutes it was all i could do to keep the tortilla soup on board. the movie for all those people ( i.e. critics) that think they are smarter than everyone else (or wish they were) and that having a "hamburger phone" is quirky and clever. like a 90 minute trip to Urban Outfitters but without the smell. rips off any number of other more well-done indie comedies but without any of the charm of them: napoleon dynamite (in fact there is a napoleon look-and-talk-alike in a brief scene), little miss sunshine (which while overrated, was at least interesting and didn't overwhelm the viewer with its forced cleverness), welcome to the dollhouse, or any of the wes anderson movies. good performances from J.K. Simmons and Allison Janney as the parents and that's about it. Expand
  48. Lev
    Jan 25, 2008
    2
    I really can't add much more to what Mike M has already written, except that Juno--for all its affectations--was also BORING. If people feel compelled to praise "quirky" and "offbeat" pseudo-indie movies to show off some kind of niche taste then Juno is not the best one to do it with.
  49. brian
    Jan 9, 2008
    1
    This movies was so fucking overrated. This movie smells like 100% pure market research, acting like it knows how to portray todays youth. "Realism" cannot even apply to movies now, especially not this hunk of shit, for all we are doing today is living an existence manifested and influenced by so called "great movies" that assume they know real lives. Damn this movie sucked. I would give This movies was so fucking overrated. This movie smells like 100% pure market research, acting like it knows how to portray todays youth. "Realism" cannot even apply to movies now, especially not this hunk of shit, for all we are doing today is living an existence manifested and influenced by so called "great movies" that assume they know real lives. Damn this movie sucked. I would give you my liver if you met more than 5 people that actually conducted such conversations with "off-beat humor" "well-timed dialogue" and "hipness". fuck juno. Expand
  50. ahans
    Mar 22, 2008
    2
    This movie has a lot of nots. It is not funny, it is not exciting, it is not endearing, it is not anything I care to see ever again. The writing is clever, but so unrealistic.
  51. M51
    Mar 31, 2008
    1
    In my opinion, this was terrible, it had no gun fights, explosions, car chases or any laugh out loud moments. It is like 92 minutes of suffering. In fact, web movies are better than this so called "movie", which you have to pay to see. I expect to entertained for the money I spend.
  52. BrendanD
    May 16, 2008
    1
    I went to see "Juno" twice in theaters. The first time, I thought it was cute, if a little overly cutsie in its supposedly ambitious dialogue attempts (sorry, the line "I need to procure a hasty abortion" is just BAD). The second time, I realized that the script wasn't just annoying, it was dreadful. After it came out on DVD, I watched it twice more, attempting to see what Roger I went to see "Juno" twice in theaters. The first time, I thought it was cute, if a little overly cutsie in its supposedly ambitious dialogue attempts (sorry, the line "I need to procure a hasty abortion" is just BAD). The second time, I realized that the script wasn't just annoying, it was dreadful. After it came out on DVD, I watched it twice more, attempting to see what Roger Ebert saw. But alas, I don't, and I have gone from disliking it to outright hating it. The characters are awful. Someone as smart as Juno is supposed to be should be a lot more believable in her fear of relationships; instead, she comes off as a hybrid of the worst parts of both Lorelai and Rory Gilmore from "Gilmore Girls." Diablo Cody's script is even more reprehensible, as many of the superb actors in the cast (notably the always-at-least-good Allison Janney) are wasted on a script that, frankly, seems only mildly interested in its own subject matter and more obsessed with being pop-savvy. And then we come to Ellen Page. I have nothing against Ellen Page; I'm simply not convinced she's a good actress. This has nothing at all to do with her acting ability, however. I simply couldn't get over how cute she was in this film. In the beginning, standing with a bottle of Sunny Delight, she's cute. When she's sitting in the abortion clinic, she's cute. When she's waddling around the halls of her high school, she's cute. And when she's bonding with a completely misused Jason Bateman, she's cute. Yet this cuteness underscores the main problem with the movie: It's really cute, but there's nothing behind it. Expand
  53. OscarM
    Oct 13, 2009
    1
    This is certainly the worst movies i have ever had to endure. The director ought to have his genitals mutilated in a manner such that he may never consider producing such a tragic failure of a film again. I'd rather fill my ears with cochroaches than the tacky redneck tunes that frequent Juno.
  54. Dave
    Oct 14, 2009
    0
    Self concious and smug. Just a few words to describe a film i'd never watch again. All the smart arse comments and clichéd references don't save what little humour this film is meant to have. Ellen Page is just too "smart" and seems to have swallowed the book of "cool things to reference". This film is for people who'd like to think they're smart, but don't Self concious and smug. Just a few words to describe a film i'd never watch again. All the smart arse comments and clichéd references don't save what little humour this film is meant to have. Ellen Page is just too "smart" and seems to have swallowed the book of "cool things to reference". This film is for people who'd like to think they're smart, but don't see past (as someone else has said already) the indie film check list. Tries too hard in too many places, despite a slew of people trying to bump the rating, it can't change the fact that this film both sucks, and blows. Expand
  55. CasperY
    Dec 15, 2007
    1
    Not really a film, just a bunch of overly articulate scenesters acting out of the ream of plausibility. Hamburger phones, wisecracking store clerks, impossible to follow lingo that you'll never hear elsewhere, painfully cutesy montages to indie tracks....the key to comedy is believability and when nearly everyone acts outside of that sphere, I'll tune out. Weird ramblings and Not really a film, just a bunch of overly articulate scenesters acting out of the ream of plausibility. Hamburger phones, wisecracking store clerks, impossible to follow lingo that you'll never hear elsewhere, painfully cutesy montages to indie tracks....the key to comedy is believability and when nearly everyone acts outside of that sphere, I'll tune out. Weird ramblings and incoherent spouts of verbal diarrhea are not synonymous with wit. Expand
  56. MikeB.
    Dec 18, 2007
    2
    Casper Y. said it very well. The whole film seemed so very aware of and impressed with itself for no good reason. The humour rang completely false and the drama was, at best, unremarkable.
  57. ToddH.
    Dec 26, 2007
    3
    easily the most overrated film of the year. only the pseudo-intellectual, generic-liberal, indie kids of the world will enjoy any part of it- and most of them were already convinced they loved it before it came out. i'm amazed that so many critics can't see through this tripe. the whole film is so forced and disingenuous, the characters exist nowhere in reality, and the dialogue easily the most overrated film of the year. only the pseudo-intellectual, generic-liberal, indie kids of the world will enjoy any part of it- and most of them were already convinced they loved it before it came out. i'm amazed that so many critics can't see through this tripe. the whole film is so forced and disingenuous, the characters exist nowhere in reality, and the dialogue is absurd. it's the poor man's garden state- basically a cross between napoleon dynamite and crash (two of the more obnoxious, overrated films in recent memory). i think i laughed once. please don't be duped by this movie. national treasure 2 would be a better alternative. Expand
  58. Bobbie
    Dec 28, 2007
    0
    I'm a girl and am ashamed to have sat through this garbage. No one is even mildly likeable. The story goes nowhere. There is nothing to like about this dorky movie. Part of the scenes with her classmates in which she is treated as if she is a leper is ridiculous. And the prego acts as if she is 65 years old. Awful.
  59. SaraE.
    Dec 7, 2007
    2
    Just too over the top smart and precious. I might have enjoyed it more had i not heard how incredible, and fantastic it was supposed to be. Another over rated movie.
  60. MichaelB.
    Dec 7, 2007
    2
    I've never posted to Metacritic before, but I felt compelled to given the unanimous praise this is receiving. I was excited about seeing it based on the reviews, but I did not like Juno at all. In fact, for about the first hour, it looked like it was going to be downright awful. Jason Reitman apes Todd Solondz, Judd Apatow, and Wes Anderson SO hard, without adding a damn thing and I've never posted to Metacritic before, but I felt compelled to given the unanimous praise this is receiving. I was excited about seeing it based on the reviews, but I did not like Juno at all. In fact, for about the first hour, it looked like it was going to be downright awful. Jason Reitman apes Todd Solondz, Judd Apatow, and Wes Anderson SO hard, without adding a damn thing and subtracting a lot. He seems out to prove that he is truly his father's son. Far worse is Diablo Cody's script. The pop-culture name-checking, the sarcastic heroine a la Thora Birch in Ghost World, the unfunny use of words like "beef swords" (which killed with our audience by the way), the quirky indie constructs (the stepmom obsessed with dogs, the rock-and-roller who now composes commercial jingles)... yuck. It all feels very familiar but nowhere near as good as you've seen it done before. It is a terrible film with one single asset: Michael Cera. Go see The Savages instead, a far better film made by and for intelligent adults. Expand
  61. TomW
    Jan 12, 2008
    2
    I've tried to avoid being a cynic, but I really have to say this movie is one of the worst I have seen lately. The characters were poorly developed; they all followed a similar personality. The humor seemed to be that of 5th grader, by replacing words like "penis" with rare youth slang such as "junk". I laughed three times in this movie, and I give credit to Michael Cera; he is an I've tried to avoid being a cynic, but I really have to say this movie is one of the worst I have seen lately. The characters were poorly developed; they all followed a similar personality. The humor seemed to be that of 5th grader, by replacing words like "penis" with rare youth slang such as "junk". I laughed three times in this movie, and I give credit to Michael Cera; he is an actor I can appreciate. I honestly don't understand how this movie became so overrated, and I've lost my confidence in some critics. Expand
  62. MikeM
    Jan 18, 2008
    3
    Misdemeanors: 1) No one on earth talks like this: No 16 year olds have half as many references to things that happened before their time. No one's as quick. In general this can be forgiven as tone or style, and as part of the comedy genre, but the execution here is irritating to many people. [just not most critics, somehow...] 2) The plot and lack of real-world pressure and Misdemeanors: 1) No one on earth talks like this: No 16 year olds have half as many references to things that happened before their time. No one's as quick. In general this can be forgiven as tone or style, and as part of the comedy genre, but the execution here is irritating to many people. [just not most critics, somehow...] 2) The plot and lack of real-world pressure and complications are equally ridiculous. It can be forgiven as light comedy, but again, we're having our belief stretched. In the 2 minute version, Juno gets pregnant, says something hipster-flippant, and drinks a soda with her guy. See? Teen pregnancy? No big whup.... Felonies: 1)"Indie Film is a registered trademark of the Fox Corporation". It's 'alternative rock' all over again. Just like Little Miss Sunshine was not an indie film, neither is this. They both should be put in a new category called "Fake Indie with Stars and Corporate Parents" or maybe "Quirky Little $10 Million Budget"? Too Long? 2) There is nothing to the relationship between Juno and her guy. Michael Cera's a great comic actor who's got quirky guy down to a t. Granted. Now tell me anything susbstantial about his character....... [that he likes orange tictacs doesn't count as substantial]. How about why they love each other?.......The best guess I can hazzard is they have sex and he doesn't flake out. Hey! It's the fake relationship from Knocked Up all over again... another light comedy about pregnancy done uber-unrealistically. Another movie where good jokes and crafted dialogue don't add up to anything. Has modern media turned us so dull that we can't tell the forest for the trees anymore? A bunch of little bits and scenes and we don't notice or care that they don't make any sense taken as a whole? Expand
  63. Darelol
    Dec 29, 2008
    0
    Don't watch this. The whole thing was emotionally false. People in real life don't talk or act like ANYONE in this piece of shit movie.
  64. Alexf
    Jan 24, 2008
    0
    this movie is so overated its not funny they chose the worst acors like michael cera who was the one that was not funny in superbad the only good prson they chose was jennifer garner and she is way too good to consider this dumb movie, i hate ellen page!
  65. BruceW
    Jan 27, 2008
    3
    The people - moviegoers and critics alike - who like this movie need to take a serious look at themselves. Do they often fall for such contrived crap? It's like Diablo Cody wrote the whole screenplay while preening in a mirror, Reitman directed the movie intoxicated, and the Hollywood executives agreed to the movie after Cody gave them lap dances. And as for the critics, they must The people - moviegoers and critics alike - who like this movie need to take a serious look at themselves. Do they often fall for such contrived crap? It's like Diablo Cody wrote the whole screenplay while preening in a mirror, Reitman directed the movie intoxicated, and the Hollywood executives agreed to the movie after Cody gave them lap dances. And as for the critics, they must have been slipped rum in the punch at the premiere. If I ever watch this movie again, please shoot me. Expand
  66. TarkoB.
    Jan 27, 2008
    0
    I'm presently trying to watch JUNO, but I keep having to stop because of severe nausea. The preciousness, the phoniness, the hamburger telephone, the nudging-the-audience-in-the-ribs because "we all get it,"--it feels like a motherfucking horrible sit-com on self-congratulatory steroids. And it all starts with some asshole with a fake name that gets studio execs hot and bothered I'm presently trying to watch JUNO, but I keep having to stop because of severe nausea. The preciousness, the phoniness, the hamburger telephone, the nudging-the-audience-in-the-ribs because "we all get it,"--it feels like a motherfucking horrible sit-com on self-congratulatory steroids. And it all starts with some asshole with a fake name that gets studio execs hot and bothered because she says she was a stripper. AHHH! Expand
  67. RyanT.
    Jan 28, 2008
    2
    Overrated, irritating, and clueless. seems to think you will be impressed by how 'cool' it is just by name dropping a bunch of things they consider obscure. no one in this movie ever 'talks'. conversation is simply an opportunity to cram pop culture references, and dull, unimpressive ones at that, into a discussion, and to fire off as many clever one liners as Overrated, irritating, and clueless. seems to think you will be impressed by how 'cool' it is just by name dropping a bunch of things they consider obscure. no one in this movie ever 'talks'. conversation is simply an opportunity to cram pop culture references, and dull, unimpressive ones at that, into a discussion, and to fire off as many clever one liners as possible. mucch like its cheaply done, amateurish soundtrack, this film asks you to overlook its obvious flaws and accept its 'charm'...only its not much of a trade off...like being poked in the eye by a kid wearing a bunny suit...sure, the bunny suit is cute, but you'd have to be starved for preciousness to ignore the pain...same w/juno. if you missed out on all the REALLY cool movies in the past...whiffed on 'heathers', slept while 'ghost world' was out, stayed hom and watched american idol insrtead of seeing 'napoleon dynamite'...well, finally, the poseurs and clueless have a film to embrace for themselves. i prefer the real thing. keep your cheap imitation. Expand
  68. MattT.
    Feb 14, 2008
    2
    Hi Guys, I'm aware that this is not a movie *about* birth - nonetheless it pictures birth. If someone makes a horror movie, it is clear that they are not serious, and that's ok. If someone presents something as "ok" and thereby encourages and reinforces destructive behaviour and misinformation of the audience, that's not ok. Would you be similarly lenient about a film that, Hi Guys, I'm aware that this is not a movie *about* birth - nonetheless it pictures birth. If someone makes a horror movie, it is clear that they are not serious, and that's ok. If someone presents something as "ok" and thereby encourages and reinforces destructive behaviour and misinformation of the audience, that's not ok. Would you be similarly lenient about a film that, through the behaviour of the "hero", uncritically pictures other destructive behaviour such as people smoking inside in the presence of their children or heavier forms of child abuse, based on your pseudo-logical statement that that, too, is "common" and therefore ok to be presented as "ok" in a film? That in one case (e.g. child abuse) it is obvious to you that it is encouraging destructive behaviour, and in the other (birth) it is not obvious to you due to lack of knowledge, makes no difference. "Common" and "normal" does not mean "ok"! Is it that so hard to understand? This is highly irresponsible and badly researched filmmaking. If you watch it as uncritically as many seem to do, that is equally irresponsible, by the way. Your choice? Maybe. What would your (future) children say if you could ask them now about your interest in birth or lack thereof? Again, I would appreciate it if people would not be so catastrophically uncritical. Expand
  69. JohnK.
    Feb 15, 2008
    2
    juno was completely awful... i hated the main girl as an actress, she was annoying, and the movie is completely idiotic for the fact that it has received some of the best ratings of year... awful movie, waste of time. boring, unamusing (why?? it was pooly written, as well as very boring), and not funny on hardly any level. A total waste of time.
  70. MattK
    Feb 21, 2008
    0
    DIalog in this movie was horrible. So boring i almost fell asleep. actually i did fall asleep!
  71. TrystanM.
    Apr 18, 2008
    2
    I went to watch this film after a friend recommended it. He is no longer a friend. I am astonished that people found this film to be "witty" - for 90 minutes the viewer is subjected to unbearable and seemingly endless smart-arse comments in a routine trudge through the familiar old American high school stereotypes. Just when I thought it couldn't get any worse, the closing scene was I went to watch this film after a friend recommended it. He is no longer a friend. I am astonished that people found this film to be "witty" - for 90 minutes the viewer is subjected to unbearable and seemingly endless smart-arse comments in a routine trudge through the familiar old American high school stereotypes. Just when I thought it couldn't get any worse, the closing scene was so cheesy I writhed around in my cinema chair with my hand over my eyes wanting to kill myself. Shame on anyone who enjoyed this film, for you are an idiot. Expand
  72. IndieGuy
    Dec 11, 2007
    1
    It's all like, trying to be indie, but it's like totally not. I loved Arrested Development until it became hip to love Arrested Development at which point I started hating it, and then decided I would hate any movie the actors touch. It follows that I would totally hate this movie then because there's two (2!) of them in it. It's totally overhyped even though it It's all like, trying to be indie, but it's like totally not. I loved Arrested Development until it became hip to love Arrested Development at which point I started hating it, and then decided I would hate any movie the actors touch. It follows that I would totally hate this movie then because there's two (2!) of them in it. It's totally overhyped even though it hasn't really been advertised. Don't try and make sense of that statement, just read it and believe me. Expand
  73. DANH.
    Dec 26, 2007
    0
    this has to be the lamest movie i have ever seen, and if I ever had to watch it again I would blow my brains ou
  74. WalkerC.
    Dec 26, 2007
    3
    This movie was ridiculously overhyped, like the other negative reviews have said. The script was amazingly clunky (no black people so we can use ghetto slang ironically-LOL!), Juno's character was pretentious and "quirky" to a fault, and the 15 minute long indie-wank scene in the middle (My favorite song is a Sonic Youth cover of a Carpenter's song) made me want to kill myself. This movie was ridiculously overhyped, like the other negative reviews have said. The script was amazingly clunky (no black people so we can use ghetto slang ironically-LOL!), Juno's character was pretentious and "quirky" to a fault, and the 15 minute long indie-wank scene in the middle (My favorite song is a Sonic Youth cover of a Carpenter's song) made me want to kill myself. This film is the visual equivalent of shopping at Urban Outfitters: hipness mass-marketed to teenagers that don't "conform". Expand
  75. DrewT.
    Dec 26, 2007
    0
    The movie is shit. I'm just imagining the meeting where the executives first read this script. "But sir, this script sucks, the characters aren't likable or relatable, and the plot goes absolutely nowhere! How are we going to get people to like this movie?" "We'll just namedrop a bunch of bands and musicians that hipsters claim to listen to even when most of them probably The movie is shit. I'm just imagining the meeting where the executives first read this script. "But sir, this script sucks, the characters aren't likable or relatable, and the plot goes absolutely nowhere! How are we going to get people to like this movie?" "We'll just namedrop a bunch of bands and musicians that hipsters claim to listen to even when most of them probably don't, and try to be hip by making sure the viewer knows the girl is wearing Chuck Taylor's and trying to dress like rock musicans that died when she was 3!" Expand
  76. LisaS.
    Dec 29, 2007
    0
    Ugh. Once Juno's friend said "Oh my blog" instead of "Oh my God", I knew we were going to be irritated to no end, and we certainly were. This movie wants to have the idiosyncratic characters of "Rushmore" and more specifically "Ghost World"-- Juno wishes she were anywhere near as cool as Thora Birch's Enid. This movie lacks subtlety and moreover hits you over the head with its Ugh. Once Juno's friend said "Oh my blog" instead of "Oh my God", I knew we were going to be irritated to no end, and we certainly were. This movie wants to have the idiosyncratic characters of "Rushmore" and more specifically "Ghost World"-- Juno wishes she were anywhere near as cool as Thora Birch's Enid. This movie lacks subtlety and moreover hits you over the head with its imagined adorable quirkiness, Not only does Juno have a phone shaped like a hamburger but she has a line stating she is on her hamburger phone. It's stuff like that which made this movie excruciating. Thank God for Allison Janney and J.K. Simmons who make the most of their scenes, and are the only ones who actually make their dialogue tolerable. Jennifer Garner's character is sympathetic and relatable-- so much so she seems to be in a different movie altogether. I wouldn't be so incensed about this movie if people weren't hailing it as the second coming of John Hughes, which is blasphemy. By this time next year this movie is going to be dated. Expand
  77. Feb 11, 2013
    2
    Juno is a mess. You know there is a problem when every character, especially Ellen page, is either extremely annoying or irritating. Like the characters the movie is uninteresting and frankly a waste of time.
  78. Mar 21, 2014
    0
    waited for the movie to start getting good, and it just never did!, one of the worst movies I've seen, humour wasn't funnier at all, and the songs in the film when they sing are just terrible!
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. A blithe charmer balanced somewhere between a life-should-be-so-neat fairy tale and a life's-a-real-bitch tragicomedy, leaves political debate at the ticket counter and focuses solely on what it's like for Juno MacGuff to be Juno MacGuff.
  2. It’s the writer, Diablo Cody, and the director, Jason Reitman, who have screws loose. Or maybe they’re just desperate to make their film a chick "Rushmore" or "Garden State."
  3. 88
    There's a special kick that comes in finding a new star. So step up, Ellen Page, and take your bows.