User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1163 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. C.B.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    This is a great movie. Amazing performances by Ellen Page, Michael Cera, Allison Janney, J.K. Simmons & Jennifer Garner. I'm surprised to see some of the hate in the User Comments. Can you bitter schmucks actually gave this movie a 2? I'd love to see what Michael B., Sara E. & Aaron S. think is an 8. Or a 5. Those are three metacritic readers that rate good movies lower to get This is a great movie. Amazing performances by Ellen Page, Michael Cera, Allison Janney, J.K. Simmons & Jennifer Garner. I'm surprised to see some of the hate in the User Comments. Can you bitter schmucks actually gave this movie a 2? I'd love to see what Michael B., Sara E. & Aaron S. think is an 8. Or a 5. Those are three metacritic readers that rate good movies lower to get their twisted kicks... Expand
  2. HS
    Oct 15, 2009
    6
    I don't think that the movie is so bad... you can sit there and just let everything go. but by no means is it the most brilliant show ever. and yes the script can get a little annoying!! however Genny T there is no need to call people who don't like it uneducated... i have a brilliant education and the movie only scored a 6 for me so.
  3. GeorgeR.
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    This movie is funny, beautifully acted, and charming all at the same time. A great movie!
  4. JackR
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I started watching this movie on my iPod as I was sitting on the toilet. I was releasing. One hour and thirty-six minutes later I was still on the toilet way passed being done. That was the longest time I've ever spent being on a toilet. I enjoyed every moment. I'm now immune to bad smells.
  5. JohnZ
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    So funny. omg. what a great movie.
  6. Nov 27, 2011
    6
    Seriously overrated. I think overall that it was an ok film but I wasnt really into it as much as others may have been. The acting was fine and Ellen Page was a good lead but it was just so stupid to me.
  7. May 20, 2012
    6
    Started well but ran out of steam about half way through. Page is excellent throughout but I expected more from the Bateman/Garmer couple and it did feel a little like an MTV show.
  8. Aug 20, 2013
    8
    Juno was a good movie. I wasn't surprised but I was a little disappointed as I expected a little more from that movie as the reviews from the critics and the users are high. It has a great cast especially Ellen's Page performance which should have been awarded with an Oscar. The plot wasn't something really amazing but the whole film was entertaining It had some funny moments and someJuno was a good movie. I wasn't surprised but I was a little disappointed as I expected a little more from that movie as the reviews from the critics and the users are high. It has a great cast especially Ellen's Page performance which should have been awarded with an Oscar. The plot wasn't something really amazing but the whole film was entertaining It had some funny moments and some quite a bit sad moments. It is entertaining and easily watched and if you like this kind of comedies you will like it. I liked it but I was expecting more.. Expand
  9. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    this movie successfully created the most unlikable main character ever. then they add hipster belle and Sebastian songs to make it seem so against the man. god it made me laugh...so bad...
  10. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    Ellen Page shines as Juno MacGuff! She delivers a bright and shiny performance. I don't know if many audience members are aware of this, but Diablo Cody, who wrote the screenplay for this film was inspired by her life when she was 16 and pregnant in which it shows exactly what can happen during pregnancy and how it can guiltily affect your boyfriend that got you pregnant from sexualEllen Page shines as Juno MacGuff! She delivers a bright and shiny performance. I don't know if many audience members are aware of this, but Diablo Cody, who wrote the screenplay for this film was inspired by her life when she was 16 and pregnant in which it shows exactly what can happen during pregnancy and how it can guiltily affect your boyfriend that got you pregnant from sexual intercourse. Juno MacGuff acts like she doesn't care if she's pregnant, but she was smart about it and she does act like she is facing the challenges of being pregnant and she still does care about her boyfriend, Paul Bleeker (Michael Cera). Paul Bleeker still cared about her also. He felt guilty about getting her pregnant, but they still love each other and Page and Cera play cool characters. But what's great is the coming-of-age-type of love story between the two where they have great and intelligent chemistry with each other. And where the film's soul comes from is from the strong character development between the two from start to finish and where she faces a lot of hard decisions about being pregnant around her family and friends and between giving it up for adoption or the other. And strangely enough, it was romantically funny between the two. It's directed like a sitcom, but Jason Reitman makes a wonderful image out of it; especially the hilarious and moving performances of Michael Cera and Ellen Page and the impressive dialogue. Juno MacGuff (Ellen Page) is obnoxious as hell, but Ellen Page was great at her emotions and her obnoxious, yet very smart and intelligently written script. And hey, thanks to Diablo Cody's writing that was inspired by her 16 and pregnant life, it was well done with Juno MacGuff's smartitude, because her smartitude is what made her smart about her pregnancy. Diablo Cody's writing is also what made the script intelligently clever, smart, and not funny but beyond that: Hilarious! To give the audience an experience of being pregnant during high school, it gets the job done with impressive writing from Diablo Cody that made it so smart and intelligent. The love story between Juno and Paul was well-inspired. Especially due to the fact they played great characters. If you hate this wonderful movie, I would feel bad for you because where is your soul? Let me remind you haters this is a very touching movie that gives you clues of what being 16 and pregnant is like since it shows exactly what can happen when a some is pregnant - even when she gave birth and the guilt her boyfriend faced. Besides, wasn't it emotionally intense when she gave birth? Because this film shows how pregnancy can be in every way effective. Besides, It is romantically funny between Juno and Paul, so don't underestimate their character development and chemistry either, because hating this movie would be just soulless. Besides, like I said, she is obnoxious as hell, but she is cool like that, she's bright, sweet, charmingly and cleverly funny, smart, and intelligent. You would be an idiot to underestimate Juno MacGuff's awesome personality. Also, DO NOT underestimate Diablo Cody's superb writing and/or the romantic development between Juno and Paul either! Even if you hate the film considering Juno to be annoying, you are still an idiot, because she is very cool like Ellen Page. One of the coolest things about her is hamburger phone: that was clever as hell! I honestly think Juno was flawed, but thanks to Jason Reitman and Diablo Cody, writing and acting inspired from life of someone (yes, Diablo Cody) who was pregnant at age 16 gives it a coherent soul to captives your heart into a wonderfully explanatory experience of teenage pregnancy - especially since it shows how teenage pregnancy can be both personally and emotionally effective - even on your friends and family - well done by it's sweet and charming qualities - and Ellen Page, who helped made it sweet and charming due to her character and performance. Thank her and the rest of the cast also! And you know what, how can you hate this? You would be a disgrace to hate it. This movie has soul and it would be the perfect movie to watch in Health class in High School to give students clues of teenage pregnancy. Hating this movie, would be soulless. Shame on ANYONE who hates Juno! And yes, I mean you also! You haters would just make me sick! Although you haters may find Juno annoying: She is actually very sweet and clever! DON'T UNDERESTIMATE HER and/or Ellen Page. Especially Diablo Cody's writing. That would just make you haters inconsiderate with no soul. And haters, have you seen the show 16 and Pregnant on MTV? If so, that TV show ACTUALLY shows what I mentioned about teen pregnancy before and depicts it between Juno & Paul. I would also like to point out again that the screenplay of this film was inspired by Diablo Cody's life as a 16 year-old pregnant girl so think twice before you hate. Expand
  11. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    My favorite movie! Ellen Page is the only person who could have done this part. The movie shows how fun life can be, while blending that with the up and down rollercoaster of teenage life. I cried when she had the baby because I knewthat even though the baby was not going to be brought up by Juno, that she was still eternally, and forever the baby's mother
  12. JasonZ.
    Oct 8, 2008
    3
    A terrible, horrible, and COMPLETELY over rated comedy. It was an hour and a half of hipster bollocks being shoved down my throat. There was ONE part that made me laugh. The other 89 minutes or so I was looking for something to shove into my ear drums to stop the relentless hipster soundtrack. UGH.
  13. Oct 30, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. hmm this movie is probably only interesting to young-older teens. not funny at all! I could see that they tried to be funny but it was more of like a goofy/silly type thing that immature ppl would find funny. the only part i found interesting was the drama between the adopting couple. other than that... eh. I HATE the sarcasm in the movie. I was like HELLO theres a 16 year old girl thats pregnant! does anybody care? its like they make it seem "OK"! the parents didnt seem to be too worried or shocked and the girl seemed like she could care less. If i was her parent i'd be PISSED at the fact that my daughter was having sex at that age knowing the consequences. these parents seem just as irresponsible as their kid. This is NOT the message that we should be sending to teens. and i actually believe the only smart thing this girl did was give the baby up for adoption. that comment the doc said when she was giving the ulrasound saying the teen mother shouldnt raise her baby cause she'd be in a poisonous environment was actually something i'd agree with. plus teens dont know how great it is to have their freedom until they r responsible for the life of a child. Expand
  14. rainer
    Feb 17, 2008
    3
    Wholly implausible, overly written, hipster-wannabe Industry calling-card script flatly directed.
  15. Isaac
    Jan 2, 2008
    2
    if you have a penis, do NOT see this movie. It will fall off. Also, worst soundtrack ever.
  16. MattTies
    Feb 3, 2008
    2
    Juno - the bottomline

    Message to filmmakers: Don't put anything on screen that you don't have the slightest clue about! Do your homework and research first. Did you notice anything while watching this film? 1.: The film, as so many others, once more reinforces outdated mis-information about childbirth despite very contrary research findings, reaching a huge audience and
    Juno - the bottomline

    Message to filmmakers: Don't put anything on screen that you don't have the slightest clue about! Do your homework and research first.

    Did you notice anything while watching this film?

    1.: The film, as so many others, once more reinforces outdated mis-information about childbirth despite very contrary research findings, reaching a huge audience and in doing so contributing to bad birth decisions - which unfortunately too many parents make already these days on a routine basis.

    Take an hour and do a Google search to find out why - and don't only read the first two pages that come up - or just believe the nonsense this and other films dump into your brain, but don't say later you couldn't know any better. Your choice.

    "Birth in hospital is normal and best." WRONG. Fact: For healthy mothers with normal pregnancies, birth in hospital is more dangerous than at home.

    "An epidural is normal and necessary." WRONG. Fact: Epidurals routinely cause serious side effects on mother and baby with not uncommonly terrible health impacts that last for years or a lifetime. They also slow down the birth process, often making further medical interventions necessary that wouldn't have been necessary without an epidural.

    "Birth is given lying on your back." WRONG. Fact: Lying on your back makes the whole birth process significantly slower, harder, and more painful, increases the risk of birth injuries and also the likeliness of further medical intervention like instrumental birth, medical induction / speed up, and caesarean section.

    Did you notice any of these things when you saw the film? No? That's how seriously you have already been manipulated throughout your life into thinking that all this is "normal" and "right".

    2.: The only responsible solution for teenage pregnancy is giving the child up for adoption. Particularly in the film's setting, this is sheer nonsense. There is absolutely no reason why a sixteen year old mother can not responsibly raise her child if she has the intelligence of Juno as well as the sound financial AND moral support of her parents - be it with or without the father of the baby. Simply assuming that this is not possible is disregarding all those young mothers - and also fathers - who do a really great job raising their children, with the help of relatives and friends, and often provide a much better environment for their children to grow up than the typical neurotic hung-up and emotionally immature couples that seems to be the norm in many "normal" families these days.

    Bottomline: An interesting film concept, taken into an unreflected, outdated stone age direction, and in doing so, unfortunately ruined. Additionally the film sabotages the efforts of all those who work hard to make objective birth information a part of public knowledge, and adds to the misinformation and manipulation that parents-to-be are bombarded by already.

    Don't believe a single source of information - DO YOUR HOMEWORK and find out for yourself.

    Thanks for thinking. Your baby will love you for it!
    Expand
  17. kyleb
    Apr 14, 2008
    1
    This movie has no conflict. It's a bunch of well adjusted people dealing maturely with a problem and then it ends. The hint of conflict that does arise with Bateman's character not wanting to play along never goes anywhere. That plot line is simply abandoned. The whole movie is just an excuse for Ellen Page to make mildly funny hipster wise cracks. The people raving about this This movie has no conflict. It's a bunch of well adjusted people dealing maturely with a problem and then it ends. The hint of conflict that does arise with Bateman's character not wanting to play along never goes anywhere. That plot line is simply abandoned. The whole movie is just an excuse for Ellen Page to make mildly funny hipster wise cracks. The people raving about this movie are the type that look at a painting of a solid red square and claim to be deeply moved because someone labeled it modern art. It's a movie for posers, about posers. Expand
  18. EdC.
    Apr 26, 2008
    0
    There was no action. I never laughed once. The dialogue was just a bunch of wise mouth cracks. There was no flow. There was no climax. It was awful.
  19. HarryParatestes
    Apr 27, 2008
    0
    For the love of god. I felt like I was just watching MTV for and hour and a half. And I hate MTV. Here is Juno in a nutshell: Blast Unbearable Indie music , blast more terrible indie music , Crank more horribleFor the love of god. I felt like I was just watching MTV for and hour and a half. And I hate MTV. Here is Juno in a nutshell: Blast Unbearable Indie music , blast more terrible indie music , Crank more horrible indie music Expand
  20. JakeJ.
    May 3, 2008
    0
    This movie sucks. It has a horrible plot!!!
  21. SallyM.
    Jan 17, 2008
    0
    Sadly over-praised, and smugly over-pleased with itself. This isn't the fault of the actors, who were for the most part good, but of the writer and director. I didn't find it funny or within the realm of reaity or original. I found it utterly stupid and manipulative. The irony is that I went to see it and after 45 minutes, the projector broke. Had to go back and watch and listen Sadly over-praised, and smugly over-pleased with itself. This isn't the fault of the actors, who were for the most part good, but of the writer and director. I didn't find it funny or within the realm of reaity or original. I found it utterly stupid and manipulative. The irony is that I went to see it and after 45 minutes, the projector broke. Had to go back and watch and listen to the same self-satisfied crud again. Very disappointed. Most over-estimated movie of the year. Expand
  22. Anna
    Mar 18, 2008
    5
    It's fine. Just not great.
  23. JackB
    Apr 1, 2008
    5
    I agree with a lot of the lower scored voters who say that it was alright...but not great. It had the occasional moments of humor but nothing that i would class as "laugh out loud." There#s a modern and decent plot which isn't overdone, but I'm not sure why its got a lot of the accolades that it appears to have. I felt occasionally it seemed like a made for tv movie and at the I agree with a lot of the lower scored voters who say that it was alright...but not great. It had the occasional moments of humor but nothing that i would class as "laugh out loud." There#s a modern and decent plot which isn't overdone, but I'm not sure why its got a lot of the accolades that it appears to have. I felt occasionally it seemed like a made for tv movie and at the end of it i was a little bemused that id paid £5 to watch. If i had to give a recommendation in a sentence i would say that its alright to rent out if you have nothing else to do one Saturday night, a nice movie to watch with the girlfriend perhaps. Expand
  24. GeoffG.
    Apr 28, 2008
    3
    I think it's just childish to insult others for their opinion on a review site (LET ME TELL YOU WHY I'M RIGHT AND YOU'RE NOT). Everyone has different tastes, just give your output and don't insult. That doesn't help ANYONE. Those comments aside, I disliked Juno. The premise is untapped and fresh, the cast are all in their prime, and it's produced by fox I think it's just childish to insult others for their opinion on a review site (LET ME TELL YOU WHY I'M RIGHT AND YOU'RE NOT). Everyone has different tastes, just give your output and don't insult. That doesn't help ANYONE. Those comments aside, I disliked Juno. The premise is untapped and fresh, the cast are all in their prime, and it's produced by fox searchlight. It had the makings of a fantastic flick, but failed miserably in the script writing. I actually think Diablo Cody masturbated to the script while writing it, in the way he blatantly force-feeds cool. The unlikeable character Juno alone ruined the movie for me, every scene where she was meant to "stick it to the man", she comes off looking like a snooty, self-serving, preggie bitch. Expand
  25. AndyH.
    Jun 18, 2008
    3
    By no means Oscar worthy, Juno is a contrived attempt at recreating what made films like Little Miss Sunshine and The Royal Tenenbaums great.
  26. peterfile
    Oct 15, 2009
    0
    This film is as unintelligent and trashy as the self-absorbed redneck charcters that feature in Juno. The music seems like it was picked by a deaf squirrel and the script written by a filthy arab goat. In fact, I would rather feed my genitals to ravenous vultures, eat my own feces and support the collingwood football club than watch this insufferable film again. Juno only appeals to This film is as unintelligent and trashy as the self-absorbed redneck charcters that feature in Juno. The music seems like it was picked by a deaf squirrel and the script written by a filthy arab goat. In fact, I would rather feed my genitals to ravenous vultures, eat my own feces and support the collingwood football club than watch this insufferable film again. Juno only appeals to dull-minded, dirty, inbred rednecks and people who take sick pleasure from watching lacklustre actors hack through a sub-par script with tacky, self-indulgent one-liners. Expand
  27. Robert
    Dec 23, 2007
    0
    An awful movie. This is the kind of humor an elderly person might enjoy. The main character gets annoying and it is simply not funny. Don't waste your money.
  28. JonahT.
    Dec 5, 2007
    0
    All the hype around Diablo Cody and this movie had me dying to see it. First day - I'm there. Wow. What a disappointment. It is just dreadful. The characters all sound the same, none of it is the least bit convincing (not even as a funhouse mirror reflection of reality) and the humor has no snap. Terrible acting and soundtrack. It's just wall to wall bad. I can only assume all All the hype around Diablo Cody and this movie had me dying to see it. First day - I'm there. Wow. What a disappointment. It is just dreadful. The characters all sound the same, none of it is the least bit convincing (not even as a funhouse mirror reflection of reality) and the humor has no snap. Terrible acting and soundtrack. It's just wall to wall bad. I can only assume all the glowing reviews are a byproduct of the feel-good-girl-power-breakout-screenwriter bandwagon. It happens sometimes. Remember how Nia Vardalos was going to take over Hollywood? Sorry... but the emperess has no clothes. Which kind of makes sense... Cody used to be a stripper. Maybe she shouldn't quit her night job. Expand
  29. NickG.
    Dec 5, 2007
    2
    Dialogue that is only heard in the heads of the insane. Bad acting. Bad direction.
  30. SandyP.
    Dec 5, 2007
    1
    Yikes, did this ever stink. Everyone I was in the theater with couldn't wait to leave. The critics must be itching for another Little Miss Sunshine. Sorry, but this ain't it.
  31. AaronS.
    Dec 6, 2007
    2
    Overrated. A smug and hipper than thou film that never rings true.
  32. emilywilde
    Apr 23, 2008
    2
    Nice try Nick. This movie blew and no matter how defensive you get, that simple fact will not change. Trystan M. pretty much summed up why this movie sucked with his comments. This year's Little Miss Sunshine. Trying to be too smart for its own good and just ends up failing miserably.
  33. liamb
    Oct 18, 2009
    0
    This film is absolute filth. i wish i could have ripped that foetus from Juno's belly with a pair of unsanitary tongs, scraping the insides of her vagina for added effect.
  34. Sep 1, 2010
    8
    Teenager gets accidentally pregnant, decides to give the baby to a middle class couple when it's born.
    Great film that's full of charm & very sweet.
    Ellen Page is fantastic as the quirky yet very dry Juno. Good supporting cast & a great soundtrack to go with it.
  35. Aug 5, 2011
    5
    Honestly, it wasn't really funny, or really clever, or really anything. It was just a movie to watch, it didn't entice me or connect me to the characters; it was just O.K., nothing more. I can see the effort and the great acting, but the story just was not interesting to me.
  36. Jan 10, 2011
    7
    Coming-of-age story told with remarkable witt, adroitness, authenticity, and essence. The dialogue is thorough and adept without losing its younger viewers. "Juno" is a smart comedy/drama that, at times, comes across a bit brusque, but wins your heart through the 9 month journey of a teen-made-mom facing the astringent sociological and physiological effects of a "fly-by-night" decision.Coming-of-age story told with remarkable witt, adroitness, authenticity, and essence. The dialogue is thorough and adept without losing its younger viewers. "Juno" is a smart comedy/drama that, at times, comes across a bit brusque, but wins your heart through the 9 month journey of a teen-made-mom facing the astringent sociological and physiological effects of a "fly-by-night" decision. However, instances of quixotic support from parents and quirky relationships make "Juno" less believable, and more Hollywood than you would like to see, but manages to keep your attention long enough through Page's brilliant performance. Expand
  37. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    Very funny PG-13 movie and Ellen Page plays the greatest role on the movie. Also, the soundtrack is amazing and all of the jokes on the movie are hilarious.
  38. Jan 26, 2011
    7
    For what it is...it passes. Not sure I agree with the subject matter or how it was handled by the characters , but Ellen Page came of as charming despite her offbeat personality and Michael Cera continues to slowly grow on me. It may not be a straight up comedy as some suggest but it does have its moments of laugh out loud dialogue and situations. Juno seems more fit for a selectiveFor what it is...it passes. Not sure I agree with the subject matter or how it was handled by the characters , but Ellen Page came of as charming despite her offbeat personality and Michael Cera continues to slowly grow on me. It may not be a straight up comedy as some suggest but it does have its moments of laugh out loud dialogue and situations. Juno seems more fit for a selective audience but as an indie film I have to say that I rather enjoyed it. Expand
  39. Feb 21, 2012
    3
    Juno is a film full of extremely unappealing people which has been tailor-made to appeal to a teenage audience, who luckily for director Reitman, don't have a fully developed crap-detector yet. Side note - Ellen Page wasn't playing Juno... she was playing Ellen Page as Juno. Previous and subsequent performances are all Ellen Page clones. The whole sarcasm-dipped banter thing isn't freshJuno is a film full of extremely unappealing people which has been tailor-made to appeal to a teenage audience, who luckily for director Reitman, don't have a fully developed crap-detector yet. Side note - Ellen Page wasn't playing Juno... she was playing Ellen Page as Juno. Previous and subsequent performances are all Ellen Page clones. The whole sarcasm-dipped banter thing isn't fresh or funny anymore, my dear. Broaden your horizons immediately, if you're even able, before the slow death of type-casting takes hold. Expand
  40. Oct 18, 2013
    9
    Very cool movie!!! Great acting and the plot is not tired. Look!!!
    the film is about a strong girl who overcomes the difficulties of life and learn new things) Film with a deep meaning which will transform your life and you'll never the same.
  41. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    Such an annyoying movie. That one kid who acts like an alien in every movie is horrible. Ellen Page was a total you know what. Gross. Making teen pregnancy look like something fun.
  42. TracyR
    Jan 2, 2008
    9
    Fabulous movie. Smart, real and hysterical. Could not be better written and acted. Just terrific. One of the best movies I've seen all year....
  43. SteveL
    Jan 2, 2008
    9
    Wow, a lot of hate for this movie. Most of the complaints concern the hype for the film, so maybe I lucked out, having heard none. In any case, I thought Juno was one of the better movies I've seen in a while.
  44. MattA
    Jan 27, 2008
    9
    The film Juno featured sharp dialogue and interesting characters, which add up to be one of my favorite films of the year. The dialogue is hilarious and there is so much subtle humor that not many notice (those who only understand blunt statements as jokes). Ellen Page played an amazing, and believeable character who adolessence doesn't mask her heart. This movie is very adult themed The film Juno featured sharp dialogue and interesting characters, which add up to be one of my favorite films of the year. The dialogue is hilarious and there is so much subtle humor that not many notice (those who only understand blunt statements as jokes). Ellen Page played an amazing, and believeable character who adolessence doesn't mask her heart. This movie is very adult themed however, and i feel that ignorant teenagers may misinterpret the meaning of this film as a advocate for Pre-teen sex (but does anything ever stop them anyways?) Great Film. Made me laugh more than any film in the past few months. Expand
  45. KevinH.
    Jan 5, 2008
    6
    This morning i woke up early and went to The Savages matinee showing at my local art house theater with a random assortment of 20 anywheres age people, mostly older, and loved it. Then at 7 i went to the multiplex to see Juno at a packed house filled with recently pubescent kids with their dates that watched the film as they struggled in an attempt to touch each other. I was expecting to This morning i woke up early and went to The Savages matinee showing at my local art house theater with a random assortment of 20 anywheres age people, mostly older, and loved it. Then at 7 i went to the multiplex to see Juno at a packed house filled with recently pubescent kids with their dates that watched the film as they struggled in an attempt to touch each other. I was expecting to love the film but was filled with the cognitive dissonance of paying ten dollars for a film that i was constantly battling with. A film that you like will suck you in so that your mental chatter stops leaving you to ponder what is going to happen next if you ponder anything other than the immediate sensations of what the actors are saying at the moment. During the first 15-30 minutes of the film as the masses around me laughed at the punchlines that i interpreted were supposed to be funny and i sat with a blank stare i felt as alien as David Bowie's Spider's from Mars. Thus began a hour and a half long inward debate of why i didn't think this movie was funny. What i found amusing was that the parts i laughed at were the parts that correlated with a relative silence throughout the crowd. People laughed at the set design and general visuals. I thought man, Wes Anderson did a way better job at that and their just trying to mimic him. People laughed at the rapid fire dialogue of ellen page's character and i appreciated that what she was basically saying was funny but comedy, at least in modern day form just doesn't work at that speed. What the character Juno says is in theory funny but compare when Juno talks and when Bateman or Cera's characters talk. Comedy comes from some basis in reality and no one but maybe a genius talks with the amount of elucidation that Juno does off the cuff. The script is good in theory but there is too much there, if they slowed it down and unpacked some of Juno's dialogue the film would be much funnier. Either Reitman, Cody, or Page have no since of comic timing. Also i should add i like to think that i wanted to like this movie, why else would i pay ten dollars to go see it. But the movie just tries so hard to be cool. And Cody's script seems to be trying so hard to prove that she's isn't just a dumb stripper. It makes me think "we know you can write, just tone it down a notch." But maybe seeing the savages earlier threw me off since the two movies take such a different approach to a "tragedy" and turn it into humor. To couple drama with comedy is a difficult thing to do and i just believe the savages pulled it off much better than juno. Come to think of it, knocked up pulled it off a lot better also. But this genius of knocked up is it's extemperaneous feel whereas Juno feels scripted throughout. Expand
  46. E.Allen
    Jun 3, 2008
    0
    Honestly, I would never give this rating if I didn't fully agree with it. I despise every aspect of this film. It is a giant commercial with a tired plot, canned and incredibly stupid dialogue, and paper-thin characters. If these flaws weren't bad enough, every time it appears to take a good turn the film simply shoots itself in the foot. To be honest, my rating would be a 1 or Honestly, I would never give this rating if I didn't fully agree with it. I despise every aspect of this film. It is a giant commercial with a tired plot, canned and incredibly stupid dialogue, and paper-thin characters. If these flaws weren't bad enough, every time it appears to take a good turn the film simply shoots itself in the foot. To be honest, my rating would be a 1 or a 2 if not for all of America congratulating itself for loving something so zany and "indie." Expand
  47. MarcD.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    Fantastic movie. The acting performaces are all top notch and incredibly "real." This is the biggest no-brainer of the holiday season.
  48. AndersM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    At their first meeting, the 16-year-old title character corrects the would-be adoptive father of her illegitimate child that her namesake is not the city in Alaska but rather the Roman Queen of the Gods and once you see this movie, you'll likely realize that the name Juno could not be more appropriate, nay, perfect. Initially wearing something non-descript, the audience has to At their first meeting, the 16-year-old title character corrects the would-be adoptive father of her illegitimate child that her namesake is not the city in Alaska but rather the Roman Queen of the Gods and once you see this movie, you'll likely realize that the name Juno could not be more appropriate, nay, perfect. Initially wearing something non-descript, the audience has to observe her mannerisms and hear her cant to begin to develop an understanding of who she is. And the screenwriter, Diablo Cody, director, Jason Reitman, and lead actress, Ellen Page, do an amazing job of showing this through her brusque, mannish, sarcastic, juvenile-idiom-laden speech, her resolute gait, and her brutally-honest and witty utterances. Juno, while--not coincidentally--being the goddess of motherhood, is also infamously the bitchiest of the gods. One must take into account, however, that she always had reason to be filled with hatred or jealousy; her husband was constantly philandering with mortals of both sexes. Juno, also representing monogamy in marriage, is justified in her rage and her firm expression of her feelings is respectable rather than hysterical (and by the way, the monogamy/infidelity issue plays a key role in the film). As I was watching a preview screening at the Lagoon theater on Nov. 28, it was difficult for me to rid myself of the notion that I wasn't watching the goddess Juno herself, except here mortal, adolescent, and Midwestern. In this film as in reality, the company that every character holds describes his or her personality in a more profound way than their characters in isolation and they become exponentially more complex as they interact. The adoptive couple, the Lorings, initially come off as two-dimensional, but as we discover that Mark (Jason Bateman)--instead of being the nesting, Bed-Bath-and-Beyond-type like his wife Vanessa (Jennifer Garner)--is rather is an aging, frustrated, sellout of an ex-hipster and one can take this to illustrate a whole history to their relationship. Juno springs from her lower-middle class, disciplining yet disaffected parents (J.K. Simmons and Allison Janney) as logically as the theory of gravity. And the fact that Juno, the self-described goth librarian, is best friends with Leah (Olivia Thirlby), an animated, cheerleader-type ginger who lusts after her English teacher describes both girls better than either one alone; the inter-clique connection happens when both people mutually see something unique beneath the surface. Paulie Bleeker (Michael Cera), Juno's baby-daddy, is the headbanded track star (maybe he's working off the baby fat he appears to still have) that occasionally reveals passions his meekness would otherwise belie. You see what they saw in each other, as in the movie's Moldy Peaches theme song "Anyone Else But You". I confess myself to be blown away at having learned that seemingly the most of the mother-loving soundtrack owes its brilliance to the actress who plays Juno, Ellen Page. Reitman asked her what she thought her character listened to and she said, "The Moldy Peaches," which isn't quite the 70's-era rock the character explicitly says she listens to, but lends its charmingly puerile tones and jaded/sentimental lyrics perfectly to the film's general milieu (especially with the solo music of band-member Kimya Dawson). The music immediately distinguishes the movie as one targeted at young people of the artistic temperament, but never self-consciously or crudely, eg. Garden State. The opening credits, animated by Shadowplay studios, which also did the one for "Thank You For Smoking", seemed somewhat incongruous to the rest of the film. The cartoon outline of Juno walking around the squiggly, pastel neighborhood drinking a gallon jug of "Sunny-D" suggests that the rest of the movie will be equally cartoonish and the main character a potentially-mentally-challenged outsider. Especially paired with the first scene where Rainn Wilson plays a 7-11 clerk that harasses Juno about the pregnancy tests she continues to buy and fail, the opening credits prepare you for a movie like Napoleonette Dynamite. Reitman, when asked about the similarities, said that unlike Napoleon Dynamite, Juno isn't set in an alternate universe, but rather firmly in reality. As the movie develops, he is proven correct because the characters quickly stop acting like quippy caricatures. That's not to say it isn't funny. In fact, it is much funnier than Dynamite. The frequency and intensity of the jokes is blistering. Don't zone out for a minute or else you'll miss jokes that are hidden in the background or muttered under someone's breath. Almost as quickly the mood will change from hilarious to heartbreaking and, although jarring, it's also pleasantly sobering. The story is as well-constructed and unpredictable as one could ever desire. In the end, there will be tears guaranteed for the saps among us and those willing to make themselves vulnerable to images and sounds. In the end, you will feel that the older characters will find a newer understanding of themselves and that the younger characters will discover their identities for the first time. You will be convinced that they will grow into the people you want to be friends with. In the end, you will feel the long-lost reverence for the miracle of motherhood that makes mother goddesses of any name smile. Read my blog at: violaceleste.blogspot.com Expand
  49. Ram
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    great film, witty dialogue, and most of all, one of the most lovable lead actors in a long , long time. hail Juno!
  50. JacobW.
    Jan 1, 2008
    0
    The hyperventilated dialogue in this suffocatingly cute movie will suck the oxygen out of any cinoplex within the first five minutes. Ellen Page is a very fine actress. Maybe next time she'll find a solid script worthy of her talents.
  51. JimmyS.
    Dec 22, 2008
    8
  52. hollyc
    Jan 5, 2008
    8
    Solid movie overall--- I did think it was trying a little too hard with the dialog in the beginning, but soon that subsided and the film really grew on me by the end. Great performances by Ellen Page---and surprisingly Jennifer Garner. Michael Cera is always fun to watch, though I'm beginning to wonder if he's the same character in every movie/project. I can see how some people Solid movie overall--- I did think it was trying a little too hard with the dialog in the beginning, but soon that subsided and the film really grew on me by the end. Great performances by Ellen Page---and surprisingly Jennifer Garner. Michael Cera is always fun to watch, though I'm beginning to wonder if he's the same character in every movie/project. I can see how some people might get turned off immediately by the "quirky" fast paced (almost Gilmour Girls-like) dialog and just resent the rest of the film because of it. However, as soon as the pregnancy-story really starts to unfold (especially with the adopting couple) I was hooked and really enjoyed Juno to the very end. The story and direction was very good (not the best ever) and of course the soundtrack was pretty awesome. But really, bravo to Ellen Page--she really is a great find here. Expand
  53. AnonymousMC
    Jan 6, 2008
    5
    wasnt wonderful but not horrible. completely overhyped
  54. DMcGinty
    Feb 25, 2008
    8
    I like Diablo Cody and I was looking forward to this film, but I feel a little let down. Every part of the film seems choppy, from the acting to the writing to the soundtrack. However, that's also what makes the film charming--the film is as imperfect as the world that inspired it.
  55. DavidR
    Feb 3, 2008
    1
    This movie, like Republican front-runner Mitt Romney, has the face of new America with the values and speech of the last mutterings of Lester Bangs as Soft Cell blared in the background. While watching the hideous asian confrontation in front of the abortion clinic scene in "Juno" I was reminded of Romney's much hyped "Mormon speech" that was supposed to recall JFK's "Catholic This movie, like Republican front-runner Mitt Romney, has the face of new America with the values and speech of the last mutterings of Lester Bangs as Soft Cell blared in the background. While watching the hideous asian confrontation in front of the abortion clinic scene in "Juno" I was reminded of Romney's much hyped "Mormon speech" that was supposed to recall JFK's "Catholic speech." I found Diablo Cody's hateful mocking of "engrish" just as appaling as Romney's stress on his five sons all sharing similar facial features of Joseph Smith. Ivan Reitman must look at his son the way JFK is looking down on Romney, with contempt. Expand
  56. AnS.
    Feb 4, 2008
    5
    It's a diverting enough film that many will enjoy but it also feels like a cynical attempt at making a by-the-numbers independent film. It's incredibly derivative, as if the creators went through a check-list of quirkiness from recent successful independent US films. Ticking all the boxes isn't good enough. Do something different, possibly even making a terrible film in the It's a diverting enough film that many will enjoy but it also feels like a cynical attempt at making a by-the-numbers independent film. It's incredibly derivative, as if the creators went through a check-list of quirkiness from recent successful independent US films. Ticking all the boxes isn't good enough. Do something different, possibly even making a terrible film in the process, but at least try. The most unforgivable thing by far is the gratuitous product placement. It starts with a five-minute long Sunny Delight ad and referernces to this most sugar+water+artificial flavouring of drinks persist throughout the first half of the film. Tic Tac must have shelled out a substantial sum of money too - could this be one of the most unforgivable pieces of dialogue ever committed to celluloid: "Well you know, because they're your fave - and I figured you could never have enough of your favorite one calorie breath mints." Why don't they just let the Tic Tac marketing team write all the dialogue?!? At this point you get to thinking (if you haven't already) that this quip fits in with all the other supposedly witty nuggets that pour out of little Juno's mouth... like so many rotten teeth. Perhaps she should keep off the Sunny Delight and Tic Tacs? Expand
  57. AnS.
    Feb 4, 2008
    5
    It's a diverting enough film that many will enjoy but it also feels like a cynical attempt at making a by-the-numbers independent film. It's incredibly derivative, as if the creators went through a check-list of quirkiness from recent successful independent US films. Ticking all the boxes isn't good enough. Do something different, possibly even making a terrible film in the It's a diverting enough film that many will enjoy but it also feels like a cynical attempt at making a by-the-numbers independent film. It's incredibly derivative, as if the creators went through a check-list of quirkiness from recent successful independent US films. Ticking all the boxes isn't good enough. Do something different, possibly even making a terrible film in the process, but at least try. The most unforgivable thing by far is the gratuitous product placement. It starts with a five-minute long Sunny Delight ad and referernces to this most sugar+water+artificial flavouring of drinks persist throughout the first half of the film. Tic Tac must have shelled out a substantial sum of money too - could this be one of the most unforgivable pieces of dialogue ever committed to celluloid: "Well you know, because they're your fave - and I figured you could never have enough of your favorite one calorie breath mints." Why don't they just let the Tic Tac marketing team write all the dialogue?!? At this point you get to thinking (if you haven't already) that this quip fits in with all the other supposedly witty nuggets that pour out of little Juno's mouth... like so many rotten teeth. Perhaps she should keep off the Sunny Delight and Tic Tacs? Expand
  58. RobertM.
    Feb 4, 2008
    7
    Ellen Page gives her most endearing though perhaps most underwhelming performance of her movie career in this indie dramedy turned national hit, yet thanks to her ability to make wise ass, title character, Juno, both witty and genuine, this movie is just worth watching despite its many annoyances.
  59. TylerC.
    Feb 6, 2008
    9
    Great movie-only a few instances of unbelievable dialogue. I'm really happy this is getting the attention it deserves.
  60. MelancholicAlchoholic
    Feb 7, 2008
    6
    As a movie it's good, it's sympathetic, the performances are good, but the underlying message is so goody two shoes, and so in line with the present day neocon culture of the War On Terror (Thou shalt not commit Abortion in Film Unless it leads to mental Breakdown) that I want to give this a 6. Now that the selfcensorship on somewhat positively portrayed abortion has stretched As a movie it's good, it's sympathetic, the performances are good, but the underlying message is so goody two shoes, and so in line with the present day neocon culture of the War On Terror (Thou shalt not commit Abortion in Film Unless it leads to mental Breakdown) that I want to give this a 6. Now that the selfcensorship on somewhat positively portrayed abortion has stretched it's vile claws to indie productions as well, we must fear that even a Hillary presidency will lead to an abortion ban in less than 3 years. I've seen over 2500 films and only in one a pregnant woman had an abortion: Holly Hunter in "Things You Can Tell Just by Looking at Her". And yes, this was of the "You-think-you-can-have-an-abortion-just-like- that-but-you'll-be-sorry-in-the-end" - type. The REAL refreshing, daring and new thing to do would be of course, telling the sensitive, yet funny and touching story of the struggle of a 14 year old getting pregnant and her hilarious but yet heartgripping search for an abortion clinic willing to perform a 20 week abortion. This search could take Ulyssesic(?) dimensions, with sardonical comments by said 14 year old on parents school church clinics doctors and Jehova Witnesses ... But yeah, guess which country would be TOO conservative for that .... I mean, if you can make light of the psychologically damaging experience of giving your kid away to total strangers, why not about the less psychologically damaging experience of abortion? Collapse
  61. Phil
    Mar 1, 2008
    8
    This was the type of film that kicks off to a nice start with original soundtrack and pop lingo(not to mension an appearance from Rainn Wilson), but as the story unravels and finally makes it's way to conclusions, you find yourself wondering just how much effort was put into the ending.
    Besides that, I honestly thought this was a wholesome film
  62. KaseyS.
    Mar 9, 2008
    8
    Solid film. Solid cast. Went too far at the end and a little cheesy. I think I had too high of expectations for this film.
  63. jonathans.
    Apr 15, 2008
    6
    Oh, and this film really isn;t one of those films taht requires you to "have an education", or however one of the reviewers tried to put it in order to say people who didn't like this movie were just stupid. The dialogue wasn't really that witty, and the fact that middle schoolers understood it all means it's really not that smart as some ignorant defenders are trying toOh, and this film really isn;t one of those films taht requires you to "have an education", or however one of the reviewers tried to put it in order to say people who didn't like this movie were just stupid. The dialogue wasn't really that witty, and the fact that middle schoolers understood it all means it's really not that smart as some ignorant defenders are trying to claim. But to another reviewer: of course plenty of teenagers are actually this quickly-witted. Do you only hang out with stupid high schoolers? But if you want a classic comedy that still holds up today which REALLY requires you to be alert because of the rapid-fire humor, please turn your attention to Aiplane!, the greatest classic spoof of our time (which also opened the gates for all spoofs following it.) Expand
  64. DeborahL.
    Apr 26, 2008
    6
    Fey, clever wes andersen wannabe unhelpful b.s. with an agenda. no father is that enlightened and no pregnant teen so plucky. another pregnancy flick with an anti schmersortion agenda
  65. Andy
    Apr 30, 2008
    0
    I found this film insulting. Everybody raves about how cool and witty the dialogue is, but it is so unrealistic. Nobody talks like that, especially not a 16 year old girl. You may find the dialogue impressive if you are used to the normal Hollywood fare, but this is a crock. There is no depth to any of the characters, you can see right through them and predict the entire film in a matter I found this film insulting. Everybody raves about how cool and witty the dialogue is, but it is so unrealistic. Nobody talks like that, especially not a 16 year old girl. You may find the dialogue impressive if you are used to the normal Hollywood fare, but this is a crock. There is no depth to any of the characters, you can see right through them and predict the entire film in a matter of minutes. I cannot imagine how this won an academy award for best screenplay. Hollywood sure likes to find little "indie darlings" and make money off of them. Put this right up there with Garden State and Little Miss Sunshine. A complete joke. Go see a real film. Expand
  66. OrchidX
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    In one word the whole thing was great. A lot of people may not understand the movie or even get the whole idea of it. It's not meant to be just as it may seem at first, it goes deeper, you just have to look for it. Also, it's not like other movies that have a "commericial" plot that would be filled with overused phrases and mediocre scenes. It's definately worth watching.
  67. Brandy
    May 1, 2008
    10
    If I could give this movie 1 million points I would!! I love love love this movie. A few parts are a bit awkward, like Bleeks mom and Jennifer Garner and her husbands interactions... But, I didn't let that allow me to miss the greatness in Ellen Page's performance! This movie will be my top movie from now on. I just wish that it came out sooner in my life so that it could hold If I could give this movie 1 million points I would!! I love love love this movie. A few parts are a bit awkward, like Bleeks mom and Jennifer Garner and her husbands interactions... But, I didn't let that allow me to miss the greatness in Ellen Page's performance! This movie will be my top movie from now on. I just wish that it came out sooner in my life so that it could hold the top spot for longer! Expand
  68. TF
    May 3, 2008
    6
    WAY overwritten. The dialog is very unnatural and tries too hard to be clever. It's more obnoxious than funny at times. The cast makes it better though and the movie is worth watching because of Page, Batemen, and Cera. Not as solid as Thank You For Not Smoking. Definitely not as good as No Country or There Will Be Blood.
  69. LissettS.
    May 6, 2008
    2
    This movie is really stupid! I don't really think any parents would be so okay with their 16 year old daughter getting pregnant. I hate how they make it seem ok to get pregnant, that supposedly it's not your fault , and it's not a big deal.... no real impact in your life, right? Very outdated, crude, and lame movie.... really don't recommend. And I was really This movie is really stupid! I don't really think any parents would be so okay with their 16 year old daughter getting pregnant. I hate how they make it seem ok to get pregnant, that supposedly it's not your fault , and it's not a big deal.... no real impact in your life, right? Very outdated, crude, and lame movie.... really don't recommend. And I was really dissapointed in it especially since really good friends and my boyfriend recommended it.... Sorry to say this, but it was all a waste of production, money, and actors. Expand
  70. NChunn
    Aug 12, 2008
    9
    ah, the critics... what a waste of space they are... Peter Travers tells us (rolling stone) what a special kick it is to discover a new star.... !!!?? Huh ? Ellen Page you say?

    You mean the star who agve an almost academy award-winning level performance years earlier in Hard Candy? An already cult, popular and highly-praised film....? Wow Peter.... tell me this, are you not ashamed
    ah, the critics... what a waste of space they are... Peter Travers tells us (rolling stone) what a special kick it is to discover a new star.... !!!?? Huh ? Ellen Page you say?

    You mean the star who agve an almost academy award-winning level performance years earlier in Hard Candy? An already cult, popular and highly-praised film....?

    Wow Peter.... tell me this, are you not ashamed at the standard of your reviews?

    I would be if I was saying the BS you did.

    Don't get me started on the critic who gave No Country FOM a 50 and made it receive a lesser overall score than There Will Be Blood, which is inferior in almost every regard to NCFOM. Fact.
    Expand
  71. Megan
    Jan 16, 2009
    0
    The people that like this movie are the same annoying people who say "WTF" and "OMG" in normal conversation. They shouldn't be allowed to live. The movie makes Juno out to be so smart and clever, but are we to believe that Little Miss Juno had the forethought to plan her deflowering but not the brains to bring protection? Give me a break, Diablo. Stick to stripping, because your The people that like this movie are the same annoying people who say "WTF" and "OMG" in normal conversation. They shouldn't be allowed to live. The movie makes Juno out to be so smart and clever, but are we to believe that Little Miss Juno had the forethought to plan her deflowering but not the brains to bring protection? Give me a break, Diablo. Stick to stripping, because your writing is cloying and atrocious. Expand
  72. SethF.
    Jan 28, 2009
    4
    I thought the script was overflowing with pretentious verbage that no 16, 17, or 18 year old spits out of their mouth. The acting was very good and the concept was quirky. I enjoyed the calm and crush aspect Juno herself gained over the Husband, but all in all I kept being overwhelmed with the vocabulary and how unauthentic it seemed. Not something I would tell my daughter to watch for I thought the script was overflowing with pretentious verbage that no 16, 17, or 18 year old spits out of their mouth. The acting was very good and the concept was quirky. I enjoyed the calm and crush aspect Juno herself gained over the Husband, but all in all I kept being overwhelmed with the vocabulary and how unauthentic it seemed. Not something I would tell my daughter to watch for means of entertainment but certainly not because of the not-so-popular theme of teen pregnancy. Ya right. Expand
  73. Americanbeauty
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    my parents are just like that. If I told my dad I was going to burn the house down he'd point to where the matches were(not really but he's real chill. Movie is relatable to greatly. When she brakes down in the car and she can't even grip into the steering wheel is just like me. I can't grab something when I crash I'm so broken. And like her I hide things and my parents are just like that. If I told my dad I was going to burn the house down he'd point to where the matches were(not really but he's real chill. Movie is relatable to greatly. When she brakes down in the car and she can't even grip into the steering wheel is just like me. I can't grab something when I crash I'm so broken. And like her I hide things and I'm not openly emotional. Some lines are so great that I want to have an orgasm. This film really needs to be watched with subtitles. I've watched this movie an easy 10 times(so far) and everytime I found something new. Brilliant. Expand
  74. NicholasP.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    This is the best film i have seen all year, better than Atonement even.
  75. DanB
    Dec 25, 2007
    8
    Wonderful movie. Great dialogue, well delivered. While Ellen Page was perfect, the entire cast did an excellent job. If I had a step-mom, I would want her to be just like Juno's!!
  76. PeterK.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    This is a great true-to-life film about off-beat characters living in a "normal" world with a great deal of tongue-in-cheek sensitivity and love. It made my whole family laugh at its eccentric comedy and whole-hearted decency.
  77. kevina
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Saw Juno last night a preview screening - it's got my (2nd annual) "Children of Men" award for my favorite time at a movie for the year. Realistic, witty dialogue, engaging characters, and fantastic music. I can't recommend any more strongly.
  78. JH
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    An absolute joy to watch. Ellen Page and Michael Cera delivered.
  79. ChrisG
    Jan 17, 2008
    1
    The only reason this movie even gets a 1 is because of Michael Cera. Everything else about this film was just crap. Boring, unbelievable in any way, Juno spoke as though she were the 40 year old writer that created her and it just tried waaaay to hard to be hip and witting. No plot, nothing happened, the 2 'crisises' in the movie were barely noticeable and solved quickly and The only reason this movie even gets a 1 is because of Michael Cera. Everything else about this film was just crap. Boring, unbelievable in any way, Juno spoke as though she were the 40 year old writer that created her and it just tried waaaay to hard to be hip and witting. No plot, nothing happened, the 2 'crisises' in the movie were barely noticeable and solved quickly and easily. 1/2 through I wanted to punch myself in the face but my wife was eating it up so I stuck around to make her happy. Let her go w/ the girls. You don't want to see this. Expand
  80. NicolasB.
    Jan 2, 2008
    3
    The only reviewer here that really got this movie right is Michael Sragow at the Baltimore Sun. The dialogue in this film was damn near unbearable. Too hip, too smug, way way way too overdone. I can't believe Diablo Cody is getting the acclaim she is getting for this. The movie is so hyped and overrated that I can hardly wait for the backlash.
  81. Bill
    Jan 24, 2008
    6
    Over-rated movie. Script paces like a long commercial ad for justifying guiltless, irresponsible and promiscuous sexual ploys. Shamefully, Diablo Cody and Ellen Page will go down in the filmmaking history as model promotors of teen sex and teen unwed mothers.
  82. Jan
    Jan 25, 2008
    5
    At long last, we can applaud to seeing under-age lasses being laid and not having to face ill-consequences nor responsibilities. Just dispose the baby, and the teen and her rapist will have a very happy ending thereafter. Wow, sexual promiscuity for teens, and for male nincompoop weirdos, too, can be so cool. Too bad, Roman Polanski did rape a minor in the wrong era... as most of the At long last, we can applaud to seeing under-age lasses being laid and not having to face ill-consequences nor responsibilities. Just dispose the baby, and the teen and her rapist will have a very happy ending thereafter. Wow, sexual promiscuity for teens, and for male nincompoop weirdos, too, can be so cool. Too bad, Roman Polanski did rape a minor in the wrong era... as most of the American folks today would have considered Polanski's sexual activity pretty entertaining and adventurous. Expand
  83. DaveS
    Jan 30, 2008
    2
    Has anyone seen the recent clips of Mitt Romney quoting "Who Let The Dogs Out?" while meeting numerous black youths? That is about the best way I can describe this movie. The dialog (Mainly Juno's) reeks of that same, over-reaching-to-fit-in type of "hipness", and she, as Mitt, completely fail at sounding anything but even more out of touch with pop culture. From the discussion about Has anyone seen the recent clips of Mitt Romney quoting "Who Let The Dogs Out?" while meeting numerous black youths? That is about the best way I can describe this movie. The dialog (Mainly Juno's) reeks of that same, over-reaching-to-fit-in type of "hipness", and she, as Mitt, completely fail at sounding anything but even more out of touch with pop culture. From the discussion about guitars to the "three-way tie" for first place of Juno's favorite bands, it all seems like Diablo just visited Google's zeitgeist feature and cherry picked the "hippest sounding" things. And I don't even know how I'm supposed to be sympathetic towards Juno. She can't keep her mouth shut, doesn't conform to social conventions, and seems to be aloof most of the time. All of these are great traits in say, Larry David, but he does it with finesse. And wit. And somehow I can forgive Larry, while Juno, well, comes across as just a bitch. The only redeeming factor was Michael Cera, and he got so close to just chewing Juno out there near the end, but alas, he forgets about how unlovable she is and seems to settle in with her, much to my dismay. Expand
  84. MikeM.
    Jan 3, 2008
    7
    Really this movie is pretty mediocre. It's main fault is that there is no depth to the story, all the characters, relationships and plots are dealt with superficially, so you don't feel invested in the characters or the story itself. The dialogue is is clever and jangles along well enough to keep you entertained and amused throughout, but at the end of the day it didn't Really this movie is pretty mediocre. It's main fault is that there is no depth to the story, all the characters, relationships and plots are dealt with superficially, so you don't feel invested in the characters or the story itself. The dialogue is is clever and jangles along well enough to keep you entertained and amused throughout, but at the end of the day it didn't really make me particularly care about the movie. On the other hand, this movie is far from horrible. The dialogue IS witty, and the acting is solid for the most part (especially the younger actors) so I have a hard time understanding why anyone out there would hate it. No the dialogue may not be "realistic", but this is a MOVIE, not a court deposition. If you are that hung up on realism and making sure a movie you better stick to documentaries, so shut up already. Guess what, this isn't exactly art house avant garde, so get over yourselves. Ironically, I'm sure half the people who hate this probably loved Napoleon Dynamite. Expand
  85. DavidP
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    The haters are clearly intimidated at the very thought of Diablo Cody and/or the concept of the character Juno. This is a smart, delightful film that will appeal to reasonably intelligent moviegoers.
  86. TheDude
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    I loved this movie. I didn't know what to expect, but I ended up very happy I went. Actors are great. Characters are fantastic. Just a great, quirky, fun film.
  87. BillyS.
    Jan 5, 2008
    8
    In a season of heavy, dark dramas and even heavy dark musicals, Juno is like a breath of fresh, crisp air full of laughter and happiness. Ellen Page proves Hard Candy was no fluke, she is perfectly endearing as Juno, the smart, wise cracking, yet vunerable lead and all the supporting cast are just as good with enough screen time for each to establish their characters. Jason Reitman, after In a season of heavy, dark dramas and even heavy dark musicals, Juno is like a breath of fresh, crisp air full of laughter and happiness. Ellen Page proves Hard Candy was no fluke, she is perfectly endearing as Juno, the smart, wise cracking, yet vunerable lead and all the supporting cast are just as good with enough screen time for each to establish their characters. Jason Reitman, after Thank You for Smoking, delivers a solid one-two punch and must now be considered a director to watch. Juno is a joy! Take a breather and go see it! Expand
  88. DouglasS
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    The characters were believable, the plot was original and the music and acting were great, all around an amazing film.
  89. JohnN.
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Best film of the year. I can see the backlash is already starting.
  90. anyanka
    Jan 5, 2008
    4
    So disappointing. To the reviewer who said of Juno's inconsistent dialogue - "some people are just that smart" - uh, smart enough to tell a person they know very well is infertile and whose dream in life is to have a baby "you're lucky that you don't have to go through this" ingenuously, after you've supposedly done all this research? I don't think so. Ellen Page So disappointing. To the reviewer who said of Juno's inconsistent dialogue - "some people are just that smart" - uh, smart enough to tell a person they know very well is infertile and whose dream in life is to have a baby "you're lucky that you don't have to go through this" ingenuously, after you've supposedly done all this research? I don't think so. Ellen Page did a good job trying to smooth over her character's tonal inconsistencies, but that's a testament to her acting abilities, not the script. The 4 rating is because I want to encourage the development of movies with a female lead character, though of course, it revolves around the one thing people know women are "made to do" - have babies and fall in love with men. The actors are all great -- the scene where Jennifer Garner puts her hands on Juno's belly will move anyone -- but gimme a break, dude. If you want to see a great "quirky fable" movie, see "Waitress." Expand
  91. BenB
    Jan 6, 2008
    6
    I went into this movie expecting to love it, but I was sorely disappointed. It's not a BAD movie per se, but the writer simply can't pull this off in the vein of "Little Miss Sunshine". At the beginning the dialogue seems very contrived, and strives for funny hipness without achieving either. By the end, when the writer realizes that she is not good enough for the "make every I went into this movie expecting to love it, but I was sorely disappointed. It's not a BAD movie per se, but the writer simply can't pull this off in the vein of "Little Miss Sunshine". At the beginning the dialogue seems very contrived, and strives for funny hipness without achieving either. By the end, when the writer realizes that she is not good enough for the "make every line funny, cute and quotable!" shtick and settles down into more convential script is the movie watchable, and even slightly endearing. Unfortunately, sitting through this movie also includes sitting through the worst soundtrack ever concieved by man. What were they thinking!? Expand
  92. LindaW.
    Jan 6, 2008
    2
    This movie is unrealistic as it gets. Juno tells the adoption attorney that she wants a closed adoption. Is the NCFA behind this message?Juno tells a friend that the father nor she wanted to see the baby. The Juno sequel should be that Juno and father marry soon and have another baby. I have found that is the reality of many natural parents who relinquish.
  93. WebsterB
    Jan 8, 2008
    6
    Some of the worst dialogue I've heard since the god-awful "Death Proof" earlier this year but Michael Cera never misses a beat and Garner is wonderful. Good ending and as for Ellen Page, the character is too much like Page in real life. I don't consider that acting.
  94. JoeE.
    Feb 11, 2008
    9
    Probably best not to watch this film if you have passionnate views on abortion as you'll be completely sidetracked by the relatively small part that the issue plays in Juno. That would be a shame, because the film is beautiful. The characters are real, natural and honest, but most importantly for me they never descend into cliché or cheap parody. The dialogue is idiosyncratic Probably best not to watch this film if you have passionnate views on abortion as you'll be completely sidetracked by the relatively small part that the issue plays in Juno. That would be a shame, because the film is beautiful. The characters are real, natural and honest, but most importantly for me they never descend into cliché or cheap parody. The dialogue is idiosyncratic but never incomprehensible and gives a wonderful sense that the characters are real people with their own in-jokes and phrases. The fact that sentimentality is never shovelled into your face makes the touching moments resonate in a way that few other films achieve. I think this is a film that will be hard to forget. And that's before I even mention the soundtrack! Brilliant. Expand
  95. BMiller
    Feb 2, 2008
    9
    Some people don
  96. LuisG.
    Feb 20, 2008
    7
    Juno essentially is the little film that did... but unlike other small films its stays small... page is precise as a preg-teen and garner was snubbed from an oscar nomination... i felt a little taken by the film its quirks were both manipulative and were overshadowed by knocked up a film that was far more crude and commericial but the better picture... dont get me wrong its a good film Juno essentially is the little film that did... but unlike other small films its stays small... page is precise as a preg-teen and garner was snubbed from an oscar nomination... i felt a little taken by the film its quirks were both manipulative and were overshadowed by knocked up a film that was far more crude and commericial but the better picture... dont get me wrong its a good film just not the great film its made out to be.. kudos though !!! Expand
  97. Robby
    Feb 23, 2008
    8
    Well written, well acted, well directed. Better than the usual Hollywood fare easily. What is never explained thou is the 1970-era short short running shorts uniform, which is just played for a "running" joke in the film. Sometimes the film is in a timewarp, the girl is a cool 2000s girl in a dorky 70s world, listening to cool 70s music...
  98. AndrewW.
    Feb 5, 2008
    0
    I would gladly pay twice the cost of this movie for my 2 hours back, and a brain scrubber.
  99. DavidC
    Feb 7, 2008
    9
    This isn't a film about birth, Matt Ties above, jeez - you want to watch an educational film about birth as that is what you seem to compare the film to. It a witty, warm film that at first you think, Juno is drawn to be too clever and wry to be a natural character, with her sharp dialogue and wry humour. But see it thorough and all the characters provide a warmth & vulnerability This isn't a film about birth, Matt Ties above, jeez - you want to watch an educational film about birth as that is what you seem to compare the film to. It a witty, warm film that at first you think, Juno is drawn to be too clever and wry to be a natural character, with her sharp dialogue and wry humour. But see it thorough and all the characters provide a warmth & vulnerability that is presented in a natural fasion, that by the end warms the heart and leaves a non-cloying sentiment that resonates and, at least for me, left me with a smile. Really recommend. Expand
  100. AndrewD
    Feb 9, 2008
    3
    This movie benefitted from some solid acting (though I'm convinced Michael Cera actually cannot act) and a few moments of clarity. And thats about it. Otherwise it was a muddled mess...total garbage. Every reviewer points out that the first thirty minutes - which I spent grinding my teeth - were miserable. Why do they forgive it? No other movie would be shown that kind of charity, This movie benefitted from some solid acting (though I'm convinced Michael Cera actually cannot act) and a few moments of clarity. And thats about it. Otherwise it was a muddled mess...total garbage. Every reviewer points out that the first thirty minutes - which I spent grinding my teeth - were miserable. Why do they forgive it? No other movie would be shown that kind of charity, That's not all: Juno is wholly unlikable, the faux-Indie motifs are a big joke, the music is overbearing, and the character and plot development nonexistent. This movie is total trash and we can only hope that in time, more will come to agree with this assessment. Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. A blithe charmer balanced somewhere between a life-should-be-so-neat fairy tale and a life's-a-real-bitch tragicomedy, leaves political debate at the ticket counter and focuses solely on what it's like for Juno MacGuff to be Juno MacGuff.
  2. It’s the writer, Diablo Cody, and the director, Jason Reitman, who have screws loose. Or maybe they’re just desperate to make their film a chick "Rushmore" or "Garden State."
  3. 88
    There's a special kick that comes in finding a new star. So step up, Ellen Page, and take your bows.