Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: December 5, 2007
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1227 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,023
Mixed:
83
Negative:
121
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
DanBDec 25, 2007
Wonderful movie. Great dialogue, well delivered. While Ellen Page was perfect, the entire cast did an excellent job. If I had a step-mom, I would want her to be just like Juno's!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterK.Dec 30, 2007
This is a great true-to-life film about off-beat characters living in a "normal" world with a great deal of tongue-in-cheek sensitivity and love. It made my whole family laugh at its eccentric comedy and whole-hearted decency.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kevinaDec 7, 2007
Saw Juno last night a preview screening - it's got my (2nd annual) "Children of Men" award for my favorite time at a movie for the year. Realistic, witty dialogue, engaging characters, and fantastic music. I can't recommend any Saw Juno last night a preview screening - it's got my (2nd annual) "Children of Men" award for my favorite time at a movie for the year. Realistic, witty dialogue, engaging characters, and fantastic music. I can't recommend any more strongly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JHJan 1, 2008
An absolute joy to watch. Ellen Page and Michael Cera delivered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChrisGJan 17, 2008
The only reason this movie even gets a 1 is because of Michael Cera. Everything else about this film was just crap. Boring, unbelievable in any way, Juno spoke as though she were the 40 year old writer that created her and it just tried The only reason this movie even gets a 1 is because of Michael Cera. Everything else about this film was just crap. Boring, unbelievable in any way, Juno spoke as though she were the 40 year old writer that created her and it just tried waaaay to hard to be hip and witting. No plot, nothing happened, the 2 'crisises' in the movie were barely noticeable and solved quickly and easily. 1/2 through I wanted to punch myself in the face but my wife was eating it up so I stuck around to make her happy. Let her go w/ the girls. You don't want to see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NicolasB.Jan 2, 2008
The only reviewer here that really got this movie right is Michael Sragow at the Baltimore Sun. The dialogue in this film was damn near unbearable. Too hip, too smug, way way way too overdone. I can't believe Diablo Cody is getting the The only reviewer here that really got this movie right is Michael Sragow at the Baltimore Sun. The dialogue in this film was damn near unbearable. Too hip, too smug, way way way too overdone. I can't believe Diablo Cody is getting the acclaim she is getting for this. The movie is so hyped and overrated that I can hardly wait for the backlash. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillJan 24, 2008
Over-rated movie. Script paces like a long commercial ad for justifying guiltless, irresponsible and promiscuous sexual ploys. Shamefully, Diablo Cody and Ellen Page will go down in the filmmaking history as model promotors of teen sex and Over-rated movie. Script paces like a long commercial ad for justifying guiltless, irresponsible and promiscuous sexual ploys. Shamefully, Diablo Cody and Ellen Page will go down in the filmmaking history as model promotors of teen sex and teen unwed mothers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JanJan 25, 2008
At long last, we can applaud to seeing under-age lasses being laid and not having to face ill-consequences nor responsibilities. Just dispose the baby, and the teen and her rapist will have a very happy ending thereafter. Wow, sexual At long last, we can applaud to seeing under-age lasses being laid and not having to face ill-consequences nor responsibilities. Just dispose the baby, and the teen and her rapist will have a very happy ending thereafter. Wow, sexual promiscuity for teens, and for male nincompoop weirdos, too, can be so cool. Too bad, Roman Polanski did rape a minor in the wrong era... as most of the American folks today would have considered Polanski's sexual activity pretty entertaining and adventurous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DaveSJan 30, 2008
Has anyone seen the recent clips of Mitt Romney quoting "Who Let The Dogs Out?" while meeting numerous black youths? That is about the best way I can describe this movie. The dialog (Mainly Juno's) reeks of that same, Has anyone seen the recent clips of Mitt Romney quoting "Who Let The Dogs Out?" while meeting numerous black youths? That is about the best way I can describe this movie. The dialog (Mainly Juno's) reeks of that same, over-reaching-to-fit-in type of "hipness", and she, as Mitt, completely fail at sounding anything but even more out of touch with pop culture. From the discussion about guitars to the "three-way tie" for first place of Juno's favorite bands, it all seems like Diablo just visited Google's zeitgeist feature and cherry picked the "hippest sounding" things. And I don't even know how I'm supposed to be sympathetic towards Juno. She can't keep her mouth shut, doesn't conform to social conventions, and seems to be aloof most of the time. All of these are great traits in say, Larry David, but he does it with finesse. And wit. And somehow I can forgive Larry, while Juno, well, comes across as just a bitch. The only redeeming factor was Michael Cera, and he got so close to just chewing Juno out there near the end, but alas, he forgets about how unlovable she is and seems to settle in with her, much to my dismay. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeM.Jan 3, 2008
Really this movie is pretty mediocre. It's main fault is that there is no depth to the story, all the characters, relationships and plots are dealt with superficially, so you don't feel invested in the characters or the story Really this movie is pretty mediocre. It's main fault is that there is no depth to the story, all the characters, relationships and plots are dealt with superficially, so you don't feel invested in the characters or the story itself. The dialogue is is clever and jangles along well enough to keep you entertained and amused throughout, but at the end of the day it didn't really make me particularly care about the movie. On the other hand, this movie is far from horrible. The dialogue IS witty, and the acting is solid for the most part (especially the younger actors) so I have a hard time understanding why anyone out there would hate it. No the dialogue may not be "realistic", but this is a MOVIE, not a court deposition. If you are that hung up on realism and making sure a movie you better stick to documentaries, so shut up already. Guess what, this isn't exactly art house avant garde, so get over yourselves. Ironically, I'm sure half the people who hate this probably loved Napoleon Dynamite. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidPJan 30, 2008
The haters are clearly intimidated at the very thought of Diablo Cody and/or the concept of the character Juno. This is a smart, delightful film that will appeal to reasonably intelligent moviegoers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheDudeJan 4, 2008
I loved this movie. I didn't know what to expect, but I ended up very happy I went. Actors are great. Characters are fantastic. Just a great, quirky, fun film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Jan 5, 2008
In a season of heavy, dark dramas and even heavy dark musicals, Juno is like a breath of fresh, crisp air full of laughter and happiness. Ellen Page proves Hard Candy was no fluke, she is perfectly endearing as Juno, the smart, wise In a season of heavy, dark dramas and even heavy dark musicals, Juno is like a breath of fresh, crisp air full of laughter and happiness. Ellen Page proves Hard Candy was no fluke, she is perfectly endearing as Juno, the smart, wise cracking, yet vunerable lead and all the supporting cast are just as good with enough screen time for each to establish their characters. Jason Reitman, after Thank You for Smoking, delivers a solid one-two punch and must now be considered a director to watch. Juno is a joy! Take a breather and go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DouglasSJan 5, 2008
The characters were believable, the plot was original and the music and acting were great, all around an amazing film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnN.Jan 5, 2008
Best film of the year. I can see the backlash is already starting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
anyankaJan 5, 2008
So disappointing. To the reviewer who said of Juno's inconsistent dialogue - "some people are just that smart" - uh, smart enough to tell a person they know very well is infertile and whose dream in life is to have a baby "you're So disappointing. To the reviewer who said of Juno's inconsistent dialogue - "some people are just that smart" - uh, smart enough to tell a person they know very well is infertile and whose dream in life is to have a baby "you're lucky that you don't have to go through this" ingenuously, after you've supposedly done all this research? I don't think so. Ellen Page did a good job trying to smooth over her character's tonal inconsistencies, but that's a testament to her acting abilities, not the script. The 4 rating is because I want to encourage the development of movies with a female lead character, though of course, it revolves around the one thing people know women are "made to do" - have babies and fall in love with men. The actors are all great -- the scene where Jennifer Garner puts her hands on Juno's belly will move anyone -- but gimme a break, dude. If you want to see a great "quirky fable" movie, see "Waitress." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BenBJan 6, 2008
I went into this movie expecting to love it, but I was sorely disappointed. It's not a BAD movie per se, but the writer simply can't pull this off in the vein of "Little Miss Sunshine". At the beginning the dialogue seems very I went into this movie expecting to love it, but I was sorely disappointed. It's not a BAD movie per se, but the writer simply can't pull this off in the vein of "Little Miss Sunshine". At the beginning the dialogue seems very contrived, and strives for funny hipness without achieving either. By the end, when the writer realizes that she is not good enough for the "make every line funny, cute and quotable!" shtick and settles down into more convential script is the movie watchable, and even slightly endearing. Unfortunately, sitting through this movie also includes sitting through the worst soundtrack ever concieved by man. What were they thinking!? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LindaW.Jan 6, 2008
This movie is unrealistic as it gets. Juno tells the adoption attorney that she wants a closed adoption. Is the NCFA behind this message?Juno tells a friend that the father nor she wanted to see the baby. The Juno sequel should be that Juno This movie is unrealistic as it gets. Juno tells the adoption attorney that she wants a closed adoption. Is the NCFA behind this message?Juno tells a friend that the father nor she wanted to see the baby. The Juno sequel should be that Juno and father marry soon and have another baby. I have found that is the reality of many natural parents who relinquish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
WebsterBJan 8, 2008
Some of the worst dialogue I've heard since the god-awful "Death Proof" earlier this year but Michael Cera never misses a beat and Garner is wonderful. Good ending and as for Ellen Page, the character is too much like Page in real life. Some of the worst dialogue I've heard since the god-awful "Death Proof" earlier this year but Michael Cera never misses a beat and Garner is wonderful. Good ending and as for Ellen Page, the character is too much like Page in real life. I don't consider that acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeE.Feb 11, 2008
Probably best not to watch this film if you have passionnate views on abortion as you'll be completely sidetracked by the relatively small part that the issue plays in Juno. That would be a shame, because the film is beautiful. The Probably best not to watch this film if you have passionnate views on abortion as you'll be completely sidetracked by the relatively small part that the issue plays in Juno. That would be a shame, because the film is beautiful. The characters are real, natural and honest, but most importantly for me they never descend into cliché or cheap parody. The dialogue is idiosyncratic but never incomprehensible and gives a wonderful sense that the characters are real people with their own in-jokes and phrases. The fact that sentimentality is never shovelled into your face makes the touching moments resonate in a way that few other films achieve. I think this is a film that will be hard to forget. And that's before I even mention the soundtrack! Brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BMillerFeb 2, 2008
Some people don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LuisG.Feb 20, 2008
Juno essentially is the little film that did... but unlike other small films its stays small... page is precise as a preg-teen and garner was snubbed from an oscar nomination... i felt a little taken by the film its quirks were both Juno essentially is the little film that did... but unlike other small films its stays small... page is precise as a preg-teen and garner was snubbed from an oscar nomination... i felt a little taken by the film its quirks were both manipulative and were overshadowed by knocked up a film that was far more crude and commericial but the better picture... dont get me wrong its a good film just not the great film its made out to be.. kudos though !!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobbyFeb 23, 2008
Well written, well acted, well directed. Better than the usual Hollywood fare easily. What is never explained thou is the 1970-era short short running shorts uniform, which is just played for a "running" joke in the film. Sometimes the film Well written, well acted, well directed. Better than the usual Hollywood fare easily. What is never explained thou is the 1970-era short short running shorts uniform, which is just played for a "running" joke in the film. Sometimes the film is in a timewarp, the girl is a cool 2000s girl in a dorky 70s world, listening to cool 70s music... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrewW.Feb 5, 2008
I would gladly pay twice the cost of this movie for my 2 hours back, and a brain scrubber.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidCFeb 7, 2008
This isn't a film about birth, Matt Ties above, jeez - you want to watch an educational film about birth as that is what you seem to compare the film to. It a witty, warm film that at first you think, Juno is drawn to be too clever and This isn't a film about birth, Matt Ties above, jeez - you want to watch an educational film about birth as that is what you seem to compare the film to. It a witty, warm film that at first you think, Juno is drawn to be too clever and wry to be a natural character, with her sharp dialogue and wry humour. But see it thorough and all the characters provide a warmth & vulnerability that is presented in a natural fasion, that by the end warms the heart and leaves a non-cloying sentiment that resonates and, at least for me, left me with a smile. Really recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AndrewDFeb 9, 2008
This movie benefitted from some solid acting (though I'm convinced Michael Cera actually cannot act) and a few moments of clarity. And thats about it. Otherwise it was a muddled mess...total garbage. Every reviewer points out that the This movie benefitted from some solid acting (though I'm convinced Michael Cera actually cannot act) and a few moments of clarity. And thats about it. Otherwise it was a muddled mess...total garbage. Every reviewer points out that the first thirty minutes - which I spent grinding my teeth - were miserable. Why do they forgive it? No other movie would be shown that kind of charity, That's not all: Juno is wholly unlikable, the faux-Indie motifs are a big joke, the music is overbearing, and the character and plot development nonexistent. This movie is total trash and we can only hope that in time, more will come to agree with this assessment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JonB.Mar 16, 2008
I watched this movie with high expectations, I kept hearing great things about it. The bottom line was that it was boring as shit. The acting wasn't bad but the story was just so stupid. The whole movie all that happens is the main I watched this movie with high expectations, I kept hearing great things about it. The bottom line was that it was boring as shit. The acting wasn't bad but the story was just so stupid. The whole movie all that happens is the main character Juno gets pregnant from her best friend, and she just talks in slang the whole movie to try to be funny. It was just stupid, don't believe the hype. The dude from Superbad is barely in the movie, and his character is really boring. The movie was really slow and just a waste of time pretty much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CoolBoiMar 5, 2008
Even if i only saw 1/2 of the movie...I saw enough to know that is was great.The acting was phonomenal (my favorite performences were by Ellen Page and Jennifer Gardner).The dialogue was fresh...Why do people say that the dialogue is so Even if i only saw 1/2 of the movie...I saw enough to know that is was great.The acting was phonomenal (my favorite performences were by Ellen Page and Jennifer Gardner).The dialogue was fresh...Why do people say that the dialogue is so bad?I loved it as much as I did the whole film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarandaD.Mar 9, 2008
this was an amazing movie i laughed and cried and i just thought it was amazing the whole way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayH.Apr 10, 2008
I loved everything about this film, especially the performances by Ellen Page and Allison Janney, but everyone is outstanding. The score is wonderful and original, the direction is excellent as is the writing. It is touching, funny and I loved everything about this film, especially the performances by Ellen Page and Allison Janney, but everyone is outstanding. The score is wonderful and original, the direction is excellent as is the writing. It is touching, funny and always moving. A great and intelligent film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NileP.Apr 19, 2008
Fresh, comic genius while remaining fully believable, original fun and not at all dragging. THUNDERCATS ARE GO!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferApr 22, 2008
Great movie!! I really think there are some people, the ones on this site going off on how bad this movie was, are going into a movie with all these expectations and then when the movie doesn't turn out the way they felt it should the Great movie!! I really think there are some people, the ones on this site going off on how bad this movie was, are going into a movie with all these expectations and then when the movie doesn't turn out the way they felt it should the kill it in a review. I felt it was a great movie. There are some parts in there that I feel would not be true to form in real life but an the end of the day this is not a documentary film. Juno comes off in the beginning of the movie as this overly mature teengager, the best friend/boyfriend not so much, but in the end was not as grown up as even she would like to think. Which she even points out herself telling her step mom she was out dealing with things beyond her maturity level. Do let the negative reviews keep you away from this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleApr 26, 2008
I don't know what movie some of you were watching but my boyfriend and I loved this movie as did all of my friends who have seen it. It has actual humor instead of the slap stick, punch people in the nuts "comedy" of so many movies out I don't know what movie some of you were watching but my boyfriend and I loved this movie as did all of my friends who have seen it. It has actual humor instead of the slap stick, punch people in the nuts "comedy" of so many movies out there. I am tired of the "stupid funny" movies that make me feel like I have lost brain cells while watching them so this was a nice change...it's whitty comments and sarcasm and off the wall one liners where enough to keep us laughing and quoting them in our own coversation. It had a good storyline which was an extra bonus as some comedies do not. It's my new favorite movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanM.Apr 27, 2008
nothing to spend endless time wrapping your head around here. but simple, adorable, and entertaining. for a light-hearted movie WITH a girlfriend, Juno is effective and warms the heart on occasion...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoyceC.Apr 27, 2008
Jason Reitman's Juno written by Diablo Cody, is a deeply refreshing teenage comedy flick, with its sassy kick, you'll remember Juno as a funny and breathtaking performance by Ellen Page. It's a genuine classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
D.T.Apr 30, 2008
Boring American Stereotypes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JimMay 12, 2008
Most obnoxious movie I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardP.May 24, 2008
This movie was perfect. The writing and acting were absolutely fabulous, and it was a joy to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterJ.May 27, 2008
I renting this movie more so for my wife than I, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised and laughed throughout the movie. The Bleeker character was awesome. And Jason Bateman was perfect for his role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SarahMMay 3, 2008
I'm 15. I walked out of the theater before it was a quarter of the way finished. It was crude, raw humor and all the jokes were of sex. I was constantly closing my eyes for what I saw on the screen. It wasn't a movie that I I'm 15. I walked out of the theater before it was a quarter of the way finished. It was crude, raw humor and all the jokes were of sex. I was constantly closing my eyes for what I saw on the screen. It wasn't a movie that I (myself... not knowing what makes others stumble) could watch all the way through without feeling sick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonasH.May 4, 2008
This film is great. I have no idea how to academically categorize this movement within film-making that is suddenly appearing in titles like this, Superbad and Rocket Science, but something about its increased (but not complete) social and This film is great. I have no idea how to academically categorize this movement within film-making that is suddenly appearing in titles like this, Superbad and Rocket Science, but something about its increased (but not complete) social and psychological realism makes me love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FayHMay 5, 2008
GREAT! Funny! Juno McGuff is al all-american sarcastic teenager! Bleeker is an all-american geek (who is cute!)! Jennifer Garner was perfect for the role of Venessa. I can watch it over and over again!!! *Claps for JUNO!!!*
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoshRMay 8, 2008
This is just a straight Cheezy movie it almost put me to sleep.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SteveOJun 1, 2008
So I saw this movie because of the hype... and... to my surprise... it just wasn't very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KittyJul 6, 2008
I wish I had never seen this movie, it totaly ruined the perfectly good day I had been having.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
dariana.Jun 13, 2009
I can't believe they mentioned dario argento. I'm 14 years old and everytime I mention him to someone their clueless maybe because he's foreign. I love "suspiria", "the bird with the crystal plummage", "opera", "demons", I can't believe they mentioned dario argento. I'm 14 years old and everytime I mention him to someone their clueless maybe because he's foreign. I love "suspiria", "the bird with the crystal plummage", "opera", "demons", "creepers", "unsane" and I can't wait for the new suspiria. I was so impressed to see Juno know dario argento. He's legendary. Some Teens love old stuff and finally a main character represents that, about time. Very refreshing. Im ecstatic theres a main character repesenting all sorts of different point of views. Totally bitchin. great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Sarahl.Jun 13, 2009
Love this movie. I am a single mother that is passionate about this movie. Very great a. Single parent can be just as good or better than parents. Good job Juno, I love you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
gilmorechiliJun 14, 2009
Watching movie was the best time had all year long in a movie theater. I luaghed a little bit, felt good the entire time, felt new because I felt influenced by a movie so original and fresh. Can't wait till this movie hits tv so more Watching movie was the best time had all year long in a movie theater. I luaghed a little bit, felt good the entire time, felt new because I felt influenced by a movie so original and fresh. Can't wait till this movie hits tv so more people that didnt care will give a chance since it would be more convenient to see. I'm still extremely happy from the experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SammyEDec 10, 2007
'Juno', it seemed to me after seeing it in Toronto, is like the Urban Outfitters of indie film: it's overpriced, overhyped, rife with a host of prepackaged 'quirk' (a half-sister named Liberty Bell was the anvil that 'Juno', it seemed to me after seeing it in Toronto, is like the Urban Outfitters of indie film: it's overpriced, overhyped, rife with a host of prepackaged 'quirk' (a half-sister named Liberty Bell was the anvil that broke the camel's back) and gratingly twee cues. And like it's commercial counterpart, while it tries so hard to emulate the more original and capable efforts in its genre, it hits so very off-center. But with Fox Searchlight's coffers wide open in promotion for the flick, I fear we may yet be subject to more of Ms. Cody's and Mr. Reitman's product. And I can't say I'm happy (at all) about that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DWillyDec 10, 2007
Rumi said: "If we could give up cleverness and tricks, that would be the cleverest trick of all." I walked out of Reitman's snarky "Thank You For Smoking," too. (see Michael B's spot on user review)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mikeDec 15, 2007
Sweet, tender and comedic. A gem.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkM.Dec 16, 2007
This movie has to be the funnest moive i have seen in 2007, i love the cast and how they work together!! i would tell any one to come and see it. I didnt like 40 year virgen or super bad, but i loved this movie -Go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NancyOrjalaDec 17, 2007
Juno is s cleverly written string of wisecracks by a suburban teenager. Yes, the supporting characters are well-written, but this movie is not the gift one expects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MarleyDec 20, 2007
Juno tried so unbelievably hard to impress that I was tired of it after 15 minutes. The more serious scenes, instead of being moving, were hollow and contrived. Had Diablo Cody been able to keep from trying to show off, this might have been Juno tried so unbelievably hard to impress that I was tired of it after 15 minutes. The more serious scenes, instead of being moving, were hollow and contrived. Had Diablo Cody been able to keep from trying to show off, this might have been a gem; instead is simply one of the most overrated movies in recent memory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
lizoDec 23, 2007
The most overrated and hyped movie in the past century. Boring and "witty". This movie tried to impress itself by dropping musicians and band names all over the place. Save your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamieS.Dec 23, 2007
Very decent flick... tons of witty humor that doesn't seem contrived. It's not a chick or dude flick, it's just a very plausible story full of funny moments. Yes, it's for older people so reviewers giving it low scores Very decent flick... tons of witty humor that doesn't seem contrived. It's not a chick or dude flick, it's just a very plausible story full of funny moments. Yes, it's for older people so reviewers giving it low scores are still immature in their movie critic skills, thus can't yet understand the humor. 2 points off for the ending which I felt was weak on several levels. But overall, we've just seen a star being born in Ellen Page, she played the part perfectly and will be nominated for best actress (but not win / too young) Go see it, ignore the low scores, they are all from teens with unresolved angst. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Dec 25, 2007
Indie-dom needs more movies like "Juno", a sort of antidote to the similarly themed "Stephanie Daley". Juno(Ellen Page) is grace under pressure personified; she's unflappable rather than angst-ridden. Juno is a nice, decent girl who Indie-dom needs more movies like "Juno", a sort of antidote to the similarly themed "Stephanie Daley". Juno(Ellen Page) is grace under pressure personified; she's unflappable rather than angst-ridden. Juno is a nice, decent girl who just happens to be pregnant. Some might quibble that her dialogue is over-written, but you could argue that her sublime delivery of words is just a defense mechanism against alienation and depression. Some people really are this smart. Paulie(Michael Cera), her boyfriend and a real stand-up guy, would've made a good father; a much better father than Mark(Jason Bateman), the prospective adoptive parent who's twice Paulie's age. "Juno" is slyly subversive in its suggestion that a teen would make a better parent than some guy in a suit and tie. "Juno" might not be an entirely realistic film, but it may only seem that way because adoption might not be an avenue most teen girls ever consider. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennyODec 25, 2007
Juno was funny where it needed to be and uncomfortable where it needed to be. To those who find it unrelateable, you are in the minority. This movie wonderfully handles the mid-Western suburban teen family life and condition. The acting was Juno was funny where it needed to be and uncomfortable where it needed to be. To those who find it unrelateable, you are in the minority. This movie wonderfully handles the mid-Western suburban teen family life and condition. The acting was excellent by all parties (even Jennifer Garner, from whom I did not expect anything) and I can't wait to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MichelB.Dec 26, 2007
Once in a while,critics will go collectively ga ga for a movie obviously unworthy of the praise.This time around, the movie is JUNO,the most overrated movie of the year,if not of the last decade. Never before a movie tries so hard to be cool Once in a while,critics will go collectively ga ga for a movie obviously unworthy of the praise.This time around, the movie is JUNO,the most overrated movie of the year,if not of the last decade. Never before a movie tries so hard to be cool (endless pop references,namedrops of critically reverd bands,hipster lingo..).While I realize that the main girl was supposed to be funny and cute,she came off as painfully obnoxious.The whole time I waited for someone to heartily slap her across teh face.Only then,the movie would have been worth the six bucks I spent on it.I really could go on and on about the faults of this flick(and believe me there are many),but instead i'll just warn whoever will listen to stay away from this movie.But then again, some people enjoy getting their teeth pulled... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HassanDec 26, 2007
Chic Flic Alert! Absolutely boring and contrived. Bring No Doz
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
louisB.Dec 29, 2007
A quirky,well acted and surprisingly poignant film.ellen Page has a bright future and so does Michael Cera.J.k Simmons and Allison Janney gave their usual fine performances.Jason Bateman and Jennifer Garner were perfect as the adopting A quirky,well acted and surprisingly poignant film.ellen Page has a bright future and so does Michael Cera.J.k Simmons and Allison Janney gave their usual fine performances.Jason Bateman and Jennifer Garner were perfect as the adopting parents.I agree with most of the critics;Juno is well worth the time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshS.Dec 5, 2007
Superbly acted with rapid-fire dialogue that is both witty and endearing. Juno breaks from the cliched high school comedies that focus on cliques and naivete. It is sweet without being unbelievable and funny without being crude. Probably the Superbly acted with rapid-fire dialogue that is both witty and endearing. Juno breaks from the cliched high school comedies that focus on cliques and naivete. It is sweet without being unbelievable and funny without being crude. Probably the best comedy of the year, possibly the best film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonDec 5, 2007
I saw Juno at the St. Louis International Film Festival in the middle of November. This film was one of the funniest films of the year. It was also one of the most original films of the year. Juno uses the wit of the actors along with great I saw Juno at the St. Louis International Film Festival in the middle of November. This film was one of the funniest films of the year. It was also one of the most original films of the year. Juno uses the wit of the actors along with great writing and music to move the story. Unlike other comedies that rely on crude humor to make you laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephenNDec 6, 2007
Jonah T. doesn't know music. Cat Power and Belle and Sebastian and fantastic bands. Overall an amazing soundtrack - and movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EheadDec 7, 2007
All the grumps and naysayers on here are of course right... the dialog is far too sharp, witty, and sarcastic to have any pretensions of realism. And yes, the movie flirts with being precious at times (in a decidedly irreverent way) . When a All the grumps and naysayers on here are of course right... the dialog is far too sharp, witty, and sarcastic to have any pretensions of realism. And yes, the movie flirts with being precious at times (in a decidedly irreverent way) . When a movie is this funny though, who cares? Sometimes you have to just stop with the mental masturbation and let yourself enjoy a movie. If you're a Belle and Sebastian fan, you'll love this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArnoldP.Dec 8, 2007
Flawed, pretentious, funny, touching, it delivers solid entertainment. The hip heroine is palyed to the hilt by Ellen Page, her beaua a finely crafted performance, the cast is overall superb. It warmed me up on a cold night.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
sethJan 13, 2008
This movie tried way too hard to be witty. If you just took out all that stupid annoying slang, it would be just a boring movie. Although mildly entertaining, Michael Cera was alright, the plot was not complex or thought provoking at all. This movie tried way too hard to be witty. If you just took out all that stupid annoying slang, it would be just a boring movie. Although mildly entertaining, Michael Cera was alright, the plot was not complex or thought provoking at all. Also, I found Juno to be annoying. Every character had the same personality somewhat. Just a non-interesting movie that was trying to be a wes anderson movie, but failing horribly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EricY.Jan 13, 2008
Overrated. We expected so much more from this film. It was a decent movie. My girlfriend and I were not bored, but we expected to be blown away by a great film. We weren't. I found the main character, Juno, to be quite annoying. I Overrated. We expected so much more from this film. It was a decent movie. My girlfriend and I were not bored, but we expected to be blown away by a great film. We weren't. I found the main character, Juno, to be quite annoying. I didn't think that what she had to say was "witty" or "wise" as others have claimed. I thought it was also supposed to be a comedy, but I didn't find myself laughing at much in the movie. It's just O.K. in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshFJan 15, 2008
Amazing. Easily one of the best films I've seen in theaters all year. Loved the acting, directing, and especially the screenplay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidGJan 15, 2008
Disappointed -- a nice small little movie, but a bit surprising that it is getting so much positive attention from critics (and adoration from the youngins). I have 4 teen nieces and nephews who RAVE about this film, but to me it was yet Disappointed -- a nice small little movie, but a bit surprising that it is getting so much positive attention from critics (and adoration from the youngins). I have 4 teen nieces and nephews who RAVE about this film, but to me it was yet another overstylized self-consciously "hip" oversell. Some of the performances were great but the screenplay is incredibly overrated. I shudder to think what this film's success will bring to the box office... more pseudo-witty dialogue to come.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TeddyP.Jan 15, 2008
this is touching, smart and everything a movie of this kind should be and even more. not to mention that Ellen Page's performance was near perfect. by now it is my favorite movie of this year, it is just ... it has heart, which a lot of this is touching, smart and everything a movie of this kind should be and even more. not to mention that Ellen Page's performance was near perfect. by now it is my favorite movie of this year, it is just ... it has heart, which a lot of nowadays movies lack of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnGJan 16, 2008
This movie was surprisingly good. The diaglog was a bit over the top at times (think "Gilmore Girls"), but the plot was decent, including some twists and turns that I didn't expect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CussR.Jan 18, 2008
Get it while it's ripe. This is the rare movie you'll be happy to see before everyone else. It will, indeed, prove worthy of its hype. Unfortunately, most viewers will be tainted by that very ballyhoo before Juno has the chance to Get it while it's ripe. This is the rare movie you'll be happy to see before everyone else. It will, indeed, prove worthy of its hype. Unfortunately, most viewers will be tainted by that very ballyhoo before Juno has the chance to truly soften & surprise them. For the lucky ones, though, the bun in this oven has been baked to perfection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JesseHJan 18, 2008
Juno? JuNOOOOO! Oh dear lord. please do not believe the hype. it's a way overdone, too-witty-for-its-own-good indie circle jerk. i was a little worried it was going to turn out that way, but i went with an open mind nevertheless. within Juno? JuNOOOOO! Oh dear lord. please do not believe the hype. it's a way overdone, too-witty-for-its-own-good indie circle jerk. i was a little worried it was going to turn out that way, but i went with an open mind nevertheless. within the first 10 minutes it was all i could do to keep the tortilla soup on board. the movie for all those people ( i.e. critics) that think they are smarter than everyone else (or wish they were) and that having a "hamburger phone" is quirky and clever. like a 90 minute trip to Urban Outfitters but without the smell. rips off any number of other more well-done indie comedies but without any of the charm of them: napoleon dynamite (in fact there is a napoleon look-and-talk-alike in a brief scene), little miss sunshine (which while overrated, was at least interesting and didn't overwhelm the viewer with its forced cleverness), welcome to the dollhouse, or any of the wes anderson movies. good performances from J.K. Simmons and Allison Janney as the parents and that's about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeA.Jan 19, 2008
A non-sterotypical movie, with realistic and appealing characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonnaL.Jan 20, 2008
I loved this movie very much. I hope this movie will help the youth understand that there are more options then throwing you child in a trash can.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharethC.Jan 20, 2008
A beautiful, unashamedly honest film that is extremely well scripted and acted by all involved. It was refreshing that nobody was painted as a bad guy, or a good guy or any other strung out cliche. It just said here, these are some things A beautiful, unashamedly honest film that is extremely well scripted and acted by all involved. It was refreshing that nobody was painted as a bad guy, or a good guy or any other strung out cliche. It just said here, these are some things that happened and here's how the people involved dealt with it. In the words of Shakin' Stevens, lovely stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnwJan 20, 2008
Exceeded my expectations! Very witty with great acting and interesting plot twists.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatrickTMJan 20, 2008
I'm a writer, from Minnesota. And yes, I cam into this movie looking for ANY excuse to crucify the nauseatingly ubiquitous Diablo Cody and her INEXPLICABLE ascent. This movie gave me all of the fodder I needed. Predictably contrived, I'm a writer, from Minnesota. And yes, I cam into this movie looking for ANY excuse to crucify the nauseatingly ubiquitous Diablo Cody and her INEXPLICABLE ascent. This movie gave me all of the fodder I needed. Predictably contrived, totally flippant, and unusually disingenuous for a comedy this movie is VASTLY inferior to its (male?) counterpart, Knocked Up. Where Knocked Up excelled at unflinching, unremittingly painful pull-free punches towards the establishment subjects in Hollywood comedies this film came across as overly-calculated, wantonly premeditated, and lethargically peudo-precious. Down with Diablo Cody and down with this movie. Sensible, informed cineastes unite! Juno haters unite! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LevJan 25, 2008
I really can't add much more to what Mike M has already written, except that Juno--for all its affectations--was also BORING. If people feel compelled to praise "quirky" and "offbeat" pseudo-indie movies to show off some kind of niche I really can't add much more to what Mike M has already written, except that Juno--for all its affectations--was also BORING. If people feel compelled to praise "quirky" and "offbeat" pseudo-indie movies to show off some kind of niche taste then Juno is not the best one to do it with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DennisD.Jan 27, 2008
I agree with Genny T. You need to have a decent education to appreciate it.The dialogue is fast, fresh and funny. I hate predictability and this film's snappy banter kept me on my toes. Ellen Page is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LindaL.Jan 27, 2008
I was fully prepared to disdain this movie. (Have kids barely out of their teens; am not thrilled with the idea of "teen pregnancy" as entertainment.) But it really did entertain me, charm me and touch me. Winning performances, and Ellen I was fully prepared to disdain this movie. (Have kids barely out of their teens; am not thrilled with the idea of "teen pregnancy" as entertainment.) But it really did entertain me, charm me and touch me. Winning performances, and Ellen Page as Juno not only makes you want to chuckle at her wisecracks, but share a hug and a few tears with her as she tries so hard to do the Right Thing. I think some reviewer called the movie "this year's 'Little Miss Sunshine.' I agree. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PhilJan 28, 2008
Fact: Juno is a really good film Fact: Ellen Page gives a refreshingly deep characterization of Juno Opinion: I do think it could have focused more on her relationships with the people who were there for her during the pregnancy i.e. her Fact: Juno is a really good film Fact: Ellen Page gives a refreshingly deep characterization of Juno Opinion: I do think it could have focused more on her relationships with the people who were there for her during the pregnancy i.e. her family, Bleeker, Leah, etc. It seems to go "ok, this is her family and friends and the guy who knocked her up, now let's just focus on the adoptive parents and how Juno affects their lives." Yes, Mark and Vanessa are important, but what about the family, friends, dude who knocked her up, those are the people who were in her life everyday, not just every now and then like Mark and Vanessa. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Dr.C.Jan 31, 2008
Not only is this the BEST MOVIE I HAVE SEEN IN 5 YEARS!! -- JUNO is also the most true, honest & real movie I have seen in years and years. The actors are perfectly cast... the script is a beautiful gemstone... and the director is wise Not only is this the BEST MOVIE I HAVE SEEN IN 5 YEARS!! -- JUNO is also the most true, honest & real movie I have seen in years and years. The actors are perfectly cast... the script is a beautiful gemstone... and the director is wise beyond his years. This is not a crappy Hollywood Movie-About-Teen-Pregnancy... It's an intelligent, funny, moving coming of age story that I will be thinking about long after I have forgotten about most of the other junk that I saw in the past few weeks (MICHAEL CLAYTON... ATONEMENT... THERE WILL BE BUCKETS OF BLOOD... augghhhh) Ok Ok: Daniel Day-Lewis WAS brilliant... but that movie was an over-rated dud. Courage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickK.Jan 30, 2008
What a good movie. Ellen Page is fabulous and so is the screenplay. Realistic, no. But entertaining,often funny and always good-hearted, yes. It deserves most of the praise it's getting. I didn't see a lot of movies last year but What a good movie. Ellen Page is fabulous and so is the screenplay. Realistic, no. But entertaining,often funny and always good-hearted, yes. It deserves most of the praise it's getting. I didn't see a lot of movies last year but I'm glad I went to see this one. I can't understand people giving this less than a 5 no matter what kind of movies you like. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SanfordJan 4, 2008
Well crafted, solid little movie. No, I don't know any real people like Juno but I wish I did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
WillJan 5, 2008
Juno and her friend, who may seem quirky, over-witty, and "hip" to many, would be downright sleazy in real life. I am a senior in high school and know the type of trashy, non-conformists that try so hard to not conform with the life around Juno and her friend, who may seem quirky, over-witty, and "hip" to many, would be downright sleazy in real life. I am a senior in high school and know the type of trashy, non-conformists that try so hard to not conform with the life around them that they conform to something much more conforming. Does that make sense? It is immaturity at its worst. Every time Juno opened her clever mouth I just wanted to shove paper towels down her throat so she would shut up. This movie may be inspiring for indie wannabes whose generation has simply missed the boat, but for the rest of us that don't act like they were born in the wrong decade, it is perceived as trashy and irritating. I have to give it a five only because I have to appreciate the acting by Michael Cera (who I think may be in danger of being type cast for the rest of his life), Jennifer Garner, and J.K. Simmons who showed he has much more range as an actor than I thought he did. These characters were fun to watch throughout. Unfortunately Ellen Page (Juno) was always in the screen with them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffS.Jan 5, 2008
I found this to be a very enjoyable, funny, and entertaining movie on several levels. At first glance, it seems like a teen comedy, with a crude, sophomoric joke here and there. However, it's actually quite deep, and I found the acting I found this to be a very enjoyable, funny, and entertaining movie on several levels. At first glance, it seems like a teen comedy, with a crude, sophomoric joke here and there. However, it's actually quite deep, and I found the acting to be very sincere. I can't see how someone would say that the characters "are not relatable"... I found the performances of the two lead teenagers to be very relatable, and it was nice to see the leading couple be one other than the stereotypical "blonde hot cheerleader and starting football quarterback" couple that plagues similar movies. The movie nicely balances being light-hearted yet sincere and serious, without being too frumpy, silly, or boring. I'm much happier sitting through this movie than many others currently out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JDRamsayJan 5, 2008
Both of us loved it. The writing, directing and performances are excellent. The dialogue is so quick and witty that you are drawn into their world and want to see what they will do. A great, honest film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieJan 5, 2008
Kind of perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KarlStadnickiJan 6, 2008
a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisE.Jan 7, 2008
I went into it wanting to love it and I absolutely did! Sorry for the haters out there but this blew Little Miss Sunshine out of the water!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LukeV.Jan 7, 2008
There was a total of 3 believable characters in this film. Juno MacGruff was not one of them. The dialog seems very forced and awkward. If it weren't for the constant embarrassment I felt every time Juno opened her mouth, I could There was a total of 3 believable characters in this film. Juno MacGruff was not one of them. The dialog seems very forced and awkward. If it weren't for the constant embarrassment I felt every time Juno opened her mouth, I could probably find this film more enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
brianJan 9, 2008
This movies was so fucking overrated. This movie smells like 100% pure market research, acting like it knows how to portray todays youth. "Realism" cannot even apply to movies now, especially not this hunk of shit, for all we are doing today This movies was so fucking overrated. This movie smells like 100% pure market research, acting like it knows how to portray todays youth. "Realism" cannot even apply to movies now, especially not this hunk of shit, for all we are doing today is living an existence manifested and influenced by so called "great movies" that assume they know real lives. Damn this movie sucked. I would give you my liver if you met more than 5 people that actually conducted such conversations with "off-beat humor" "well-timed dialogue" and "hipness". fuck juno. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KenanH.Feb 1, 2008
I loved the feel of this movie and the only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because there was not enough Michael Cera in it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MichaelE.Feb 12, 2008
A hipster anti-hipster movie, difficult to enjoy without at least a bit of self-loathing. It would have been good enough as a sitcom, but seeing Bateman and Cera makes me long for the glory days of "Arrested Development."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TimothyL.Feb 12, 2008
A very whitty movie with some sparkling dialogue. Well thought out and thoroughly entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NoahTFeb 14, 2008
Without a doubt, JUNO is a good film, but I cannot understand why it is Oscar quality. The individual parts of the film are mostly solid. The actors were all great. the cinematography could have used some sparkle/more movement but the camera Without a doubt, JUNO is a good film, but I cannot understand why it is Oscar quality. The individual parts of the film are mostly solid. The actors were all great. the cinematography could have used some sparkle/more movement but the camera placement was good if unimaginative. The soundtrack and use of licensed music were both excellent. The one major complaint I have is with the dialogue. It's well-written and extremely witty, but it does not mesh well with the pacing of the film, which is fast and spontaneous. Realistically someone could not spew forth such brilliantly constructed, well-crafted prose while thinking on their feet. The screenwriters also unsuccessfully tried to incorporate slang into the mix, and it ends up sounding tacked-on and forced, even with the actors giving it their all to make it sound natural. In the end, JUNO is a good but unspectacular film which, while still enjoyable, is somewhat overhyped. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelYFeb 16, 2008
A good movie, quite different from the regular teen-movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SimonVFeb 18, 2008
Nowhere near as clever as it thinks it is, yet still an enjoyable film with some good acting. there were moments in the dialogue that were just designed to show off how much diablo cody, the screenwriter, thinks she knows about music, and Nowhere near as clever as it thinks it is, yet still an enjoyable film with some good acting. there were moments in the dialogue that were just designed to show off how much diablo cody, the screenwriter, thinks she knows about music, and those few momnts made me feel a tad bit ill, as well as the mostly moldy peaches soundtrack, but these things pass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful