Juno

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1199 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Erin
    May 6, 2008
    10
    A comical look into the all-too-real life of a pregnant teenager. Dripping with sarcasm, this film makes you laugh, makes you cry, and makes you want to see every Ellen Page movie.
  2. OscarM
    Oct 13, 2009
    1
    This is certainly the worst movies i have ever had to endure. The director ought to have his genitals mutilated in a manner such that he may never consider producing such a tragic failure of a film again. I'd rather fill my ears with cochroaches than the tacky redneck tunes that frequent Juno.
  3. Dave
    Oct 14, 2009
    0
    Self concious and smug. Just a few words to describe a film i'd never watch again. All the smart arse comments and clichéd references don't save what little humour this film is meant to have. Ellen Page is just too "smart" and seems to have swallowed the book of "cool things to reference". This film is for people who'd like to think they're smart, but don't Self concious and smug. Just a few words to describe a film i'd never watch again. All the smart arse comments and clichéd references don't save what little humour this film is meant to have. Ellen Page is just too "smart" and seems to have swallowed the book of "cool things to reference". This film is for people who'd like to think they're smart, but don't see past (as someone else has said already) the indie film check list. Tries too hard in too many places, despite a slew of people trying to bump the rating, it can't change the fact that this film both sucks, and blows. Expand
  4. FelicityJ
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    A sincere film that doesn't conform to typical female stereotyping but rather promotes determined, independent yet thoughtful females, especially in the character of Juno. It is very easy to watch and it is one of those films that sits with you long after the viewing. A very refreshing view of adolescence.
  5. robertthomas
    Apr 14, 2009
    10
    I believed that this file is the best i have seen. the acting is flawless. Diablo Cody is an excellent writed and that is probably the reason this film won best original screenplay at the 2007 oscars. Ellen Page is one of the if not best actress of my generation. Her creation of juno is perfect right down to her facial expressions and her walk. i have seen this movie about 10 times andI believed that this file is the best i have seen. the acting is flawless. Diablo Cody is an excellent writed and that is probably the reason this film won best original screenplay at the 2007 oscars. Ellen Page is one of the if not best actress of my generation. Her creation of juno is perfect right down to her facial expressions and her walk. i have seen this movie about 10 times and haven't gotten tires of it. Just abut every aspect of this film whether it be directing acting, writing, or editing is just perfect. i strongly this movie should have won best picture and best actress at the oscars because of such a relatively low budget of 6 milliion it is better than all of the other big budget films like The Dark Knight. Overall it was a grat film that pretty much everybody should watch at least once. Expand
  6. RobertT
    Apr 15, 2009
    10
    It was a great movie. I have watched it about 10 times and have never gotten tired of it. I though that every aspect whether it be directing, acting, editing, or writing was perfect. Also Ellen Page play Juno to perfection. She is without doubt one of, if not the best actress of my generation. Diablo cody is a great writer and she really earned the best original screenplay oscar, and i It was a great movie. I have watched it about 10 times and have never gotten tired of it. I though that every aspect whether it be directing, acting, editing, or writing was perfect. Also Ellen Page play Juno to perfection. She is without doubt one of, if not the best actress of my generation. Diablo cody is a great writer and she really earned the best original screenplay oscar, and i also believed that Ellen Page should have won best actress, and the film should have won best picture.Overall i believe that the majority is in favor of the movie. Expand
  7. juliam.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Let's get one thing straight, pregnancy isn't the hard part raising the child is. People stop complaining about how the baby struggles weren't highlighted enough. It was great. She bike down. Didnt ppl see that scene. Douche-y-douches.
  8. trueblood
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    A feel-good movie thats like a happy ending strectched into a movie. The music isn't my taste but works well in the movie. Wouldn't touch It without the movie. Love everything else though.
  9. peelingonions
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Look at her sit down next to leah. Makes me want to suck her toes. I love the scene where leah says I love woody Allen just to impress the teacher. I know kids that do that.
  10. gleem.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Let it be known, Juno has entered and she's damn fine. Like a hooker. You use her and use her and feel great afterwards( not cheap like the who're) and no std's were transmitted and she'll always come back when you want. It also for free, Perfect.
  11. JunoM.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    the best movie of 2007. No country for old men has no ending and the title is confusing(no big deal though). Juno seems so realistic to me. I know this girl that's just like her, she's in my music class. I live Juno the character and the movie is brilliant. It doesn't rely on shocking jokes, or jokes that usually get an easy laugh or talk about subjects that can easily be the best movie of 2007. No country for old men has no ending and the title is confusing(no big deal though). Juno seems so realistic to me. I know this girl that's just like her, she's in my music class. I live Juno the character and the movie is brilliant. It doesn't rely on shocking jokes, or jokes that usually get an easy laugh or talk about subjects that can easily be funny. Its old-fashioned with its comedy. It genuinly is creative and even if you don't laugh you can appreciate its originality. Its uniqueness makes it classic. Perfection. Expand
  12. nikel
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Don't cry for me Argentina because I'm safe with Juno. This is witty and creative. The plot is common but the dialog doesn't belong to this universe. People who complain that Juno isnt realistic. To some people this actually is real and relatable. Besides shed a fictionalized charaecter. How can you complain she's to witty. Thats like saying someone to rich or a tree Don't cry for me Argentina because I'm safe with Juno. This is witty and creative. The plot is common but the dialog doesn't belong to this universe. People who complain that Juno isnt realistic. To some people this actually is real and relatable. Besides shed a fictionalized charaecter. How can you complain she's to witty. Thats like saying someone to rich or a tree is too wooden. Whats the problem. Expand
  13. movincars
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This is marvelous. I'm astonished by how much I love this movie. I always thought the oscars was dumb to nominate this thing then give it an oscar. The trailer looked horrible even mott the hopple was in it. I missed something but not anymore. It ,ni question in my mind, deserved it oscar win. If it won all four if its nominations I'd be more than happy but out of all the This is marvelous. I'm astonished by how much I love this movie. I always thought the oscars was dumb to nominate this thing then give it an oscar. The trailer looked horrible even mott the hopple was in it. I missed something but not anymore. It ,ni question in my mind, deserved it oscar win. If it won all four if its nominations I'd be more than happy but out of all the nominations it really deserved best screenplay. Good for you diablo(wats with the name) and I now love ellen page. Expand
  14. unbelievable
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I've watched this 75 times and I still love. Since I've bought on DVD I've watched it everynight. Its a fu***** wonderful movie. Im looking forward to future diablo works but jennifers body seems kinds stupid but I'll find out miself.
  15. pulpfiction
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    to be honest, this is great. I heard all the raving or people saying its "overrated" so when I watched I already had a bias opinion. But at the end of the movie I was mesmerized by the dialogue. Ellen page is my favorite actor of all-time because of this movie. I'm grateful this classic has been made. "my pipe is my mistress in times of sorrow" I love that line. Its not the best one to be honest, this is great. I heard all the raving or people saying its "overrated" so when I watched I already had a bias opinion. But at the end of the movie I was mesmerized by the dialogue. Ellen page is my favorite actor of all-time because of this movie. I'm grateful this classic has been made. "my pipe is my mistress in times of sorrow" I love that line. Its not the best one but its cool. I found a new God. Expand
  16. Stevenr
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I'm lucky, I've watched"Nobody Knows", "Goodfellas", "Pans Labyrinth", "Hard Candy", "Pulp Fiction", and now "Juno". Its a good life.
  17. oliviatl
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Let us hail olivia thirlby! She is completely underrated in this movie. Not one time have I seen a critic mention besides putting her name in parenthesis next to the name leah when saying junos best friend. She was great. My favorite. I loved every scene she was in. She was playful understanding excepting and helpful to Juno. I never see a user review her performance. What the hell? Ellen Let us hail olivia thirlby! She is completely underrated in this movie. Not one time have I seen a critic mention besides putting her name in parenthesis next to the name leah when saying junos best friend. She was great. My favorite. I loved every scene she was in. She was playful understanding excepting and helpful to Juno. I never see a user review her performance. What the hell? Ellen page was good but olivia deserves some of the spotlight. She handled the dialogue very good, like ellen. I wonder how she would handled Juno if she had that role. She was great. People Pay More Attention To Olivia Thirlby. All hail olivia thirlby. Expand
  18. paddym
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I love the name Juno. It is so perfecto for her. It really is memorable. Its easy to remember the movie for its genuine originality and its main character. I'm proud that hollywood could promote thus and distribute it to many people everywhere. Thank you, for once, and a FEW more times.
  19. finnedd.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This is much better than whatever fox has ever put out. This is hilarious. Katrina devoorts face had me on the floor. Really had a good time. Regained my respect with the oscars. If course its a ten.
  20. breakfastbeatsdinner
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Had me smiling the whole time. Don't know why people say this movie had a pro-life agenda. Just because she didnt go through with the abortion doesnt mean she pro-life. Pro-choice means you chose and you are open-minded to both options. So if you chose not to FET the abortion it doesnt mean a if a sudden your pro-life. Anyway the movie was moving, new, and entertaing all the way till Had me smiling the whole time. Don't know why people say this movie had a pro-life agenda. Just because she didnt go through with the abortion doesnt mean she pro-life. Pro-choice means you chose and you are open-minded to both options. So if you chose not to FET the abortion it doesnt mean a if a sudden your pro-life. Anyway the movie was moving, new, and entertaing all the way till the end of the credits. The vampire dong is horrible but all the young dudes by Mott the hoople and sea of love by cat power are amazing songs. Expand
  21. b-radjones
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Love the dialogue and how the mom says to bleeker how they have breakfast for dinner which is his favorite. So true for me also. "My pipe is my mistress in times of sorrow"- Juno.
  22. hobbitmother
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    "Juno (the roman god) was suppose to be really beautiful but really mean like diana Ross."- Juno I appreciate that line alot, that bitch. GO Juno. Wonder what diana thought if she watched this movie.
  23. Venicebeach
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    Good, out-of-the-box dialogue that captured my attention till the end. Very moving also. Good movie.
  24. robocop
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    This is so great, this movie use to have a lower grade now it raised. I dont know what it was before. Like a six something. Annoying conversations but really great acting. Overall I enjoyed the movie and it got out of a bad mood which I really needed at the time.
  25. vazzymint
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    Amazing movie, it must be seen by Juno-virgins.
  26. AlanS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Smart, funny and touching film. Like Knocked Up, Juno as a very pro-life POV, but is not preachy. One of the best comedy films ever. Lots of great performances.
  27. FilmFan
    Dec 10, 2007
    6
    wildly overrated. sure it's amusing, but it's not in the same league as Lil Miss Sunshine or Sideways. It is too smug and too many characters share the same wise-mouth dialog, both 16 year-old girls, the drug store clerk, both parents... not until bateman and Garner come along do we get characters who aren't wise-mouth. the yuppie couple are flat caricatures. She wants a wildly overrated. sure it's amusing, but it's not in the same league as Lil Miss Sunshine or Sideways. It is too smug and too many characters share the same wise-mouth dialog, both 16 year-old girls, the drug store clerk, both parents... not until bateman and Garner come along do we get characters who aren't wise-mouth. the yuppie couple are flat caricatures. She wants a baby, period. He's afraid to lose his youth, period. every scene with them makes that point. Ellen Page is superb, as are the actors who play her parents. Ultimately, when the emotional payoff was supposed to land at the end i felt it missed. Juno's relationship with her boyfriend character was not sufficiently developed for me to care. Expand
  28. JamesC.
    Dec 10, 2007
    8
    The funny thing about "Juno" is that the too-cool-for-school hipsters that it appears to be designed for are hating on it for being too clever and precious, while the over-the-hill established film critics absolutely adore it for the very same reasons. Well, I must be getting old, because I thought it was wonderful. Smart, funny, very well crafted and expertly acted. Reitman's The funny thing about "Juno" is that the too-cool-for-school hipsters that it appears to be designed for are hating on it for being too clever and precious, while the over-the-hill established film critics absolutely adore it for the very same reasons. Well, I must be getting old, because I thought it was wonderful. Smart, funny, very well crafted and expertly acted. Reitman's ability to squeeze so many layers into 90 minutes reminds me of Woody Allen at his best. There isn't a single wasted frame. Expand
  29. Chris
    Dec 12, 2007
    6
    Juno isn't bad, just grossly overrated. The entire first half of the film is ludicrous -- hot-screenwriter-of-the-moment Diablo Cody virtually screaming to the audience, "Look, Hollywood, I can write glib hyper-witticisms as well as anybody!" Sitcom-y and self-conscious screenwriting at its absolute worst. The movie actually improved quite a bit in the second half when it got a Juno isn't bad, just grossly overrated. The entire first half of the film is ludicrous -- hot-screenwriter-of-the-moment Diablo Cody virtually screaming to the audience, "Look, Hollywood, I can write glib hyper-witticisms as well as anybody!" Sitcom-y and self-conscious screenwriting at its absolute worst. The movie actually improved quite a bit in the second half when it got a little more serious and earnest, and the screenplay finally turns down the relentless "snappy" one-liners a bit. I couldn't stand the smarmy, too-cool-for-the-room Juno character throughout, but there are some good supporting bits by the likes of Jason Bateman, Jennifer Garner and Michael Cera that redeem the film somewhat. As usual, the 'burbs are portrayed as a spiritual no-man's-land where all your dreams go to die, and the entire film is soundtracked to the likes of hipster bands like Belle and Sebastian. Talk about right out of Indie Moviemaking 101. What IS interesting is that the film takes a pro-life stance. This is a viewpoint you're not going to see much coming out of Hollywood, so once again I can't completely dismiss the film. But the movie also asks you to believe that this kid's gonna have the baby, give it up for adoption, and simply move on with her life without ever even wondering about the little tyke, who resides in the same zip code. You've got to be kidding me. Juno is this year's "Crash" or "Little Miss Sunshine," i.e. the fraudulent indie film. Why do the critics always fall for these films? Expand
  30. jeremyt
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    this movie had such heart and personality. The whole audience i saw it with loved it. Some people even brought cupcakes to the screening. The movie really left everybody with a good feeling afterwards.
  31. CasperY
    Dec 15, 2007
    1
    Not really a film, just a bunch of overly articulate scenesters acting out of the ream of plausibility. Hamburger phones, wisecracking store clerks, impossible to follow lingo that you'll never hear elsewhere, painfully cutesy montages to indie tracks....the key to comedy is believability and when nearly everyone acts outside of that sphere, I'll tune out. Weird ramblings and Not really a film, just a bunch of overly articulate scenesters acting out of the ream of plausibility. Hamburger phones, wisecracking store clerks, impossible to follow lingo that you'll never hear elsewhere, painfully cutesy montages to indie tracks....the key to comedy is believability and when nearly everyone acts outside of that sphere, I'll tune out. Weird ramblings and incoherent spouts of verbal diarrhea are not synonymous with wit. Expand
  32. GaborA.
    Dec 17, 2007
    8
    I walked into Little Miss Sunshine expecting a high brow artsy comedy and got an indie easy going flick with simple but pretty good laughs. I walked into Juno expecting an over indie perhaps too witty for its own good type flick and at first thats exactly what it was, but soon developed into a very intelligent film with successful dramatic aspects. It might be the best comedy of the year, I walked into Little Miss Sunshine expecting a high brow artsy comedy and got an indie easy going flick with simple but pretty good laughs. I walked into Juno expecting an over indie perhaps too witty for its own good type flick and at first thats exactly what it was, but soon developed into a very intelligent film with successful dramatic aspects. It might be the best comedy of the year, and one of the best of the year. Expand
  33. MikeB.
    Dec 18, 2007
    2
    Casper Y. said it very well. The whole film seemed so very aware of and impressed with itself for no good reason. The humour rang completely false and the drama was, at best, unremarkable.
  34. macw
    Dec 19, 2007
    8
    great movie I liked the soundtrack I thought it was like napolion dynamite but replace the organ with acoustic guitar but the film was fun alot of sarcasm which I found amusing
  35. HeatherC.
    Dec 21, 2007
    6
    Finally, real acting. I hate the movies that it seems so fake with the dialouge. But this one i could see myself actually ACTING like that and other people acting like that. some funny parts and if it were any longer it would have been worse. only problem, that sappy predictable middle.
  36. GrimReeper
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    This is a awesome movie, Ellen Page is a great actor and pulls off her role flawlessly. It might be for everyone but I loved it.
  37. KaesK.
    Dec 24, 2007
    9
    I think the film is actually a fairly mature, thought provoking story about an unwed teen learning to cope with a surprise--and decidedly unwanted--pregnancy. The sound track after awhile, did get a tad annoying. However the script makes up for it with a heart-touching story that will warm the heart of many. I recommend this film to college age people
  38. MatthewR
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    a movie that knew the crowd that would like it and made it for them
  39. AndrijM.
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    A gem of a "small" film. Great acting and solid scripting. Does not hit a wrong note, and delivers laughs and insights.
  40. ToddH.
    Dec 26, 2007
    3
    easily the most overrated film of the year. only the pseudo-intellectual, generic-liberal, indie kids of the world will enjoy any part of it- and most of them were already convinced they loved it before it came out. i'm amazed that so many critics can't see through this tripe. the whole film is so forced and disingenuous, the characters exist nowhere in reality, and the dialogue easily the most overrated film of the year. only the pseudo-intellectual, generic-liberal, indie kids of the world will enjoy any part of it- and most of them were already convinced they loved it before it came out. i'm amazed that so many critics can't see through this tripe. the whole film is so forced and disingenuous, the characters exist nowhere in reality, and the dialogue is absurd. it's the poor man's garden state- basically a cross between napoleon dynamite and crash (two of the more obnoxious, overrated films in recent memory). i think i laughed once. please don't be duped by this movie. national treasure 2 would be a better alternative. Expand
  41. Peter
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Witty, funny dialogue and well acted and more deserving than the low rating some users gave it. Everyone in our showing (a full house) seemed to really enjoy it.
  42. russ
    Dec 26, 2007
    9
    Best movie i've seen in ages. great script and excellent performance from ellen page. i'm surprised by some of the bad comments here. maybe this movie is meant for more literate people who appreciate a great dialogue and a story with heart that isn't cheesy.
  43. AndrewF.
    Dec 27, 2007
    6
    Great acting, interesting characters, but the script bites off more than it can chew. The quirky dialogue is cute, but can be annoying and off-putting at times. I can understand why critics love it, but I felt too distanced at times to really make a connection. Worthwhile, but not anywhere near perfect.
  44. Bobbie
    Dec 28, 2007
    0
    I'm a girl and am ashamed to have sat through this garbage. No one is even mildly likeable. The story goes nowhere. There is nothing to like about this dorky movie. Part of the scenes with her classmates in which she is treated as if she is a leper is ridiculous. And the prego acts as if she is 65 years old. Awful.
  45. HollyV.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    While many films crank the idiosyncrasies of the characters out of whack, this film delivers a cast that is surprisingly mundane: every day parents, fairly nerdy boyfriend who likes orange Tic Tacs... it's the way the characters talk and interact that's so funny. True, nothing explodes... but I'd already seen Live Free or Die Hard, so I was cool with that. If you like While many films crank the idiosyncrasies of the characters out of whack, this film delivers a cast that is surprisingly mundane: every day parents, fairly nerdy boyfriend who likes orange Tic Tacs... it's the way the characters talk and interact that's so funny. True, nothing explodes... but I'd already seen Live Free or Die Hard, so I was cool with that. If you like clever dialogue? You'll love Juno. Expand
  46. MikeS.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    Edges out No Country for Old Men for the best film of the year. The cast is perfect (besides perhaps Jennifer Garner).
  47. SN
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    I loved this movie, and it seemed as if everyone in the packed theater in which I saw it would agree. (And packed at a 4 pm showing.) It's fun and quirky, and shows how some people are already fully formed as teens, whereas the rest take far longer to grow up.
  48. MattM.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Fantastic film. So good it may be classified as underhyped.
  49. SaraE.
    Dec 7, 2007
    2
    Just too over the top smart and precious. I might have enjoyed it more had i not heard how incredible, and fantastic it was supposed to be. Another over rated movie.
  50. MichaelB.
    Dec 7, 2007
    2
    I've never posted to Metacritic before, but I felt compelled to given the unanimous praise this is receiving. I was excited about seeing it based on the reviews, but I did not like Juno at all. In fact, for about the first hour, it looked like it was going to be downright awful. Jason Reitman apes Todd Solondz, Judd Apatow, and Wes Anderson SO hard, without adding a damn thing and I've never posted to Metacritic before, but I felt compelled to given the unanimous praise this is receiving. I was excited about seeing it based on the reviews, but I did not like Juno at all. In fact, for about the first hour, it looked like it was going to be downright awful. Jason Reitman apes Todd Solondz, Judd Apatow, and Wes Anderson SO hard, without adding a damn thing and subtracting a lot. He seems out to prove that he is truly his father's son. Far worse is Diablo Cody's script. The pop-culture name-checking, the sarcastic heroine a la Thora Birch in Ghost World, the unfunny use of words like "beef swords" (which killed with our audience by the way), the quirky indie constructs (the stepmom obsessed with dogs, the rock-and-roller who now composes commercial jingles)... yuck. It all feels very familiar but nowhere near as good as you've seen it done before. It is a terrible film with one single asset: Michael Cera. Go see The Savages instead, a far better film made by and for intelligent adults. Expand
  51. TomW
    Jan 12, 2008
    2
    I've tried to avoid being a cynic, but I really have to say this movie is one of the worst I have seen lately. The characters were poorly developed; they all followed a similar personality. The humor seemed to be that of 5th grader, by replacing words like "penis" with rare youth slang such as "junk". I laughed three times in this movie, and I give credit to Michael Cera; he is an I've tried to avoid being a cynic, but I really have to say this movie is one of the worst I have seen lately. The characters were poorly developed; they all followed a similar personality. The humor seemed to be that of 5th grader, by replacing words like "penis" with rare youth slang such as "junk". I laughed three times in this movie, and I give credit to Michael Cera; he is an actor I can appreciate. I honestly don't understand how this movie became so overrated, and I've lost my confidence in some critics. Expand
  52. LauraV.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    I'm pro choice. But I think all abortion clinics should require a women to watch this movie before the parents gets an abortion in case this changes thier mind because this movie would change a bad situation into something good. Unless they care about getting fat or going through childbirth which is admittedly awful, messy and painful. However I do not begrudge a person for wanting I'm pro choice. But I think all abortion clinics should require a women to watch this movie before the parents gets an abortion in case this changes thier mind because this movie would change a bad situation into something good. Unless they care about getting fat or going through childbirth which is admittedly awful, messy and painful. However I do not begrudge a person for wanting to avoid the horrendous prospect of a childbirth they don't want. I've been there. It is a wonderful message movie along with being a good comedy since there's some people that can't have children that are desperate (although this movie didn't address that) so if young parents can just go through the pregnancy, this movie's message, just might be the answer. Expand
  53. RonR.
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    An amazing teen story using incredible actors (They actually ACT like REAL TEENS!). Story and Music blending together as if they were on the same page, which hasn't happened since A Clockwork Orange... not that is is anything like ACO... but I think you get my point. If you want to see reality in all it's drama and natural comedy, you will love this film. Everyone can learn from An amazing teen story using incredible actors (They actually ACT like REAL TEENS!). Story and Music blending together as if they were on the same page, which hasn't happened since A Clockwork Orange... not that is is anything like ACO... but I think you get my point. If you want to see reality in all it's drama and natural comedy, you will love this film. Everyone can learn from the 2 leads on how to really make the best out of life. Expand
  54. WTFPancakes
    Jan 14, 2008
    9
    This would have been an amusing, forgettable film like Little Miss Sunshine if not for the amazing sleight of hand that Reitman performs with the Garner and Bateman characters. The dynamic between the two of them and the title character elevates Juno above other, similar films. The performances are uniformly excellent and the pacing is spot-on. One of the better films of the year.
  55. BlakK.
    Jan 15, 2008
    9
    Good movie with witty dialogue (mostly by Juno). I'm surprised at some people saying how unfunny they thought the movie was; I'm interested in hearing the comic "gold" that must be spilling out their mouths all the time. **Spoiler Alert*** The only problem I had with the movie was when Juno told her parents about her pregnancy. Juno's parents must have taken some sedatives Good movie with witty dialogue (mostly by Juno). I'm surprised at some people saying how unfunny they thought the movie was; I'm interested in hearing the comic "gold" that must be spilling out their mouths all the time. **Spoiler Alert*** The only problem I had with the movie was when Juno told her parents about her pregnancy. Juno's parents must have taken some sedatives before that scene, because they seemed like the most laid-back parents in the world. They didn't even raise their voices once when they heard the news! Most people I know would agree that their parents wouldn't take teenage pregnancy so lightly. Perhaps the relaxed attitude fit better with the overall tone of the movie, but it seemed very unrealistic to me. *** Expand
  56. NormD.
    Jan 17, 2008
    7
    good movie but suffering from astronomical expectations and hype. If Hollywood tried to make more movies like this, which reflect realities of life, instead of comic books andCGI laden crap, this movie would not stand out as more than a sweet slice of life. But this ain't 1974. Very few current movies deal with current life (most are sci fi futuristic or histories), so the Little good movie but suffering from astronomical expectations and hype. If Hollywood tried to make more movies like this, which reflect realities of life, instead of comic books andCGI laden crap, this movie would not stand out as more than a sweet slice of life. But this ain't 1974. Very few current movies deal with current life (most are sci fi futuristic or histories), so the Little Miss Sunshines and Junos attract more attention than deserved. All in all, cute movie with some good acting, absurd dialogue, and sweet tone. And in the end, pretty pointless. For a similar yet artful take on todays teen girl, see Ghostworld. Expand
  57. FreeJeff
    Jan 18, 2008
    7
    This is a good movie, not a great movie. Definitely worth seeing, especially as a rental. Having gotten that out of the way, there is much debate below about the realism of the dialog, etc. I loved it, it was hilarious. I adored Juno (the character). I have known people like Juno, and they really did talk that way and act that quirky, at least part of the time. And come on, people -- This is a good movie, not a great movie. Definitely worth seeing, especially as a rental. Having gotten that out of the way, there is much debate below about the realism of the dialog, etc. I loved it, it was hilarious. I adored Juno (the character). I have known people like Juno, and they really did talk that way and act that quirky, at least part of the time. And come on, people -- it's a movie! Was Napoleon Dynamite "realistic"? Seinfeld? Heathers? I wonder if the people who hated this movie are mostly teenagers and the ones who loved it mostly middle aged? Or vice versa? It would be fascinating to see the age distribution. Too bad this comment forum doesn't list age. Anyway, in the end I would have to say that although I found this movie very funny and entertaining and well resolved at the end, it just didn't grab me. I wasn't moved by it like some people were. So, not the greatest movie of the year, but still recommended. Expand
  58. MikeM
    Jan 18, 2008
    3
    Misdemeanors: 1) No one on earth talks like this: No 16 year olds have half as many references to things that happened before their time. No one's as quick. In general this can be forgiven as tone or style, and as part of the comedy genre, but the execution here is irritating to many people. [just not most critics, somehow...] 2) The plot and lack of real-world pressure and Misdemeanors: 1) No one on earth talks like this: No 16 year olds have half as many references to things that happened before their time. No one's as quick. In general this can be forgiven as tone or style, and as part of the comedy genre, but the execution here is irritating to many people. [just not most critics, somehow...] 2) The plot and lack of real-world pressure and complications are equally ridiculous. It can be forgiven as light comedy, but again, we're having our belief stretched. In the 2 minute version, Juno gets pregnant, says something hipster-flippant, and drinks a soda with her guy. See? Teen pregnancy? No big whup.... Felonies: 1)"Indie Film is a registered trademark of the Fox Corporation". It's 'alternative rock' all over again. Just like Little Miss Sunshine was not an indie film, neither is this. They both should be put in a new category called "Fake Indie with Stars and Corporate Parents" or maybe "Quirky Little $10 Million Budget"? Too Long? 2) There is nothing to the relationship between Juno and her guy. Michael Cera's a great comic actor who's got quirky guy down to a t. Granted. Now tell me anything susbstantial about his character....... [that he likes orange tictacs doesn't count as substantial]. How about why they love each other?.......The best guess I can hazzard is they have sex and he doesn't flake out. Hey! It's the fake relationship from Knocked Up all over again... another light comedy about pregnancy done uber-unrealistically. Another movie where good jokes and crafted dialogue don't add up to anything. Has modern media turned us so dull that we can't tell the forest for the trees anymore? A bunch of little bits and scenes and we don't notice or care that they don't make any sense taken as a whole? Expand
  59. Brian
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    This is the best movie i've seen in a very long time. Anyone who loves movies should see this film!
  60. TylerG.
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    Juno is a film I've wanted to see since the first trailer. Something about it told me it would be something special. And for me it was. Juno combines witty dialogue with stupendous acting and a great storyline to make a great under the radar comedy/drama.
  61. MattA.
    Jan 21, 2008
    5
    So overrated. Better than last year's "cute little comedy" that got oscar buzz (that would be the mess known as "Little Miss Sunshine"), but not by much. Michael Cera and Juno's father needed more to do as they were the most interesting characters. Ellen Page was okay in the title role, but the script by Diablo Cody isn't nearly as smart as everyone thinks it is.
  62. Darelol
    Dec 29, 2008
    0
    Don't watch this. The whole thing was emotionally false. People in real life don't talk or act like ANYONE in this piece of shit movie.
  63. Alexf
    Jan 24, 2008
    0
    this movie is so overated its not funny they chose the worst acors like michael cera who was the one that was not funny in superbad the only good prson they chose was jennifer garner and she is way too good to consider this dumb movie, i hate ellen page!
  64. GennyT.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Geeesh, the number of people that don't have the maturity to enjoy a near perfect film amazes me. This film is a solid 9, but people that didn't receive a solid education score it lower. How Sad for them. While not "perfect", it's easily the best crafted film of 2007. There is no contrived story line... it's just pure story and real acting. Yes, Ellen Page is really Geeesh, the number of people that don't have the maturity to enjoy a near perfect film amazes me. This film is a solid 9, but people that didn't receive a solid education score it lower. How Sad for them. While not "perfect", it's easily the best crafted film of 2007. There is no contrived story line... it's just pure story and real acting. Yes, Ellen Page is really playing herself, but get over yourself, the quick witted banter she spews is beyond brilliant. Best in 40 years of movie making. Don't be a sob, go see it, it's happy / sad, and will make you THINK in the weeks, months to come. It's a REAL movie, not a single moment of contrived crap. only...... "If" you are educated...... ' - - Expand
  65. Waterdude
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    Easily one of the best movies in 2007. Every aspect of it was wonderfully done.
  66. BruceW
    Jan 27, 2008
    3
    The people - moviegoers and critics alike - who like this movie need to take a serious look at themselves. Do they often fall for such contrived crap? It's like Diablo Cody wrote the whole screenplay while preening in a mirror, Reitman directed the movie intoxicated, and the Hollywood executives agreed to the movie after Cody gave them lap dances. And as for the critics, they must The people - moviegoers and critics alike - who like this movie need to take a serious look at themselves. Do they often fall for such contrived crap? It's like Diablo Cody wrote the whole screenplay while preening in a mirror, Reitman directed the movie intoxicated, and the Hollywood executives agreed to the movie after Cody gave them lap dances. And as for the critics, they must have been slipped rum in the punch at the premiere. If I ever watch this movie again, please shoot me. Expand
  67. TarkoB.
    Jan 27, 2008
    0
    I'm presently trying to watch JUNO, but I keep having to stop because of severe nausea. The preciousness, the phoniness, the hamburger telephone, the nudging-the-audience-in-the-ribs because "we all get it,"--it feels like a motherfucking horrible sit-com on self-congratulatory steroids. And it all starts with some asshole with a fake name that gets studio execs hot and bothered I'm presently trying to watch JUNO, but I keep having to stop because of severe nausea. The preciousness, the phoniness, the hamburger telephone, the nudging-the-audience-in-the-ribs because "we all get it,"--it feels like a motherfucking horrible sit-com on self-congratulatory steroids. And it all starts with some asshole with a fake name that gets studio execs hot and bothered because she says she was a stripper. AHHH! Expand
  68. RyanT.
    Jan 28, 2008
    2
    Overrated, irritating, and clueless. seems to think you will be impressed by how 'cool' it is just by name dropping a bunch of things they consider obscure. no one in this movie ever 'talks'. conversation is simply an opportunity to cram pop culture references, and dull, unimpressive ones at that, into a discussion, and to fire off as many clever one liners as Overrated, irritating, and clueless. seems to think you will be impressed by how 'cool' it is just by name dropping a bunch of things they consider obscure. no one in this movie ever 'talks'. conversation is simply an opportunity to cram pop culture references, and dull, unimpressive ones at that, into a discussion, and to fire off as many clever one liners as possible. mucch like its cheaply done, amateurish soundtrack, this film asks you to overlook its obvious flaws and accept its 'charm'...only its not much of a trade off...like being poked in the eye by a kid wearing a bunny suit...sure, the bunny suit is cute, but you'd have to be starved for preciousness to ignore the pain...same w/juno. if you missed out on all the REALLY cool movies in the past...whiffed on 'heathers', slept while 'ghost world' was out, stayed hom and watched american idol insrtead of seeing 'napoleon dynamite'...well, finally, the poseurs and clueless have a film to embrace for themselves. i prefer the real thing. keep your cheap imitation. Expand
  69. AriK.
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    Pretty much the best movie of the year, besides Once. Hilarious, poignant, adorable... Perhaps even twee, but I love it with all my heart.
  70. MichaelX
    Feb 13, 2008
    9
    This movie describe a reality in the life's of our adolescents
  71. MattT.
    Feb 14, 2008
    2
    Hi Guys, I'm aware that this is not a movie *about* birth - nonetheless it pictures birth. If someone makes a horror movie, it is clear that they are not serious, and that's ok. If someone presents something as "ok" and thereby encourages and reinforces destructive behaviour and misinformation of the audience, that's not ok. Would you be similarly lenient about a film that, Hi Guys, I'm aware that this is not a movie *about* birth - nonetheless it pictures birth. If someone makes a horror movie, it is clear that they are not serious, and that's ok. If someone presents something as "ok" and thereby encourages and reinforces destructive behaviour and misinformation of the audience, that's not ok. Would you be similarly lenient about a film that, through the behaviour of the "hero", uncritically pictures other destructive behaviour such as people smoking inside in the presence of their children or heavier forms of child abuse, based on your pseudo-logical statement that that, too, is "common" and therefore ok to be presented as "ok" in a film? That in one case (e.g. child abuse) it is obvious to you that it is encouraging destructive behaviour, and in the other (birth) it is not obvious to you due to lack of knowledge, makes no difference. "Common" and "normal" does not mean "ok"! Is it that so hard to understand? This is highly irresponsible and badly researched filmmaking. If you watch it as uncritically as many seem to do, that is equally irresponsible, by the way. Your choice? Maybe. What would your (future) children say if you could ask them now about your interest in birth or lack thereof? Again, I would appreciate it if people would not be so catastrophically uncritical. Expand
  72. JohnK.
    Feb 15, 2008
    2
    juno was completely awful... i hated the main girl as an actress, she was annoying, and the movie is completely idiotic for the fact that it has received some of the best ratings of year... awful movie, waste of time. boring, unamusing (why?? it was pooly written, as well as very boring), and not funny on hardly any level. A total waste of time.
  73. MattK
    Feb 21, 2008
    0
    DIalog in this movie was horrible. So boring i almost fell asleep. actually i did fall asleep!
  74. R.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    It is nice to see a great movie that tells a story in a funny, moving, and heartwarming way. Excellent acting by all of the stars.
  75. EileenK.
    Feb 24, 2008
    9
    This well-written and well acted film give us a refreshing view of what it is like to be a pregnant, teenage girl. You cannot feel sorry for this character because she won't let you. She's tough, funny, independent and surprisingly resourceful.
  76. JamesM.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    The Best Animated Movie I Have Seen In Years.
  77. GenevièveB
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    wow, really a good movie. I really reccommend you all french frog to listen it in english... This movie is all about smart-funny dialogue.
  78. TrystanM.
    Apr 18, 2008
    2
    I went to watch this film after a friend recommended it. He is no longer a friend. I am astonished that people found this film to be "witty" - for 90 minutes the viewer is subjected to unbearable and seemingly endless smart-arse comments in a routine trudge through the familiar old American high school stereotypes. Just when I thought it couldn't get any worse, the closing scene was I went to watch this film after a friend recommended it. He is no longer a friend. I am astonished that people found this film to be "witty" - for 90 minutes the viewer is subjected to unbearable and seemingly endless smart-arse comments in a routine trudge through the familiar old American high school stereotypes. Just when I thought it couldn't get any worse, the closing scene was so cheesy I writhed around in my cinema chair with my hand over my eyes wanting to kill myself. Shame on anyone who enjoyed this film, for you are an idiot. Expand
  79. HarryP.
    Apr 27, 2008
    9
    I thought the movie was witty although the teen steretypes were pretty off making teens seem like smart-arse fools even though half of them are not all of them are. I liked it though and would reccomend it. Juno went in a different direction then i thought it would but I still liked it.
  80. ScanlonT.
    May 12, 2008
    7
    Ellen Page was adorable. All the actors were top-notch. A witty script, I loved the dialogue. I really enjoyed Juno, for the most part. But the thing that bothers me is that there was no price to pay for irresponsibility. Hollywood has a way of making immorality seem all warm and fuzzy. What is the message here? One other thing - I truly HATED the "indie" music. Cheers!
  81. TeeM.
    May 12, 2008
    9
    At first I wasn't sure...it was clever, but too self-aware. Then, somehow, I was won over, caught up in Juno McGuff's world. I find myself really thinking about the characters and various scenes. I ended up buying the DVD and plan on watching it with various friends and family.
  82. GinoM.
    May 18, 2008
    4
    Obviously planned or forced; artificial; strained.
  83. MrToad
    May 25, 2008
    10
    Fantastic, provided you can appreciate the flawed heroine. Charmingly over-the-top lines, memorable characters.....i could give even more cliche compliments if you want. Just see it.
  84. ScottD.
    May 28, 2008
    9
    I really enjoyed this film that is as hooking as it is funny the characters are very well picked and well portrayed in the film, excellent
  85. TeslaC
    Jun 11, 2008
    9
    Really really awesome movie. Every character is appealing and realistic in his or her own way. Truly heartwarming. Assuming you aren't a total cynic, you will love it.
  86. CrystalB.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Juno is probably the best comedy in the last 3 - 4 years. It's humor is so unlike other mainstream movies, and it is so different. The plot is very similar to some others but the quirky attitude really sets apart from other's. And the fact that this is the second movie Ellen Page has done really says a lot about her abilities and her carrier's potential. Page and Juno is probably the best comedy in the last 3 - 4 years. It's humor is so unlike other mainstream movies, and it is so different. The plot is very similar to some others but the quirky attitude really sets apart from other's. And the fact that this is the second movie Ellen Page has done really says a lot about her abilities and her carrier's potential. Page and Cera's chemistry is so awkward, it really fit the part. Expand
  87. ColinA.
    Jun 19, 2008
    8
    Witty and funny. Love the soundtrack.
  88. SandiM
    Jun 22, 2008
    8
    I give this an 8 because it's clever, attractive, and unexpected. 2 point deduction for Page's acting. I don't think she would be so cool with being pregnant =o But I H I G H L Y recommend this! Rent it or watch it online free.
  89. thewiseking
    Sep 27, 2008
    6
    Way too self aware and intentionally indy to have any real emotional impact. Its cleverness gets in the way and its soundtrack is enough to make any cinephile scream " Enough with the goddamned quirky pop soundtracks already! Bring back original theme music!"
  90. JeremyE.
    Feb 22, 2009
    10
    Great movie! definitely worth seeing. Very deserving of it's best best picture nomination
  91. rackemrack
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This movie is totally boss. Go suck It no country for old men. I related to this so much. Just how she handles things and her facial expression are perfect. I feel a kinship between me and Juno.
  92. joeyh.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I'm real different from Juno but my cousin is like her carbon copy. I'm surprised they got her down in a movie so perfectly. I love Juno for that and how unique It is. I'm proud.
  93. mr.blues
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I'm happy Juno is representing a group of people other people don't know about. I'm from a social group completely devoted to being unique. It promotes diversity. This movie is an advertisement for being original and unconventional when there's no need to have another thing thats common. This movie is the orgasm to my sex.
  94. cokeacola
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Much love to the thing in the oven. Very cool movie. The hippyness is a complete caricature to todays youths jargon. The vernacular in this movie is awesome. Love this movie to death. The language is like Picasso. It unrealistic but brilliant. Come on people, let's not complain about a good thing.
  95. LindsayY.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    ellen page is extraordinary. No words can describe her snatch or her acting skills. She makes thus movie realistic with her acting, mannerisms, and face acting. An oscar is cumin her way soon. I know it, god told me and my cat told me. She doesn't predict earthquakes she predicts worthy winners.
  96. BillC
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Hated it for a long a** time but I rewatched thrice. Thanks to a friend. Watched it four times. Liked it the 3rd time. Loved it the fourth. Currently its my 5th.
  97. typicalJew
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Pulling off the blanket and putting it on my wet, naked body and laying down in bed watching this movie is my favorite way to spend night.
  98. jeezcheese
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Definatly not a chick flick. It so much more. Its love and originality. Its beauty in how unique life can be I'm grateful I came in contact with this movie. God thank you.
  99. MikeD.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Finally a comedy with unconventional romantic moments isnt corny. None of it is corny. It stays very cool throughout. I appreciate that. Its different and that's refreshing.
  100. mislysmily
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Everytime I watch American beauty I follow up with this because it just goes great together. There both very well and its awesome. Its both realistic in there own way. I think I enjoy Juno more. That's why I watch it second like a finale. Go watch it if you havent its really well made.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. A blithe charmer balanced somewhere between a life-should-be-so-neat fairy tale and a life's-a-real-bitch tragicomedy, leaves political debate at the ticket counter and focuses solely on what it's like for Juno MacGuff to be Juno MacGuff.
  2. It’s the writer, Diablo Cody, and the director, Jason Reitman, who have screws loose. Or maybe they’re just desperate to make their film a chick "Rushmore" or "Garden State."
  3. 88
    There's a special kick that comes in finding a new star. So step up, Ellen Page, and take your bows.