User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1166 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndersM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    At their first meeting, the 16-year-old title character corrects the would-be adoptive father of her illegitimate child that her namesake is not the city in Alaska but rather the Roman Queen of the Gods and once you see this movie, you'll likely realize that the name Juno could not be more appropriate, nay, perfect. Initially wearing something non-descript, the audience has to At their first meeting, the 16-year-old title character corrects the would-be adoptive father of her illegitimate child that her namesake is not the city in Alaska but rather the Roman Queen of the Gods and once you see this movie, you'll likely realize that the name Juno could not be more appropriate, nay, perfect. Initially wearing something non-descript, the audience has to observe her mannerisms and hear her cant to begin to develop an understanding of who she is. And the screenwriter, Diablo Cody, director, Jason Reitman, and lead actress, Ellen Page, do an amazing job of showing this through her brusque, mannish, sarcastic, juvenile-idiom-laden speech, her resolute gait, and her brutally-honest and witty utterances. Juno, while--not coincidentally--being the goddess of motherhood, is also infamously the bitchiest of the gods. One must take into account, however, that she always had reason to be filled with hatred or jealousy; her husband was constantly philandering with mortals of both sexes. Juno, also representing monogamy in marriage, is justified in her rage and her firm expression of her feelings is respectable rather than hysterical (and by the way, the monogamy/infidelity issue plays a key role in the film). As I was watching a preview screening at the Lagoon theater on Nov. 28, it was difficult for me to rid myself of the notion that I wasn't watching the goddess Juno herself, except here mortal, adolescent, and Midwestern. In this film as in reality, the company that every character holds describes his or her personality in a more profound way than their characters in isolation and they become exponentially more complex as they interact. The adoptive couple, the Lorings, initially come off as two-dimensional, but as we discover that Mark (Jason Bateman)--instead of being the nesting, Bed-Bath-and-Beyond-type like his wife Vanessa (Jennifer Garner)--is rather is an aging, frustrated, sellout of an ex-hipster and one can take this to illustrate a whole history to their relationship. Juno springs from her lower-middle class, disciplining yet disaffected parents (J.K. Simmons and Allison Janney) as logically as the theory of gravity. And the fact that Juno, the self-described goth librarian, is best friends with Leah (Olivia Thirlby), an animated, cheerleader-type ginger who lusts after her English teacher describes both girls better than either one alone; the inter-clique connection happens when both people mutually see something unique beneath the surface. Paulie Bleeker (Michael Cera), Juno's baby-daddy, is the headbanded track star (maybe he's working off the baby fat he appears to still have) that occasionally reveals passions his meekness would otherwise belie. You see what they saw in each other, as in the movie's Moldy Peaches theme song "Anyone Else But You". I confess myself to be blown away at having learned that seemingly the most of the mother-loving soundtrack owes its brilliance to the actress who plays Juno, Ellen Page. Reitman asked her what she thought her character listened to and she said, "The Moldy Peaches," which isn't quite the 70's-era rock the character explicitly says she listens to, but lends its charmingly puerile tones and jaded/sentimental lyrics perfectly to the film's general milieu (especially with the solo music of band-member Kimya Dawson). The music immediately distinguishes the movie as one targeted at young people of the artistic temperament, but never self-consciously or crudely, eg. Garden State. The opening credits, animated by Shadowplay studios, which also did the one for "Thank You For Smoking", seemed somewhat incongruous to the rest of the film. The cartoon outline of Juno walking around the squiggly, pastel neighborhood drinking a gallon jug of "Sunny-D" suggests that the rest of the movie will be equally cartoonish and the main character a potentially-mentally-challenged outsider. Especially paired with the first scene where Rainn Wilson plays a 7-11 clerk that harasses Juno about the pregnancy tests she continues to buy and fail, the opening credits prepare you for a movie like Napoleonette Dynamite. Reitman, when asked about the similarities, said that unlike Napoleon Dynamite, Juno isn't set in an alternate universe, but rather firmly in reality. As the movie develops, he is proven correct because the characters quickly stop acting like quippy caricatures. That's not to say it isn't funny. In fact, it is much funnier than Dynamite. The frequency and intensity of the jokes is blistering. Don't zone out for a minute or else you'll miss jokes that are hidden in the background or muttered under someone's breath. Almost as quickly the mood will change from hilarious to heartbreaking and, although jarring, it's also pleasantly sobering. The story is as well-constructed and unpredictable as one could ever desire. In the end, there will be tears guaranteed for the saps among us and those willing to make themselves vulnerable to images and sounds. In the end, you will feel that the older characters will find a newer understanding of themselves and that the younger characters will discover their identities for the first time. You will be convinced that they will grow into the people you want to be friends with. In the end, you will feel the long-lost reverence for the miracle of motherhood that makes mother goddesses of any name smile. Read my blog at: violaceleste.blogspot.com Expand
  2. Ram
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    great film, witty dialogue, and most of all, one of the most lovable lead actors in a long , long time. hail Juno!
  3. GeorgeR.
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    This movie is funny, beautifully acted, and charming all at the same time. A great movie!
  4. Brandy
    May 1, 2008
    10
    If I could give this movie 1 million points I would!! I love love love this movie. A few parts are a bit awkward, like Bleeks mom and Jennifer Garner and her husbands interactions... But, I didn't let that allow me to miss the greatness in Ellen Page's performance! This movie will be my top movie from now on. I just wish that it came out sooner in my life so that it could hold If I could give this movie 1 million points I would!! I love love love this movie. A few parts are a bit awkward, like Bleeks mom and Jennifer Garner and her husbands interactions... But, I didn't let that allow me to miss the greatness in Ellen Page's performance! This movie will be my top movie from now on. I just wish that it came out sooner in my life so that it could hold the top spot for longer! Expand
  5. Americanbeauty
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    my parents are just like that. If I told my dad I was going to burn the house down he'd point to where the matches were(not really but he's real chill. Movie is relatable to greatly. When she brakes down in the car and she can't even grip into the steering wheel is just like me. I can't grab something when I crash I'm so broken. And like her I hide things and my parents are just like that. If I told my dad I was going to burn the house down he'd point to where the matches were(not really but he's real chill. Movie is relatable to greatly. When she brakes down in the car and she can't even grip into the steering wheel is just like me. I can't grab something when I crash I'm so broken. And like her I hide things and I'm not openly emotional. Some lines are so great that I want to have an orgasm. This film really needs to be watched with subtitles. I've watched this movie an easy 10 times(so far) and everytime I found something new. Brilliant. Expand
  6. NicholasP.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    This is the best film i have seen all year, better than Atonement even.
  7. PeterK.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    This is a great true-to-life film about off-beat characters living in a "normal" world with a great deal of tongue-in-cheek sensitivity and love. It made my whole family laugh at its eccentric comedy and whole-hearted decency.
  8. kevina
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Saw Juno last night a preview screening - it's got my (2nd annual) "Children of Men" award for my favorite time at a movie for the year. Realistic, witty dialogue, engaging characters, and fantastic music. I can't recommend any more strongly.
  9. JH
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    An absolute joy to watch. Ellen Page and Michael Cera delivered.
  10. DavidP
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    The haters are clearly intimidated at the very thought of Diablo Cody and/or the concept of the character Juno. This is a smart, delightful film that will appeal to reasonably intelligent moviegoers.
  11. DouglasS
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    The characters were believable, the plot was original and the music and acting were great, all around an amazing film.
  12. JohnN.
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Best film of the year. I can see the backlash is already starting.
  13. CoolBoi
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    Even if i only saw 1/2 of the movie...I saw enough to know that is was great.The acting was phonomenal (my favorite performences were by Ellen Page and Jennifer Gardner).The dialogue was fresh...Why do people say that the dialogue is so bad?I loved it as much as I did the whole film
  14. MarandaD.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    this was an amazing movie i laughed and cried and i just thought it was amazing the whole way through.
  15. Jennifer
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    Great movie!! I really think there are some people, the ones on this site going off on how bad this movie was, are going into a movie with all these expectations and then when the movie doesn't turn out the way they felt it should the kill it in a review. I felt it was a great movie. There are some parts in there that I feel would not be true to form in real life but an the end of Great movie!! I really think there are some people, the ones on this site going off on how bad this movie was, are going into a movie with all these expectations and then when the movie doesn't turn out the way they felt it should the kill it in a review. I felt it was a great movie. There are some parts in there that I feel would not be true to form in real life but an the end of the day this is not a documentary film. Juno comes off in the beginning of the movie as this overly mature teengager, the best friend/boyfriend not so much, but in the end was not as grown up as even she would like to think. Which she even points out herself telling her step mom she was out dealing with things beyond her maturity level. Do let the negative reviews keep you away from this one. Expand
  16. Michelle
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    I don't know what movie some of you were watching but my boyfriend and I loved this movie as did all of my friends who have seen it. It has actual humor instead of the slap stick, punch people in the nuts "comedy" of so many movies out there. I am tired of the "stupid funny" movies that make me feel like I have lost brain cells while watching them so this was a nice I don't know what movie some of you were watching but my boyfriend and I loved this movie as did all of my friends who have seen it. It has actual humor instead of the slap stick, punch people in the nuts "comedy" of so many movies out there. I am tired of the "stupid funny" movies that make me feel like I have lost brain cells while watching them so this was a nice change...it's whitty comments and sarcasm and off the wall one liners where enough to keep us laughing and quoting them in our own coversation. It had a good storyline which was an extra bonus as some comedies do not. It's my new favorite movie! Expand
  17. JoyceC.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Jason Reitman's Juno written by Diablo Cody, is a deeply refreshing teenage comedy flick, with its sassy kick, you'll remember Juno as a funny and breathtaking performance by Ellen Page. It's a genuine classic.
  18. RichardP.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    This movie was perfect. The writing and acting were absolutely fabulous, and it was a joy to watch.
  19. FayH
    May 5, 2008
    10
    GREAT! Funny! Juno McGuff is al all-american sarcastic teenager! Bleeker is an all-american geek (who is cute!)! Jennifer Garner was perfect for the role of Venessa. I can watch it over and over again!!! *Claps for JUNO!!!*
  20. JackR
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I started watching this movie on my iPod as I was sitting on the toilet. I was releasing. One hour and thirty-six minutes later I was still on the toilet way passed being done. That was the longest time I've ever spent being on a toilet. I enjoyed every moment. I'm now immune to bad smells.
  21. dariana.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I can't believe they mentioned dario argento. I'm 14 years old and everytime I mention him to someone their clueless maybe because he's foreign. I love "suspiria", "the bird with the crystal plummage", "opera", "demons", "creepers", "unsane" and I can't wait for the new suspiria. I was so impressed to see Juno know dario argento. He's legendary. Some Teens love I can't believe they mentioned dario argento. I'm 14 years old and everytime I mention him to someone their clueless maybe because he's foreign. I love "suspiria", "the bird with the crystal plummage", "opera", "demons", "creepers", "unsane" and I can't wait for the new suspiria. I was so impressed to see Juno know dario argento. He's legendary. Some Teens love old stuff and finally a main character represents that, about time. Very refreshing. Im ecstatic theres a main character repesenting all sorts of different point of views. Totally bitchin. great movie. Expand
  22. Sarahl.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Love this movie. I am a single mother that is passionate about this movie. Very great a. Single parent can be just as good or better than parents. Good job Juno, I love you.
  23. gilmorechili
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    Watching movie was the best time had all year long in a movie theater. I luaghed a little bit, felt good the entire time, felt new because I felt influenced by a movie so original and fresh. Can't wait till this movie hits tv so more people that didnt care will give a chance since it would be more convenient to see. I'm still extremely happy from the experience.
  24. mike
    Dec 15, 2007
    10
    Sweet, tender and comedic. A gem.
  25. MarkM.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    This movie has to be the funnest moive i have seen in 2007, i love the cast and how they work together!! i would tell any one to come and see it. I didnt like 40 year virgen or super bad, but i loved this movie -Go see it!
  26. JennyO
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    Juno was funny where it needed to be and uncomfortable where it needed to be. To those who find it unrelateable, you are in the minority. This movie wonderfully handles the mid-Western suburban teen family life and condition. The acting was excellent by all parties (even Jennifer Garner, from whom I did not expect anything) and I can't wait to see it again.
  27. JoshS.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Superbly acted with rapid-fire dialogue that is both witty and endearing. Juno breaks from the cliched high school comedies that focus on cliques and naivete. It is sweet without being unbelievable and funny without being crude. Probably the best comedy of the year, possibly the best film of the year.
  28. JohnZ
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    So funny. omg. what a great movie.
  29. C.B.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    This is a great movie. Amazing performances by Ellen Page, Michael Cera, Allison Janney, J.K. Simmons & Jennifer Garner. I'm surprised to see some of the hate in the User Comments. Can you bitter schmucks actually gave this movie a 2? I'd love to see what Michael B., Sara E. & Aaron S. think is an 8. Or a 5. Those are three metacritic readers that rate good movies lower to get This is a great movie. Amazing performances by Ellen Page, Michael Cera, Allison Janney, J.K. Simmons & Jennifer Garner. I'm surprised to see some of the hate in the User Comments. Can you bitter schmucks actually gave this movie a 2? I'd love to see what Michael B., Sara E. & Aaron S. think is an 8. Or a 5. Those are three metacritic readers that rate good movies lower to get their twisted kicks... Expand
  30. JoshF
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    Amazing. Easily one of the best films I've seen in theaters all year. Loved the acting, directing, and especially the screenplay.
  31. TeddyP.
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    this is touching, smart and everything a movie of this kind should be and even more. not to mention that Ellen Page's performance was near perfect. by now it is my favorite movie of this year, it is just ... it has heart, which a lot of nowadays movies lack of.
  32. LukeA.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    A non-sterotypical movie, with realistic and appealing characters.
  33. DonnaL.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    I loved this movie very much. I hope this movie will help the youth understand that there are more options then throwing you child in a trash can.
  34. Dr.C.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Not only is this the BEST MOVIE I HAVE SEEN IN 5 YEARS!! -- JUNO is also the most true, honest & real movie I have seen in years and years. The actors are perfectly cast... the script is a beautiful gemstone... and the director is wise beyond his years. This is not a crappy Hollywood Movie-About-Teen-Pregnancy... It's an intelligent, funny, moving coming of age story that I will be Not only is this the BEST MOVIE I HAVE SEEN IN 5 YEARS!! -- JUNO is also the most true, honest & real movie I have seen in years and years. The actors are perfectly cast... the script is a beautiful gemstone... and the director is wise beyond his years. This is not a crappy Hollywood Movie-About-Teen-Pregnancy... It's an intelligent, funny, moving coming of age story that I will be thinking about long after I have forgotten about most of the other junk that I saw in the past few weeks (MICHAEL CLAYTON... ATONEMENT... THERE WILL BE BUCKETS OF BLOOD... augghhhh) Ok Ok: Daniel Day-Lewis WAS brilliant... but that movie was an over-rated dud. Courage. Expand
  35. JDRamsay
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Both of us loved it. The writing, directing and performances are excellent. The dialogue is so quick and witty that you are drawn into their world and want to see what they will do. A great, honest film.
  36. Katie
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Kind of perfect.
  37. ChrisE.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    I went into it wanting to love it and I absolutely did! Sorry for the haters out there but this blew Little Miss Sunshine out of the water!
  38. NoraR
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    In some ways I can understand why some people wonder if this movie is overrated. Today there are so many excellent movies, well made, well directed, well edited, well acted. Just every now and then something is made that is a little bit 'fresh' and from a different viewpoint, and I would guess that is why Juno has attracted the attention it has received. For me the best thing In some ways I can understand why some people wonder if this movie is overrated. Today there are so many excellent movies, well made, well directed, well edited, well acted. Just every now and then something is made that is a little bit 'fresh' and from a different viewpoint, and I would guess that is why Juno has attracted the attention it has received. For me the best thing about this movie is the unusual character of Juno, who is the sum of the witty writer and the great actor who created her. She is both a typical and atypical teenager. I wonder if the writing is influenced by woody allen or oscar wilde? Though it may seem strange to compare, both of these writers are witty and intelligent, but it sometimes seems strange to hear the exact same kind of language coming from every characters mouth. Yet for me, the uniqueness is what makes the movie, even though its still realistic enough to be believable. One of the best 'coming of age' movies of the noughties. The soundtrack is superb and really 'fits' the movie. Cant wait to buy it! Expand
  39. MarioJ.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    This movie is more witty and more well written than I expected. Juno herself has a very witty humor that is amusing to watch onscreen, and the movie has an unexpected depth to it. Certainly much better than "Knocked Up" and much better thought out. The soundtrack is also very well done.
  40. LonnieH.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    Delightful, sweet and amazingly amusing. Great cast
  41. IvyB.
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    Wow! Simple little story, well acted by all the principals. Diablo Cody wrote a real heartwarming story about a unique girl Juno and her unplanned pregnancy. Ellen Page really deserves the nom for her performance, she's just brilliant. If things don't ring true to most people, then I wish they'd remember this is a movie! It doesn't deal with big political or social or Wow! Simple little story, well acted by all the principals. Diablo Cody wrote a real heartwarming story about a unique girl Juno and her unplanned pregnancy. Ellen Page really deserves the nom for her performance, she's just brilliant. If things don't ring true to most people, then I wish they'd remember this is a movie! It doesn't deal with big political or social or psychological issues. There's no big message being drilled at you contrary to the haters out there, really there isn't. Its entertaining and leaves most folk feeling good for having seen a well crafted story and good performances. PS that Matt Ties is a psycho. Expand
  42. Brandon
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    Heartwarming and hilarious from start to finish. I could watch this over and over again. Ellen Page was robbed by the academy!
  43. Nick
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Wow, you people that rated this movie poorly must either be: 1. trying to express your individuality by rebelling against the obvious 2. acting overly critical to get "attention" 3. truley unable to appresiate creativity, in which case I am sorry, for you will not enjoy your life.
  44. BusterB
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Wow, what's with all the negative reviews? This is undoubtedly one of the best movies of 2007. If I didn't know any better, Ellen Page should have won the Oscar. The supporting cast was perfect: J.K. Simmons and Alison Janney were excellent as Juno's parents, Michael Cera was sweet as the confused boyfriend, and you had to feel sympathetic for Jennifer Garner as the wishful Wow, what's with all the negative reviews? This is undoubtedly one of the best movies of 2007. If I didn't know any better, Ellen Page should have won the Oscar. The supporting cast was perfect: J.K. Simmons and Alison Janney were excellent as Juno's parents, Michael Cera was sweet as the confused boyfriend, and you had to feel sympathetic for Jennifer Garner as the wishful adoptive mother. People, please, don't think too hard during the movie. This is a fun movie that doesn't take itself too seriously. The script, as others have already praised, is witty and clever, thanks to ex-stripper Diablo Cody. Give her credit: it is her first screenplay, for which she won an Oscar for. Anyways, this movie resembles another wonderful indie flick: Little Miss Sunshine. If you liked that indie flick, I can't imagine you won't like this. Expand
  45. SaraM
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    LOVED this movie. Inspriational, witty, clever and Ellen Page fits her role perfectly.
  46. RK
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    I'm giving this a ten... and I'm male.
  47. Erin
    May 6, 2008
    10
    A comical look into the all-too-real life of a pregnant teenager. Dripping with sarcasm, this film makes you laugh, makes you cry, and makes you want to see every Ellen Page movie.
  48. FelicityJ
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    A sincere film that doesn't conform to typical female stereotyping but rather promotes determined, independent yet thoughtful females, especially in the character of Juno. It is very easy to watch and it is one of those films that sits with you long after the viewing. A very refreshing view of adolescence.
  49. robertthomas
    Apr 14, 2009
    10
    I believed that this file is the best i have seen. the acting is flawless. Diablo Cody is an excellent writed and that is probably the reason this film won best original screenplay at the 2007 oscars. Ellen Page is one of the if not best actress of my generation. Her creation of juno is perfect right down to her facial expressions and her walk. i have seen this movie about 10 times andI believed that this file is the best i have seen. the acting is flawless. Diablo Cody is an excellent writed and that is probably the reason this film won best original screenplay at the 2007 oscars. Ellen Page is one of the if not best actress of my generation. Her creation of juno is perfect right down to her facial expressions and her walk. i have seen this movie about 10 times and haven't gotten tires of it. Just abut every aspect of this film whether it be directing acting, writing, or editing is just perfect. i strongly this movie should have won best picture and best actress at the oscars because of such a relatively low budget of 6 milliion it is better than all of the other big budget films like The Dark Knight. Overall it was a grat film that pretty much everybody should watch at least once. Expand
  50. RobertT
    Apr 15, 2009
    10
    It was a great movie. I have watched it about 10 times and have never gotten tired of it. I though that every aspect whether it be directing, acting, editing, or writing was perfect. Also Ellen Page play Juno to perfection. She is without doubt one of, if not the best actress of my generation. Diablo cody is a great writer and she really earned the best original screenplay oscar, and i It was a great movie. I have watched it about 10 times and have never gotten tired of it. I though that every aspect whether it be directing, acting, editing, or writing was perfect. Also Ellen Page play Juno to perfection. She is without doubt one of, if not the best actress of my generation. Diablo cody is a great writer and she really earned the best original screenplay oscar, and i also believed that Ellen Page should have won best actress, and the film should have won best picture.Overall i believe that the majority is in favor of the movie. Expand
  51. juliam.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Let's get one thing straight, pregnancy isn't the hard part raising the child is. People stop complaining about how the baby struggles weren't highlighted enough. It was great. She bike down. Didnt ppl see that scene. Douche-y-douches.
  52. trueblood
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    A feel-good movie thats like a happy ending strectched into a movie. The music isn't my taste but works well in the movie. Wouldn't touch It without the movie. Love everything else though.
  53. peelingonions
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Look at her sit down next to leah. Makes me want to suck her toes. I love the scene where leah says I love woody Allen just to impress the teacher. I know kids that do that.
  54. gleem.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Let it be known, Juno has entered and she's damn fine. Like a hooker. You use her and use her and feel great afterwards( not cheap like the who're) and no std's were transmitted and she'll always come back when you want. It also for free, Perfect.
  55. JunoM.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    the best movie of 2007. No country for old men has no ending and the title is confusing(no big deal though). Juno seems so realistic to me. I know this girl that's just like her, she's in my music class. I live Juno the character and the movie is brilliant. It doesn't rely on shocking jokes, or jokes that usually get an easy laugh or talk about subjects that can easily be the best movie of 2007. No country for old men has no ending and the title is confusing(no big deal though). Juno seems so realistic to me. I know this girl that's just like her, she's in my music class. I live Juno the character and the movie is brilliant. It doesn't rely on shocking jokes, or jokes that usually get an easy laugh or talk about subjects that can easily be funny. Its old-fashioned with its comedy. It genuinly is creative and even if you don't laugh you can appreciate its originality. Its uniqueness makes it classic. Perfection. Expand
  56. nikel
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Don't cry for me Argentina because I'm safe with Juno. This is witty and creative. The plot is common but the dialog doesn't belong to this universe. People who complain that Juno isnt realistic. To some people this actually is real and relatable. Besides shed a fictionalized charaecter. How can you complain she's to witty. Thats like saying someone to rich or a tree Don't cry for me Argentina because I'm safe with Juno. This is witty and creative. The plot is common but the dialog doesn't belong to this universe. People who complain that Juno isnt realistic. To some people this actually is real and relatable. Besides shed a fictionalized charaecter. How can you complain she's to witty. Thats like saying someone to rich or a tree is too wooden. Whats the problem. Expand
  57. movincars
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This is marvelous. I'm astonished by how much I love this movie. I always thought the oscars was dumb to nominate this thing then give it an oscar. The trailer looked horrible even mott the hopple was in it. I missed something but not anymore. It ,ni question in my mind, deserved it oscar win. If it won all four if its nominations I'd be more than happy but out of all the This is marvelous. I'm astonished by how much I love this movie. I always thought the oscars was dumb to nominate this thing then give it an oscar. The trailer looked horrible even mott the hopple was in it. I missed something but not anymore. It ,ni question in my mind, deserved it oscar win. If it won all four if its nominations I'd be more than happy but out of all the nominations it really deserved best screenplay. Good for you diablo(wats with the name) and I now love ellen page. Expand
  58. unbelievable
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I've watched this 75 times and I still love. Since I've bought on DVD I've watched it everynight. Its a fu***** wonderful movie. Im looking forward to future diablo works but jennifers body seems kinds stupid but I'll find out miself.
  59. pulpfiction
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    to be honest, this is great. I heard all the raving or people saying its "overrated" so when I watched I already had a bias opinion. But at the end of the movie I was mesmerized by the dialogue. Ellen page is my favorite actor of all-time because of this movie. I'm grateful this classic has been made. "my pipe is my mistress in times of sorrow" I love that line. Its not the best one to be honest, this is great. I heard all the raving or people saying its "overrated" so when I watched I already had a bias opinion. But at the end of the movie I was mesmerized by the dialogue. Ellen page is my favorite actor of all-time because of this movie. I'm grateful this classic has been made. "my pipe is my mistress in times of sorrow" I love that line. Its not the best one but its cool. I found a new God. Expand
  60. Stevenr
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I'm lucky, I've watched"Nobody Knows", "Goodfellas", "Pans Labyrinth", "Hard Candy", "Pulp Fiction", and now "Juno". Its a good life.
  61. oliviatl
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Let us hail olivia thirlby! She is completely underrated in this movie. Not one time have I seen a critic mention besides putting her name in parenthesis next to the name leah when saying junos best friend. She was great. My favorite. I loved every scene she was in. She was playful understanding excepting and helpful to Juno. I never see a user review her performance. What the hell? Ellen Let us hail olivia thirlby! She is completely underrated in this movie. Not one time have I seen a critic mention besides putting her name in parenthesis next to the name leah when saying junos best friend. She was great. My favorite. I loved every scene she was in. She was playful understanding excepting and helpful to Juno. I never see a user review her performance. What the hell? Ellen page was good but olivia deserves some of the spotlight. She handled the dialogue very good, like ellen. I wonder how she would handled Juno if she had that role. She was great. People Pay More Attention To Olivia Thirlby. All hail olivia thirlby. Expand
  62. paddym
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I love the name Juno. It is so perfecto for her. It really is memorable. Its easy to remember the movie for its genuine originality and its main character. I'm proud that hollywood could promote thus and distribute it to many people everywhere. Thank you, for once, and a FEW more times.
  63. finnedd.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This is much better than whatever fox has ever put out. This is hilarious. Katrina devoorts face had me on the floor. Really had a good time. Regained my respect with the oscars. If course its a ten.
  64. breakfastbeatsdinner
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Had me smiling the whole time. Don't know why people say this movie had a pro-life agenda. Just because she didnt go through with the abortion doesnt mean she pro-life. Pro-choice means you chose and you are open-minded to both options. So if you chose not to FET the abortion it doesnt mean a if a sudden your pro-life. Anyway the movie was moving, new, and entertaing all the way till Had me smiling the whole time. Don't know why people say this movie had a pro-life agenda. Just because she didnt go through with the abortion doesnt mean she pro-life. Pro-choice means you chose and you are open-minded to both options. So if you chose not to FET the abortion it doesnt mean a if a sudden your pro-life. Anyway the movie was moving, new, and entertaing all the way till the end of the credits. The vampire dong is horrible but all the young dudes by Mott the hoople and sea of love by cat power are amazing songs. Expand
  65. b-radjones
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Love the dialogue and how the mom says to bleeker how they have breakfast for dinner which is his favorite. So true for me also. "My pipe is my mistress in times of sorrow"- Juno.
  66. hobbitmother
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    "Juno (the roman god) was suppose to be really beautiful but really mean like diana Ross."- Juno I appreciate that line alot, that bitch. GO Juno. Wonder what diana thought if she watched this movie.
  67. Venicebeach
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    Good, out-of-the-box dialogue that captured my attention till the end. Very moving also. Good movie.
  68. robocop
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    This is so great, this movie use to have a lower grade now it raised. I dont know what it was before. Like a six something. Annoying conversations but really great acting. Overall I enjoyed the movie and it got out of a bad mood which I really needed at the time.
  69. vazzymint
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    Amazing movie, it must be seen by Juno-virgins.
  70. AlanS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Smart, funny and touching film. Like Knocked Up, Juno as a very pro-life POV, but is not preachy. One of the best comedy films ever. Lots of great performances.
  71. jeremyt
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    this movie had such heart and personality. The whole audience i saw it with loved it. Some people even brought cupcakes to the screening. The movie really left everybody with a good feeling afterwards.
  72. GrimReeper
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    This is a awesome movie, Ellen Page is a great actor and pulls off her role flawlessly. It might be for everyone but I loved it.
  73. MatthewR
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    a movie that knew the crowd that would like it and made it for them
  74. AndrijM.
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    A gem of a "small" film. Great acting and solid scripting. Does not hit a wrong note, and delivers laughs and insights.
  75. Peter
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Witty, funny dialogue and well acted and more deserving than the low rating some users gave it. Everyone in our showing (a full house) seemed to really enjoy it.
  76. HollyV.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    While many films crank the idiosyncrasies of the characters out of whack, this film delivers a cast that is surprisingly mundane: every day parents, fairly nerdy boyfriend who likes orange Tic Tacs... it's the way the characters talk and interact that's so funny. True, nothing explodes... but I'd already seen Live Free or Die Hard, so I was cool with that. If you like While many films crank the idiosyncrasies of the characters out of whack, this film delivers a cast that is surprisingly mundane: every day parents, fairly nerdy boyfriend who likes orange Tic Tacs... it's the way the characters talk and interact that's so funny. True, nothing explodes... but I'd already seen Live Free or Die Hard, so I was cool with that. If you like clever dialogue? You'll love Juno. Expand
  77. MikeS.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    Edges out No Country for Old Men for the best film of the year. The cast is perfect (besides perhaps Jennifer Garner).
  78. SN
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    I loved this movie, and it seemed as if everyone in the packed theater in which I saw it would agree. (And packed at a 4 pm showing.) It's fun and quirky, and shows how some people are already fully formed as teens, whereas the rest take far longer to grow up.
  79. MattM.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Fantastic film. So good it may be classified as underhyped.
  80. LauraV.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    I'm pro choice. But I think all abortion clinics should require a women to watch this movie before the parents gets an abortion in case this changes thier mind because this movie would change a bad situation into something good. Unless they care about getting fat or going through childbirth which is admittedly awful, messy and painful. However I do not begrudge a person for wanting I'm pro choice. But I think all abortion clinics should require a women to watch this movie before the parents gets an abortion in case this changes thier mind because this movie would change a bad situation into something good. Unless they care about getting fat or going through childbirth which is admittedly awful, messy and painful. However I do not begrudge a person for wanting to avoid the horrendous prospect of a childbirth they don't want. I've been there. It is a wonderful message movie along with being a good comedy since there's some people that can't have children that are desperate (although this movie didn't address that) so if young parents can just go through the pregnancy, this movie's message, just might be the answer. Expand
  81. RonR.
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    An amazing teen story using incredible actors (They actually ACT like REAL TEENS!). Story and Music blending together as if they were on the same page, which hasn't happened since A Clockwork Orange... not that is is anything like ACO... but I think you get my point. If you want to see reality in all it's drama and natural comedy, you will love this film. Everyone can learn from An amazing teen story using incredible actors (They actually ACT like REAL TEENS!). Story and Music blending together as if they were on the same page, which hasn't happened since A Clockwork Orange... not that is is anything like ACO... but I think you get my point. If you want to see reality in all it's drama and natural comedy, you will love this film. Everyone can learn from the 2 leads on how to really make the best out of life. Expand
  82. Brian
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    This is the best movie i've seen in a very long time. Anyone who loves movies should see this film!
  83. GennyT.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Geeesh, the number of people that don't have the maturity to enjoy a near perfect film amazes me. This film is a solid 9, but people that didn't receive a solid education score it lower. How Sad for them. While not "perfect", it's easily the best crafted film of 2007. There is no contrived story line... it's just pure story and real acting. Yes, Ellen Page is really Geeesh, the number of people that don't have the maturity to enjoy a near perfect film amazes me. This film is a solid 9, but people that didn't receive a solid education score it lower. How Sad for them. While not "perfect", it's easily the best crafted film of 2007. There is no contrived story line... it's just pure story and real acting. Yes, Ellen Page is really playing herself, but get over yourself, the quick witted banter she spews is beyond brilliant. Best in 40 years of movie making. Don't be a sob, go see it, it's happy / sad, and will make you THINK in the weeks, months to come. It's a REAL movie, not a single moment of contrived crap. only...... "If" you are educated...... ' - - Expand
  84. R.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    It is nice to see a great movie that tells a story in a funny, moving, and heartwarming way. Excellent acting by all of the stars.
  85. JamesM.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    The Best Animated Movie I Have Seen In Years.
  86. GenevièveB
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    wow, really a good movie. I really reccommend you all french frog to listen it in english... This movie is all about smart-funny dialogue.
  87. MrToad
    May 25, 2008
    10
    Fantastic, provided you can appreciate the flawed heroine. Charmingly over-the-top lines, memorable characters.....i could give even more cliche compliments if you want. Just see it.
  88. CrystalB.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Juno is probably the best comedy in the last 3 - 4 years. It's humor is so unlike other mainstream movies, and it is so different. The plot is very similar to some others but the quirky attitude really sets apart from other's. And the fact that this is the second movie Ellen Page has done really says a lot about her abilities and her carrier's potential. Page and Juno is probably the best comedy in the last 3 - 4 years. It's humor is so unlike other mainstream movies, and it is so different. The plot is very similar to some others but the quirky attitude really sets apart from other's. And the fact that this is the second movie Ellen Page has done really says a lot about her abilities and her carrier's potential. Page and Cera's chemistry is so awkward, it really fit the part. Expand
  89. JeremyE.
    Feb 22, 2009
    10
    Great movie! definitely worth seeing. Very deserving of it's best best picture nomination
  90. rackemrack
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This movie is totally boss. Go suck It no country for old men. I related to this so much. Just how she handles things and her facial expression are perfect. I feel a kinship between me and Juno.
  91. joeyh.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I'm real different from Juno but my cousin is like her carbon copy. I'm surprised they got her down in a movie so perfectly. I love Juno for that and how unique It is. I'm proud.
  92. mr.blues
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I'm happy Juno is representing a group of people other people don't know about. I'm from a social group completely devoted to being unique. It promotes diversity. This movie is an advertisement for being original and unconventional when there's no need to have another thing thats common. This movie is the orgasm to my sex.
  93. cokeacola
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Much love to the thing in the oven. Very cool movie. The hippyness is a complete caricature to todays youths jargon. The vernacular in this movie is awesome. Love this movie to death. The language is like Picasso. It unrealistic but brilliant. Come on people, let's not complain about a good thing.
  94. LindsayY.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    ellen page is extraordinary. No words can describe her snatch or her acting skills. She makes thus movie realistic with her acting, mannerisms, and face acting. An oscar is cumin her way soon. I know it, god told me and my cat told me. She doesn't predict earthquakes she predicts worthy winners.
  95. BillC
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Hated it for a long a** time but I rewatched thrice. Thanks to a friend. Watched it four times. Liked it the 3rd time. Loved it the fourth. Currently its my 5th.
  96. typicalJew
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Pulling off the blanket and putting it on my wet, naked body and laying down in bed watching this movie is my favorite way to spend night.
  97. jeezcheese
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Definatly not a chick flick. It so much more. Its love and originality. Its beauty in how unique life can be I'm grateful I came in contact with this movie. God thank you.
  98. MikeD.
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Finally a comedy with unconventional romantic moments isnt corny. None of it is corny. It stays very cool throughout. I appreciate that. Its different and that's refreshing.
  99. mislysmily
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Everytime I watch American beauty I follow up with this because it just goes great together. There both very well and its awesome. Its both realistic in there own way. I think I enjoy Juno more. That's why I watch it second like a finale. Go watch it if you havent its really well made.
  100. stanb
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I can't agree more with the critcs they are completely right. Finally they are correct.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. A blithe charmer balanced somewhere between a life-should-be-so-neat fairy tale and a life's-a-real-bitch tragicomedy, leaves political debate at the ticket counter and focuses solely on what it's like for Juno MacGuff to be Juno MacGuff.
  2. It’s the writer, Diablo Cody, and the director, Jason Reitman, who have screws loose. Or maybe they’re just desperate to make their film a chick "Rushmore" or "Garden State."
  3. 88
    There's a special kick that comes in finding a new star. So step up, Ellen Page, and take your bows.