Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: December 5, 2007
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1227 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,023
Mixed:
83
Negative:
121
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
C.B.Dec 9, 2007
This is a great movie. Amazing performances by Ellen Page, Michael Cera, Allison Janney, J.K. Simmons & Jennifer Garner. I'm surprised to see some of the hate in the User Comments. Can you bitter schmucks actually gave this movie a 2? This is a great movie. Amazing performances by Ellen Page, Michael Cera, Allison Janney, J.K. Simmons & Jennifer Garner. I'm surprised to see some of the hate in the User Comments. Can you bitter schmucks actually gave this movie a 2? I'd love to see what Michael B., Sara E. & Aaron S. think is an 8. Or a 5. Those are three metacritic readers that rate good movies lower to get their twisted kicks... Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
6
HSOct 15, 2009
I don't think that the movie is so bad... you can sit there and just let everything go. but by no means is it the most brilliant show ever. and yes the script can get a little annoying!! however Genny T there is no need to call people I don't think that the movie is so bad... you can sit there and just let everything go. but by no means is it the most brilliant show ever. and yes the script can get a little annoying!! however Genny T there is no need to call people who don't like it uneducated... i have a brilliant education and the movie only scored a 6 for me so. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
6
asylumspadezNov 27, 2011
Seriously overrated. I think overall that it was an ok film but I wasnt really into it as much as others may have been. The acting was fine and Ellen Page was a good lead but it was just so stupid to me.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
GeorgeR.Jan 17, 2008
This movie is funny, beautifully acted, and charming all at the same time. A great movie!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JackRJun 13, 2009
I started watching this movie on my iPod as I was sitting on the toilet. I was releasing. One hour and thirty-six minutes later I was still on the toilet way passed being done. That was the longest time I've ever spent being on a I started watching this movie on my iPod as I was sitting on the toilet. I was releasing. One hour and thirty-six minutes later I was still on the toilet way passed being done. That was the longest time I've ever spent being on a toilet. I enjoyed every moment. I'm now immune to bad smells. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnZDec 5, 2007
So funny. omg. what a great movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
Justinavery7074Apr 4, 2011
The movie was almost solid. It could've been better if the didn't **** up the dialogue by putting some of the worst things that I've ever heard in it. And Ellen Page was only good. Goddamn academy. And why is it that she only gets to beThe movie was almost solid. It could've been better if the didn't **** up the dialogue by putting some of the worst things that I've ever heard in it. And Ellen Page was only good. Goddamn academy. And why is it that she only gets to be clever? **** you academy. This should've never been awarded best original screenplay. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
rotkuMay 20, 2012
Started well but ran out of steam about half way through. Page is excellent throughout but I expected more from the Bateman/Garmer couple and it did feel a little like an MTV show.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Feb 11, 2013
Juno is a mess. You know there is a problem when every character, especially Ellen page, is either extremely annoying or irritating. Like the characters the movie is uninteresting and frankly a waste of time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
jake000116Mar 21, 2014
waited for the movie to start getting good, and it just never did!, one of the worst movies I've seen, humour wasn't funnier at all, and the songs in the film when they sing are just terrible!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxJan 11, 2017
Film pour ados neuneus et autres adulescents pas finis dans lequel une jeune gourdasse tente de refourguer le polichinelle qu'elle a dans le tiroir à l'insu de son plein gré. Sirupeux, niaiseux, neuneu (je l'ai déjà dit mais ça va mieux en leFilm pour ados neuneus et autres adulescents pas finis dans lequel une jeune gourdasse tente de refourguer le polichinelle qu'elle a dans le tiroir à l'insu de son plein gré. Sirupeux, niaiseux, neuneu (je l'ai déjà dit mais ça va mieux en le disant) et branchouille du genre "mon film social sur la société des jeunes immatures trop cools" mais en politiquement correct parce que, faut pas pas déconner, l'avortement c'est le mal et que la pillule du lendemain, c'est pas encore rentré dans les moeurs (on est aux Etats-Unis ouais ouais).

Pour accompagner ce pseudo-film d'une lenteur d'escargot aux dialogues Marie-Claire et Podium mélangés pleins de béni-oui-oui jusqu'à chier des fleurs partout, la musique Flanby à deux de tension est à se liquéfier sur place et même si Ellen Page est toute mimi, on n'a qu'une envie : la baillonner et l'étouffer dans son sirop de grenadine avec son demeuré de petit copain attardé. Putain de purge chienémerdographique.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
ThePizzaman100Dec 13, 2011
this movie successfully created the most unlikable main character ever. then they add hipster belle and Sebastian songs to make it seem so against the man. god it made me laugh...so bad...
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
BadsniperAug 5, 2011
Honestly, it wasn't really funny, or really clever, or really anything. It was just a movie to watch, it didn't entice me or connect me to the characters; it was just O.K., nothing more. I can see the effort and the great acting, but theHonestly, it wasn't really funny, or really clever, or really anything. It was just a movie to watch, it didn't entice me or connect me to the characters; it was just O.K., nothing more. I can see the effort and the great acting, but the story just was not interesting to me. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
CooterPatooterFeb 21, 2012
Juno is a film full of extremely unappealing people which has been tailor-made to appeal to a teenage audience, who luckily for director Reitman, don't have a fully developed crap-detector yet. Side note - Ellen Page wasn't playing Juno...Juno is a film full of extremely unappealing people which has been tailor-made to appeal to a teenage audience, who luckily for director Reitman, don't have a fully developed crap-detector yet. Side note - Ellen Page wasn't playing Juno... she was playing Ellen Page as Juno. Previous and subsequent performances are all Ellen Page clones. The whole sarcasm-dipped banter thing isn't fresh or funny anymore, my dear. Broaden your horizons immediately, if you're even able, before the slow death of type-casting takes hold. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
Juno is a charmer. I'm not only talking about Ellen Page as Juno MacGuff, but Juno as a whole. It's an intelligent comedy that only comes around every couple of years.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
KivaAug 20, 2013
Juno was a good movie. I wasn't surprised but I was a little disappointed as I expected a little more from that movie as the reviews from the critics and the users are high. It has a great cast especially Ellen's Page performance which shouldJuno was a good movie. I wasn't surprised but I was a little disappointed as I expected a little more from that movie as the reviews from the critics and the users are high. It has a great cast especially Ellen's Page performance which should have been awarded with an Oscar. The plot wasn't something really amazing but the whole film was entertaining It had some funny moments and some quite a bit sad moments. It is entertaining and easily watched and if you like this kind of comedies you will like it. I liked it but I was expecting more.. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Mar 8, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Juno is one of the best independent films ever. It really has a story that you really wouldn't expect to be that unique but it is so innovative. You don't have to be a hipster to love Juno but it may help. Ellen Page is outstanding in this film and its unfortunate that she didn't really get a real chance to be a comedy star like she was in this film. She is really funny and the character suits her so well.

Beside Page you have several note worthy names like Michael Cera, Jennifer Garner, Jason Bateman and JK Simmons. The whole cast is great but Diablo Cody's script is as much the star as anyone in the film. The story avoids clichés and there are so many moments where the dialogue is exceptional which explains why this movie won an Oscar for its screenplay.

The only issue that I have with Juno is Jason Bateman's absence in during the ending. I'm not always a big fan of Jason Bateman but he was so good in this movie and he avoided falling into the same character that he always plays but he was still super likeable despite deserting his wife right before they are going to adopt a baby. Bateman's character left pretty late in the film and I wasn't expecting him to kiss and make up but I think he should have at least been involved in the film's ending. Juno is still great though and I can't believe I waited so long to watch it.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
TashikaOct 30, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. hmm this movie is probably only interesting to young-older teens. not funny at all! I could see that they tried to be funny but it was more of like a goofy/silly type thing that immature ppl would find funny. the only part i found interesting was the drama between the adopting couple. other than that... eh. I HATE the sarcasm in the movie. I was like HELLO theres a 16 year old girl thats pregnant! does anybody care? its like they make it seem "OK"! the parents didnt seem to be too worried or shocked and the girl seemed like she could care less. If i was her parent i'd be PISSED at the fact that my daughter was having sex at that age knowing the consequences. these parents seem just as irresponsible as their kid. This is NOT the message that we should be sending to teens. and i actually believe the only smart thing this girl did was give the baby up for adoption. that comment the doc said when she was giving the ulrasound saying the teen mother shouldnt raise her baby cause she'd be in a poisonous environment was actually something i'd agree with. plus teens dont know how great it is to have their freedom until they r responsible for the life of a child. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
MovieBuff36Aug 28, 2012
Ellen Page shines as Juno MacGuff! She delivers a bright and shiny performance. I don't know if many audience members are aware of this, but Diablo Cody, who wrote the screenplay for this film was inspired by her life when she was 16 andEllen Page shines as Juno MacGuff! She delivers a bright and shiny performance. I don't know if many audience members are aware of this, but Diablo Cody, who wrote the screenplay for this film was inspired by her life when she was 16 and pregnant in which it shows exactly what can happen during pregnancy and how it can guiltily affect your boyfriend that got you pregnant from sexual intercourse. Juno MacGuff acts like she doesn't care if she's pregnant, but she was smart about it and she does act like she is facing the challenges of being pregnant and she still does care about her boyfriend, Paul Bleeker (Michael Cera). Paul Bleeker still cared about her also. He felt guilty about getting her pregnant, but they still love each other and Page and Cera play cool characters. But what's great is the coming-of-age-type of love story between the two where they have great and intelligent chemistry with each other. And where the film's soul comes from is from the strong character development between the two from start to finish and where she faces a lot of hard decisions about being pregnant around her family and friends and between giving it up for adoption or the other. And strangely enough, it was romantically funny between the two. It's directed like a sitcom, but Jason Reitman makes a wonderful image out of it; especially the hilarious and moving performances of Michael Cera and Ellen Page and the impressive dialogue. Juno MacGuff (Ellen Page) is obnoxious as hell, but Ellen Page was great at her emotions and her obnoxious, yet very smart and intelligently written script. And hey, thanks to Diablo Cody's writing that was inspired by her 16 and pregnant life, it was well done with Juno MacGuff's smartitude, because her smartitude is what made her smart about her pregnancy. Diablo Cody's writing is also what made the script intelligently clever, smart, and not funny but beyond that: Hilarious! To give the audience an experience of being pregnant during high school, it gets the job done with impressive writing from Diablo Cody that made it so smart and intelligent. The love story between Juno and Paul was well-inspired. Especially due to the fact they played great characters. If you hate this wonderful movie, I would feel bad for you because where is your soul? Let me remind you haters this is a very touching movie that gives you clues of what being 16 and pregnant is like since it shows exactly what can happen when a some is pregnant - even when she gave birth and the guilt her boyfriend faced. Besides, wasn't it emotionally intense when she gave birth? Because this film shows how pregnancy can be in every way effective. Besides, It is romantically funny between Juno and Paul, so don't underestimate their character development and chemistry either, because hating this movie would be just soulless. Besides, like I said, she is obnoxious as hell, but she is cool like that, she's bright, sweet, charmingly and cleverly funny, smart, and intelligent. You would be an idiot to underestimate Juno MacGuff's awesome personality. Also, DO NOT underestimate Diablo Cody's superb writing and/or the romantic development between Juno and Paul either! Even if you hate the film considering Juno to be annoying, you are still an idiot, because she is very cool like Ellen Page. One of the coolest things about her is hamburger phone: that was clever as hell! I honestly think Juno was flawed, but thanks to Jason Reitman and Diablo Cody, writing and acting inspired from life of someone (yes, Diablo Cody) who was pregnant at age 16 gives it a coherent soul to captives your heart into a wonderfully explanatory experience of teenage pregnancy - especially since it shows how teenage pregnancy can be both personally and emotionally effective - even on your friends and family - well done by it's sweet and charming qualities - and Ellen Page, who helped made it sweet and charming due to her character and performance. Thank her and the rest of the cast also! And you know what, how can you hate this? You would be a disgrace to hate it. This movie has soul and it would be the perfect movie to watch in Health class in High School to give students clues of teenage pregnancy. Hating this movie, would be soulless. Shame on ANYONE who hates Juno! And yes, I mean you also! You haters would just make me sick! Although you haters may find Juno annoying: She is actually very sweet and clever! DON'T UNDERESTIMATE HER and/or Ellen Page. Especially Diablo Cody's writing. That would just make you haters inconsiderate with no soul. And haters, have you seen the show 16 and Pregnant on MTV? If so, that TV show ACTUALLY shows what I mentioned about teen pregnancy before and depicts it between Juno & Paul. I would also like to point out again that the screenplay of this film was inspired by Diablo Cody's life as a 16 year-old pregnant girl so think twice before you hate. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
gagaforeverSep 20, 2010
My favorite movie! Ellen Page is the only person who could have done this part. The movie shows how fun life can be, while blending that with the up and down rollercoaster of teenage life. I cried when she had the baby because I knewthatMy favorite movie! Ellen Page is the only person who could have done this part. The movie shows how fun life can be, while blending that with the up and down rollercoaster of teenage life. I cried when she had the baby because I knewthat even though the baby was not going to be brought up by Juno, that she was still eternally, and forever the baby's mother Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
0
MovieMan12Jun 13, 2013
Such an annyoying movie. That one kid who acts like an alien in every movie is horrible. Ellen Page was a total you know what. Gross. Making teen pregnancy look like something fun.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
JasonZ.Oct 8, 2008
A terrible, horrible, and COMPLETELY over rated comedy. It was an hour and a half of hipster bollocks being shoved down my throat. There was ONE part that made me laugh. The other 89 minutes or so I was looking for something to shove into my A terrible, horrible, and COMPLETELY over rated comedy. It was an hour and a half of hipster bollocks being shoved down my throat. There was ONE part that made me laugh. The other 89 minutes or so I was looking for something to shove into my ear drums to stop the relentless hipster soundtrack. UGH. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
rainerFeb 17, 2008
Wholly implausible, overly written, hipster-wannabe Industry calling-card script flatly directed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
IsaacJan 2, 2008
if you have a penis, do NOT see this movie. It will fall off. Also, worst soundtrack ever.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MattTiesFeb 3, 2008
Juno - the bottomline

Message to filmmakers: Don't put anything on screen that you don't have the slightest clue about! Do your homework and research first. Did you notice anything while watching this film? 1.: The film, as
Juno - the bottomline

Message to filmmakers: Don't put anything on screen that you don't have the slightest clue about! Do your homework and research first.

Did you notice anything while watching this film?

1.: The film, as so many others, once more reinforces outdated mis-information about childbirth despite very contrary research findings, reaching a huge audience and in doing so contributing to bad birth decisions - which unfortunately too many parents make already these days on a routine basis.

Take an hour and do a Google search to find out why - and don't only read the first two pages that come up - or just believe the nonsense this and other films dump into your brain, but don't say later you couldn't know any better. Your choice.

"Birth in hospital is normal and best." WRONG. Fact: For healthy mothers with normal pregnancies, birth in hospital is more dangerous than at home.

"An epidural is normal and necessary." WRONG. Fact: Epidurals routinely cause serious side effects on mother and baby with not uncommonly terrible health impacts that last for years or a lifetime. They also slow down the birth process, often making further medical interventions necessary that wouldn't have been necessary without an epidural.

"Birth is given lying on your back." WRONG. Fact: Lying on your back makes the whole birth process significantly slower, harder, and more painful, increases the risk of birth injuries and also the likeliness of further medical intervention like instrumental birth, medical induction / speed up, and caesarean section.

Did you notice any of these things when you saw the film? No? That's how seriously you have already been manipulated throughout your life into thinking that all this is "normal" and "right".

2.: The only responsible solution for teenage pregnancy is giving the child up for adoption. Particularly in the film's setting, this is sheer nonsense. There is absolutely no reason why a sixteen year old mother can not responsibly raise her child if she has the intelligence of Juno as well as the sound financial AND moral support of her parents - be it with or without the father of the baby. Simply assuming that this is not possible is disregarding all those young mothers - and also fathers - who do a really great job raising their children, with the help of relatives and friends, and often provide a much better environment for their children to grow up than the typical neurotic hung-up and emotionally immature couples that seems to be the norm in many "normal" families these days.

Bottomline: An interesting film concept, taken into an unreflected, outdated stone age direction, and in doing so, unfortunately ruined. Additionally the film sabotages the efforts of all those who work hard to make objective birth information a part of public knowledge, and adds to the misinformation and manipulation that parents-to-be are bombarded by already.

Don't believe a single source of information - DO YOUR HOMEWORK and find out for yourself.

Thanks for thinking. Your baby will love you for it!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
kylebApr 14, 2008
This movie has no conflict. It's a bunch of well adjusted people dealing maturely with a problem and then it ends. The hint of conflict that does arise with Bateman's character not wanting to play along never goes anywhere. That This movie has no conflict. It's a bunch of well adjusted people dealing maturely with a problem and then it ends. The hint of conflict that does arise with Bateman's character not wanting to play along never goes anywhere. That plot line is simply abandoned. The whole movie is just an excuse for Ellen Page to make mildly funny hipster wise cracks. The people raving about this movie are the type that look at a painting of a solid red square and claim to be deeply moved because someone labeled it modern art. It's a movie for posers, about posers. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EdC.Apr 26, 2008
There was no action. I never laughed once. The dialogue was just a bunch of wise mouth cracks. There was no flow. There was no climax. It was awful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
HarryParatestesApr 27, 2008
For the love of god. I felt like I was just watching MTV for and hour and a half. And I hate MTV. Here is Juno in a nutshell: Blast Unbearable Indie music , blast more terrible indieFor the love of god. I felt like I was just watching MTV for and hour and a half. And I hate MTV. Here is Juno in a nutshell: Blast Unbearable Indie music , blast more terrible indie music , Crank more horrible indie music Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JakeJ.May 3, 2008
This movie sucks. It has a horrible plot!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SallyM.Jan 17, 2008
Sadly over-praised, and smugly over-pleased with itself. This isn't the fault of the actors, who were for the most part good, but of the writer and director. I didn't find it funny or within the realm of reaity or original. I found Sadly over-praised, and smugly over-pleased with itself. This isn't the fault of the actors, who were for the most part good, but of the writer and director. I didn't find it funny or within the realm of reaity or original. I found it utterly stupid and manipulative. The irony is that I went to see it and after 45 minutes, the projector broke. Had to go back and watch and listen to the same self-satisfied crud again. Very disappointed. Most over-estimated movie of the year. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AnnaMar 18, 2008
It's fine. Just not great.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JackBApr 1, 2008
I agree with a lot of the lower scored voters who say that it was alright...but not great. It had the occasional moments of humor but nothing that i would class as "laugh out loud." There#s a modern and decent plot which isn't overdone, I agree with a lot of the lower scored voters who say that it was alright...but not great. It had the occasional moments of humor but nothing that i would class as "laugh out loud." There#s a modern and decent plot which isn't overdone, but I'm not sure why its got a lot of the accolades that it appears to have. I felt occasionally it seemed like a made for tv movie and at the end of it i was a little bemused that id paid £5 to watch. If i had to give a recommendation in a sentence i would say that its alright to rent out if you have nothing else to do one Saturday night, a nice movie to watch with the girlfriend perhaps. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GeoffG.Apr 28, 2008
I think it's just childish to insult others for their opinion on a review site (LET ME TELL YOU WHY I'M RIGHT AND YOU'RE NOT). Everyone has different tastes, just give your output and don't insult. That doesn't help I think it's just childish to insult others for their opinion on a review site (LET ME TELL YOU WHY I'M RIGHT AND YOU'RE NOT). Everyone has different tastes, just give your output and don't insult. That doesn't help ANYONE. Those comments aside, I disliked Juno. The premise is untapped and fresh, the cast are all in their prime, and it's produced by fox searchlight. It had the makings of a fantastic flick, but failed miserably in the script writing. I actually think Diablo Cody masturbated to the script while writing it, in the way he blatantly force-feeds cool. The unlikeable character Juno alone ruined the movie for me, every scene where she was meant to "stick it to the man", she comes off looking like a snooty, self-serving, preggie bitch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AndyH.Jun 18, 2008
By no means Oscar worthy, Juno is a contrived attempt at recreating what made films like Little Miss Sunshine and The Royal Tenenbaums great.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
peterfileOct 15, 2009
This film is as unintelligent and trashy as the self-absorbed redneck charcters that feature in Juno. The music seems like it was picked by a deaf squirrel and the script written by a filthy arab goat. In fact, I would rather feed my This film is as unintelligent and trashy as the self-absorbed redneck charcters that feature in Juno. The music seems like it was picked by a deaf squirrel and the script written by a filthy arab goat. In fact, I would rather feed my genitals to ravenous vultures, eat my own feces and support the collingwood football club than watch this insufferable film again. Juno only appeals to dull-minded, dirty, inbred rednecks and people who take sick pleasure from watching lacklustre actors hack through a sub-par script with tacky, self-indulgent one-liners. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RobertDec 23, 2007
An awful movie. This is the kind of humor an elderly person might enjoy. The main character gets annoying and it is simply not funny. Don't waste your money.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JonahT.Dec 5, 2007
All the hype around Diablo Cody and this movie had me dying to see it. First day - I'm there. Wow. What a disappointment. It is just dreadful. The characters all sound the same, none of it is the least bit convincing (not even as a All the hype around Diablo Cody and this movie had me dying to see it. First day - I'm there. Wow. What a disappointment. It is just dreadful. The characters all sound the same, none of it is the least bit convincing (not even as a funhouse mirror reflection of reality) and the humor has no snap. Terrible acting and soundtrack. It's just wall to wall bad. I can only assume all the glowing reviews are a byproduct of the feel-good-girl-power-breakout-screenwriter bandwagon. It happens sometimes. Remember how Nia Vardalos was going to take over Hollywood? Sorry... but the emperess has no clothes. Which kind of makes sense... Cody used to be a stripper. Maybe she shouldn't quit her night job. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
2
NickG.Dec 5, 2007
Dialogue that is only heard in the heads of the insane. Bad acting. Bad direction.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
SandyP.Dec 5, 2007
Yikes, did this ever stink. Everyone I was in the theater with couldn't wait to leave. The critics must be itching for another Little Miss Sunshine. Sorry, but this ain't it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AaronS.Dec 6, 2007
Overrated. A smug and hipper than thou film that never rings true.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
emilywildeApr 23, 2008
Nice try Nick. This movie blew and no matter how defensive you get, that simple fact will not change. Trystan M. pretty much summed up why this movie sucked with his comments. This year's Little Miss Sunshine. Trying to be too smart forNice try Nick. This movie blew and no matter how defensive you get, that simple fact will not change. Trystan M. pretty much summed up why this movie sucked with his comments. This year's Little Miss Sunshine. Trying to be too smart for its own good and just ends up failing miserably. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
liambOct 18, 2009
This film is absolute filth. i wish i could have ripped that foetus from Juno's belly with a pair of unsanitary tongs, scraping the insides of her vagina for added effect.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
8
FitriAmirrolNov 19, 2010
Juno is outstandingly scripted, wonderfully acted, and despite narrating a rather slow-paced story, it touches on appropriately compelling notes with the right yet subtle amount of poignance, passion and power.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ERG1008Sep 1, 2010
Teenager gets accidentally pregnant, decides to give the baby to a middle class couple when it's born.
Great film that's full of charm & very sweet.
Ellen Page is fantastic as the quirky yet very dry Juno. Good supporting cast & a great
Teenager gets accidentally pregnant, decides to give the baby to a middle class couple when it's born.
Great film that's full of charm & very sweet.
Ellen Page is fantastic as the quirky yet very dry Juno. Good supporting cast & a great soundtrack to go with it.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
FDT44Jan 10, 2011
Coming-of-age story told with remarkable witt, adroitness, authenticity, and essence. The dialogue is thorough and adept without losing its younger viewers. "Juno" is a smart comedy/drama that, at times, comes across a bit brusque, but winsComing-of-age story told with remarkable witt, adroitness, authenticity, and essence. The dialogue is thorough and adept without losing its younger viewers. "Juno" is a smart comedy/drama that, at times, comes across a bit brusque, but wins your heart through the 9 month journey of a teen-made-mom facing the astringent sociological and physiological effects of a "fly-by-night" decision. However, instances of quixotic support from parents and quirky relationships make "Juno" less believable, and more Hollywood than you would like to see, but manages to keep your attention long enough through Page's brilliant performance. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
juliankleissJan 7, 2011
Reminds us that there are alternatives to abortion. Also helps during one's search for identity by encouraging to just be oneself. Suggests not to chase a fancy lover, but be with the one who cares - the best friend. Fast paced, very likable,Reminds us that there are alternatives to abortion. Also helps during one's search for identity by encouraging to just be oneself. Suggests not to chase a fancy lover, but be with the one who cares - the best friend. Fast paced, very likable, and sometimes beautiful. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
jAbMaNJan 31, 2011
Very funny PG-13 movie and Ellen Page plays the greatest role on the movie. Also, the soundtrack is amazing and all of the jokes on the movie are hilarious.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
jp992751Jan 26, 2011
For what it is...it passes. Not sure I agree with the subject matter or how it was handled by the characters , but Ellen Page came of as charming despite her offbeat personality and Michael Cera continues to slowly grow on me. It may not be aFor what it is...it passes. Not sure I agree with the subject matter or how it was handled by the characters , but Ellen Page came of as charming despite her offbeat personality and Michael Cera continues to slowly grow on me. It may not be a straight up comedy as some suggest but it does have its moments of laugh out loud dialogue and situations. Juno seems more fit for a selective audience but as an indie film I have to say that I rather enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
Spielberg00Sep 15, 2011
Starring the actress we know from INCEPTION and WHIP IT and the actor we know from SCOTT PILGRIM VS. THE WORLD and SUPERBAD, JUNO is a ridiculously funny comedy about an unplanned teen pregnancy. When I rented it, even though it was nominatedStarring the actress we know from INCEPTION and WHIP IT and the actor we know from SCOTT PILGRIM VS. THE WORLD and SUPERBAD, JUNO is a ridiculously funny comedy about an unplanned teen pregnancy. When I rented it, even though it was nominated for a few Oscars and was highly praised review-wise, I feared that it would be an "indie" twist on the usual dumb-humor farce; but it's extremely simple to say that that's not at all what this was. It was an amazing blend of controversy and laughs that, quite surprisingly, weren't from raunchiness or crudeness, but rather from the cleverness of the plot and sub-plots altogether. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MyffubsJun 26, 2012
Juno is the sort of film that is hampered by aspects of its approach, yet surprisingly winning in its outcome. Ellen Page stars as the titular Juno MacGuff, who becomes pregnant after, well, having sex. She could be termed quirky and is a bitJuno is the sort of film that is hampered by aspects of its approach, yet surprisingly winning in its outcome. Ellen Page stars as the titular Juno MacGuff, who becomes pregnant after, well, having sex. She could be termed quirky and is a bit of a wiseass -- especially for someone who forgets basic biology -- but the performance makes her disarmingly likable. Juno of course decides to have the baby and to then give it up for adoption, and the film follows her through the remaining course of her pregnancy. Director Jason Reitman's previous Thank You for Smoking was justly praised, and here he has created an equally enjoyable experience. Diablo Cody's script is perhaps a little too self conscious -- would anyone ever use the phrase "honest to blog"? -- but she shows a knack for creating memorable characters with occasionally humorous dialogue. The proceedings are definitely aided by a talented cast. Michael Cera shines here with his unique meek charm as the, um, baby-daddy. J.K. Simmons and Allison Janney have excellent bit parts as Juno's father and stepmother. However the majority of the acting credit must go to both Jason Bateman and Jennifer Garner as the potential adoptive parents, and who provide valid dramatic counterpoints to the otherwise sweet comedy in the foreground. Though the self-congratulatory wittiness may grate some and the twee-filled soundtrack may prove taxing to others -- plenty may fall into both categories -- Juno ends up coming together nicely on just about every level. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JaySupertrampFeb 6, 2012
Ellen Page in her best acting so far. This movie is brilliant from the first minute on. It is not so funny I expected ... it comes more like a dramedy though this is what makes this film even better! Brilliant acting and plot.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Sep 1, 2012
So unique. Quirky, awkward, and just great. Best picture?...... no. However, it provided a tender message that had a lasting impact. You have to appreciate the weirdness of this film or you will not like it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJan 8, 2015
A realistic and touching depiction of teenage pregnancy, Juno is a real winner. Ellen Page is a shining star here in a powerhouse performance where she truly commands the screen. Michael Cera is his typical hilariously awkward self here,A realistic and touching depiction of teenage pregnancy, Juno is a real winner. Ellen Page is a shining star here in a powerhouse performance where she truly commands the screen. Michael Cera is his typical hilariously awkward self here, while J.K. Simmons would have had my favorite performance here, if not for Page's turn in the lead role. The writing is very strong and some of the exchanges here were absolutely hilarious. The characters all also very well-written and feel like authentic 16 year olds. The direction from Jason Reitman is also very good and the story is very well told here. The title sequence was also one of the coolest I have seen. I usually do not notice that too much, but here, it was really well done and the music was perfect for it. Finally, I typically do not find comedies that funny for whatever reason, but here, I was laughing quite often. The film was a great blend of drama and comedy and it was refreshing for me to find a film that I found to be 50/50 in that regard, rather than a dramedy that never really makes me laugh. Overall, really authentic coming of age film that strikes a chord without question. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ShepardNaturalOct 18, 2013
Very cool movie!!! Great acting and the plot is not tired. Look!!!
the film is about a strong girl who overcomes the difficulties of life and learn new things) Film with a deep meaning which will transform your life and you'll never the same.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 17, 2012
The dialogue rattles off so sharply and originally, you can't help but be entranced by Juno's wit. It also has an emotional core, and some genuine heartwarming moments. Reitman, like Alexander Payne, is a master of the human comedy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TheWalrus2000Mar 11, 2013
Juno is the ultimate teen movie, Jaspon Reitman clearly shows how much he understands teens lifestyle, thoughts, and humor. It provides fun and lovable performances and a wonderful plot that sooth the hearts of audiences everywhere.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Gamer147Oct 31, 2014
What an awesome movie. Smooth, delicious and fun was the story, yet not all that special. A seven, maybe an eight, if not for the wonderful cast, whom I happen to adore. Michael Cera and Ellen Page are by far (next to Brad Pitt) my favoriteWhat an awesome movie. Smooth, delicious and fun was the story, yet not all that special. A seven, maybe an eight, if not for the wonderful cast, whom I happen to adore. Michael Cera and Ellen Page are by far (next to Brad Pitt) my favorite actors, both so uniquely good at the roles they play (Ellen having a bit of a wider range, Michael portraying his character oh-so-awesomely, they both make an excellent team, one that I absolutely cherish!).
So fun, and real and raw at the same time at certain moments. More of Ellen Page. And Michael Cera. And Brad Pitt (but that's off the record).
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
fab792Dec 2, 2013
honestly in all its simplicity i like this movie ver much Maybe a little overarated but ellen page e michael cera in particolary have done a wonderful work credit to them .
Recommended for all
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeMar 5, 2017
A little overrated, but a good movie nonetheless, Juno had great acting performances, an original story, a great soundtrack and it was, overall, pretty entertaining. Even if it's not as good as what people and critics say, you should give it a try.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
timrichieOct 19, 2014
Only surpassed by No Country for Old Men, Juno is one of the best movies not only in 2007 but in the whole decade, due to a marvelous performance by Ellen page and masterful direction by Jason Reitman.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
mm007Feb 16, 2017
[7/10]
Pros:
1.Medium runtime (about 1.5 HR) which is a good thing. 2.The movie is full of color. 3.Teens are gonna love this movie. 4.Cool dialogues!! Cons: 1.Can give wrong message to the school going teens. 2.Script was fair, but nothing
[7/10]
Pros:
1.Medium runtime (about 1.5 HR) which is a good thing.
2.The movie is full of color. 3.Teens are gonna love this movie.
4.Cool dialogues!!
Cons:
1.Can give wrong message to the school going teens.
2.Script was fair, but nothing extraordinary,bit predictable.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
hanneguacamoleDec 1, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Juno's cute, quirky aesthetic really brings the whole film to life. Each character – even the minor ones – seem to be well-developed and have their own unique attributes. Juno's life is so strange that it would never be real, but that's the charm. This fantastical girl facing a real problem, therefore bringing the deeper topic of teenage pregnancy to a forefront.

"She's just different." "You know it wasn't his idea." Being pregnant with BEAKER'S baby? Who woulda thought! Certainly not anyone who had met Beaker – making their relationship even more the comical. Juno and Bleaker's relationship is so accurate with its miniscule social interactions. They're in high school so neither of them knows how to deal with a baby. That's where the adoptive parents come in.

Juno is naïve, she's innocent. She doesn't know that her "relationship" with Mark will cause her to lose her faith in love. She's just a spunky teenager that likes to talk and make friends. Even though the Lorings split up, possible due to Juno, it's not sad. The way in which each major event comes about brings nothing but humor and youthfulness. "Why are you over here right now?" It's because Juno is Juno. The movie is as unique as the girl and that message shines through.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
E_blissJun 9, 2015
Light-hearted comedy with a great performance from Ellen Page. Not too cliched and has a well written story-line. I think whether you are a teenager or an adult this film definitely appeals to all audiences.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisSep 28, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a great movie. Amazing performances by Ellen Page, Michael Cera, Allison Janney, J.K. Simmons & Jennifer Garner. I'm surprised to see some of the hate in the User Comments. Can you bitter schmucks actually gave this movie a 2? I'd love to see what Michael B., Sara E. & Aaron S. think is an 8. Or a 5. Those are three metacritic readers that rate good movies lower to get their twisted kicks... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
AaronWasserman1Apr 11, 2016
I really enjoy this movie, it isn't like your typical comedy. It is far more intelligent than that, and is filled with great performances, especially Simmons, Garner, and Page.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Aaron_WassermanJun 1, 2016
This movie is very good! A story about a pregnant teenager is a touching one, and a very real one. The movie handles this in a really good way and is such a fun and emotional movie to watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MasterRileyJun 3, 2017
Juno is a very good film that is both entertaining and thought provoking. The performances and characters feel very honest and real, as they deal with an unexpected pregnancy. The film also does a good job of surprising you along the way asJuno is a very good film that is both entertaining and thought provoking. The performances and characters feel very honest and real, as they deal with an unexpected pregnancy. The film also does a good job of surprising you along the way as not everything you may expect actually happens. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TracyRJan 2, 2008
Fabulous movie. Smart, real and hysterical. Could not be better written and acted. Just terrific. One of the best movies I've seen all year....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveLJan 2, 2008
Wow, a lot of hate for this movie. Most of the complaints concern the hype for the film, so maybe I lucked out, having heard none. In any case, I thought Juno was one of the better movies I've seen in a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattAJan 27, 2008
The film Juno featured sharp dialogue and interesting characters, which add up to be one of my favorite films of the year. The dialogue is hilarious and there is so much subtle humor that not many notice (those who only understand blunt The film Juno featured sharp dialogue and interesting characters, which add up to be one of my favorite films of the year. The dialogue is hilarious and there is so much subtle humor that not many notice (those who only understand blunt statements as jokes). Ellen Page played an amazing, and believeable character who adolessence doesn't mask her heart. This movie is very adult themed however, and i feel that ignorant teenagers may misinterpret the meaning of this film as a advocate for Pre-teen sex (but does anything ever stop them anyways?) Great Film. Made me laugh more than any film in the past few months. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KevinH.Jan 5, 2008
This morning i woke up early and went to The Savages matinee showing at my local art house theater with a random assortment of 20 anywheres age people, mostly older, and loved it. Then at 7 i went to the multiplex to see Juno at a packed This morning i woke up early and went to The Savages matinee showing at my local art house theater with a random assortment of 20 anywheres age people, mostly older, and loved it. Then at 7 i went to the multiplex to see Juno at a packed house filled with recently pubescent kids with their dates that watched the film as they struggled in an attempt to touch each other. I was expecting to love the film but was filled with the cognitive dissonance of paying ten dollars for a film that i was constantly battling with. A film that you like will suck you in so that your mental chatter stops leaving you to ponder what is going to happen next if you ponder anything other than the immediate sensations of what the actors are saying at the moment. During the first 15-30 minutes of the film as the masses around me laughed at the punchlines that i interpreted were supposed to be funny and i sat with a blank stare i felt as alien as David Bowie's Spider's from Mars. Thus began a hour and a half long inward debate of why i didn't think this movie was funny. What i found amusing was that the parts i laughed at were the parts that correlated with a relative silence throughout the crowd. People laughed at the set design and general visuals. I thought man, Wes Anderson did a way better job at that and their just trying to mimic him. People laughed at the rapid fire dialogue of ellen page's character and i appreciated that what she was basically saying was funny but comedy, at least in modern day form just doesn't work at that speed. What the character Juno says is in theory funny but compare when Juno talks and when Bateman or Cera's characters talk. Comedy comes from some basis in reality and no one but maybe a genius talks with the amount of elucidation that Juno does off the cuff. The script is good in theory but there is too much there, if they slowed it down and unpacked some of Juno's dialogue the film would be much funnier. Either Reitman, Cody, or Page have no since of comic timing. Also i should add i like to think that i wanted to like this movie, why else would i pay ten dollars to go see it. But the movie just tries so hard to be cool. And Cody's script seems to be trying so hard to prove that she's isn't just a dumb stripper. It makes me think "we know you can write, just tone it down a notch." But maybe seeing the savages earlier threw me off since the two movies take such a different approach to a "tragedy" and turn it into humor. To couple drama with comedy is a difficult thing to do and i just believe the savages pulled it off much better than juno. Come to think of it, knocked up pulled it off a lot better also. But this genius of knocked up is it's extemperaneous feel whereas Juno feels scripted throughout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
E.AllenJun 3, 2008
Honestly, I would never give this rating if I didn't fully agree with it. I despise every aspect of this film. It is a giant commercial with a tired plot, canned and incredibly stupid dialogue, and paper-thin characters. If these flaws Honestly, I would never give this rating if I didn't fully agree with it. I despise every aspect of this film. It is a giant commercial with a tired plot, canned and incredibly stupid dialogue, and paper-thin characters. If these flaws weren't bad enough, every time it appears to take a good turn the film simply shoots itself in the foot. To be honest, my rating would be a 1 or a 2 if not for all of America congratulating itself for loving something so zany and "indie." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcD.Dec 6, 2007
Fantastic movie. The acting performaces are all top notch and incredibly "real." This is the biggest no-brainer of the holiday season.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndersM.Dec 6, 2007
At their first meeting, the 16-year-old title character corrects the would-be adoptive father of her illegitimate child that her namesake is not the city in Alaska but rather the Roman Queen of the Gods and once you see this movie, At their first meeting, the 16-year-old title character corrects the would-be adoptive father of her illegitimate child that her namesake is not the city in Alaska but rather the Roman Queen of the Gods and once you see this movie, you'll likely realize that the name Juno could not be more appropriate, nay, perfect. Initially wearing something non-descript, the audience has to observe her mannerisms and hear her cant to begin to develop an understanding of who she is. And the screenwriter, Diablo Cody, director, Jason Reitman, and lead actress, Ellen Page, do an amazing job of showing this through her brusque, mannish, sarcastic, juvenile-idiom-laden speech, her resolute gait, and her brutally-honest and witty utterances. Juno, while--not coincidentally--being the goddess of motherhood, is also infamously the bitchiest of the gods. One must take into account, however, that she always had reason to be filled with hatred or jealousy; her husband was constantly philandering with mortals of both sexes. Juno, also representing monogamy in marriage, is justified in her rage and her firm expression of her feelings is respectable rather than hysterical (and by the way, the monogamy/infidelity issue plays a key role in the film). As I was watching a preview screening at the Lagoon theater on Nov. 28, it was difficult for me to rid myself of the notion that I wasn't watching the goddess Juno herself, except here mortal, adolescent, and Midwestern. In this film as in reality, the company that every character holds describes his or her personality in a more profound way than their characters in isolation and they become exponentially more complex as they interact. The adoptive couple, the Lorings, initially come off as two-dimensional, but as we discover that Mark (Jason Bateman)--instead of being the nesting, Bed-Bath-and-Beyond-type like his wife Vanessa (Jennifer Garner)--is rather is an aging, frustrated, sellout of an ex-hipster and one can take this to illustrate a whole history to their relationship. Juno springs from her lower-middle class, disciplining yet disaffected parents (J.K. Simmons and Allison Janney) as logically as the theory of gravity. And the fact that Juno, the self-described goth librarian, is best friends with Leah (Olivia Thirlby), an animated, cheerleader-type ginger who lusts after her English teacher describes both girls better than either one alone; the inter-clique connection happens when both people mutually see something unique beneath the surface. Paulie Bleeker (Michael Cera), Juno's baby-daddy, is the headbanded track star (maybe he's working off the baby fat he appears to still have) that occasionally reveals passions his meekness would otherwise belie. You see what they saw in each other, as in the movie's Moldy Peaches theme song "Anyone Else But You". I confess myself to be blown away at having learned that seemingly the most of the mother-loving soundtrack owes its brilliance to the actress who plays Juno, Ellen Page. Reitman asked her what she thought her character listened to and she said, "The Moldy Peaches," which isn't quite the 70's-era rock the character explicitly says she listens to, but lends its charmingly puerile tones and jaded/sentimental lyrics perfectly to the film's general milieu (especially with the solo music of band-member Kimya Dawson). The music immediately distinguishes the movie as one targeted at young people of the artistic temperament, but never self-consciously or crudely, eg. Garden State. The opening credits, animated by Shadowplay studios, which also did the one for "Thank You For Smoking", seemed somewhat incongruous to the rest of the film. The cartoon outline of Juno walking around the squiggly, pastel neighborhood drinking a gallon jug of "Sunny-D" suggests that the rest of the movie will be equally cartoonish and the main character a potentially-mentally-challenged outsider. Especially paired with the first scene where Rainn Wilson plays a 7-11 clerk that harasses Juno about the pregnancy tests she continues to buy and fail, the opening credits prepare you for a movie like Napoleonette Dynamite. Reitman, when asked about the similarities, said that unlike Napoleon Dynamite, Juno isn't set in an alternate universe, but rather firmly in reality. As the movie develops, he is proven correct because the characters quickly stop acting like quippy caricatures. That's not to say it isn't funny. In fact, it is much funnier than Dynamite. The frequency and intensity of the jokes is blistering. Don't zone out for a minute or else you'll miss jokes that are hidden in the background or muttered under someone's breath. Almost as quickly the mood will change from hilarious to heartbreaking and, although jarring, it's also pleasantly sobering. The story is as well-constructed and unpredictable as one could ever desire. In the end, there will be tears guaranteed for the saps among us and those willing to make themselves vulnerable to images and sounds. In the end, you will feel that the older characters will find a newer understanding of themselves and that the younger characters will discover their identities for the first time. You will be convinced that they will grow into the people you want to be friends with. In the end, you will feel the long-lost reverence for the miracle of motherhood that makes mother goddesses of any name smile. Read my blog at: violaceleste.blogspot.com Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RamJan 1, 2008
great film, witty dialogue, and most of all, one of the most lovable lead actors in a long , long time. hail Juno!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JacobW.Jan 1, 2008
The hyperventilated dialogue in this suffocatingly cute movie will suck the oxygen out of any cinoplex within the first five minutes. Ellen Page is a very fine actress. Maybe next time she'll find a solid script worthy of her talents.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimmyS.Dec 22, 2008
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
hollycJan 5, 2008
Solid movie overall--- I did think it was trying a little too hard with the dialog in the beginning, but soon that subsided and the film really grew on me by the end. Great performances by Ellen Page---and surprisingly Jennifer Garner. Solid movie overall--- I did think it was trying a little too hard with the dialog in the beginning, but soon that subsided and the film really grew on me by the end. Great performances by Ellen Page---and surprisingly Jennifer Garner. Michael Cera is always fun to watch, though I'm beginning to wonder if he's the same character in every movie/project. I can see how some people might get turned off immediately by the "quirky" fast paced (almost Gilmour Girls-like) dialog and just resent the rest of the film because of it. However, as soon as the pregnancy-story really starts to unfold (especially with the adopting couple) I was hooked and really enjoyed Juno to the very end. The story and direction was very good (not the best ever) and of course the soundtrack was pretty awesome. But really, bravo to Ellen Page--she really is a great find here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AnonymousMCJan 6, 2008
wasnt wonderful but not horrible. completely overhyped
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DMcGintyFeb 25, 2008
I like Diablo Cody and I was looking forward to this film, but I feel a little let down. Every part of the film seems choppy, from the acting to the writing to the soundtrack. However, that's also what makes the film charming--the film I like Diablo Cody and I was looking forward to this film, but I feel a little let down. Every part of the film seems choppy, from the acting to the writing to the soundtrack. However, that's also what makes the film charming--the film is as imperfect as the world that inspired it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DavidRFeb 3, 2008
This movie, like Republican front-runner Mitt Romney, has the face of new America with the values and speech of the last mutterings of Lester Bangs as Soft Cell blared in the background. While watching the hideous asian confrontation in This movie, like Republican front-runner Mitt Romney, has the face of new America with the values and speech of the last mutterings of Lester Bangs as Soft Cell blared in the background. While watching the hideous asian confrontation in front of the abortion clinic scene in "Juno" I was reminded of Romney's much hyped "Mormon speech" that was supposed to recall JFK's "Catholic speech." I found Diablo Cody's hateful mocking of "engrish" just as appaling as Romney's stress on his five sons all sharing similar facial features of Joseph Smith. Ivan Reitman must look at his son the way JFK is looking down on Romney, with contempt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AnS.Feb 4, 2008
It's a diverting enough film that many will enjoy but it also feels like a cynical attempt at making a by-the-numbers independent film. It's incredibly derivative, as if the creators went through a check-list of quirkiness from It's a diverting enough film that many will enjoy but it also feels like a cynical attempt at making a by-the-numbers independent film. It's incredibly derivative, as if the creators went through a check-list of quirkiness from recent successful independent US films. Ticking all the boxes isn't good enough. Do something different, possibly even making a terrible film in the process, but at least try. The most unforgivable thing by far is the gratuitous product placement. It starts with a five-minute long Sunny Delight ad and referernces to this most sugar+water+artificial flavouring of drinks persist throughout the first half of the film. Tic Tac must have shelled out a substantial sum of money too - could this be one of the most unforgivable pieces of dialogue ever committed to celluloid: "Well you know, because they're your fave - and I figured you could never have enough of your favorite one calorie breath mints." Why don't they just let the Tic Tac marketing team write all the dialogue?!? At this point you get to thinking (if you haven't already) that this quip fits in with all the other supposedly witty nuggets that pour out of little Juno's mouth... like so many rotten teeth. Perhaps she should keep off the Sunny Delight and Tic Tacs? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AnS.Feb 4, 2008
It's a diverting enough film that many will enjoy but it also feels like a cynical attempt at making a by-the-numbers independent film. It's incredibly derivative, as if the creators went through a check-list of quirkiness from It's a diverting enough film that many will enjoy but it also feels like a cynical attempt at making a by-the-numbers independent film. It's incredibly derivative, as if the creators went through a check-list of quirkiness from recent successful independent US films. Ticking all the boxes isn't good enough. Do something different, possibly even making a terrible film in the process, but at least try. The most unforgivable thing by far is the gratuitous product placement. It starts with a five-minute long Sunny Delight ad and referernces to this most sugar+water+artificial flavouring of drinks persist throughout the first half of the film. Tic Tac must have shelled out a substantial sum of money too - could this be one of the most unforgivable pieces of dialogue ever committed to celluloid: "Well you know, because they're your fave - and I figured you could never have enough of your favorite one calorie breath mints." Why don't they just let the Tic Tac marketing team write all the dialogue?!? At this point you get to thinking (if you haven't already) that this quip fits in with all the other supposedly witty nuggets that pour out of little Juno's mouth... like so many rotten teeth. Perhaps she should keep off the Sunny Delight and Tic Tacs? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertM.Feb 4, 2008
Ellen Page gives her most endearing though perhaps most underwhelming performance of her movie career in this indie dramedy turned national hit, yet thanks to her ability to make wise ass, title character, Juno, both witty and genuine, this Ellen Page gives her most endearing though perhaps most underwhelming performance of her movie career in this indie dramedy turned national hit, yet thanks to her ability to make wise ass, title character, Juno, both witty and genuine, this movie is just worth watching despite its many annoyances. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerC.Feb 6, 2008
Great movie-only a few instances of unbelievable dialogue. I'm really happy this is getting the attention it deserves.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MelancholicAlchoholicFeb 7, 2008
As a movie it's good, it's sympathetic, the performances are good, but the underlying message is so goody two shoes, and so in line with the present day neocon culture of the War On Terror (Thou shalt not commit Abortion in Film As a movie it's good, it's sympathetic, the performances are good, but the underlying message is so goody two shoes, and so in line with the present day neocon culture of the War On Terror (Thou shalt not commit Abortion in Film Unless it leads to mental Breakdown) that I want to give this a 6. Now that the selfcensorship on somewhat positively portrayed abortion has stretched it's vile claws to indie productions as well, we must fear that even a Hillary presidency will lead to an abortion ban in less than 3 years. I've seen over 2500 films and only in one a pregnant woman had an abortion: Holly Hunter in "Things You Can Tell Just by Looking at Her". And yes, this was of the "You-think-you-can-have-an-abortion-just-like- that-but-you'll-be-sorry-in-the-end" - type. The REAL refreshing, daring and new thing to do would be of course, telling the sensitive, yet funny and touching story of the struggle of a 14 year old getting pregnant and her hilarious but yet heartgripping search for an abortion clinic willing to perform a 20 week abortion. This search could take Ulyssesic(?) dimensions, with sardonical comments by said 14 year old on parents school church clinics doctors and Jehova Witnesses ... But yeah, guess which country would be TOO conservative for that .... I mean, if you can make light of the psychologically damaging experience of giving your kid away to total strangers, why not about the less psychologically damaging experience of abortion? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PhilMar 1, 2008
This was the type of film that kicks off to a nice start with original soundtrack and pop lingo(not to mension an appearance from Rainn Wilson), but as the story unravels and finally makes it's way to conclusions, you find yourselfThis was the type of film that kicks off to a nice start with original soundtrack and pop lingo(not to mension an appearance from Rainn Wilson), but as the story unravels and finally makes it's way to conclusions, you find yourself wondering just how much effort was put into the ending.
Besides that, I honestly thought this was a wholesome film
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KaseyS.Mar 9, 2008
Solid film. Solid cast. Went too far at the end and a little cheesy. I think I had too high of expectations for this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
jonathans.Apr 15, 2008
Oh, and this film really isn;t one of those films taht requires you to "have an education", or however one of the reviewers tried to put it in order to say people who didn't like this movie were just stupid. The dialogue wasn'tOh, and this film really isn;t one of those films taht requires you to "have an education", or however one of the reviewers tried to put it in order to say people who didn't like this movie were just stupid. The dialogue wasn't really that witty, and the fact that middle schoolers understood it all means it's really not that smart as some ignorant defenders are trying to claim. But to another reviewer: of course plenty of teenagers are actually this quickly-witted. Do you only hang out with stupid high schoolers? But if you want a classic comedy that still holds up today which REALLY requires you to be alert because of the rapid-fire humor, please turn your attention to Aiplane!, the greatest classic spoof of our time (which also opened the gates for all spoofs following it.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DeborahL.Apr 26, 2008
Fey, clever wes andersen wannabe unhelpful b.s. with an agenda. no father is that enlightened and no pregnant teen so plucky. another pregnancy flick with an anti schmersortion agenda
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndyApr 30, 2008
I found this film insulting. Everybody raves about how cool and witty the dialogue is, but it is so unrealistic. Nobody talks like that, especially not a 16 year old girl. You may find the dialogue impressive if you are used to the normal I found this film insulting. Everybody raves about how cool and witty the dialogue is, but it is so unrealistic. Nobody talks like that, especially not a 16 year old girl. You may find the dialogue impressive if you are used to the normal Hollywood fare, but this is a crock. There is no depth to any of the characters, you can see right through them and predict the entire film in a matter of minutes. I cannot imagine how this won an academy award for best screenplay. Hollywood sure likes to find little "indie darlings" and make money off of them. Put this right up there with Garden State and Little Miss Sunshine. A complete joke. Go see a real film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OrchidXApr 9, 2008
In one word the whole thing was great. A lot of people may not understand the movie or even get the whole idea of it. It's not meant to be just as it may seem at first, it goes deeper, you just have to look for it. Also, it's not In one word the whole thing was great. A lot of people may not understand the movie or even get the whole idea of it. It's not meant to be just as it may seem at first, it goes deeper, you just have to look for it. Also, it's not like other movies that have a "commericial" plot that would be filled with overused phrases and mediocre scenes. It's definately worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandyMay 1, 2008
If I could give this movie 1 million points I would!! I love love love this movie. A few parts are a bit awkward, like Bleeks mom and Jennifer Garner and her husbands interactions... But, I didn't let that allow me to miss the greatness If I could give this movie 1 million points I would!! I love love love this movie. A few parts are a bit awkward, like Bleeks mom and Jennifer Garner and her husbands interactions... But, I didn't let that allow me to miss the greatness in Ellen Page's performance! This movie will be my top movie from now on. I just wish that it came out sooner in my life so that it could hold the top spot for longer! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TFMay 3, 2008
WAY overwritten. The dialog is very unnatural and tries too hard to be clever. It's more obnoxious than funny at times. The cast makes it better though and the movie is worth watching because of Page, Batemen, and Cera. Not as solid as WAY overwritten. The dialog is very unnatural and tries too hard to be clever. It's more obnoxious than funny at times. The cast makes it better though and the movie is worth watching because of Page, Batemen, and Cera. Not as solid as Thank You For Not Smoking. Definitely not as good as No Country or There Will Be Blood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LissettS.May 6, 2008
This movie is really stupid! I don't really think any parents would be so okay with their 16 year old daughter getting pregnant. I hate how they make it seem ok to get pregnant, that supposedly it's not your fault , and it's This movie is really stupid! I don't really think any parents would be so okay with their 16 year old daughter getting pregnant. I hate how they make it seem ok to get pregnant, that supposedly it's not your fault , and it's not a big deal.... no real impact in your life, right? Very outdated, crude, and lame movie.... really don't recommend. And I was really dissapointed in it especially since really good friends and my boyfriend recommended it.... Sorry to say this, but it was all a waste of production, money, and actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NChunnAug 12, 2008
ah, the critics... what a waste of space they are... Peter Travers tells us (rolling stone) what a special kick it is to discover a new star.... !!!?? Huh ? Ellen Page you say?

You mean the star who agve an almost academy award-winning
ah, the critics... what a waste of space they are... Peter Travers tells us (rolling stone) what a special kick it is to discover a new star.... !!!?? Huh ? Ellen Page you say?

You mean the star who agve an almost academy award-winning level performance years earlier in Hard Candy? An already cult, popular and highly-praised film....?

Wow Peter.... tell me this, are you not ashamed at the standard of your reviews?

I would be if I was saying the BS you did.

Don't get me started on the critic who gave No Country FOM a 50 and made it receive a lesser overall score than There Will Be Blood, which is inferior in almost every regard to NCFOM. Fact.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MeganJan 16, 2009
The people that like this movie are the same annoying people who say "WTF" and "OMG" in normal conversation. They shouldn't be allowed to live. The movie makes Juno out to be so smart and clever, but are we to believe that Little Miss The people that like this movie are the same annoying people who say "WTF" and "OMG" in normal conversation. They shouldn't be allowed to live. The movie makes Juno out to be so smart and clever, but are we to believe that Little Miss Juno had the forethought to plan her deflowering but not the brains to bring protection? Give me a break, Diablo. Stick to stripping, because your writing is cloying and atrocious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SethF.Jan 28, 2009
I thought the script was overflowing with pretentious verbage that no 16, 17, or 18 year old spits out of their mouth. The acting was very good and the concept was quirky. I enjoyed the calm and crush aspect Juno herself gained over the I thought the script was overflowing with pretentious verbage that no 16, 17, or 18 year old spits out of their mouth. The acting was very good and the concept was quirky. I enjoyed the calm and crush aspect Juno herself gained over the Husband, but all in all I kept being overwhelmed with the vocabulary and how unauthentic it seemed. Not something I would tell my daughter to watch for means of entertainment but certainly not because of the not-so-popular theme of teen pregnancy. Ya right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmericanbeautyJun 13, 2009
my parents are just like that. If I told my dad I was going to burn the house down he'd point to where the matches were(not really but he's real chill. Movie is relatable to greatly. When she brakes down in the car and she my parents are just like that. If I told my dad I was going to burn the house down he'd point to where the matches were(not really but he's real chill. Movie is relatable to greatly. When she brakes down in the car and she can't even grip into the steering wheel is just like me. I can't grab something when I crash I'm so broken. And like her I hide things and I'm not openly emotional. Some lines are so great that I want to have an orgasm. This film really needs to be watched with subtitles. I've watched this movie an easy 10 times(so far) and everytime I found something new. Brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasP.Dec 13, 2007
This is the best film i have seen all year, better than Atonement even.
0 of 0 users found this helpful