Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 18, 2001
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 313 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
142
Mixed:
111
Negative:
60
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
KatSevJan 23, 2013
What a terrible trilogy maker for Jurassic Park. It's always an overcast sky in this synthetic sound stage forest. There is about 20 seconds of awe and wonder like the first two movies then it's destroyed by the main characters wading throughWhat a terrible trilogy maker for Jurassic Park. It's always an overcast sky in this synthetic sound stage forest. There is about 20 seconds of awe and wonder like the first two movies then it's destroyed by the main characters wading through dinosaur droppings. The plot is basically "Go to Island to find kid. Crash. Run from Dinosaurs. Kill the mercenaries. Lots of Annoying Parents. Kill the poster boy quickly and with no honest effort at pretending it's for anything other then "KOOL, DINOSAURS!" ". All of which I assume was written onto a star buck's napkin by Joe Johnston and handed to Spielberg during a besotted event. The movie has no interesting cinematography either, no high quality you'd expect from a Spielberg movie such as the first two. It's always an overcast lighting and it's almost entirely in a sterile looking sound stage forest. There's no change of set pieces. It's all just running in the forest while "dinosaurs rip each others faces off! RawwRR" as Alan Grant put it. From a science stand point it's just dreadful. Even compared to the other films. Spinosaurus was a spindly fish eater, not a super predator nightmare monster that ate everything in sight like pretend paleo adviser Jack Horner would have you believe. Tyrannosaurus, the main antagonist and poster boy for the series the last 2 films, is killed off 5 minutes after showing up in a pitiful death sequence that you would expect only to befall a Star Trek Red shirt. The Raptors are the only semi-decent thing and even they under perform. The Pteranodons are just...weird. Especially with teeth. Only Jack Horner could give a Pteranodon teeth. Then there are the Ankylosaurus, Brachiosaurus, Corythosaurus, Parasaurolophus, Stegosaurus and Ceratosaurus that just show up in an attempt to try and give dinosaur fans something to look at and go "o0oooh pretty"

It's just terrible. I feel robbed of 2 hours of my life some how.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
lukechristianscJun 6, 2015
After Lost World: Jurassic Park was released they decided to make a third installment and it was released in 2001, Steven Spielberg did not direct this movie (but he produced it) he decided to give it in the hands of Joe Johnston, boy didAfter Lost World: Jurassic Park was released they decided to make a third installment and it was released in 2001, Steven Spielberg did not direct this movie (but he produced it) he decided to give it in the hands of Joe Johnston, boy did Spielberg make a huge mistake! I can’t believe Stan Winston who did the special effects in the first two movies did the effects for this piece of crap, the way the dinosaurs are designed look like they were in a videogame with terrible graphics. The plot boy it’s sound ridiculous when I say this; ever since Dr. Grant survived in Jurassic park, he’s now famous and does not want to go back on the island with the dinosaurs, a couple (William H Macy and Tea Leoni) want him to go on a plane to fly over an island called Isla Sorna. But things don’t go as planned! Paul Kirby (William H Macy) lied about flying over Isla Sorna he explains the reason why they wanted him to go on the trip is because Kirby and his wife are looking for their son who is lost and is on this island and they’re going to find him and they wanted someone who’s been on the island before (which Grant has not been on). The only reason why Dr. Allan Grant is on this island is for money. Now dinosaurs are chasing them and running for lives. This feels like a horror movie with dumb and annoying characters that you don’t care if they survive or not all we care about Doctor Grant surviving this island, we don’t care if the couple finds their son. The theme song is there, Laura Dern’s character is back (Grant and her broke up) Sam Neil is awesome but that’s not going save this poorly written movie. There is nothing executive producer Steven Spielberg could have done to make this movie better, the only thing he did in the film is run like a raptor when he read the script that’s why he did not direct good for him. Leoni and Macy blurt out their lines, Neil is too good to return and the director does not stick to originality which made the first two an epic two-hour film filled with crazy realistic dinosaur’s roaring and awesome acting there’s none in this movie. Since this is not an adaptation of Michael Crichton’s two book series, the script copied numerous scenes from his books (total rip off!). This movie is ninety two minutes long, Jurassic Park and The Lost world were two hours long which have the perfect time to have character development and won’t stop to make fan’s entertained for two hours wishing it could never end, since the film is ninety minutes long there’s no character development and us fans want it to end. What a missed opportunity to make an epic trilogy. We fans didn’t expect this franchise to go that far down which is bad and took us out of the series but the first two were on the top and worth watching. Grade D+ Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
hoops2448Sep 20, 2011
The idea of Jurassic Park III didn't seem like a good idea to me even if Spielberg directed as the first two were not his finest films with the first being a great piece of action but devoid of pretty much everything else with characters thatThe idea of Jurassic Park III didn't seem like a good idea to me even if Spielberg directed as the first two were not his finest films with the first being a great piece of action but devoid of pretty much everything else with characters that make stupid people look clever. The 2nd film, The Lost World made some of the same mistakes but its main error was a laughable 30 minute chase around San Diego as a closing.
The 3rd film makes all the mistakes both of these two makes and has very little redeeming features with Spielberg not even directing this installment. Joe Johnston took the helm for this one with William H Macy and Tea Leoni entering the Jurassic family. Despite the inherent flaws of the first two films the 3rd tries its very best at the beginning to avoid the same problems, devoting actual time to character development before getting into the action. However as soon as the action starts the characters revert to this two dimensional plot devices to the the film from one set piece to the other. Unfortunately thats just the 1st of many problems. The action as compared to the Spielberg's attempts is much less impressive but still enjoyable with is just about what makes the film watchable with improved graphics and new monsters to run away from. Finally the section in the birdcage, be it impressive visually, is just plain silly.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
EssenceOfSugarJan 11, 2014
Severe lack of characterisation, predictable set-up from the start, majorly contrived plot devices, the dinosaurs almost pushed to the side with about the least annoying character being Dr. Alan Grant, a stock, pointless ending...it's like ISevere lack of characterisation, predictable set-up from the start, majorly contrived plot devices, the dinosaurs almost pushed to the side with about the least annoying character being Dr. Alan Grant, a stock, pointless ending...it's like I didn't care any more. And it's a great insult to have one of the main female characters to be so poorly written that she was about one of the only ones to be found screaming for help. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Jedi_JettsonApr 8, 2012
Absolutely underdone and overdone on the same levels of everything in Jurassic Park. The actors, the script, and the story were all just underdone and the dinosaurs were overdone. Some action/terror sequences were overdone and some wereAbsolutely underdone and overdone on the same levels of everything in Jurassic Park. The actors, the script, and the story were all just underdone and the dinosaurs were overdone. Some action/terror sequences were overdone and some were underdone and didn't have the uplifting experience of the first. If only the story was extended to more science than just learning how velociraptors communicate, if the story was extended as an eco-thriller to be like Michael Crichton's The Lost World which it tried but failed on many levels, and if the plot had more detail and a better script, then it would of been a necessary sequel. They should of stopped at the first Jurassic Park unless The Lost World: Jurassic Park and Jurassic Park III were better than they are now though unfortunately, they could of been better but were not. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
csw12Sep 2, 2012
What has happened to this franchise. It went from a classic, to a great movie to now a movie that flat out sucks. A few good moments but horrible on every other front.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
DavidS.Jul 27, 2001
Jurassic Park III? Yeah, maybe you saw it the first time when it was called JURASSIC PARK. And to Sam Neill; yeah, Steve Irwin called and he wants his identity back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FelipeR.Aug 9, 2006
This movie completly sucked! Thats the only way to describe it. It sucked! It was too short. There was not enough killing in the movie and what the hell were the people of jurassic park thinking of replacing t.rex with a spinosaurus. T.rex This movie completly sucked! Thats the only way to describe it. It sucked! It was too short. There was not enough killing in the movie and what the hell were the people of jurassic park thinking of replacing t.rex with a spinosaurus. T.rex should have been the star, not spinosaurus. There is no way that spinosaurus could win so easy. Steven Speilberg didn't even direct the damn movie, Joe Johnston did. I heard that that guy is going to direct part 4. How can Speilberg be stupid enough to make the same mistake of letting Johnston direct part 4 after the crappy film he directed which was part 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JeremyH.Oct 20, 2007
This movie is a tragic trilogy-maker. Let's hope Jurassic Park IV recovers. It need Sam Neill to exist, we all know that. It wouldn't be the same without him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TommyD.Dec 5, 2002
Its very weird that when the T.rex bites the Spinosaur on the neck the Spinosaur is not killed.Plus, the Spinosaur kills the T-rex with its hands.Udaskey dosint`even have a chance when the velosaraptors attck! was that T.rex evain grown up? Its very weird that when the T.rex bites the Spinosaur on the neck the Spinosaur is not killed.Plus, the Spinosaur kills the T-rex with its hands.Udaskey dosint`even have a chance when the velosaraptors attck! was that T.rex evain grown up? was ceratosaurus rilly that big? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ParisT.May 3, 2005
I myself am a huge fan on the original Jurassic Park. Its sense of awe and wonder, and of course the velociraptors are what mad me love the first film. Obviously I was excited at the prospect of there being a third film, but when I saw it in I myself am a huge fan on the original Jurassic Park. Its sense of awe and wonder, and of course the velociraptors are what mad me love the first film. Obviously I was excited at the prospect of there being a third film, but when I saw it in the cinema I couldn't be more disappointed. Firstly, the whole feel of the film was different from the first two, simply because the direction duties went to Joe Johnston, an amatuer compared with Steven Speilberg. Secondly, despite what many critics have said, I felt that the dinosaurs in this movie were no where near as realistic as those used in the original two films. They didn't look frightning and just seemed plain cartoonish. Thirdly, the film's emphasis on humour, such as the mobile phone scene, just pulled the whole movie franchise down a level. In my opinion, the Jurassic Park films worked much better with less lame, stupid humour, and with more subtle, and witty comments, which were provided by Jeff Goldblum in the first two films. Also, I have to admit, the plot in this film is weak, and the ending is completely bizarre, and just ends up making the film one complete huge joke. As one critic said, it makes the first two films look like examples of 'epic and classic filmaking'. Quite right so. For anyone intrested in seeing this film, I warn you to STAY AWAY, and watch only the other two in the trilogy, as, quite frankly, this is an example of how a sequel should not be made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZacG.Jun 30, 2006
The movie absolutely, positvely sucked! Iam one of the biggest dinosaur enthusiasts in the world and have no idea why they used spinosaurus, a dinosaur puny compared to the famous tyrannosaurus rex, to be the star. if they wanted to have a The movie absolutely, positvely sucked! Iam one of the biggest dinosaur enthusiasts in the world and have no idea why they used spinosaurus, a dinosaur puny compared to the famous tyrannosaurus rex, to be the star. if they wanted to have a good movie, they would have stuck with t-rex, had spino as a side character, and killed spino when t-rex gets his mouth around spino's neck! also, they put the fight scene too early in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JuanR.Feb 18, 2007
Absolutely terrible!!!!!! My God what happened, the last 2 where great but suddenly when I thought that this would be the best ever I was absolutely amazed on how bad a movie can be made. The T-rex should have won against the Spinosaurus Absolutely terrible!!!!!! My God what happened, the last 2 where great but suddenly when I thought that this would be the best ever I was absolutely amazed on how bad a movie can be made. The T-rex should have won against the Spinosaurus because when the T-rex bit it on the neck it would have broken it, but noooo it didn't even bleed. The plot is terrible and I really expected more from such an exciting movie the first one was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KanakoJApr 6, 2009
The worst movie I have seen for quite some time. Good effects, but awful plotting and scripting. And I mean really, really awful. Oh dear.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RyanM.Nov 4, 2001
This film lacks the overall simple understanding of being action-packed. Even though it's probably the most effects-filled action film of the year, it doesn't know the true meaning of action, the only thing it has is a bunch of This film lacks the overall simple understanding of being action-packed. Even though it's probably the most effects-filled action film of the year, it doesn't know the true meaning of action, the only thing it has is a bunch of flesh eating dinosaurs. The truth is is it just can't be interesting, and action-filled at the same time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RobertZ.Jul 19, 2001
You've already seen this movie; you just don't know it yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EricC.Nov 13, 2002
I don't often laugh when I see really bad films, but this is what happens when movies aren't made by the same writers or directors. The fact that it was based on Michael Crichton's story doesn't do anything for this one. I don't often laugh when I see really bad films, but this is what happens when movies aren't made by the same writers or directors. The fact that it was based on Michael Crichton's story doesn't do anything for this one. From the tacky scratch of the number 3 at the beginning, to the dumbest end to a crappy plot, this movie was the worst of the year. I was disturbed to see one of my favorite actors, William H. Macy, performing at what was probably his worst ever. Even one actor who was in JP 3 says he doesn't want to be in a 4th one (god forbid.) Heck, the highest score given called this a "B-movie". It was too rushed, too short, and too stupid. But I will give this movie one piece of credit: I never expected a paleontologist to be able to order the U.S. military to fight dinosaurs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Henkv.d.W.Oct 28, 2002
TERRIBLE!!!! I'm a big fan of the fisrt two movies; I think they are one of the best of the nineties.... But this one is one of the most terrible movies I ever saw; PLEASE STEVEN....YOU HAVE TO DO THE FOURTH ONE, TOGETHER WITH JOHN WILLIAMS!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AlexanderS.Jan 6, 2002
Lack of rational plot or charactor devolpment. Whith endless possibilities, none were saught. An unenjoyable piece of fluff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnB.May 24, 2002
To say with Ian Malcolm in JP1: "That is one big pile of sh..". It really stinks (of money, mainly). The whole thing makes me feel embarrassed, as I am a (serious) dinosaur enthusiast. This kind of shite so very much helps to ridicule To say with Ian Malcolm in JP1: "That is one big pile of sh..". It really stinks (of money, mainly). The whole thing makes me feel embarrassed, as I am a (serious) dinosaur enthusiast. This kind of shite so very much helps to ridicule science, I think. Besides that, this movie helps to clearly show that we live in a over the top, money-hungry consumer-society, especially in the USA (the birth place of this cinematic monstrosity) where the 'American Dream' has been turned into a travesty of itself and is being used as an excuse for buisinesspeople to make (lots) more money no matter what the costs. So film makers, if you have any sense of what is right and wrong (yes, it doesn't hurt to bring in a bit of moral sensibility in what you do, even in film making!), make either a good movie, or lay off it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AdamN.Jul 14, 2002
The worst of the three Jurassic Park movies. Steven Spielberg didn't even direct it. Horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnO.Aug 13, 2003
It takes a franchise which combines the cutting edge of computer animation technology with the brilliance and craft of Michael Crichton... and turns it into just another monster movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
bobpooJul 31, 2009
JURASSIC PARK 3 IS RUBBISH!! I am a huge jurassic park fan and love the first 2 films which were both brilliant and i was very excited when i heard there would be a 3rd but how disapointed i was. jp3 was a disgrace to the whole franchise. JURASSIC PARK 3 IS RUBBISH!! I am a huge jurassic park fan and love the first 2 films which were both brilliant and i was very excited when i heard there would be a 3rd but how disapointed i was. jp3 was a disgrace to the whole franchise. Firstly, the biggest problem from the start was that Steven Spielberg didnt direct it. Instead the job was given to Joe Johnson, only because he had been pestering Spielberg for the job of directing the lost world. Because of this poor choice of director, jp3 contained stupid humor such as the cell phone. Johnson has directed films such as jumanji and honey i shrunk the kids which are just the sort of films which also include his annoying "humour". Aside from that, other bad points about the film are the lack of people and consequently, the lack of deaths. They were the best bits of the first 2 (Donnald Genaro's and Eddie Carr's to name my favourites) Also most of the chacters just annoyed me (apart from Grant) The plot was terrible there was no imagination to it, and wat was that all about at the end?! The raptors corner them for stealing their eggs but are then confused and run off because of the raptor calls. To make the end even worse the survivors just so happen to walk in to the army on the exact same bit of beach who have also just so happened to have found Billy as well. Them "finding" Billy was to similar to how Ian was later found in the first film. Note that in jp1, Robert and Ellie had a reason to be searching for survivors were he was, but the whole jp3 ending feels rushed. The final nail in the jp coffin is that the main dinosaur was the spinosaurus after a cheesy fight with the t rex. The worst part of the whole film was that stupid cell phone ringing inside the spinosaurus. When Eric hugs his parents through the fence we can hear the jingle so pesumably the spino is just standing there watching them for even longer than it does when they notice it. It seems they couldnt get anything right with this film. Even the toys were the the wrong scale for the previous 1s and most even the wrong scale for others in their own series. Terrible film and a Terrible disapiontment. I can only hope that a Jurassic Park 4 is made that will live up to the first 2 and redeam the franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
gm101May 26, 2011
Growing up with the first two Jurassic Park movies, I was excited to see this movie when it came out. However, even as a ten year old boy, I was very disappointed watching this movie. Replacing Spielberg and John Williams was a big mistake,Growing up with the first two Jurassic Park movies, I was excited to see this movie when it came out. However, even as a ten year old boy, I was very disappointed watching this movie. Replacing Spielberg and John Williams was a big mistake, and everything that made the first two great was gone in this sequel. And so, my childhood was gone forever becuase of this stinker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Rox22Apr 21, 2015
Just an awful sequel.

Some great visuals and dinosaur designs. Some exciting scenes here and there. And also some rather funny performances from the leads (although I'm sur that's not what they wished to be remembered for.) But a stupid
Just an awful sequel.

Some great visuals and dinosaur designs. Some exciting scenes here and there. And also some rather funny performances from the leads (although I'm sur that's not what they wished to be remembered for.)

But a stupid premise and dreadful writing and dialogue. I wasn't sure if the writers knew they were meant to write a script for a Jurassic Park movie, not a sitcom.

Overall:
While the movie does look nice and the cast is trying their hardest with what they've got to work with, it still isn't enough to save it. This is a sequel best left forgotten.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
LordyLordMar 29, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie pulled Jurassic Park into a hole for me. Johnston directed Jumanji, and that was a great movie. Why he couldn't do the same here, I don't know. Maybe more realistic situations instead of a kid falling onto an island that is supposed to be heavily protected? Or later having that kid almost being picked to death by a bunch of baby pterosaurs? Oh no, not baby pterosaurs. I'll plus the score for the slight suspense at some parts. I hope Jurassic Park IV brings the series back for me, but I think the Lost World and this one here messed it up enough for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
oDjentoJul 3, 2015
Short review due to Jurassic World release. Terrible film from what we had come to expect. Unlikable characters and so many plot holes and idiocy. Film doesn't touch on anything new and just overall bores. A harsh rating but i have neverShort review due to Jurassic World release. Terrible film from what we had come to expect. Unlikable characters and so many plot holes and idiocy. Film doesn't touch on anything new and just overall bores. A harsh rating but i have never enjoyed this film no matter what age i watched it at! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ReelViewsJun 14, 2015
Relatively speaking, Jurassic Park III is a disappointment of behemoth proportions. With Steven Spielberg gone from the director's chair (replaced by Jumanji's Joe Johnston), the Jurassic Park saga has sunk down to its B-grade monster movieRelatively speaking, Jurassic Park III is a disappointment of behemoth proportions. With Steven Spielberg gone from the director's chair (replaced by Jumanji's Joe Johnston), the Jurassic Park saga has sunk down to its B-grade monster movie roots. The concept of a human character has been replaced by a cardboard cut-out, each of which serves one of two purposes: to run away from the dinosaurs or to be eaten by them. The "synthespians" of Final Fantasy would have been perfectly at home in Jurassic Park III. There's no need whatsoever for human actors.

The first Jurassic Park was a well-paced adventure movie wrapped in a magical package that used state-of-the-art special effects and digital sound to make us believe that dinosaurs could once again roam the earth. The Lost World: Jurassic Park II, while panned in some corners, basically offered more of the same - tightly-paced action and adventure. Unfortunately, Jurassic Park III not only re-hashes the two previous outings (hapless humans hunted by hungry dinosaurs) but does it with far less style and human interest. This time around, there's no build-up to the first appearance of the dinosaurs - they're suddenly there. Character interaction, never a strong suit in the series, is worse than perfunctory - it's virtually non-existent. Every action piece is staged in a generic fashion, leaving no room for suspense or tension. And the whole movie is over so fast (sans credits, only about 1 hour, 20 minutes) that it hardly seems to have happened.

The plot, insofar as there is a plot, has paleontologist Dr. Alan Grant (Sam Neill) traveling to Isla Sorna ("Site B") as the paid guide for Paul and Amanda Kirby (William H. Macy and Téa Leoni), an estranged husband and wife searching for their son, Eric (Trevor Morgan), who is lost on the island. Grant, accompanied by his assistant, Billy Brennan (Alessandro Nivola), soon finds himself in the same kind of life-and-death situation he ended up in during the original Jurassic Park, being chased by Raptors, T-Rexs, and the "new" Spinosaurus. Also along for the ride are a few other individuals (Michael Jeter, John Diehl) who practically have "Dinosaur Fodder" stenciled on their foreheads.

It's a sad observation to note that the best scene in the movie - a reunion between Grant and his former sidekick, Ellie Sattler (Laura Dern, in a cameo) - features no dinosaurs. Everything that transpires on Isla Sorna is repetitious and largely uninteresting. Admittedly, there are some new dinosaurs (including a few that fly), but they act in basically the same way that all of the others do. The raptors have been elevated to super-genius status (they now talk to each other, albeit not in English - I was half-expecting subtitles) while our old friend, the T-Rex, has only a brief, ignoble cameo. The special effects, while still impressive, seem to have been done on the cheap - some of the dinosaurs, especially the new ones, look less polished.

Jurassic Park III lacks a legitimate climax - it sort of ends with a big, deus ex machina bang. This is in keeping with the film's overall poor structure. It doesn't have much of a beginning, a middle, or an ending - causing me to wonder if there was a finished script before filming started (according to comments made by two of the actors, there wasn't).

It was probably foolish to hope for something new or original to surface during the course of Jurassic Park III - after all, the formula has long been established for this sort of movie - but it shouldn't have been too much to expect a little excitement. Instead, in keeping with 2001's roster of lackluster sequels, we have been presented with something that is uninspired and obligatory. It fits right in with the likes of Crocodile Dundee in L.A., The Mummy Returns, and Dr. Dolittle 2. At the end, Jurassic Park III leaves the door wide open for a Jurassic Park IV. I can only hope that a justifiably poor box office showing will slam that door shut with a louder thud than the sound made by an approaching T-Rex.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
NatT96Jun 23, 2015
So first the black guy dies first of course. Never seen that happen in a film before (sarcasm to the max). My gosh the actions the character in this film do are horrible, I mean the way the scenarios are set up are bad. There are like plentySo first the black guy dies first of course. Never seen that happen in a film before (sarcasm to the max). My gosh the actions the character in this film do are horrible, I mean the way the scenarios are set up are bad. There are like plenty of times they should have been squashed, ripped in half and killed of sight....hell that would have made the film more interesting.

Its not worth watching.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
FilmClubMar 27, 2016
There’s more than a few spirals of DNA missing from the script of “Jurassic Park III,” an all-action, helter-skelter, don’t-forget-to-buy-the-computer-game ride that makes the two previous installments look like models of classic filmmaking.There’s more than a few spirals of DNA missing from the script of “Jurassic Park III,” an all-action, helter-skelter, don’t-forget-to-buy-the-computer-game ride that makes the two previous installments look like models of classic filmmaking. Showing all the signs of having been stripped back at a late stage into a lean, 91-minute chase machine — and to hell with pacing and character development — pic has that unmistakable feeling of a franchise being severed from its creative roots with considerable confusion about what to put in its place.

Except for the visual effects, the movie has a hand-me-down feel. The first two installments used largely the same key talent behind the lens and two key actors (Jeff Goldblum, Richard Attenborough) in front of it, giving them a homogeneous feel. With “JP III,” however, the script’s not based on a Michael Crichton novel, and — aside from Stan Winston and a few others on the dino side of things — there’s an all new crew on the tech side. Even with Steven Spielberg in the coach’s chair, there’s an unmistakable sense that the reserve team has gone in to bat.

Opening with an OK teaser sequence in which a young kid (Trevor Morgan) and an adult (Mark Harelik) are attacked by an unseen thing when parasailing over Isla Sorna, pic adopts a real-time stance. It’s eight years after the original debacle at John Hammond’s theme park on nearby Isla Nublar, and Hammond’s company, InGen, is a memory. One of his original invitees, Dr. Alan Grant (Sam Neill), is struggling to maintain funding for his paleontology research. Grant is keen to develop his theory of velociraptor intelligence, but auds at his fundraising lectures only want to hear more tales about Jurassic Park.

Grant is approached by Paul Kirby (William H. Macy), and his wife, Amanda (Tea Leoni), to guide an aerial tour of Isla Sorna, the so-called Site B (and setting for “The Lost World”), where InGen secretly bred the dinos and where they’ve been on the loose for almost a decade. Presenting themselves as wealthy thrill-seekers who want to buzz the quarantined island, the couple asks the cash-strapped Grant to name his price.

These establishing reels have a hasty feel that prefigures many of the film’s later problems. Laura Dern briefly reprises her role of Ellie from the first movie; other characters are clumsily introduced and thinly drawn. Result is that, when Kirby, against Grant’s wishes, tries to land the plane on the island, the viewer is plunged into immediate action with only the barest idea of who most of the characters are.

Pic’s first major action sequence is a highly kinetic screamfest, with the plane crashing into some tree-tops and its occupants being attacked by a spinosaurus, the movie’s much-touted new villain. As the fuselage rolls this way and that, the sequence plays like a B-movie version of the dangling Winnebago sequence in “Lost World” — heavy on screams and visceral shocks but lacking in deep-seated, skin-crawling fear.

The truth is that the lumbering spino, despite its larger size, longer jaw and fancy back fin, just doesn’t cut it as a substitute T-Rex. With none of the T-Rex’s extensive backgrounding, this new addition to Winston’s dino lineup looks more like an escapee from a Japanese monster movie.

Following an attempted escape in another plane, pic settles into one long chase movie. The two previous installments had varied situations and cross-plots in which the humans and animals interacted, plus a larger story arc in which the action sequences were implanted. Here, the majority of the movie takes place in jungle settings with the cast running between them as predators arrive on the scene.

Smidgen of a script cooked up by three credited (and two uncredited) writers soon reveals that Kirby and Amanda are in fact a divorced couple searching for their 14-year-old son, Eric, and Amanda’s boyfriend, Ben — the parasailing pair attacked in the opening teaser.

“JP III” thus becomes a very different movie from the previous two pics, in which human hubris received its just deserts when protective technology proved inadequate. Here, the protagonists are never in control: They’re dino-dinner from the get-go. In essence, pic becomes a prehistoric variation on another genre: Americans under threat in a hostile, foreign environment. Unsurprisingly, the final line of dialogue is “Let’s go home.”

Direction by Joe Johnston, who cut his teeth as a visual f/x designer before graduating to effects showpieces “Honey, I Shrunk the Kids” and “Jumanji,” keeps the action ticking but without the broader sweep he brought to adventure saga “The Rocketeer.” Blame that largely on the script; lame attempts at humor and characterization make even the few surviving moments of non-action dialogue painful to sit through.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
s10721314Jul 19, 2016
Worst Sequel in Jurassic Park Franchise. This movie SUCKS SUCKS. I hate this film and it is the worst excuse for a Jurassic Park film ever. This film horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews