Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 18, 2001
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 287 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
126
Mixed:
111
Negative:
50
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JoyceC.Oct 6, 2007
Since the adaption of the dinasour's on the Island is over, they go through something we call maturing. The dinasours have matured over time, became smarter, more intelligent and brutal than ever imagined.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MovieLonely94Oct 20, 2010
it wasn't as good as the first movie, but it beats the second movie in just one shot and its an entertaining sequel in the series after the visuals were the great saving grace.

rating: 8/10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
IzaakVJan 22, 2009
I love this movie. The mere fact that they brought it out just for more 'jurassic park action' is good enough for me.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
ManicMorrisAug 21, 2010
A bit shorter than I would have liked but still loads of dinosaurs and loads of actions.Making the film a bit longer and including a bit more story wouldn't hurt but still a fantastic film and one of my favourites.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
godzillabotsJun 11, 2013
I love this movie! While not as good as the first and second movie, i still enjoy it. Also, i LOVE the Spinosaurus, but my favorite Dino is still the T-Rex.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
PazzyM.May 31, 2007
I liked this! When I first stepped into the cinema, I thought "Not another movie where they all run away from a huge T.Rex and a group of Raptors, then they all fly away on a helecopter and VIOLA! End of movie!", but no. I was soooo wrong! I liked this! When I first stepped into the cinema, I thought "Not another movie where they all run away from a huge T.Rex and a group of Raptors, then they all fly away on a helecopter and VIOLA! End of movie!", but no. I was soooo wrong! Spinosaurus was a very nice change, and was a lot more fun than T.Rex as it included more interesting elements. It had fire, water, earth, air and even Dino Poop! The others were just mainly running away. I also found the new raptors very cunning, and were more than just killing machines, they actualy showed intellegence. I am looking forward to Jurassic Park 4, as I feel that the series are just getting better and better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatrickD.Sep 13, 2005
A decent action film. Nothing special.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Oct 6, 2007
JJ1 was the beginning of dinasour excitement where a couple of opinions, one creation, and a special whoop cream can change the function of the island. Ian Malcolm is done, and we know that, it would be exhausting having him as the main role JJ1 was the beginning of dinasour excitement where a couple of opinions, one creation, and a special whoop cream can change the function of the island. Ian Malcolm is done, and we know that, it would be exhausting having him as the main role in this, he is only good in the first two and never should be chosen as a character in JJ4, unless if he gets eaton in that one. Allen Grant, well he is the main main character, he belongs in this one, since Ian has no clue what a dinasour skeleton or raptor intelligence is, he would be picked as the last main character for this. Allen Grant is smart, witty, and serious within everything, he takes everything deeply and ambitiously, he uses the advice he gots and uses it as the main road in this hit thriller. JJ3 is not intense or terrifying, but it is adventurous, exciting, and swashbuckling. More people die, although I wish that Billy dude would have died, it would have been better. In my opinion JJ3 is here to stay because it has a sudden and stable focus and balance. It is short and sweet, a lovable film just like the first two. From my words, the best one to worst one: JJ1, JJ3, JJ2 (The Lost world). I do not like JJ2 as much because it has a heavy situation, but without any creative advice Ian has in store for safety, he never uses because al he has is chemical witt. As they say in JJ3, and I totally agree, Ian Malcolm is preachy, and talks all about chaos, and he is always high on himself. Well Allen Grant, he can handle anything. They can make seven more Jurassic Park films and have allen Grant as the main character, even since he is now 60. Great job Allen, your performance has crafted a role in such way to show a different type of situation where Raptor's are extinctively smarter than any other animal on the Planet and are capable to take over the planet if there were such species surviving on Earth. Great job: 10/10. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JCA.Oct 6, 2007
Very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very good. The best of all Jurassic Park's.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SpencerJ.Feb 8, 2007
The movie was excellent, because of the constant tension and excitment!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomM.Oct 15, 2008
Surprisingly, not nearly as bad as Spielberg's second outing. The dino updates and additions and beautiful CGI make this film, but the acting isn't half bad either (if you keep your sense of humor). At least they don't end up Surprisingly, not nearly as bad as Spielberg's second outing. The dino updates and additions and beautiful CGI make this film, but the acting isn't half bad either (if you keep your sense of humor). At least they don't end up in the mainland again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HosieWApr 8, 2008
Hey Bob Y What's wrong wit you ?Stupid or somtin?what would you do if you were stranded on that Island and it was for real? Go hide under a bush? Or try{using your 2 legs and Brain{if you have one} to get off the island before you get Hey Bob Y What's wrong wit you ?Stupid or somtin?what would you do if you were stranded on that Island and it was for real? Go hide under a bush? Or try{using your 2 legs and Brain{if you have one} to get off the island before you get eaten! And I also agree with Jeremy H. IT won't be the same without SAM NEILL! But Steven will probably screw it up by not casting Sam in JP4. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelC.Sep 14, 2001
A highly plausible and moneymaking cinema event. It succeeds mostly because it doesn?t try too hard to be a sequel to Jurassic Park, it seems like a film all on its own. If I had to complain about something, the kid story is far too A highly plausible and moneymaking cinema event. It succeeds mostly because it doesn?t try too hard to be a sequel to Jurassic Park, it seems like a film all on its own. If I had to complain about something, the kid story is far too unbelievable to trick even the dumbest viewers and the characters sometimes do stupid things. Despite that I really enjoyed Jurassic Park 3 and it kept me highly satisfied and entertained for the overly short running time. The dinosaurs look fantastic; the film is awesomely entertaining and improves on the quality of the 2nd outing. The film also improves because it is much scarier than the first two Jurassic Park films. The scenes may not have as much build-up or suspense but in the moment, right then and there, they are absolutely horrifying, more so than the first two films. The new dinosaur creation, The Spinosaurs, also helps to give the film a slice of originality and creativity. The acting isn?t great and the absence of previous director Steven Speilberg shows in dramatic scenes, but this remains a highly crowd-pleasing and enjoyable summer horror adventure flick that I?m sure you?ll enjoy if you don?t expect too much from it. So, just get the tickets, prepare to have some major-ass having fun, kick your feet up and watch some spectacular special effect dino action! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrunoS.Sep 23, 2005
I didn´t like the film much in the cinemas, but at home I enjoyed it more. The film is good and the effects are excellent, but the end sucks. The fourth will probably be the best because it´s like the first jurassic park but with I didn´t like the film much in the cinemas, but at home I enjoyed it more. The film is good and the effects are excellent, but the end sucks. The fourth will probably be the best because it´s like the first jurassic park but with the creatures in the mainland, getting out of their zoo cages and terrifying the whole USA with militaires going after them. It is the best we could wish for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DestinyW.Nov 27, 2007
i am the biggest dinosaur fan in the world. the movie was great. the new dino spinisaurus was good. i would say it needed more dinosaurs more killing and the ending needs to be good and it can end in a fight. o yeah why do the people have to i am the biggest dinosaur fan in the world. the movie was great. the new dino spinisaurus was good. i would say it needed more dinosaurs more killing and the ending needs to be good and it can end in a fight. o yeah why do the people have to survive on an island full of meat eat, fast running, good swimming dinosaurs i just dont get it i would say nobody would make it for 2 min. i would though. ok the movie was good but not as good as the first 2 just know that. whatch it and rate it. the fourth one is coming out cant want to see that and it has my favorite actor in it i think it is going tobe good. do you i do. the effects in the movie were good the dinosaurs needed to be bigger and some of the actors were very good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TheQuietGamerFeb 20, 2011
While it's not as good as the first movie it's still a blast to watch and brings back memories of the first one, I was really happy that they brought back Dr. Grant, if you like the first movie you may be a little disappointed with this one,While it's not as good as the first movie it's still a blast to watch and brings back memories of the first one, I was really happy that they brought back Dr. Grant, if you like the first movie you may be a little disappointed with this one, but it's still an enjoyable movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DibbHansenJul 18, 2013
It has thrills, sure, but it just does not have the same feel of fear and style as the first two films did. This film also touches on cliche stuff and a corny plot ending. I hope Jurassic Park 4 does better than this one, even though thisIt has thrills, sure, but it just does not have the same feel of fear and style as the first two films did. This film also touches on cliche stuff and a corny plot ending. I hope Jurassic Park 4 does better than this one, even though this film isn't terrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeJul 11, 2015
Excitement, much adventure, great characters and a much more magical plot than The Lost World. Still; the story is not unique and did they really have nothing else to come up with? Because the plot is pretty much the same as the second movie.Excitement, much adventure, great characters and a much more magical plot than The Lost World. Still; the story is not unique and did they really have nothing else to come up with? Because the plot is pretty much the same as the second movie. The return of Sam Neill is on the other hand very much appreciated, and every character is really great (but sometimes annoying). Great practical effects and CGI, even though some vague aspects do exist. The worst thing about this movie is the dialogs, and the plot holes. There are some serious and idiotic moments that makes no sense at all, so the script could have been much better!

It's not a bad movie, it's much better than the overall rating and I actually think this really is a greater installment of Jurassic Park than The Lost World! It even got some magic, like what we saw in the first Jurassic Park!

This is a surprisingly great movie with entertainment, adventure and beautiful events.

7.5/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Robinson2511Aug 10, 2015
Jurassic Park III brings back Sam Neill for some more Dinosaur action, that for me, is enough to make this a great film. Dr. Alan Grant is hired by Paul and Amanda Kirby to guide them on an aerial tour of Isla Sorna, but when they land on theJurassic Park III brings back Sam Neill for some more Dinosaur action, that for me, is enough to make this a great film. Dr. Alan Grant is hired by Paul and Amanda Kirby to guide them on an aerial tour of Isla Sorna, but when they land on the island their true motives for going there become clear. There are many debates as to whether Jurassic Park III or The Lost World are better, but The Lost World seems to be a clear favourite, but that doesn't mean Jurassic Park III is bad, in some ways it's better, it certainly makes up for the thrills and dinosaur action the Lost World definitely lacked. Although this is not a Spielberg film, the direction is still great, although the animatronics seem less natural than they did before. The acting is great, although Alessandro Nivola's performance is very dull at points and Trevor Morgan doesn't seem to know how to do certain lines of the script. The writing is great save for a few unexplained moments, such as the skeleton in the tree, and the people disappearing on the boat, and a few really unbelievable moments such the spinosaurus being able to break through a dinosaur enclosure, but not through a metal door. Um, no. The climax is also way too sudden, and the tension is short-lived. Personally I find Jurassic Park III to be better than The Lost World mainly just because of that film's lack of dinosaurs, lack of thrills, and this film has Sam Neill. But also because of Jurassic Park III's action scenes, direction, and acting from most of the cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JurassicParkFanDec 27, 2015
I love this film Alot. It is one of my favorite childhood movies of all time. I loved the spinosaurus (despite it killing the T-Rex), I loved the character of Alan grant in the movie, The Pteranodon scene was incredible, and the raptors lookI love this film Alot. It is one of my favorite childhood movies of all time. I loved the spinosaurus (despite it killing the T-Rex), I loved the character of Alan grant in the movie, The Pteranodon scene was incredible, and the raptors look very cool and terrifying. I don't get why this movie gets alot of hate, but this is my opinon on this movie and you guys have the right to hate this movie if you like, but I will always love Jurassic Park III and it is alright in my book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
The plot is silly in places and the premise is predictable but the movie isn't without it's thrills. It isn't at the level of the first one but it surpassed the second since it is a lot more fun and a lot less of a drag. If you can get passedThe plot is silly in places and the premise is predictable but the movie isn't without it's thrills. It isn't at the level of the first one but it surpassed the second since it is a lot more fun and a lot less of a drag. If you can get passed the occasional silliness and accept that it isn't anything original while simultaneously enjoying the nonstop action, the movie offers a lot to enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
buttonscasperJul 7, 2015
This is better than the second but does not live up to the fantastic first film in the franchise with the spinosauros stealing the show. The reason this only gets a 7 is because the over use of CGI.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Evyan2002Jan 24, 2016
Jurassic Park 3 is a good movie. Just like the first two there is a lot of action packed scenes that everyone will enjoy. The special effects are really good also. Tea Leoni was annoying but she was ok.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Pepe1May 10, 2016
I love, this movie, maybe is a dumb movie, but a like all the Dinosaurs, and of course Sam Neill is back, decent movie, better than the second one in my opinion, dumb, but funny
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews