Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 11, 1993
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 592 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
545
Mixed:
35
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
[Anonymous]Sep 11, 2005
I have a special bond with his movie. Jurassic park was the first movie i ever saw in a Theater, and what a way to start off! Good CGI, but the characters have Hollywood entertainment flowing through them, adding energy to what would've I have a special bond with his movie. Jurassic park was the first movie i ever saw in a Theater, and what a way to start off! Good CGI, but the characters have Hollywood entertainment flowing through them, adding energy to what would've been a by-the-numbers flick. Good editing, too. The sequels aren't outright bad, kinda like ID4 with dinos, but they don't have the solid structure of this one. The Lost World is open for anyone who can't get enough dino, and thought the original didn't give em enough. Jurassic Park Three is Lost world Lite, but still entertaining, with even better CGI and a certain dumb charm. Hope the fourth shows a return to form. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamSep 10, 2004
Pat c., first off it was BOOK before a movie so don't yell at spielberg for the awesome plot, and second, this is one of the best movies ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WillH.Feb 17, 2005
Good movie, but the most annoy children imaginable on the silver screen knock it down a couple of notches.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyH.Oct 20, 2007
A LEGENDARY movie, shame about the sequels. That's all that needs to be said really. It may not seem original, but wholly, it clearly is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZeeM.May 19, 2007
Amazing Movie!! It's great how they made the Dino's, extremely realistic. Incredibly thrilling!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnnySApr 14, 2008
A pure masterpiece! This is one of the greatest movies of all time. It may not have absolutely fantastic actors but the graphic effects and sound department definitely make up for it's loss! Nothing like this had ever been made at the A pure masterpiece! This is one of the greatest movies of all time. It may not have absolutely fantastic actors but the graphic effects and sound department definitely make up for it's loss! Nothing like this had ever been made at the time, which makes it even more special, it still amazes me today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ByronJ.Apr 17, 2008
The Best Film of the 90's
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YoonMinC.Sep 25, 2003
One of the grandest entertainments ever. If Spielberg's prior(and more personal)blockbuster films suffered from an overly zealous sentimentality(ET) or quasi-religious pretensions(Close Encounters), Jurassic Park, directed by a maturer One of the grandest entertainments ever. If Spielberg's prior(and more personal)blockbuster films suffered from an overly zealous sentimentality(ET) or quasi-religious pretensions(Close Encounters), Jurassic Park, directed by a maturer artist, found the perfect balance between themepark thrills and somber reflection. It was and still is a rare thing, a movie that not only uses special effects for thrills but to dazzle and awe. In this regard, it's comparable to 2001 which, almost alone among space movies, conveyed a sense of immensity of the cosmos instead of turning it into a football field for spaceships. Jurassic Park was, of course, a summer blockbuster and brimming over with rollercoaster visuals but it's undeniably much more. It creates a world beyond our imagination, dazzles our senses as much as it chills our spines. Oddly enough, Spielberg also directed Schindler's List in the same year, with JP being about man trying to revive an extinct species and SL being about man trying to drive a race toward extinction; both within the confines of a secluded, laboratory like setting. While it may seem perverse to compare a summer blockbuster with a truly harrowing Holocaust movie, it would be foolish to deny JP grapples with some of the grandest of issues, what with the recent advancements in genetic technology; namely, that the world is bigger than science or ideology, and it would be a case of hubris to think otherwise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
J.RyanG.Jun 17, 2005
Before seeing it for the first time, you want to believe the hype. Then, you've seen it, and it ends up feeling more like an awkward social engagement that exhausts and discourages. A film that should instill great hope in its audience Before seeing it for the first time, you want to believe the hype. Then, you've seen it, and it ends up feeling more like an awkward social engagement that exhausts and discourages. A film that should instill great hope in its audience fails every time it tries too hard to please and not to push our buttons. For a real thrill, see Shyamalan's dread-inducing thrillfest "Signs." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerV.Jul 14, 2005
Absolutely wonderful as the dinosaurs came to life. Fantastic job by all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
patrickJul 23, 2005
An excellent movie. The CGI combines with the well-planned action is thrilling and exciting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenC.Mar 28, 2006
One of the best movies of all time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PamL.May 20, 2006
A riveting adventure from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JCAndrewOct 6, 2007
Wow, I can watch this over an over again when I feel like to, this movie is a fad. and a very good one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobY.Aug 27, 2007
Classic. one of the most thrilling movies of all time. i don't see how u can't enjoy this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaredC.Aug 4, 2007
A great movie, it is one of its decades best. An amazing film that keeps you at a firm grip, and has you straight in engagement. A movie with visual effects that are still reaching our standards today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TitaniumDragonNov 30, 2008
Frankly, this movie is grealty underrated by critics, which just goes to show that while critics sometimes hit, sometimes they miss as well. While it is true that Titanic was awful, and made more money than it ever deserved to, ten years Frankly, this movie is grealty underrated by critics, which just goes to show that while critics sometimes hit, sometimes they miss as well. While it is true that Titanic was awful, and made more money than it ever deserved to, ten years later no one remembers it. People remember Jurassic Park. The reality is that Jurassic Park was the beginning of an era. Up to that point, no one had done something nearly so ambitious. The effort gone into making the movie shows; the dinosaurs look amazing, and this movie pulls off something VERY few movies have done - seamless CG. The dinosaurs look like they're really there, and you can't tell when they're using animatronics and when they're using CG. Its amazing, and the movie is a visual masterpiece. Indeed, I would go so far as to argue that no movie since has managed the same level of realism with their CG monsters, simply because everyone is lazy. Comparing this to later movies, such as the new Star Wars movies, makes the Star Wars movies look dated and amateurish. But its not JUST the dinosaurs and their wonderful visuals. Its also a very solid plotline of man doing things with science, and due to arrogance get in real trouble. Sadly, it doesn't contain some of the awesome plotpoints of the book which underscore this, such as their automated tracking system which has an internal cap as to how many dinosaurs it would display because they only assumed that the number of dinosaurs could go down, not up. Sadly, this plot point is lost, so the hubris is lessened. Even so, while this movie isn't the best in terms of plot, it manages to be a great movie. While not a 10, its a 9 - a movie that everyone should see, because it is that good. Some of the characters aren't that great, but others are excellent, and overall the movie is a great effort and is fun to watch. In the end, a movie like this exists to entertain and maybe make people think about some possiblities, and this movie accomplishes both. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GustavoH.R.Dec 31, 2003
The best popcorn film of the nineties. It is thrilling, presenting exhilarating action scenes. Spielberg is a visionary: Jurassic Park is pure movie magic. It is no surprise, though, that movie critics don't take it seriously. Movies The best popcorn film of the nineties. It is thrilling, presenting exhilarating action scenes. Spielberg is a visionary: Jurassic Park is pure movie magic. It is no surprise, though, that movie critics don't take it seriously. Movies like these are not made for them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
raVenJul 19, 2003
Sure, if you don't believe in Santa Claus, send the presents back. But please don't complain once you've opened them. People who don't want this film won't get it. But I can't speak to that because I can't Sure, if you don't believe in Santa Claus, send the presents back. But please don't complain once you've opened them. People who don't want this film won't get it. But I can't speak to that because I can't imagine NOT liking this movie. Yes, the book is more thoughtful, but all these years and two sequels later the movie is still an awesome fantasy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PatC.Jan 12, 2004
What is this? One of the greatest special effects tour de forces in movie history, but populated by B acting performances and a plot so uninspired that Spielberg doesn't care whether you notice or not, so long as yurassis parked for the show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
C.B.Nov 6, 2007
fun to look at, but overrated
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshL.Dec 16, 2007
A modern classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ManicMorrisAug 21, 2010
I used to watch this at the age of 3. Since then it has been my favourite movie always keeping me entertained. One of the best movies of all time in my own opinion. Definately one of Spielberg's best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobJun 1, 2015
Jurassic Park is a fun dinosaur movie with good morals. Normally I’m not too big on action but it is well handled. The film creates likeable/relatable characters, builds up the threat of the dinosaurs, uses mostly practical effects, and whileJurassic Park is a fun dinosaur movie with good morals. Normally I’m not too big on action but it is well handled. The film creates likeable/relatable characters, builds up the threat of the dinosaurs, uses mostly practical effects, and while it may take a while for the film to get to the action when it gets there it is fun and well earned being intense along with wonderful to look at. While the film has some nice morals they do feel a little forced in as they are mainly delivered through exposition while the action is fun and entertaining. Jurassic Park is a fun movie that doesn’t need a sequel but it is getting a fourth one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 20, 2010
Dinosaurs are the coolest prehestoric animals in the whole world. thats why Steven Spielberg decided to make a science fiction movie about Dinosaurs and it kicked a**!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AI88Nov 27, 2010
This movie is awesome. I first saw Jurassic Park as a little kid and loved it. I've probably seen it fifty times. I just finished watching it again on television and it is just as good as I remembered. This is definitely one of my all-timeThis movie is awesome. I first saw Jurassic Park as a little kid and loved it. I've probably seen it fifty times. I just finished watching it again on television and it is just as good as I remembered. This is definitely one of my all-time favorite films Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerFeb 20, 2011
This is a movie that offers something new and exciting, this was one of my favorite movies growing up, and the best in the series, if your a Dinosaur fanatic like myself you'll love this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
kronMay 28, 2011
This movie is one of my favorites, I've watched this movie so many times since I was five years. This movie is a classic that more acclaimed standing right next to so many other Spielberg masterpieces.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
madmad90Sep 10, 2012
The games provides you with an amazing universe, if you love Jurassic Park you totally gonna enjoy the game. But certain parts like the technical problems and the fruststing quick time events may prevent you sometimes from having fun. HoweverThe games provides you with an amazing universe, if you love Jurassic Park you totally gonna enjoy the game. But certain parts like the technical problems and the fruststing quick time events may prevent you sometimes from having fun. However for that price its totally worth your effort in going out to buy this. Do it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HalfwelshmanOct 3, 2011
For anyone who was fascinated by dinosaurs as a kid, Jurassic Park is a godsend. It's fun, engaging and a well-told story. Spielberg does sentimental family films like no other, and Michael Crichton's ideas from the book the film is based onFor anyone who was fascinated by dinosaurs as a kid, Jurassic Park is a godsend. It's fun, engaging and a well-told story. Spielberg does sentimental family films like no other, and Michael Crichton's ideas from the book the film is based on add a little extra intrigue to the story. Most of the cast are serviceable rather than outstanding, and the characters aren't the most interesting or original ever committed to film, though Laura Dern still impresses. The real stars of the show (as they should be) are the dinosaurs, proof that a combination of CGI and animatronics result in effects that age the least noticeably over time (the film is nearly 20 years old and the special effects are only just starting to look out of date). The set pieces are also fantastic, particularly the T-Rex reveal and the now infamous Velociraptor kitchen scene. Jurassic Park benefits in a real way from the dream-team combination of Spielberg's expert direction, Stan Winston's creature effects and John Williams' masterful score (easily among the finest he has ever composed), consequently the film is finely crafted and truly memorable. Scored purely on its value as a film, Jurassic Park probably deserves an 8, but since it's the most important film of my childhood, I'm prepared to bump it up to a 9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews