User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 382 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 382
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    As a wide-eyed 13 yr old boy gripping the theater armrests with white knuckles, I remember this film rewiring my brain as I watched it. I walked out a changed person, never to view movies the same way again. The good ones... the truly special ones... aren't just something to watch. They transport you to another world. They take you away and cleanse you of the drudgery of reality. TheyAs a wide-eyed 13 yr old boy gripping the theater armrests with white knuckles, I remember this film rewiring my brain as I watched it. I walked out a changed person, never to view movies the same way again. The good ones... the truly special ones... aren't just something to watch. They transport you to another world. They take you away and cleanse you of the drudgery of reality. They nestle into your memory and never leave. Jurassic Park was the first film to affect me in this way and I'll never forget that feeling. Much obliged, Mr. Spielberg! Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    Everytime I hear low rumbling of thunder off in the distance....I think of a t-rex outside my house because of this movie.
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    With a great cast, wonderful story, and unforgettably stunning soundtrack, "Jurassic Park" does not disappoint. Truly brilliant filmmaking here.
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    8
    Jurassic Park holds up surprisingly well to this day. It may not be the deepest or best written movie ever made, but it's one of the most thrilling. Spielberg is a master of creating tension and incredible set-pieces. Most of the visual effects are still adequate, which is incredible for a movie made in 1993. If a visual effects film holds up like that after 20 years there's a goodJurassic Park holds up surprisingly well to this day. It may not be the deepest or best written movie ever made, but it's one of the most thrilling. Spielberg is a master of creating tension and incredible set-pieces. Most of the visual effects are still adequate, which is incredible for a movie made in 1993. If a visual effects film holds up like that after 20 years there's a good chance it may never be completely antiquated. The script can be somewhat clunky at times however. It's not a bad script, just somewhat lacking when compared to something like The Truman Show or Inception. It's still more than functional for a monster movie, and the main characters are thankfully likeable if somewhat needing of more complex characterization. It's not perfect, but it's an extremely memorable and sometimes exhilarating action film that has deservedly gone down as a benchmark in movie history. Expand
  5. JoyceC.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    It makes sense, and I am on Ian Malcolm's side of opinion of the island creation. i am astonished by how amazing the movie was.
  6. GordoA.
    Mar 21, 2004
    10
    This is just an excellent movie. Thats all I have to say.
  7. MarshallM.
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    Its an amazing science fiction film. one of speilbers most spellbinding works.
  8. RonC.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    This is truely my favorite movie of all time.
  9. AndrewM
    Nov 21, 2004
    8
    Jurassic Park is an incredibly effective film - a fact received not without astonishment, considering the weak elements it intermittently displays! For the purist, I am sure, JP is heavily laden with gaping 'logic-holes' and more than a couple of unexplained plot irregularities. But none of this really matters... Put succinctly, this is one hell of an action-thriller. A Jurassic Park is an incredibly effective film - a fact received not without astonishment, considering the weak elements it intermittently displays! For the purist, I am sure, JP is heavily laden with gaping 'logic-holes' and more than a couple of unexplained plot irregularities. But none of this really matters... Put succinctly, this is one hell of an action-thriller. A fantastic story filled with mind-blowing effects and generally credible characters. On a sidenote, I just don't know how so many kids sat through this film...I am well into adulthood (not necessarily maturity) but when T.Rex first attacked I might as well have been five again...I s..t myself! This is a great adventure film with plenty of thrills and chills - and just the right dosage of comedic relief, especially from the brilliant Jeff Goldblum. It has its share of faults, no doubt - but rarely have weaknesses been so negligible. A must see. Collapse
  10. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    most inspirational and exciting movie in my childhood.One of the most iconic movies of all time.A flawless masterpiece of a very rare kind.The real life looking dinosaurs are the greatest triumph for Spielberg in his long impressive filming career.One of the most memorable movies of all time.
  11. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    Jurassic Park is an epic adventure fantasy film. It has everything that the audience wants action, suspense,some humor and a little violence as there are dinosaurs. The dinosaurs are really amazing as the technology was not that developed when Jurassic Park came out. The actors are really good, especially the two kids and it has a lot of suspense. I thought it wouldn't have so much bloodJurassic Park is an epic adventure fantasy film. It has everything that the audience wants action, suspense,some humor and a little violence as there are dinosaurs. The dinosaurs are really amazing as the technology was not that developed when Jurassic Park came out. The actors are really good, especially the two kids and it has a lot of suspense. I thought it wouldn't have so much blood and violence as I thought it was a PG movie, but I don't have these kind of problems. Jurassic park is epic and haters gonna hate. I was hesitating at first because I don't like dinosaurs and stuff but Jurassic Park amazed me and it is a classic one. A must-watch. Best film with dinosaurs for sure! Expand
  12. May 26, 2011
    10
    One of the best movies ever made, and a movie that has a special place in my heart. Honestly, I believe this movie should've won best picture at the Oscars, not Schindler's List.
  13. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    A definite thrill ride and an experience of a lifetime. This movie might not have gotten all of the praise that Jaws got but it was this movie, alongside with the original Star Wars movies, that really created a whole new world for CGI characters and helped define the skill that a movie crew can possess. My favorite movie of all time and the one movie that will never get old.
  14. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    A classic in itself. No movie made of dinosaurs has been more mesmerizing and dazzling. The score is sensational. It is one of those movies that transcends not only its genre but for all movies.
  15. Allison
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    Simply wonderful. Mr. Spielberg made me believe that dinosaurs still walked the Earth. This is a must see film with chills and thrills galore.
  16. Antti
    Mar 24, 2008
    5
    Very generic action film with novelty effects. watchable once, but mostly boring.
  17. EricJ
    Jan 1, 2008
    0
    The most overrated movie of all time.
  18. BlancoA.
    Apr 7, 2003
    4
    I expected SO MUCH MORE from this movie, and just didn't get it. Everyone who had read the book was talking up the intellectual inquiry of the subject matter, the interesting characters and the like. The film was nothing more than a special effects showcase, and not a terribly good one, IMHO. VERY forgettable stuff.
  19. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    this is a boss like movie cuz it diosours and panads!
  20. Sep 20, 2011
    6
    The main problem I had with jurassic park is that it doesn't live up to the incredibly high calibre of the cast and crew. Actors like sam neill and samuel l jackson are stuck in a simplistic action film with not much going for it. Don't get me wrong, steven spielberg brings his directing flair elevating this above your average monster film but the sub par script doesn't allow for characterThe main problem I had with jurassic park is that it doesn't live up to the incredibly high calibre of the cast and crew. Actors like sam neill and samuel l jackson are stuck in a simplistic action film with not much going for it. Don't get me wrong, steven spielberg brings his directing flair elevating this above your average monster film but the sub par script doesn't allow for character development with wayne knights character being a laughably stupid character. For that matter its nice to see that spielberg sticks to the convention that all characters in a monster movie are remarkably dumb. Overall the movie can provide long moments of tension and some great set pieces but not much else. Expand
  21. Jan 20, 2014
    4
    Jurassic Park is one of those films that you must have seen when first released (in theaters and home video) in order to really enjoy it. I just watched it for the first time and I just didn't care for it. It's took far to long to get the least bit interesting and even then it never really picks up.
  22. Mar 20, 2014
    4
    ( ALL ENTERTAINMENT)
    Here's the thing about the first Jurassic Park film. It's a very slow pace movie. Once the movie gets going then it's good. But for awhile it drags. The effects are extremely well done. The storyline is amazing. Everything was on key including the cinematography. I have to give it a score of 4 out of 10 though because the beginning is extremely slow. But other than
    ( ALL ENTERTAINMENT)
    Here's the thing about the first Jurassic Park film. It's a very slow pace movie. Once the movie gets going then it's good. But for awhile it drags. The effects are extremely well done. The storyline is amazing. Everything was on key including the cinematography. I have to give it a score of 4 out of 10 though because the beginning is extremely slow. But other than that, it was amazing.

    By: Bailey (A Film Critic/Entertainment journal writer)
    Expand
  23. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    You can read my review/retrospective of the recent 3D re-release of "Jurassic Park" here http://geektasticfilmreviews.blogspot.com/2013/04/jurassic-park-3d.html
  24. May 24, 2015
    10
    Brilliant! I loved it! The cgi-especially for 1993-was fantastic! Abslolutely brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  25. [Anonymous]
    Sep 11, 2005
    9
    I have a special bond with his movie. Jurassic park was the first movie i ever saw in a Theater, and what a way to start off! Good CGI, but the characters have Hollywood entertainment flowing through them, adding energy to what would've been a by-the-numbers flick. Good editing, too. The sequels aren't outright bad, kinda like ID4 with dinos, but they don't have the solid I have a special bond with his movie. Jurassic park was the first movie i ever saw in a Theater, and what a way to start off! Good CGI, but the characters have Hollywood entertainment flowing through them, adding energy to what would've been a by-the-numbers flick. Good editing, too. The sequels aren't outright bad, kinda like ID4 with dinos, but they don't have the solid structure of this one. The Lost World is open for anyone who can't get enough dino, and thought the original didn't give em enough. Jurassic Park Three is Lost world Lite, but still entertaining, with even better CGI and a certain dumb charm. Hope the fourth shows a return to form. Expand
  26. Sam
    Sep 10, 2004
    10
    Pat c., first off it was BOOK before a movie so don't yell at spielberg for the awesome plot, and second, this is one of the best movies ever.
  27. WillH.
    Feb 17, 2005
    7
    Good movie, but the most annoy children imaginable on the silver screen knock it down a couple of notches.
  28. JeremyH.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    A LEGENDARY movie, shame about the sequels. That's all that needs to be said really. It may not seem original, but wholly, it clearly is.
  29. ZeeM.
    May 19, 2007
    10
    Amazing Movie!! It's great how they made the Dino's, extremely realistic. Incredibly thrilling!
  30. JohnnyS
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    A pure masterpiece! This is one of the greatest movies of all time. It may not have absolutely fantastic actors but the graphic effects and sound department definitely make up for it's loss! Nothing like this had ever been made at the time, which makes it even more special, it still amazes me today.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. All the imagination and effort (including 18 months of pre-production) that went into making the dinosaurs state-of-the-art exciting apparently left no time to make the people similarly believable or involving. In fact, when the big guys leave the screen, you'll be tempted to leave the theater with them. [11 June 1993, Calendar, p.F-1]
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    90
    For dinosaurs to rule the earth again, the monsters needed majesty as well as menace. And Spielberg got it all right. [14 June 1993, p.69]
  3. The results make poor old King Kong look like something from a Macy's Thanksgiving Day parade. Such is progress. [12 July 1993, p.26]