Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 11, 1993
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 592 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
545
Mixed:
35
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
CooterPatooterFeb 21, 2012
As a wide-eyed 13 yr old boy gripping the theater armrests with white knuckles, I remember this film rewiring my brain as I watched it. I walked out a changed person, never to view movies the same way again. The good ones... the trulyAs a wide-eyed 13 yr old boy gripping the theater armrests with white knuckles, I remember this film rewiring my brain as I watched it. I walked out a changed person, never to view movies the same way again. The good ones... the truly special ones... aren't just something to watch. They transport you to another world. They take you away and cleanse you of the drudgery of reality. They nestle into your memory and never leave. Jurassic Park was the first film to affect me in this way and I'll never forget that feeling. Much obliged, Mr. Spielberg! Expand
16 of 16 users found this helpful160
All this user's reviews
9
wesker2012Jun 1, 2012
Everytime I hear low rumbling of thunder off in the distance....I think of a t-rex outside my house because of this movie.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
With a great cast, wonderful story, and unforgettably stunning soundtrack, "Jurassic Park" does not disappoint. Truly brilliant filmmaking here.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Aug 25, 2015
Steven Spielberg's "Jurassic Park" is a simply astonishing masterpiece, with an excellent cast, plot, and moreover visuals that exceeds any other of its era.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
BradySmithSep 19, 2013
Jurassic Park holds up surprisingly well to this day. It may not be the deepest or best written movie ever made, but it's one of the most thrilling. Spielberg is a master of creating tension and incredible set-pieces. Most of the visualJurassic Park holds up surprisingly well to this day. It may not be the deepest or best written movie ever made, but it's one of the most thrilling. Spielberg is a master of creating tension and incredible set-pieces. Most of the visual effects are still adequate, which is incredible for a movie made in 1993. If a visual effects film holds up like that after 20 years there's a good chance it may never be completely antiquated. The script can be somewhat clunky at times however. It's not a bad script, just somewhat lacking when compared to something like The Truman Show or Inception. It's still more than functional for a monster movie, and the main characters are thankfully likeable if somewhat needing of more complex characterization. It's not perfect, but it's an extremely memorable and sometimes exhilarating action film that has deservedly gone down as a benchmark in movie history. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JoyceC.Oct 6, 2007
It makes sense, and I am on Ian Malcolm's side of opinion of the island creation. i am astonished by how amazing the movie was.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GordoA.Mar 21, 2004
This is just an excellent movie. Thats all I have to say.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarshallM.Nov 25, 2005
Its an amazing science fiction film. one of speilbers most spellbinding works.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RonC.Nov 18, 2007
This is truely my favorite movie of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AndrewMNov 21, 2004
Jurassic Park is an incredibly effective film - a fact received not without astonishment, considering the weak elements it intermittently displays! For the purist, I am sure, JP is heavily laden with gaping 'logic-holes' and more Jurassic Park is an incredibly effective film - a fact received not without astonishment, considering the weak elements it intermittently displays! For the purist, I am sure, JP is heavily laden with gaping 'logic-holes' and more than a couple of unexplained plot irregularities. But none of this really matters... Put succinctly, this is one hell of an action-thriller. A fantastic story filled with mind-blowing effects and generally credible characters. On a sidenote, I just don't know how so many kids sat through this film...I am well into adulthood (not necessarily maturity) but when T.Rex first attacked I might as well have been five again...I s..t myself! This is a great adventure film with plenty of thrills and chills - and just the right dosage of comedic relief, especially from the brilliant Jeff Goldblum. It has its share of faults, no doubt - but rarely have weaknesses been so negligible. A must see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
117dilushamcJun 18, 2013
most inspirational and exciting movie in my childhood.One of the most iconic movies of all time.A flawless masterpiece of a very rare kind.The real life looking dinosaurs are the greatest triumph for Spielberg in his long impressive filmingmost inspirational and exciting movie in my childhood.One of the most iconic movies of all time.A flawless masterpiece of a very rare kind.The real life looking dinosaurs are the greatest triumph for Spielberg in his long impressive filming career.One of the most memorable movies of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
KivaAug 17, 2013
Jurassic Park is an epic adventure fantasy film. It has everything that the audience wants action, suspense,some humor and a little violence as there are dinosaurs. The dinosaurs are really amazing as the technology was not that developedJurassic Park is an epic adventure fantasy film. It has everything that the audience wants action, suspense,some humor and a little violence as there are dinosaurs. The dinosaurs are really amazing as the technology was not that developed when Jurassic Park came out. The actors are really good, especially the two kids and it has a lot of suspense. I thought it wouldn't have so much blood and violence as I thought it was a PG movie, but I don't have these kind of problems. Jurassic park is epic and haters gonna hate. I was hesitating at first because I don't like dinosaurs and stuff but Jurassic Park amazed me and it is a classic one. A must-watch. Best film with dinosaurs for sure! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
heathermJan 14, 2015
Watching this movie for the first time as an adult, I was completely amazed by how good it was--I always assumed it must be overhyped, but it completely deserves its reputation as a classic. The pacing is perfect, with a long, slow-burnWatching this movie for the first time as an adult, I was completely amazed by how good it was--I always assumed it must be overhyped, but it completely deserves its reputation as a classic. The pacing is perfect, with a long, slow-burn lead-up to the scary dinosaur scenes we all know are coming. The special effects hold up amazingly well more than 20 years later--they manage to avoid the kitschy funniness of most outdated effects. This is a wonderfully enjoyable movie that I'll definitely be watching again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MrMovieBuffJul 18, 2015
Even after 20-something years, Steven Spielberg's 'Jurassic Park' is still an incredible blockbuster, filled with gorgeous visual effects that still hold up today.

The movie focuses on a park that was created by John Hammond (Richard
Even after 20-something years, Steven Spielberg's 'Jurassic Park' is still an incredible blockbuster, filled with gorgeous visual effects that still hold up today.

The movie focuses on a park that was created by John Hammond (Richard Attenborough), who, as author Michael Cricheton described as a "dark Walt Disney" and three experts, played by Sam Neil, Laura Dern and Jeff Goldblum respectively explore the park, and then run into some consequences.

The movie mostly focuses on Sam Neil's character, Alan, saving John Hammond's grandson and granddaughter from the gigantic T-Rex throughout the entire movie.

What this movie is very good at is suspense and Spielberg uses it effectively. One scene that stands out the most is when the characters are in the cars and the grandson, Tim, hears thudding from a distance. He looks at the glasses of water on the dashboard and sees them shaking, and we get a close-up shot of this as it happens for a while. This is obviously a sign that a dinosaur is approaching and Spielberg is good at putting the audience on edge.

I guess the movie's only flaw would be the way the human characters are used throughout the film. The dinosaurs are the main stars here, and by "dinosaurs" I mean the special effects, which still look terrific. The human characters are there to make the dinosaurs look even scarier to the audience by looking up in awe and/or fear and screaming to the top of their lungs. Spielberg doesn't use many surprises to show us the dinosaurs as we see them early and throughout the duration of the film, so to keep them looking scary, make the human characters look even smaller and make them scream, this is not a gimmick, but it's a tiny flaw.

Other than this, you get great looking dinosaurs, great suspense and a great time at the movies filled with some neat action and some touching moments. 'Jurassic Park' is a joy to behold.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PabloBird22Aug 15, 2016
Let's tell something, this movie was something beautiful and nostalgic from my childhood, when i was a baby, i love dinosaurs, and this movie was something that i wont forget :'D
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gm101May 26, 2011
One of the best movies ever made, and a movie that has a special place in my heart. Honestly, I believe this movie should've won best picture at the Oscars, not Schindler's List.
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
TENCATIJADec 27, 2010
A definite thrill ride and an experience of a lifetime. This movie might not have gotten all of the praise that Jaws got but it was this movie, alongside with the original Star Wars movies, that really created a whole new world for CGIA definite thrill ride and an experience of a lifetime. This movie might not have gotten all of the praise that Jaws got but it was this movie, alongside with the original Star Wars movies, that really created a whole new world for CGI characters and helped define the skill that a movie crew can possess. My favorite movie of all time and the one movie that will never get old. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Sep 2, 2012
A classic in itself. No movie made of dinosaurs has been more mesmerizing and dazzling. The score is sensational. It is one of those movies that transcends not only its genre but for all movies.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
AllisonAug 12, 2005
Simply wonderful. Mr. Spielberg made me believe that dinosaurs still walked the Earth. This is a must see film with chills and thrills galore.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
lukaminaMay 24, 2015
Brilliant! I loved it! The cgi-especially for 1993-was fantastic! AbslolutelyBrilliant! I loved it! The cgi-especially for 1993-was fantastic! Abslolutely brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
AnttiMar 24, 2008
Very generic action film with novelty effects. watchable once, but mostly boring.
1 of 13 users found this helpful
0
EricJJan 1, 2008
The most overrated movie of all time.
1 of 42 users found this helpful
4
BlancoA.Apr 7, 2003
I expected SO MUCH MORE from this movie, and just didn't get it. Everyone who had read the book was talking up the intellectual inquiry of the subject matter, the interesting characters and the like. The film was nothing more than a I expected SO MUCH MORE from this movie, and just didn't get it. Everyone who had read the book was talking up the intellectual inquiry of the subject matter, the interesting characters and the like. The film was nothing more than a special effects showcase, and not a terribly good one, IMHO. VERY forgettable stuff. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
snowheaven98Jul 31, 2011
this is a boss like movie cuz it diosours and panads!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
hoops2448Sep 20, 2011
The main problem I had with jurassic park is that it doesn't live up to the incredibly high calibre of the cast and crew. Actors like sam neill and samuel l jackson are stuck in a simplistic action film with not much going for it. Don't getThe main problem I had with jurassic park is that it doesn't live up to the incredibly high calibre of the cast and crew. Actors like sam neill and samuel l jackson are stuck in a simplistic action film with not much going for it. Don't get me wrong, steven spielberg brings his directing flair elevating this above your average monster film but the sub par script doesn't allow for character development with wayne knights character being a laughably stupid character. For that matter its nice to see that spielberg sticks to the convention that all characters in a monster movie are remarkably dumb. Overall the movie can provide long moments of tension and some great set pieces but not much else. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Kylenine1Mar 20, 2014
( ALL ENTERTAINMENT)
Here's the thing about the first Jurassic Park film. It's a very slow pace movie. Once the movie gets going then it's good. But for awhile it drags. The effects are extremely well done. The storyline is amazing.
( ALL ENTERTAINMENT)
Here's the thing about the first Jurassic Park film. It's a very slow pace movie. Once the movie gets going then it's good. But for awhile it drags. The effects are extremely well done. The storyline is amazing. Everything was on key including the cinematography. I have to give it a score of 4 out of 10 though because the beginning is extremely slow. But other than that, it was amazing.

By: Bailey (A Film Critic/Entertainment journal writer)
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
shwanziApr 23, 2013
You can read my review/retrospective of the recent 3D re-release of "Jurassic Park" here http://geektasticfilmreviews.blogspot.com/2013/04/jurassic-park-3d.html
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
vikesh2206Jun 12, 2015
The masterpiece Jurassic Park is a terrifying yet entertaining venture into the world of dinosaurs without ignoring the complexities of its characters and creatures alike.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ZawMineMay 11, 2015
Jurassic Park is a masterpiece. It is an achievement. One of the greatest achievements in cinema history. Jurassic Park is one of the best family film out there. You can enjoy this movie any time. I love this movie so much.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MadMaxFuryRoadJun 22, 2015
Definitely a bit overrated, but still watchable. The movie was boring and slow but finally caught up to all the hype. It's worth watching if you just want to see crazy dinosaurs killing humans in gruesome ways.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
[Anonymous]Sep 11, 2005
I have a special bond with his movie. Jurassic park was the first movie i ever saw in a Theater, and what a way to start off! Good CGI, but the characters have Hollywood entertainment flowing through them, adding energy to what would've I have a special bond with his movie. Jurassic park was the first movie i ever saw in a Theater, and what a way to start off! Good CGI, but the characters have Hollywood entertainment flowing through them, adding energy to what would've been a by-the-numbers flick. Good editing, too. The sequels aren't outright bad, kinda like ID4 with dinos, but they don't have the solid structure of this one. The Lost World is open for anyone who can't get enough dino, and thought the original didn't give em enough. Jurassic Park Three is Lost world Lite, but still entertaining, with even better CGI and a certain dumb charm. Hope the fourth shows a return to form. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamSep 10, 2004
Pat c., first off it was BOOK before a movie so don't yell at spielberg for the awesome plot, and second, this is one of the best movies ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WillH.Feb 17, 2005
Good movie, but the most annoy children imaginable on the silver screen knock it down a couple of notches.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyH.Oct 20, 2007
A LEGENDARY movie, shame about the sequels. That's all that needs to be said really. It may not seem original, but wholly, it clearly is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZeeM.May 19, 2007
Amazing Movie!! It's great how they made the Dino's, extremely realistic. Incredibly thrilling!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnnySApr 14, 2008
A pure masterpiece! This is one of the greatest movies of all time. It may not have absolutely fantastic actors but the graphic effects and sound department definitely make up for it's loss! Nothing like this had ever been made at the A pure masterpiece! This is one of the greatest movies of all time. It may not have absolutely fantastic actors but the graphic effects and sound department definitely make up for it's loss! Nothing like this had ever been made at the time, which makes it even more special, it still amazes me today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ByronJ.Apr 17, 2008
The Best Film of the 90's
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YoonMinC.Sep 25, 2003
One of the grandest entertainments ever. If Spielberg's prior(and more personal)blockbuster films suffered from an overly zealous sentimentality(ET) or quasi-religious pretensions(Close Encounters), Jurassic Park, directed by a maturer One of the grandest entertainments ever. If Spielberg's prior(and more personal)blockbuster films suffered from an overly zealous sentimentality(ET) or quasi-religious pretensions(Close Encounters), Jurassic Park, directed by a maturer artist, found the perfect balance between themepark thrills and somber reflection. It was and still is a rare thing, a movie that not only uses special effects for thrills but to dazzle and awe. In this regard, it's comparable to 2001 which, almost alone among space movies, conveyed a sense of immensity of the cosmos instead of turning it into a football field for spaceships. Jurassic Park was, of course, a summer blockbuster and brimming over with rollercoaster visuals but it's undeniably much more. It creates a world beyond our imagination, dazzles our senses as much as it chills our spines. Oddly enough, Spielberg also directed Schindler's List in the same year, with JP being about man trying to revive an extinct species and SL being about man trying to drive a race toward extinction; both within the confines of a secluded, laboratory like setting. While it may seem perverse to compare a summer blockbuster with a truly harrowing Holocaust movie, it would be foolish to deny JP grapples with some of the grandest of issues, what with the recent advancements in genetic technology; namely, that the world is bigger than science or ideology, and it would be a case of hubris to think otherwise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
J.RyanG.Jun 17, 2005
Before seeing it for the first time, you want to believe the hype. Then, you've seen it, and it ends up feeling more like an awkward social engagement that exhausts and discourages. A film that should instill great hope in its audience Before seeing it for the first time, you want to believe the hype. Then, you've seen it, and it ends up feeling more like an awkward social engagement that exhausts and discourages. A film that should instill great hope in its audience fails every time it tries too hard to please and not to push our buttons. For a real thrill, see Shyamalan's dread-inducing thrillfest "Signs." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerV.Jul 14, 2005
Absolutely wonderful as the dinosaurs came to life. Fantastic job by all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
patrickJul 23, 2005
An excellent movie. The CGI combines with the well-planned action is thrilling and exciting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenC.Mar 28, 2006
One of the best movies of all time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PamL.May 20, 2006
A riveting adventure from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JCAndrewOct 6, 2007
Wow, I can watch this over an over again when I feel like to, this movie is a fad. and a very good one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobY.Aug 27, 2007
Classic. one of the most thrilling movies of all time. i don't see how u can't enjoy this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaredC.Aug 4, 2007
A great movie, it is one of its decades best. An amazing film that keeps you at a firm grip, and has you straight in engagement. A movie with visual effects that are still reaching our standards today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TitaniumDragonNov 30, 2008
Frankly, this movie is grealty underrated by critics, which just goes to show that while critics sometimes hit, sometimes they miss as well. While it is true that Titanic was awful, and made more money than it ever deserved to, ten years Frankly, this movie is grealty underrated by critics, which just goes to show that while critics sometimes hit, sometimes they miss as well. While it is true that Titanic was awful, and made more money than it ever deserved to, ten years later no one remembers it. People remember Jurassic Park. The reality is that Jurassic Park was the beginning of an era. Up to that point, no one had done something nearly so ambitious. The effort gone into making the movie shows; the dinosaurs look amazing, and this movie pulls off something VERY few movies have done - seamless CG. The dinosaurs look like they're really there, and you can't tell when they're using animatronics and when they're using CG. Its amazing, and the movie is a visual masterpiece. Indeed, I would go so far as to argue that no movie since has managed the same level of realism with their CG monsters, simply because everyone is lazy. Comparing this to later movies, such as the new Star Wars movies, makes the Star Wars movies look dated and amateurish. But its not JUST the dinosaurs and their wonderful visuals. Its also a very solid plotline of man doing things with science, and due to arrogance get in real trouble. Sadly, it doesn't contain some of the awesome plotpoints of the book which underscore this, such as their automated tracking system which has an internal cap as to how many dinosaurs it would display because they only assumed that the number of dinosaurs could go down, not up. Sadly, this plot point is lost, so the hubris is lessened. Even so, while this movie isn't the best in terms of plot, it manages to be a great movie. While not a 10, its a 9 - a movie that everyone should see, because it is that good. Some of the characters aren't that great, but others are excellent, and overall the movie is a great effort and is fun to watch. In the end, a movie like this exists to entertain and maybe make people think about some possiblities, and this movie accomplishes both. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GustavoH.R.Dec 31, 2003
The best popcorn film of the nineties. It is thrilling, presenting exhilarating action scenes. Spielberg is a visionary: Jurassic Park is pure movie magic. It is no surprise, though, that movie critics don't take it seriously. Movies The best popcorn film of the nineties. It is thrilling, presenting exhilarating action scenes. Spielberg is a visionary: Jurassic Park is pure movie magic. It is no surprise, though, that movie critics don't take it seriously. Movies like these are not made for them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
raVenJul 19, 2003
Sure, if you don't believe in Santa Claus, send the presents back. But please don't complain once you've opened them. People who don't want this film won't get it. But I can't speak to that because I can't Sure, if you don't believe in Santa Claus, send the presents back. But please don't complain once you've opened them. People who don't want this film won't get it. But I can't speak to that because I can't imagine NOT liking this movie. Yes, the book is more thoughtful, but all these years and two sequels later the movie is still an awesome fantasy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PatC.Jan 12, 2004
What is this? One of the greatest special effects tour de forces in movie history, but populated by B acting performances and a plot so uninspired that Spielberg doesn't care whether you notice or not, so long as yurassis parked for the show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
C.B.Nov 6, 2007
fun to look at, but overrated
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshL.Dec 16, 2007
A modern classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ManicMorrisAug 21, 2010
I used to watch this at the age of 3. Since then it has been my favourite movie always keeping me entertained. One of the best movies of all time in my own opinion. Definately one of Spielberg's best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobJun 1, 2015
Jurassic Park is a fun dinosaur movie with good morals. Normally I’m not too big on action but it is well handled. The film creates likeable/relatable characters, builds up the threat of the dinosaurs, uses mostly practical effects, and whileJurassic Park is a fun dinosaur movie with good morals. Normally I’m not too big on action but it is well handled. The film creates likeable/relatable characters, builds up the threat of the dinosaurs, uses mostly practical effects, and while it may take a while for the film to get to the action when it gets there it is fun and well earned being intense along with wonderful to look at. While the film has some nice morals they do feel a little forced in as they are mainly delivered through exposition while the action is fun and entertaining. Jurassic Park is a fun movie that doesn’t need a sequel but it is getting a fourth one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 20, 2010
Dinosaurs are the coolest prehestoric animals in the whole world. thats why Steven Spielberg decided to make a science fiction movie about Dinosaurs and it kicked a**!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AI88Nov 27, 2010
This movie is awesome. I first saw Jurassic Park as a little kid and loved it. I've probably seen it fifty times. I just finished watching it again on television and it is just as good as I remembered. This is definitely one of my all-timeThis movie is awesome. I first saw Jurassic Park as a little kid and loved it. I've probably seen it fifty times. I just finished watching it again on television and it is just as good as I remembered. This is definitely one of my all-time favorite films Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerFeb 20, 2011
This is a movie that offers something new and exciting, this was one of my favorite movies growing up, and the best in the series, if your a Dinosaur fanatic like myself you'll love this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
kronMay 28, 2011
This movie is one of my favorites, I've watched this movie so many times since I was five years. This movie is a classic that more acclaimed standing right next to so many other Spielberg masterpieces.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
madmad90Sep 10, 2012
The games provides you with an amazing universe, if you love Jurassic Park you totally gonna enjoy the game. But certain parts like the technical problems and the fruststing quick time events may prevent you sometimes from having fun. HoweverThe games provides you with an amazing universe, if you love Jurassic Park you totally gonna enjoy the game. But certain parts like the technical problems and the fruststing quick time events may prevent you sometimes from having fun. However for that price its totally worth your effort in going out to buy this. Do it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HalfwelshmanOct 3, 2011
For anyone who was fascinated by dinosaurs as a kid, Jurassic Park is a godsend. It's fun, engaging and a well-told story. Spielberg does sentimental family films like no other, and Michael Crichton's ideas from the book the film is based onFor anyone who was fascinated by dinosaurs as a kid, Jurassic Park is a godsend. It's fun, engaging and a well-told story. Spielberg does sentimental family films like no other, and Michael Crichton's ideas from the book the film is based on add a little extra intrigue to the story. Most of the cast are serviceable rather than outstanding, and the characters aren't the most interesting or original ever committed to film, though Laura Dern still impresses. The real stars of the show (as they should be) are the dinosaurs, proof that a combination of CGI and animatronics result in effects that age the least noticeably over time (the film is nearly 20 years old and the special effects are only just starting to look out of date). The set pieces are also fantastic, particularly the T-Rex reveal and the now infamous Velociraptor kitchen scene. Jurassic Park benefits in a real way from the dream-team combination of Spielberg's expert direction, Stan Winston's creature effects and John Williams' masterful score (easily among the finest he has ever composed), consequently the film is finely crafted and truly memorable. Scored purely on its value as a film, Jurassic Park probably deserves an 8, but since it's the most important film of my childhood, I'm prepared to bump it up to a 9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
j30Nov 27, 2011
This movie inspired and awed me as a child. It's what dreams are made of. The incredible special effects and puppetry still hold up today. Great movie in my eyes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TAMPjackoonNov 5, 2011
A simply great movie, delivers all the thrills, laughs, and all in 2 hours. It gave CGI to the world, along with an unforgettable movie of Isle Nublar's tragedy. This is a must-have for anyone who is a fan of thrillers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrandonBonaseraApr 11, 2013
Utterly beautiful, awe-inspiring, flawless and ground-breaking film that will forever be one of my childhood favourite films, and it still is one of my favourite films. Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
S09_88Nov 11, 2011
One of the greatest movies of all time - Spielberg is a genuis. I love everything about this movie, location, acting, characters, dinosaurs - such a stunning movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
StevenFFeb 2, 2013
In a generation where Jurassic Park was the pinnacle of CGI, its hard not to admire this thrilling and suspenseful adventure, but there are stumbling blocks which stopped this film from reaching its full potential.
When a wealthy visionary
In a generation where Jurassic Park was the pinnacle of CGI, its hard not to admire this thrilling and suspenseful adventure, but there are stumbling blocks which stopped this film from reaching its full potential.
When a wealthy visionary (Richard Attenborough) needs expert approval before he can open is state of the art biological theme park, he turns to palaeontologist Alan Grant (Sam Neill) and paleobotonist Ellie Sattler (Laura Dern) for approval, due to the fact that there are living, breathing dinosaurs on the park, cloned from DNA of the creatures millions of years before.
What ensues is greed, corruption, and the goal of wanting to be remembered as revolutionising how humans and dinosaurs can co-exist.
When a power cut drops all security defences on the enclosures, its a fight for life against beautifully rendered prehistoric creatures.
The build and tension is here, but its when the dinosaurs actually make an appearance that the movie start to become a little bland and it almost seems rushed, even though this is 120min plus film.
Spielberg has created mastery in telling an excellent story, but the chemistry between the characters feels to forced and unnecessary, and it seemed premature to put Jeff Goldblum's eccentric character out of use so early with a bad leg.
Saying that, the performances of Neill and Dern are strong, but the device of using shock and awe/wait for amazement does tend to overpower these performances.
Its excellent for its generation, certainly better than the second instalment, but could have reached heights had it not been for a more concerning promotion of the technology at work here, a milestone of its own behalf, but could easily have been better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LandFApr 19, 2012
Jurassic Park is surprisingly good, and I say "surprisingly," because I didn't know how much more I really wanted to watch after the first hour. Roughly the first 60 minutes is contaminated with utter boredom. In fact, most of this first hourJurassic Park is surprisingly good, and I say "surprisingly," because I didn't know how much more I really wanted to watch after the first hour. Roughly the first 60 minutes is contaminated with utter boredom. In fact, most of this first hour wasn't even necessary. If I could crop out the 5-10 minutes of the first hour that were important, I imagine that the audience would still understand what was happening. Maybe it was just my inner-boy speaking, but I wanted to see some dinosaurs for cryin' out loud! But I digress. (To the film's credit, though, we do see some dinos before they begin their reign of terror, but most are in the background, one we only get a glimpse of his claw and eye. Only one dino is fully exposed, and it doesn't really do anything. And before the dinos start attacking, we see two more; a baby, as well as a sick triceratops). After you get past the first hour, the film quickly picks up. I won't say how many, but people do die (and we see two dismembered body parts before the film is over). To be honest, I've never seen a film that would truly qualify as "scary," but this certainly "freaked me out." I always thought dinos were terrifying creatures, but now that fear has been greatly multiplied. In addition to an excellent job on making the dinos appear so suddenly (you'll probably be startled by an un-expected reptile at least once), the dinos look incredibly real, despite the fact that this film is nearly 20 years old. The characters in the film weren't quite one-dimensional, but they weren't very fleshed out either. The plot was slightly outrageous, but if you can force yourself to believe it, the film is much more enjoyable. The score by legendary composer, John Williams, was something of a disappointment. This is by far the worst I've heard from him, though it's not that bad. It's serviceable, and sometimes, that's all one can ask for. Though there are times when the music is a little irritating and repetitive. The film is lots of fun, and it's truly scary. There are some comedy elements, but it's mostly for the fright and joy of seeing people chased by dinos. So, if that's what you came for, you won't be disappointed. That is, if you can get past that first hour. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ShahnamehDec 21, 2011
I love this movie, one the greatest movies of all time, and a great adventure. It will never gets old. Steven Spielberg gives you a realistic picture of dinosours. It has very good music too. See it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
subhadip1524Jan 22, 2012
I first saw this back when I was little. If I remember correctly, it was also a big thing when it came out...I am always going to love this movie...It was one of the amazing film ever made in Hollywood by the great director Steven SpielbergI first saw this back when I was little. If I remember correctly, it was also a big thing when it came out...I am always going to love this movie...It was one of the amazing film ever made in Hollywood by the great director Steven Spielberg who is the only director who thinks in a different way..Many who dislike Jurassic Park just all have same reason finding out little faults but anyone didn't show where the fault is properly..and also love the background music..it was truly Awesome...
Jurassic Park â
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MehoweeJan 7, 2012
Brilliant action-packed film by Spielberg. CGI, dramatic scenes, and blood-thirsty animals make it thrilling, and worth watching. Unforgettable score and hair raising effects will give you a scare you'll never forget.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
Jurassic Park is Steven Spielberg's big-screen vision of Michael Crichton's famed novel about dinosaurs in the modern world. Stunning visuals and a killer plot, it's a classic and a classic of our time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Jun 11, 2013
I wish the movie lived up to its classic score, but it doesn't. However, it is a groundbreaking picture that is filled with adventure and action. Entertaining and at times, epic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialMar 8, 2014
It's got intensity, excitement, great visuals and humor - almost everything you expect from a Spielberg movie. The movie also has some great, effective, suspenseful scenes that you make you be on the edge-of-your-seat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MonsieurEamesJul 13, 2012
This is one of my favorite films of all time. It knows how to be scary, funny and fascinating, sometimes all in the same scene. The dinosaurs also look great, especially for the time period that it was made in.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleAug 31, 2014
This one is certainly a ton of fun. The special effects are killer (lul) and the excitement they help to build is truly why Jurassic Park has gone down as a classic. Now, a lot of that is also likely thanks to 90s nostalgia and kidsThis one is certainly a ton of fun. The special effects are killer (lul) and the excitement they help to build is truly why Jurassic Park has gone down as a classic. Now, a lot of that is also likely thanks to 90s nostalgia and kids overhyping the movies they saw when they were 10, but all the same, Jurassic Park's special effects are a sight to behold. The terror and thrills are also ever present and really add an extra level of excitement to this one as you watch these huge beasts attack these people with childlike wonder. However, once you get snapped out of that childlike wonder, there are some issues, namely the acting. Laura Dern sucks here. The kids are not stellar. Then Richard Attenborough (RIP) is nothing more than alright. Luckily, Jeff Goldblum, Sam Neill, and Wayne Knight, are all fine, which is a plus. However, the acting of Dern is the true cause of much of my distress, as she was just straight up bad. There are also some cheesy scenes that really detract from the overall product. However, as a whole, Jurassic Park is very exciting and the special effects are just too impressive to look away even when the acting sucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TDK_96Oct 3, 2012
Classic movie. It's the undisputed all-time best Dinosaur movie to come out, and likely to be the best one to ever come out. It has an exciting plot, great performances, and action to support it. The effects were amazing; ahead of its time.Classic movie. It's the undisputed all-time best Dinosaur movie to come out, and likely to be the best one to ever come out. It has an exciting plot, great performances, and action to support it. The effects were amazing; ahead of its time. The Dinosaurs looked incredibly, and terrifyingly realistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MouthofSauronDec 9, 2012
"Jurassic Park" is a wonderfully imagined film. It owes its greatness to digital wizardry, beautiful panoramas, and Michael Crichton's captivating novel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeJan 22, 2013
For its time the effects are spectacular. Soon will draw the remastered in 3D and it will be great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JawsLaxerDramaDec 27, 2012
Props to Steven Spielberg for creating a great movie! It is not the best movie ever made, or one of them, but it is still a treat to watch! The visual effects are top-notch and I enjoyed the action. A little slow during the first 10 minutes,Props to Steven Spielberg for creating a great movie! It is not the best movie ever made, or one of them, but it is still a treat to watch! The visual effects are top-notch and I enjoyed the action. A little slow during the first 10 minutes, but it does pick up. Diagnosis: See it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HazzaGallaFeb 22, 2016
A truly, brilliant piece of film. 'Jurassic Park' not only pioneers in breathtaking, revolutionary practical and special effects, but it's characters and fantastic story present something much more than a 'monster' movie. It's these reasonsA truly, brilliant piece of film. 'Jurassic Park' not only pioneers in breathtaking, revolutionary practical and special effects, but it's characters and fantastic story present something much more than a 'monster' movie. It's these reasons alone which cement it as my absolute favourite movie and one of the greatest movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Rox22Apr 21, 2015
Few movies have ever managed to captivate me the way this one did. I watched it on opening night when it first came out in theatres. Then about a dozen more times after that. I bought the VHS, DVD, Blu Ray, book, sound track, trading cards,Few movies have ever managed to captivate me the way this one did. I watched it on opening night when it first came out in theatres. Then about a dozen more times after that. I bought the VHS, DVD, Blu Ray, book, sound track, trading cards, stickers, posters, even had a Jurassic Park tie at one point. So yeah, I'm a huge fan.

When it first came out, it was a visual marvel. Today the CG sequences do show their age, but luckily most of the practical effects still hold up, a testimony to why animatronics is still valid.

Great story, it does deviate a bit from the book but not too much. Interesting characters, but the dialogue now does feel a little hammy at time.

Overall:
Jurassic Park is one of my favourite movies from my childhood. While it is a little dated now, it still holds up remarkably well, considering its age.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
valsavenJan 20, 2013
Classic. The movie of my childhood. As then, now produces incredible impression. Now I'll know what to do, if I meet a tyrannosaur. Thanks to Dr. Grant :D
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TrilobiteGJun 15, 2015
The one that started it all, an adventure 65 million years in the making. This movie inspired a generation to respect the art of cinema illusion, if it's not meant to be there, who cares? The acting in this film is on point, the dialogue isThe one that started it all, an adventure 65 million years in the making. This movie inspired a generation to respect the art of cinema illusion, if it's not meant to be there, who cares? The acting in this film is on point, the dialogue is beautiful and the action is brilliant. Every single second of this movie was intense, nothing is wasted. One of the best movies of all time, period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
24coolApr 21, 2013
Very exciting and mostly advanced film. When I saw it in 3D, I thought the 3D made the movie even better. The chase scenes are really exciting, and you get a sense of thrill when you watch it. If you don't see it, you have never seen real movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tessara_VejganJan 13, 2015
Rewatched it recently on BD. I haven't seen this movie in ages and its still as good as I remembered. Good story, decent acting, some nice effects for the that time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UtopianStuffMay 29, 2013
Jurassic Park is groundbreaking, engrossing, imaginative, and just amazing. I would watch it over and over again if I had the chance. There are 214 reviews of this movie, and 199 of them are positive, and if you watch the film, you'll seeJurassic Park is groundbreaking, engrossing, imaginative, and just amazing. I would watch it over and over again if I had the chance. There are 214 reviews of this movie, and 199 of them are positive, and if you watch the film, you'll see why. If you were ever interested in dinosaurs when you were little, you'll love this film, its like a dream come true for you. But for me, I never liked dinosaurs but I loved "Jurassic Park." Its a classic! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SamSkJun 30, 2013
One of Steven Spielberg's finest. I adore this movie and I love watching it again and again. Sam Neill will always be known as Alan Grant for the rest of his life. It is extremely remarkable how CGI from 20 years ago can still hold up todayOne of Steven Spielberg's finest. I adore this movie and I love watching it again and again. Sam Neill will always be known as Alan Grant for the rest of his life. It is extremely remarkable how CGI from 20 years ago can still hold up today and is better than most special effects used in films today. Throughout, I felt like I was on Isla Nublar, being hunted down by a group of genetically created monsters. And the soundtrack just gives me goosebumps. An all-time great and a must-watch! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MudgeeNov 24, 2014
To this day, still remains one of my favourite movies of all time. That's saying something considering I usually regard movies poorly. It has everything and more, with the inclusions of dinosaurs. How in all honesty can one beat that? ThisTo this day, still remains one of my favourite movies of all time. That's saying something considering I usually regard movies poorly. It has everything and more, with the inclusions of dinosaurs. How in all honesty can one beat that? This was epic on the grandest of scales when it launched in 1993, and still amazes me to this day. Storyline is beautiful, all roles are excellently portrayed and for it's time, a true marvel that should still be respected today. 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 18, 2013
Jurassic Park packs in thrill, suspense, amazing visuals, great music and sensational acting all under the direct assurance of Steven Spielberg. This film triumphs in every major category. It is one of the greatest films of all time. AJurassic Park packs in thrill, suspense, amazing visuals, great music and sensational acting all under the direct assurance of Steven Spielberg. This film triumphs in every major category. It is one of the greatest films of all time. A sensational classical monument of film history. Spielberg triumphs again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheApplegnomeJun 12, 2015
Jurassic Park is magical, innovative and a groundbreaking movie. The only question is if Jurassic World can live up to the hype?

The greatest aspect of this movie is the practical effects. Yes they are not superb in every scene, but it
Jurassic Park is magical, innovative and a groundbreaking movie. The only question is if Jurassic World can live up to the hype?

The greatest aspect of this movie is the practical effects. Yes they are not superb in every scene, but it made everything look real. It’s the same with the CGI. Both spectacular and vague, it depends on what it is. I can say this: the modern CGI doesn’t have to be better than the old. Jurassic Park is one eye popping movie! The combination with dinosaurs and the music is really something. It made the movie magical and almost touching! Most of the plot is built on teases, it wasn’t until the end of the second act the action really began. The small teases of dinosaurs is awesome, made the movie great! The plot it also a bit mysterious and it does have some ethical and deep messages to carry on. It made the movie epic, more than what I expected.

The directing is flawless. The cinematography is superb, especially in the opening scene! It’s the same with the actors; awesome. The only negative aspects are that the CGI is a bit vague (and the practical effects) and that it took too long for the movie to really start. But also that the ending was a bit too sudden. But it’s still an awesome movie.

8/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Alright i'm sure almost everyone has seen this movie by now and if not GET TO IT!

I Love this movie such an awesome film, Everyone at one point loved dinosaurs in their lives and don't lie to yourself if you didn't =D. Yeah i was like 2
Alright i'm sure almost everyone has seen this movie by now and if not GET TO IT!

I Love this movie such an awesome film, Everyone at one point loved dinosaurs in their lives and don't lie to yourself if you didn't =D. Yeah i was like 2 when this movie came out back in 1993 so when i heard about the 3D Re-Release i wasn't so mad as i have been with some of the other 3D Re-Releases that have come out the past couple years the film looks great in the post 3D conversion.

Richard Attenborough Plays a multi millionaire named John Hammond that is about to open a theme park with cloned dinosaurs. They basically do a test run with a small group of people to see how the park operates. Soon the fun ends as the dinosaurs break free of their caged areas and the cast is left fighting to survive. Once things start to get going in the movie turns from a peaceful joyful ride to a thrilling heart pounding ride with loads of awesome scenes with a T-Rex, Triceratops, Velociraptors, etc it was just a blast going through the film on the big screen definitely worth that money

And what can i say i just love Jeff Goldblum he is such a ladies man in this film even though he is a mathematician who specializes in chaos theory the guy even survives an attack by a T-Rex i think that qualify's him as PURE BADASS

Overall i give this movie a 8.5 Such a Classic that i can never get tired of watching
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticNov 9, 2013
A true techno-thriller of dazzling special effects, vividly detailed plot elements, and a social allegory of how human greed need not be tempted by the prospects of science. 'Jurassic Park' is groundbreaking in CGI and proves Michael CrichtonA true techno-thriller of dazzling special effects, vividly detailed plot elements, and a social allegory of how human greed need not be tempted by the prospects of science. 'Jurassic Park' is groundbreaking in CGI and proves Michael Crichton can turn even the most convoluted ideas into believable achievements. Though not as deep as the novel, it fairs well enough to be called faithful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysSep 16, 2013
A great dinosaur movie to keep the kids up all night, it has a little something for the older ones; a story. Unlike some other monster movie, this one actually goes into some character development and has some great special effects for theA great dinosaur movie to keep the kids up all night, it has a little something for the older ones; a story. Unlike some other monster movie, this one actually goes into some character development and has some great special effects for the year it came out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ThatCooperGuyJun 25, 2015
The nostalgia is still strong with this film, but it's definitely not my favorite movie from Spielberg. I liked the characters and thought the story was great, but the effects are starting to age, however they still look breath-taking in aThe nostalgia is still strong with this film, but it's definitely not my favorite movie from Spielberg. I liked the characters and thought the story was great, but the effects are starting to age, however they still look breath-taking in a lot of points. The dinosaurs are still awesome and the T-Rex is still the best character. Solid entertainment by Steven Spielberg. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksJun 18, 2015
A superb and innovative film that really grips the audience in its wonder and terror. This film is a strong part of my generation and easily is one of the best films of its time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oDjentoJul 3, 2015
Small review due to Jurassic World release. This film did what it wanted to do excellently, give a sense of awe and wonder on a quirky island with a well written script. Excellent special and practical effects and great acting and scenes.Small review due to Jurassic World release. This film did what it wanted to do excellently, give a sense of awe and wonder on a quirky island with a well written script. Excellent special and practical effects and great acting and scenes. Definitely a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Mordovan89Mar 5, 2014
This great, very nice and the composition is almost epic John Williams. But time was boring and there was more action adventure, a detail that does not fit in this movie. I actually like the music more than the plot. This is what I think ofThis great, very nice and the composition is almost epic John Williams. But time was boring and there was more action adventure, a detail that does not fit in this movie. I actually like the music more than the plot. This is what I think of this work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscJun 6, 2015
Director Steven Spielberg and Michael Crichton and David Koepp adapted Crichton’s best-selling novel in 1990 onto the big screen. The film is about paleontologists Alan Grant (Sam Neil) Ellie Sattler (Laura Darn) are requested by the founderDirector Steven Spielberg and Michael Crichton and David Koepp adapted Crichton’s best-selling novel in 1990 onto the big screen. The film is about paleontologists Alan Grant (Sam Neil) Ellie Sattler (Laura Darn) are requested by the founder of Jurassic Park to come here to make sure that the park is safe, Ian Malcolm (Jeff Goldblum) joins along with them. Once they find out that the founder John Hammond (David Attenborough) has created these dinosaurs their amazed but they have their doubts, Hammond’s grandchildren come visit him for the tour; one of the workers from the computer systems, stole the embryo’s to sell to a secret buyer; the park is shut down the security systems are off and the dinosaurs are lose, their all at risk. The film’s special effects (who were made by geniuses!) are realistic yes we know the effects are fake but the film makes it look realistic it’s believe able. The music is equally important John William’s tone of music for the film is the feeling that fans have when watching the film; the musical tone is exciting and thrilling. Sam Neil is so good in this movie his character was well written and interesting, Laura Dern’s character was terrific as this scientist, Jeff Goldblum was funny time to time. Visionary director Steven Spielberg’s direction was filled with epic shots filled with realistic special effects and jaw dropping moments. The film is not trying to be an A movie it’s trying to entertain the explorers (who are the movie goers). Grade A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ilikesuperman23Mar 15, 2014
This is one of my all time favorite movies I'm putting it that way this movie is an experience I grew up watching this movie and I never really appreciated it for what it was now I watch and am astounded at how great it is I watch this onThis is one of my all time favorite movies I'm putting it that way this movie is an experience I grew up watching this movie and I never really appreciated it for what it was now I watch and am astounded at how great it is I watch this on surround sound and am just amazed at how immersive it is I love this movie and if you haven't seen it you will to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
chwAug 16, 2014
Jurassic Park was my favourite film for over 15 months, because I found it so brilliant and possibly the most ingenious Steven Spielberg film he directed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
diogomendesSep 7, 2014
Yay!!!!!!! My 100th review is here!!!!!! Today, I'm going to do a short review of Steven Spielberg's classic that is simply known as: "Jurassic Park".

Well, this classic has impressive special effects even for today's standards, a script
Yay!!!!!!! My 100th review is here!!!!!! Today, I'm going to do a short review of Steven Spielberg's classic that is simply known as: "Jurassic Park".

Well, this classic has impressive special effects even for today's standards, a script that sometimes falls into typical clichés of modern blockbusters, a well-rounded cast and a soundtrack that won't go over my head that easily. I plan to see its sequels but I will give it a rest just to analyse my next movie: Daredevil.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews