New Line Cinema | Release Date: November 23, 2005
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 68 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
36
Mixed:
28
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
NathanNov 27, 2005
Anna Faris is the single thing that made this movie funny, other then that it was boring. I didn't really care about the characters and couldn't feel chemistry between them. It's nothing more than a rental.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
4
TysonB.Nov 28, 2005
It's really hard to like this movie but impossible to totally write it off. My brother and I went to this late Sunday night hoping it would lift the intensity that Thanksgiving weekend brings. It did, but we left wanting much more. The It's really hard to like this movie but impossible to totally write it off. My brother and I went to this late Sunday night hoping it would lift the intensity that Thanksgiving weekend brings. It did, but we left wanting much more. The plot is complete and the story is told well, however it does not flow right. You find yourself wanting more in some parts and feeling uncomfortable in others because you feel situations are forced. Serioulsy, continous slapping of the brothers could have been a hilarious ongoing joke but rather you felt it happened to try and get a quick laugh and nothing else, just a tad awkard at some points. Funniest parts came from the two side characters of Klein and Faris, who should be compliment characters not the main draw. I like Amy Smart and Ryan Reynolds but just not together, just didn't work. Anyways to wrap this up, the movie has some decent parts but you'll find yourself waiting for something, something better from these individually funny actors, but it just never comes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JamesB.Nov 27, 2005
Nicely cast, moderately amusing. If you
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TaylorC.Nov 28, 2005
I laughed. 'Twas not an award winning super duper movie, but really what didja expect?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DirigiblePulpJan 5, 2017
It's kinda funny but also so ridiculously bad on a very basic plot and character arch level. Amy Smart's character literally just behaves exactly how each scene dictates and it's not influenced by any scenes before and after that haveIt's kinda funny but also so ridiculously bad on a very basic plot and character arch level. Amy Smart's character literally just behaves exactly how each scene dictates and it's not influenced by any scenes before and after that have happened to her. She likes him, hates him, keeps going out with him, hates him, doesn't like the other guy inexplicably. None of it matters at all.

I know it really isn't supposed to matter that much in a movie like this but if the filmmakers can't even gets something that basic right what does that say about the rest of it? Nothing good, that's for sure. Anna Faris is enjoyable crazy as usual.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LeZeeSep 29, 2016
The comedy about a second chance.

I'm reviewing a decade old film. This kind of themes is very much done for the current era, particularly in Hollywood. You can't believe this guy did a film like this back then. I'm obviously talking about
The comedy about a second chance.

I'm reviewing a decade old film. This kind of themes is very much done for the current era, particularly in Hollywood. You can't believe this guy did a film like this back then. I'm obviously talking about Ryan Reynolds. It was just for fun, other than that there's nothing to expect from it. Clearly we know how the story begins and ends, but we're only going to see the middle parts, how they developed it, especially the comedies.

All the actors were decent, particularly Amy Smart was much preferred actress than what she's now. Ryan Reynolds with those dual getups was not bad either and Anna Faris was excellent in the comedy parts. Maybe it is a chick film, or close to that category, but the perspective of the story was from a man.

Being a geek in the high school, how he transformed into a handsome man is the film. When he visits his hometown, all the old memories comes back to the life, particularly after seeing his old close friend who he had a crush on her, but never revealed it. So it is like his second and probably final chance to express his feeling. How it all develops and ends was the remaining story.

Being a comedy, it has not delivered anything big. It might have effected good way, if I had watched when it came out. So not everyone who watches it would end up happily. It is not easy to suggest this film for everybody, but if you're looking for a comedy, some comedy, it will work okay. And again, don't take it seriously, even some of the jokes are too ordinary, but tried its best. An average comedy, but a good time pass film.

5/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
shiftworkerAug 22, 2016
Averagely funny romantic- comedy, with a lot of the comedy at the main character's expense, some of it for his chubby teen years. A few laughs here and there, including a spoilt pop-star, but left me with a guilty feeling for finding fatAveragely funny romantic- comedy, with a lot of the comedy at the main character's expense, some of it for his chubby teen years. A few laughs here and there, including a spoilt pop-star, but left me with a guilty feeling for finding fat funny. Worth a look if you and yours are all slim. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews