Columbia Pictures | Release Date: February 11, 2011
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 217 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
121
Mixed:
55
Negative:
41
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
dev92Aug 25, 2012
There really are not enough funny moments in this film to warrant a high score but it isn't as bad as the critics are trying to suggest. Not one of Sandler's best but he still manages to pull it off rather well. I wasn't sold on BrooklynThere really are not enough funny moments in this film to warrant a high score but it isn't as bad as the critics are trying to suggest. Not one of Sandler's best but he still manages to pull it off rather well. I wasn't sold on Brooklyn Decker's acting credentials and found Nick Swardson as well as the two children rather annoying. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
JawsLaxerDramaDec 20, 2012
This film isn't funny. It's not dark, comical, interesting, impressive or groundbreaking. Not that it should be any of those things. It's supposed to be a comedy. Adam Sandler hasn't always been impressive to me, but for God's sake at leastThis film isn't funny. It's not dark, comical, interesting, impressive or groundbreaking. Not that it should be any of those things. It's supposed to be a comedy. Adam Sandler hasn't always been impressive to me, but for God's sake at least try. It's not the worst movie out there, and if you wanna watch this, then fine. It's just not a good piece of movie by any means. It's not like it has to be funny all the time. If you like it, fine, but it's stupid. And not the good kind! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
boxenford92May 14, 2011
I overall did not get a great many laughs out of this movie. I laughed maybe a total of about 5 times throughout this whole film. But i guess that I'm just not a big fan of Dennis Dugan anymore. His best film was Happy Gilmore and since thenI overall did not get a great many laughs out of this movie. I laughed maybe a total of about 5 times throughout this whole film. But i guess that I'm just not a big fan of Dennis Dugan anymore. His best film was Happy Gilmore and since then the only good movies he has made were Big Daddy and Zohan. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
bannjaxxJun 5, 2011
Terrible film, with a horrible, grating kid with a fake English accent in it. Jennifer Anniston is fairly likeable I guess (thats the "1" in '1 out of 10). Sandler dials it in, everyone else is either annoying, unfunny or both. Avoid.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
sknorton0722Jun 21, 2011
Just saw this movie last night...it was awful. I couldn't even finish it. The greatest comedic actors of all time could be in a movie but unless the writing is good, it doesn't work. Sometimes Hollywood takes a couple of popular actors,Just saw this movie last night...it was awful. I couldn't even finish it. The greatest comedic actors of all time could be in a movie but unless the writing is good, it doesn't work. Sometimes Hollywood takes a couple of popular actors, such as Adam Sandler and Jennifer Aniston, and knows the public will pay to see it, even if the script is awful, like this one. I saw Hall Pass a couple of nights ago and that was the funniest movie of all time compared to this one. save your money. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Edward9630Jul 23, 2011
Just Go with It was an ok film. There were one or two scenes in the film that were funny. The problem with the film is it really not funny at all. The story is just boring and alot of scenes just dont make sense. I would only see this if youJust Go with It was an ok film. There were one or two scenes in the film that were funny. The problem with the film is it really not funny at all. The story is just boring and alot of scenes just dont make sense. I would only see this if you really want to but i wouldnt watch it again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
zizzoTNov 27, 2011
This movie, is so, frustratingly bad. It's so filled with flaws, with such cheap attempts at laughs, so cliche that I could have walked out. A waste of time. Why does Adam Sandler choose these movies? Is it intentional? This is the worstThis movie, is so, frustratingly bad. It's so filled with flaws, with such cheap attempts at laughs, so cliche that I could have walked out. A waste of time. Why does Adam Sandler choose these movies? Is it intentional? This is the worst movie of the year. Though I haven't seen "Jack And Jill" which most critics call inexplicable. Who's the star of that movie again? Oh right. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
AutiTakahashiFeb 7, 2013
“Just Go with It” is another step down for Adam Sandler’s career. It starts inside the lethargic world of Sandler and ends within the tired formula of the romantic-comedy genre. It’s a long, slow slide from crudeness to mediocrity. The morons“Just Go with It” is another step down for Adam Sandler’s career. It starts inside the lethargic world of Sandler and ends within the tired formula of the romantic-comedy genre. It’s a long, slow slide from crudeness to mediocrity. The morons that are the film’s characters are appalling upon the moment of their introduction. Unfunny and mentally incompetent, these people roam around the movie’s dead plot until it’s time for them to learn their life lesson while somehow finding a way to remain stupid.

Most of the film’s first half is devoted to Adam Sandler’s compulsion to fool around. Most of the people are around him should be either a hateful jerk or a dumb stereotype, so his character would blend in with the crowd. He plays a rich plastic surgeon, Danny Maccabee. Danny’s heart was broken many years ago. As a coping mechanism, he pretends to be a depressed loser in front of pretty women. His life is so miserable that the women have no choice but to sleep with him just to cheer him up.

One night, he meets a cute blonde named Palmer. His pre-planned lies result in their physical intimacy. He wakes up in the morning convinced that Palmer and himself are destined to be together… forever. Danny is apparently delusional enough to base his conviction on a one night stand. Coincidentally, Palmer is dumb enough to agree with Danny.

Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/just-go-with-it-movie-review/
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
LamontRaymondFeb 11, 2011
I have no idea what's up with these critics. Sandler movies are damned funny! Sure, the pacing is off sometimes, but I laughed my ass off throughout this film. Decker is awesome (yes, she can act), Anniston rocks as usual (and looksI have no idea what's up with these critics. Sandler movies are damned funny! Sure, the pacing is off sometimes, but I laughed my ass off throughout this film. Decker is awesome (yes, she can act), Anniston rocks as usual (and looks amazing...), and the cameos are twisted. Totally worth seeing. Loved seeing pretty much the whole cast of Grandma's boy back in action. There's a little something for everybody - seriously. Expand
13 of 15 users found this helpful132
All this user's reviews
9
DstonekingFeb 14, 2011
I usually agree with you guys here at MetaCritic but I must say that I completely disagree with you guys this time!!!! I mean come one guys, you gave this movie a "skip it," It at the very least deserves a "maybe"!!! But personally I rate itI usually agree with you guys here at MetaCritic but I must say that I completely disagree with you guys this time!!!! I mean come one guys, you gave this movie a "skip it," It at the very least deserves a "maybe"!!! But personally I rate it a, " SEE IT"!!! I totally depend on you guys when I decide to go see a new release on the weekends... Which I partake in every weekend!! This weekend I was hesitant to go see anything because what was left for me to see was only the new releases and I already seen "Eagle" & forget about "the roommate"... my point is that I almost missed this commendable, mirthful and charming film!! I have seen every single Sandler movie he has ever been apart of since the early 90's and I admit there has been many flops but since his own production company he has done nothing but make us laugh, while taking care of his boys, as well as bring back the times when movies taught us something about life... and that alone is honorable and worth while to go see his productions!!! Open your horizon Metacritic!!! Just because it didn't make a blockbuster doesn't mean it is a "skip it"!!!! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
MeeMoFeb 11, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I highly recommend this movie among films of this genre, I don't know why some of critics didn't like it. I like Jennifer Aniston a lot, and I like all her movies, she is a very talented actress with a very charming face. she is very adorable in the whole world especially in Europe, she is the actress no. 1 in Europe and Middle east. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
GooseFeb 13, 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this entire movie!! The gags are hillarious and I thought the women looked fantastic. Another feel good movie from Adam Sandler!
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
2
ShiiraFeb 18, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In Hawaii, Danny Maccabee meets his own kind, a pig, no doubt, meant to accost him, but the charging wild boar instead attacks Eddie(Nick Swardson), Danny's cousin, while he and the rest of the hiking party gets away. It would've served Danny right had the pig reached this lying sociopath, but the deserving target escapes, just like how he escapes the bigger picture that the film as a systematic whole circumvents. Adam Sandler plays a womanizer, a Beverly Hills plastic surgeon who wears a prop wedding ring in order to sleep with duped women, gullible enough to buy his sob stories about an abusive wife. In Gene Saks' "Cactus Flower", the 1969 film adapted from the Abe Burrows' Broadway play, Walter Matthau plays the same sort of cad, a dentist who avoids commitment by employing the same ruse as Danny, until, like the fellow medical professional, he meets the right woman(played by Goldie Hawn), in which case, the fake life that he set out for himself, suddenly becomes an inconvenience. Whereas "Just Go With It" takes great pains to account for Danny's boorish behavior, the Saks film(written by Billy Wilder stalwart L.A.L. Diamond) makes no apologies about Julian's duplicity, nor claims on the dentist being a particularly nice guy. At the outset, Toni attempts suicide, because unlike its callow remake, "Cactus Flower" has the decency to acknowledge the ramifications that come with lying, the falsehoods which Julian perpetuates to simplify his love life. In "Just Go With It", an extended prologue shows how Danny's bride-to-be had broken the big-nosed Jew's heart on their wedding day, so when he sets in motion to bamboozle Palmer into thinking that a divorce to Katherine(his assistant at the practice) is imminent, we're supposed to root for him, because as the film plainly states, he's an underdog getting even with the female race entire. Adding insult to injury, Palmer, as she's written, is the stereotypical dumb blonde, a schoolteacher who never questions the preposterous scenarios that Danny and his co-conspirators throw at her; most galling of all, the explanations behind his fake daughter's **** accent, followed closely by the ludicrous occupation that Katherine's fake boyfriend invents, complete with a worse Swedish accent. Since Palmer(played by Brooklyn Decker) is a ten, so blatantly more attractive than the loser she gets saddled with, the filmmaker takes the statuesque blonde down a peg, making her out to be more foolish with every lie that strings this woman's heart along, all in the name of farce, as if physical beauty itself warranted punishment. "Just Go With It" treats her like an adulteress, a sex bomb who sleeps with married men on the beach, but far from being a femme fatale, the woman teaches for a living, and sure enough, her hard-rocking bod belies a maternal and nurturing carriage. It's open season on the babe because there's the presumption that somebody who looks like a Sports Illustrated swimsuit model, can't possibly have any feelings like normal people. Similar to "Cactus Flower", the patriarchal bent glares brightest throughout the final act, in which Danny never faces any consequences for his elaborate deceptions, since Palmer, with her infinite hotness, just moves on to the next man after the plastic surgeon chooses his assistant. In essence, the film lets Danny off the hook without having to offer Palmer a well-deserved apology. Had she truly loved him, "Just Go With It" would have a harder time covering up Danny's misogyny. The film "Just Go With It" most reminds me of is Neal LaBute's "In the Company of Men". Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
BrendanLFeb 24, 2011
**** just like other recent Sandler movies. Oh and Jennifer Anniston's in it too, makes it ten times more ****ty. The funny parts aren't funny, Sandler is losing it, he really is and it's damn sad. Only reason why I'm giving it a 1 is because**** just like other recent Sandler movies. Oh and Jennifer Anniston's in it too, makes it ten times more ****ty. The funny parts aren't funny, Sandler is losing it, he really is and it's damn sad. Only reason why I'm giving it a 1 is because they popcorn I ate during the movie was perfectly buttery and I love popcorn that has a perfect amount of popcorn in it. So yeah, ****ty movie. Don't waste your time. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
pdx9Feb 18, 2011
Definitely time to inject some new blood in Hollywood romantic comedies. Sandler was always hit or miss for me, and in this movie he's mean and not funny. I liked Aniston in friends, but most of her movie roles are alike. I think she's betterDefinitely time to inject some new blood in Hollywood romantic comedies. Sandler was always hit or miss for me, and in this movie he's mean and not funny. I liked Aniston in friends, but most of her movie roles are alike. I think she's better suited for a sitcom. Decker is beautiful, and a smart way for producers to lure in unsuspecting men to a terrible movie. My advice to guys is to just google her pictures and save yourself the time and money to see this. I was hoping for much better. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
fralineFeb 11, 2011
I think the critics just like to be negative of any Sandler or Aniston film. Thought Jennifer Aniston did a great job and Nicole Kidman was surprisingly funny as well. I laughed the entire time. Fun movie highly recommend it!
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
10
shaun1Feb 12, 2011
I watched this movie today because i needed some escapism from my stressful life. I have been disapointed with the last couple of films from Adan even though i am a big fan, i am not the biggest fan of Jennifer however.
OMG this is the
I watched this movie today because i needed some escapism from my stressful life. I have been disapointed with the last couple of films from Adan even though i am a big fan, i am not the biggest fan of Jennifer however.
OMG this is the funniest film that Adam sandler has done, scrap that this is the funniest film i have ever seen, great cast to support a great star. I think Adam and Jennifer acted very well together, i didnt want it to end. This is what i call entertainment......
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
qqfanFeb 12, 2011
Thought it was so funny! Was not sure if it was going to be a romantic comedy or just a straight gross-fest comedy. It was both. We spent most of the movie laughing. Really good!
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
aguirre61788Feb 12, 2011
loved the movie! great had me laughing! adam and jen work great together!!!! will watch again! idk about the critics reviews like they must be boring people the movie had so much comedy and jokes and it was absolutely what i expected it to be!
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
pandabearabqFeb 13, 2011
This movie was really fun and charming. Is it the deepest movie ever produced? No. But it is a good date movie, it had me, my fiance, and our friend laughing throughout, and left us with a good feeling as we left the theater. I'll probablyThis movie was really fun and charming. Is it the deepest movie ever produced? No. But it is a good date movie, it had me, my fiance, and our friend laughing throughout, and left us with a good feeling as we left the theater. I'll probably buy it too, for when I need a fun movie to watch.

On a side note, Nicole Kidman is outrageous, I'm glad we got to see a fun side of her.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
heyitsmegrif4Dec 21, 2011
It is quite stupid and has way too many gross out gags to even be considered good. But you laugh every once in a while even though you feel wrong doing it. I give this movie 29%.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
3
DC19Feb 23, 2011
There are exactly two good things about this film. The first is that the sound track is made up of almost all Police songs. The second good thing is the children who play Jennifer Aniston's children.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
MohaFeb 11, 2011
WOW what a great movie, its very interesting I will watch it again and again, aniston looks very beautiful as always, and sandler really cute, great move recommended to all.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
sh831994Feb 16, 2011
Alright, so I went into this movie with so-so expectations. It seemed like it had some laughs, but it would drag a lot. Well I'm pleasantly surprised to say that this movie was actually very funny! Sandler and Aniston (who was hot by the way)Alright, so I went into this movie with so-so expectations. It seemed like it had some laughs, but it would drag a lot. Well I'm pleasantly surprised to say that this movie was actually very funny! Sandler and Aniston (who was hot by the way) work perfectly off each other. Brooklyn Decker, for her first performance ever in a movie, was pretty good. She did what she had to do (you know, look hot while walking in slow motion). The kids are OK, not good, nor bad. But the one actor who steals the show is Nick Swardson. He is absolutely hilarious in this movie! Everything he does is comedy gold. I hope to see him in many movies in the future. The movie is funny, but it does suffer from some pacing issues. Some scenes I felt just dragged and should have ended faster than they did. But that is only a minor gripe. Also, this movie is extremely predictable (like most rom-coms today) but that is to be expected. Come on, if you can't tell how it's gonna end from the first 20 minutes, you need to get out more. Just saying. So overall, Just Go with It is very funny, is acted well, and despite a few minor problems takes the cake for best comedy of the year(so far). Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
JoeNavy30Feb 13, 2011
Why are the critic's reviews way out in left field? I went to see it - I laughed over and over at their antics - I will go see it again - I will buy the video - and I highly recommend it! The movie had beautiful scenery, waterfalls,Why are the critic's reviews way out in left field? I went to see it - I laughed over and over at their antics - I will go see it again - I will buy the video - and I highly recommend it! The movie had beautiful scenery, waterfalls, beautiful women, multiple plots, lies, laughter, sneakey little munchkins who were like children from corn, and multiple lies upon lies. This may be a chick flick but guys do things like they did in the movie. It was so funny in parts it was hilarious. If you're over 50 and male - make sure you don't have a pacemaker. There is a waterfall scene with bikinis that normal men would die for. There was a 20 year age difference between Jennifer and the "S-I" model and both were smoking throughout the movie but when Jennifer undressed in only her bikini at the waterfall - it was as if my heart stopped. She was absolutely BEAUTIFUL. On the day the movie was released, Jennifer celebrated her 42nd birthday. So Jen was 42 and the model was 22 but if the opportunity ever presented itself for a meet & greet, I would select Jen 13 months of the year because she was that beautiful. If you are over 50 and female - make sure you're wearing an adult diaper because you will laugh so hard you'll wet your britches. This is a great movie for marrieds, great for dates, great for just the girls, great for just the guys, and great for laughing. This movie was well worth the price of the ticket and my time. Sandler was terrifffffic with his one liners and how he can keep a straight face - under some conditions is beyond me. Aniston and Sandler made a great pair in this movie making this a much better one for both. Nicole Kidman surprized me in this. Instead of being straight laced and dignified she was loose as a goose - and hilarious. Adam's friend the "Sheep doctor" needs to be nominated for derrainged acting ability. Everyone did a fantastic job - but the one thing I wish to stress is that I have never seen Jennifer look like a FOX as in this movie. One scene in a white dress coming up the stairs on a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the highest - she was an 11. Why she has never been selected for more roles in Hollywood is beyond me with her clean complexion and acting ability. The critics need to get a grip and rethink their own evaluation criteria. They have peoples careers at stake and from the sound of things I get the impression that their decisions don't match the publics. This movie is fantastic and most highly recommended for all and, as a matter of fact, I enjoyed this movie so much that I may eveh get 20+ copies of it this coming holiday season and give it away as Christmas gifts to relatives and friends. Again, most highly recommended and Jennifer and Sandler were terriffic! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
JacksonBFeb 14, 2011
It was wonderful to see Jennifer Aniston acting at the same high comedic level that she had while doing Friends. Both she and Adam Sandler show a more mature deftness to their roles which is very refreshing and funny. Most critics don't likeIt was wonderful to see Jennifer Aniston acting at the same high comedic level that she had while doing Friends. Both she and Adam Sandler show a more mature deftness to their roles which is very refreshing and funny. Most critics don't like the movie because they don't understand relationships very well. You don't need a gun or fast car to be in love; a couple of funny kids are dangerous enough! While the supporting cast was great, the real surprise was Nicole Kidman. After all those heavy horror/angst movies she has done lately, it was great to see her comedic side. The most fun was to be in a theater full of people laughing loud and long at all the great jokes and bits. Truly the best time we have had in a long while at the movies! Go see it and then buy the DVD. Don't miss this great movie just because the clueless critics and Bart (who rates all his movies "0"). Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
IamTHEbeaNFeb 27, 2011
THIS IS PURE GARBAGE IT IS HORRIBLE PURE DOGS**T DON'T WATCH THE MOVIE AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH THIS SUCKS .............................................
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
4
smijatovNov 23, 2011
"Just Go with It" was not as horrible as I thought it'd be, but it surely was not good either. While only passable, it does manage to keep one entertained for most of the film. Romantic comedies such as these are almost always pretty"Just Go with It" was not as horrible as I thought it'd be, but it surely was not good either. While only passable, it does manage to keep one entertained for most of the film. Romantic comedies such as these are almost always pretty atrocious and annoying, but this one does have a bit of charm to it. Predictable as can be, with typecast performances (especially by Sandler) it does not offer much new. Aniston shines only at the very beginning of the charade when she is playing the "bad ex," very similar to her role in "Horrible Bosses," which she delivered excellently. The children actors are somewhat annoying, to be honest, while Nicole Kidman is rather entertaining, though not quite as good as she was touted to be. The generic storyline and predictability are numbingly boring at times and rather thin dialogue does provide for a sense that this truly is yet just another romantic comedy with nothing new or revelatory to offer. That being said, it is better than many I have seen before, which does ultimately not say much about how good or bad it is. Judge for yourself - but it won't be all that great. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
BartFeb 11, 2011
What an awful rom-com. Did any of the people who wrote positive reviews even see this movie. Every rom-com Jennifer Anniston has been in over the last few years has been terrible, and this is no exception.
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
4
KendylKlownfishMar 5, 2011
Far more entertaining than other rom-coms released in recent years. However, Just Go With It is predictable, uninspiring, and doesn't really hide Sandler's noticeable typecasting.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews