Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.6

Overwhelming dislike- based on 447 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: "Justin Bieber: Never Say Never" is the inspiring true story and rare inside look at the rise of Justin from street performer in the small town of Stratford, Ontario to internet phenomenon to global super star culminating with a dream sold out show at the famed Madison Square Garden in 3-D."Justin Bieber: Never Say Never" is the inspiring true story and rare inside look at the rise of Justin from street performer in the small town of Stratford, Ontario to internet phenomenon to global super star culminating with a dream sold out show at the famed Madison Square Garden in 3-D. (Paramount Pictures) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 9, 2011
    83
    If this is what it sounds like when a new millennium goes pop, I'll take it.
  2. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Feb 10, 2011
    75
    On stage variously with Boyz II Men, Jaden Smith, Miley Cyrus, and Ludacris, Bieber carries himself like a squeaky-clean homeboy with an angelic voice. On him, swagger looks sweet.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Feb 9, 2011
    70
    As much a legitimate documentary as it is a 3D concert film and teen girl squeal-delivery device, the film possesses surprising moments of candor on the toil of teenage superstardom.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Feb 9, 2011
    60
    Chu does his best to humanize his subject, showing him surrounded by devoted friends and family, and wringing much drama from an on-the-road vocal-cord strain.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 11, 2011
    50
    What we do see is mom, dad, Braun, Usher, vocal coach Mama Jan Smith and the burgeoning Team Bieber claiming they only want the best for the boy as he goes through a punishing 84-date concert tour. Group hug.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Feb 10, 2011
    50
    It's a disappointment to see the teen pop star hop in a tour bus. This is a boy who should be traveling across rainbows on the back of a unicorn.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Feb 8, 2011
    20
    It is draggily paced and lacks felicity of form; the 3-D is a rip-off and the songs are pap, save a snippet of Etta James singing "At Last" while Bieber's glossy fringe sways in slow-motion.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 148
  1. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    Enjoyed watching this movie with the whole family. I am suprised at the very low rating. We thought it was very interesting to see how farEnjoyed watching this movie with the whole family. I am suprised at the very low rating. We thought it was very interesting to see how far this kid has come in the last couple years. He sold out Madison Gardens in 22 minutes. Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2011
    8
    The movie was entertaining and it was interesting learning that Bieber has been playing the drums, guitars, and singing since he was aThe movie was entertaining and it was interesting learning that Bieber has been playing the drums, guitars, and singing since he was a toddler. He's a musical prodigy even if his music is just pop. Collapse
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    3
    Would I pay to watch this movie?No.But I really wanted to write a review about it so I borrowed it from my niece.I tried to watch and it wasWould I pay to watch this movie?No.But I really wanted to write a review about it so I borrowed it from my niece.I tried to watch and it was really hard for me because this movie is STRICTLY for Justin Bieber fans.People have to understand that this is some sort of biography and backstage footage of an artist.I may not like him or his music but this is a movie review so my vote based on what I saw is 3/10.There were only a few parts that I liked.All the others just kept reminding me that I would never pay for that.On the other hand IF I was a true fan it would be most likely an 8/10 simply because it would be more enjoyable to me. Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    0
    Okay, I tried not to be influenced by my hatred for Justin, but the film speaks for itself. Extramamente dowdy, but their obsessed fans willOkay, I tried not to be influenced by my hatred for Justin, but the film speaks for itself. Extramamente dowdy, but their obsessed fans will love. He has the same age to have a documentary about him? Spare me! Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2011
    0
    Hey guys lets make a movie about a kid who had no trouble getting famous and pretend like he went through hardships and told he would neverHey guys lets make a movie about a kid who had no trouble getting famous and pretend like he went through hardships and told he would never make it.

    Screw this untalented piece of trash and I hope all the fangirls eventually grow up.
    Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2011
    0
    I dont see why anyone would like this movie. It doesnt make any sense. The story of this guy is nothing special. Why should I (or anyone else)I dont see why anyone would like this movie. It doesnt make any sense. The story of this guy is nothing special. Why should I (or anyone else) like this? I mean, the story of my life is better than this kid's. Same goes for my neighbour, my pregnant girlfriend, my half-wit step sister, my kindergarten teacher, my maid's maid, the kid who pees on my doorway everynight etc etc. I mean why dont they produce a movie about these people? It would still beat this movie by far. Do the producers hate the audience and people in general. Do they have some kind of hatred towards humanity. Are they angry that man went to the moon, that america has a black president, that elvis is dead? Did god send them to punish us for our sins? Or do they have nothing better to do? To be honest, if i had a chance to reverse time and undo my regrets, not watching this movie would be at the top. I would rather go to jail than watch this ****. I would eat my beef raw than watch this ****. I would kiss a guy's ass(literally) than humiliate my self esteem by watching this. Hell, if i had to choose between this movie and a soaking my face in a pile of horse s**t on a plate, i would choose the tasty looking dish on the right. Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2011
    0
    rather than pay the money to watch this piece of **** i would spend that money to have a donkey **** in my mouth for the next 14.5 hours ****rather than pay the money to watch this piece of **** i would spend that money to have a donkey **** in my mouth for the next 14.5 hours **** this movie and justin bieber Expand

See all 148 User Reviews

Trailers