IFC Films | Release Date: January 28, 2011
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 22 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
16
Mixed:
2
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
mapizarroOct 15, 2013
"Kaboom" is an explosion of colours, sex and...no more. Story has no logic. Purpose of the protagonist is not clear. "Kaboom" seems to be made by a person smoking marijuana is exceeded. It seems a bad Almodóvar film. The best of film? Juno Temple.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HalfwelshmanFeb 26, 2012
One thing's for sure - watching Kaboom is an experience. A tale of young adult sexuality with supernatural and sci-fi elements, there's very little even remotely like it out there. The closest comparison I can think of is Donnie Darko, aOne thing's for sure - watching Kaboom is an experience. A tale of young adult sexuality with supernatural and sci-fi elements, there's very little even remotely like it out there. The closest comparison I can think of is Donnie Darko, a similar tale of troubled young adults with a bit of a "weird factor" thrown in (and coincidentally James Duvall, who played Frank in Richard Kelly's film is also in this). The young cast are all pretty good, with Thomas Dekker's Smith and Juno Temple's London forming the emotional core of the film, and with Haley Bennett's Stella and Chris Zylka's Thor providing the majority of the film's comic relief. The film is effective as a relatively light-hearted, but intelligent and thoughtful comment on sexuality. Towards the end of the film, where things get a little weirder, I'm not quite sure to what extent the film manages to retain its composure. I admire indie veteran director Gregg Araki for his ideas, his originality and for his visual prowess, but I do feel he gets carried away with his undeniably unique world-view now and again - sometimes a little less is more. Perhaps I need to see a couple more of his films to really "get him". Even so, Kaboom is a strangely rewarding viewing experience (with "strangely" being the key word in that statement) that you're likely not to forget for a good long while. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SnowDaySep 27, 2011
The best movies are the ones that you can't stop thinking about. This is one of those movies. It's one of the coolest, trippiest, most screwed up movies I've ever seen, but it's quirkiness allowed it to lodge itself into my brain. While thisThe best movies are the ones that you can't stop thinking about. This is one of those movies. It's one of the coolest, trippiest, most screwed up movies I've ever seen, but it's quirkiness allowed it to lodge itself into my brain. While this movie probably isn't the best you will ever see plot-wise, it makes up for its flaws in its art, as a unique and sexy teenage com/dram. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
jordyboyMay 3, 2011
This movie sucked what was going on this entire movie there was some funny parts but this was a hugggggggggggggge step down for the actors sorry cast and filmakers of this film or am i
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jessetaylor25Apr 9, 2011
This movie is a huge mess, but it's such hilarious and campy fun. I saw it back in September 2010 when it premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival.
Gregg Araki has made far better films, but this one is a joy to sit through (even
This movie is a huge mess, but it's such hilarious and campy fun. I saw it back in September 2010 when it premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival.
Gregg Araki has made far better films, but this one is a joy to sit through (even though the plot holes are massive). I wouldn't really recommend to see this in theaters, but it's definitely worth a look.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MarcDoyleFeb 6, 2011
Greg Araki's movies just have a fresh feeling to them - a sense of style that other movies lack. This one feels like it's from another era, but it's fun as hell. I saw his "Splendor" a few years back and thought it was fairly conventional,Greg Araki's movies just have a fresh feeling to them - a sense of style that other movies lack. This one feels like it's from another era, but it's fun as hell. I saw his "Splendor" a few years back and thought it was fairly conventional, but Kaboom is campy, B-movie fun with a ton of laughs. I liked how he used the UC San Diego building from Attack of the Killer Tomatoes. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews