Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: January 17, 2003
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 77 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
28
Mixed:
15
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
4
FreedomFightersOct 31, 2016
I'm shocked that a 4 out of 10 is "mixed," because "Kangaroo Jack" is bad. Just your typical poorly written, unfunny, poorly-acted live-action CGI hybrid film that might not even be good enough for kids, considering the jokes told in theI'm shocked that a 4 out of 10 is "mixed," because "Kangaroo Jack" is bad. Just your typical poorly written, unfunny, poorly-acted live-action CGI hybrid film that might not even be good enough for kids, considering the jokes told in the movie. If you're having a "Bad Movie Night," "Kangaroo Jack" could be a little bit of fun (it's not a complete abomination to cinema), but otherwise, you're better exploring other options, regardless of whether or not you're a kid or an adult. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
RockMetalDudeOct 1, 2014
This movie is so un-Australian that it would make Crocodile Dundee and Steve Irwin renounce their citizenship and move to Fiji to evade any ridicule caused by that "movie".

Quick Ozzie joke aside, that movie is unbelievably stupid,
This movie is so un-Australian that it would make Crocodile Dundee and Steve Irwin renounce their citizenship and move to Fiji to evade any ridicule caused by that "movie".

Quick Ozzie joke aside, that movie is unbelievably stupid, pointless, and lacking ANY kind of sense. Want proof? The titular characters barely as ANY screen time. Instead, we follow the idiotic adventures of Dumb and Dumber wannabes Chris "ugly playboy" O'Donnell and Anthony "i'm just going to be the black sidekick for the rest of my uninspiring career" Anderson who team up with Estella "bombshell that has swapped her personality and talent for a big rack" Warren to get some money from some guy... I don't know... honestly, this movie is not worth mentioning. Well, maybe aside of the fact that it shows off Australia as a land where people cannot communicate in English and are still bearing the personality traits of the couple criminals that were shipped down under.

Oh, and Michael Shannon has clearly had time to prepare for his screen chewing performance as Zod. Oh yeah, he will find the inspiration.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
What Kangaroo Jack is attempting to accomplish is far beyond me. Sure, O'Connell and Anderson have compatibility... but that certainly doesn't make them funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FranzHcriticOct 26, 2013
My memory does fade from time to time, but I do remember being unable to apprehend the convoluted storyline and hammy acting and stereotyped subplots. And the artificial computerized Kangaroo Jack is shockingly painful to look at when at aMy memory does fade from time to time, but I do remember being unable to apprehend the convoluted storyline and hammy acting and stereotyped subplots. And the artificial computerized Kangaroo Jack is shockingly painful to look at when at a movie theater. Jerry O'Connell was downhill from 'Stand By Me', and Anthony Anderson, I don't when he acts decent, not even in 'The Departed'. I give it a four because I got a few laughs, a few. Otherwise, this would be a one from me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wolfbangAug 2, 2012
this is my favorite movie of all time. sure it is silly, and the premise is silly, but thats the point of the movie. i found it entertaining as a 9 year old, and now as an 18 year old. its a good fun movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZilcellMay 29, 2012
Some jokes work and some don't. Kangaroo Jack has hit or miss humor but the real star is that annoyingly interesting kangaroo. That kangaroo saved the movie with its performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PevMasterApr 16, 2011
This is a SEVERELY underated film. The acting is great, the plot is pretty decent and the jokes are belly-achingly funny. I don't care what the god-damn critics say, WATCH THIS FILM or else you will regret it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
EvanHJun 9, 2009
I watched this movie when I was about 8 years old and I wasn't remotely amused by this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KMMar 19, 2009
I'm not going to say anything about plot, but I liked this movie and it is also one of the first movies that introduced me to the comedic talent of Anthony Anderson.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
LaurenSFeb 10, 2009
Even for a children's movie, it is an extreme flop. I was a kid when it came out, and i saw it with my parents, they were absolutely disgusted and i was too! We left the theater, and as a teen, i've had enough of the losers saying Even for a children's movie, it is an extreme flop. I was a kid when it came out, and i saw it with my parents, they were absolutely disgusted and i was too! We left the theater, and as a teen, i've had enough of the losers saying it's the greatest movie in the world. For me, everyone has an opinion, but please, seriously, don't watch it. It's such a redneck movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ShaheemE.Dec 13, 2008
The story is thin and the acting in hammy, but the movie was a lot of fun!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClarkWAug 10, 2008
I can't understand what is with all these critics. This movie, while a little over the top, is hilarious. It's a classic buddy-buddy action comedy. It's funny and fun and will appeal to both adult and child audiances.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaveT.Mar 5, 2008
This is the single greatest stoner movie of all time. Just after it came out i was a major stoner, and me and my mate would watch this movie every weekend. We loved it. god bless you kangaroo jack, i might have kicked the habit, but the This is the single greatest stoner movie of all time. Just after it came out i was a major stoner, and me and my mate would watch this movie every weekend. We loved it. god bless you kangaroo jack, i might have kicked the habit, but the memories will last a life time. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
0
mattDec 17, 2007
The kangaroo talks? Huh. I didn't catch that because I was too busy sleeping through the whole movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
briannAug 14, 2007
anthony anderson should be forever banned from movies and take jerry o'connell with him. as a punishment, no film studio should be allowed to use the song 'down under' or make a movie set in australia ever again. also, they anthony anderson should be forever banned from movies and take jerry o'connell with him. as a punishment, no film studio should be allowed to use the song 'down under' or make a movie set in australia ever again. also, they should make a DVD sequel solely for the purposes of torturing that horrid rapping kangaroo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
6AAug 8, 2007
Okay, I know it wasn't as good as lord of the rings but, It's a funny little movie to see with your kids.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JackMApr 28, 2007
This is just Weekend at Burnie's with a kangaroo, mate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KatherineJul 28, 2006
Terrible. Today all I am seeing is terrible movies. Hollywood is running out of ideas! What happend to those creative, great, original movies. It is also a bad influence on kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatrickD.Aug 23, 2005
Good, but not great. Good enought not to be on the worst 200 movies. There are worse movies out there.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ZachLApr 3, 2005
I give this movie a one because I laughed once... at how pathetic this movie truly was. This movie isn't suited for really young kids, which is the only audience who would have found this movie funny. All of the "10" reviews were fake, I give this movie a one because I laughed once... at how pathetic this movie truly was. This movie isn't suited for really young kids, which is the only audience who would have found this movie funny. All of the "10" reviews were fake, right? RIGHT?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcM.Jan 10, 2005
Awsome movie! Funny. Must see it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GodD.Jun 21, 2004
Whats so bad about this movie its hilarious!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BonehoC.Jun 11, 2004
I didn't laugh once this whole movie! It's so freaking bad! I have heard the jokes before, and those who haven't won't find them funny. Some of the content should not be in a PG movie. Like Charlie, (or whatever his name I didn't laugh once this whole movie! It's so freaking bad! I have heard the jokes before, and those who haven't won't find them funny. Some of the content should not be in a PG movie. Like Charlie, (or whatever his name was), grabbing the women's breast. Or the extreme use of achohol. I decided to watch this movie to see how bad it was. I guess it was worth it so now I can make fun of it. That's something. I guess I'll give it a one because of that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MacaulayC.Mar 20, 2004
Ebert called this the quintessential kangaroo CGI film, and I wholeheartedly concur.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelaN.Mar 7, 2004
hahha excellent i like the bit with the atomic hot ball with kangeroo jack he is so funny.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Dec 15, 2003
What a horribly offensive movie, I'm not sure what's worse, the acting, impossile plot line, or animal cruelty, even though it was only CG. This movie should never have been made, the only thing that should have come from this is a What a horribly offensive movie, I'm not sure what's worse, the acting, impossile plot line, or animal cruelty, even though it was only CG. This movie should never have been made, the only thing that should have come from this is a well-done CGI kangaroo, floating around on KaZaA. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatC.Dec 12, 2003
Hey, I thought it was cute. Crocodile Dundee meets Roger Rabbit, with a dash of Home Alone - it's a non-animated cartoon. As for all the negative criticism, it's true too. This movie is crap, but unique, clever and unpretentious Hey, I thought it was cute. Crocodile Dundee meets Roger Rabbit, with a dash of Home Alone - it's a non-animated cartoon. As for all the negative criticism, it's true too. This movie is crap, but unique, clever and unpretentious crap. So give your brain the night off, grab some beer and pizza and indulge in some non-evaluatory cackles. This is common denominator Cable TV filler, so don't expect it to go away. If you must have profundity and social commentary in your movies, consider this one a cautionary examination of Australian male machismo, a provocative commentary on our tolerance for modern mythology. Are we not filled with admiration and envy for rugged blokes who crawl out from down under barstools simply because they come from down under? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LayneDec 6, 2003
This film is pure garbage. Not only is the CGI kangaroo the worst Hollywood creation of the year, but this film is right up there with it. A revolting film well deserving of the low Meta-score it recieved.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MeatAug 25, 2003
You have to realize what you're getting here... Its a kids movie and thats the deal. Not as bad as all the critics say and my son laughed a lot. Jerry O. was amusing and there were some funny spots. However, you could tear this to You have to realize what you're getting here... Its a kids movie and thats the deal. Not as bad as all the critics say and my son laughed a lot. Jerry O. was amusing and there were some funny spots. However, you could tear this to pieces if you'd like cuz there's a tons of dumb, wasted space. But, hey, its a kids movie and we'll leave it at that... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
8BallJul 17, 2003
Yo, a rapping kangaroo! Dag! I give it an 8 cuz I'm 8 Ball!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BradD.Jul 14, 2003
How can such a god-awful piece of crap come from such a renowned producer as Jerry Bruckheimer? He must be very, very ashamed of his work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SummerOfGilbertM.Jul 12, 2003
No, no, no, no, no, no, no. NO. NO, NO, NO. N. O. NO.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GaladiM.Jul 5, 2003
Very Bad and worse movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
E.RoozJun 11, 2003
So there I was in 1998 (!!) listening to a ozzy telling a story about a supposedly dead kangaroo hit by a car and a few guys putting a shirt on to make a photo.... This story must have evovled like an urban legend into a film. Can't be So there I was in 1998 (!!) listening to a ozzy telling a story about a supposedly dead kangaroo hit by a car and a few guys putting a shirt on to make a photo.... This story must have evovled like an urban legend into a film. Can't be very original... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JCApr 9, 2003
Is this movie for real? what utter trash from an equally trashy cast and crew.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MelissaW.Apr 1, 2003
HEY i was an extra on this movie and i had a fantastic time so i can only imagine the fun jerry and anthony had making the movie themselves. overall I thought it was a reallly fun adventurous movie aimed at kids... no wonder the adults didnt HEY i was an extra on this movie and i had a fantastic time so i can only imagine the fun jerry and anthony had making the movie themselves. overall I thought it was a reallly fun adventurous movie aimed at kids... no wonder the adults didnt like it. Try it on your kids maybe? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GregtheGreatFeb 28, 2003
I thought it was okay. I mean it was kinda funny and wasn't really that bad. I would pick it up if I found it for cheap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful