Kangaroo Jack

Kangaroo Jack Image
Metascore
16

Overwhelming dislike - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 25
  2. Negative: 20 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    50
    Jumps at chance to be silly.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    50
    Will parents be able to sit through Kangaroo Jack without plunging sharp sticks into their eyes? The short answer? Yes. Barely.
  3. 38
    The film's crude humor and violence -- cartoonish, but still violent -- should offend parents of younger kids. Yet its ultra-broad, pratfall-filled comedy will satisfy only the most indiscriminate teens.
  4. 20
    Bruckheimer shifts from high-concept historical romance "Pearl Harbor" and high-concept T&A "Coyote Ugly" to a first attempt at high-concept light comedy, yet only his fondness for dragging acting talent down with him carries over.
  5. 10
    Straight from the fiery, churning bowels of high-concept hell comes Kangaroo Jack, Bruckheimer's idea of kid-friendly fare, and some of the longest 90 minutes ever committed to film.
  6. 0
    Virtually every shot of the kangaroo was digitally created, and perhaps that was an insurance policy masterstroke. Forcing a real live one to act opposite these co-stars could have easily constituted animal cruelty.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 37
  2. Negative: 16 out of 37
  1. DaveT.
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    This is the single greatest stoner movie of all time. Just after it came out i was a major stoner, and me and my mate would watch this movie This is the single greatest stoner movie of all time. Just after it came out i was a major stoner, and me and my mate would watch this movie every weekend. We loved it. god bless you kangaroo jack, i might have kicked the habit, but the memories will last a life time. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    This is a SEVERELY underated film. The acting is great, the plot is pretty decent and the jokes are belly-achingly funny. I don't care whatThis is a SEVERELY underated film. The acting is great, the plot is pretty decent and the jokes are belly-achingly funny. I don't care what the god-damn critics say, WATCH THIS FILM or else you will regret it. Expand
  3. ClarkW
    Aug 10, 2008
    8
    I can't understand what is with all these critics. This movie, while a little over the top, is hilarious. It's a classic I can't understand what is with all these critics. This movie, while a little over the top, is hilarious. It's a classic buddy-buddy action comedy. It's funny and fun and will appeal to both adult and child audiances. Expand
  4. ShaheemE.
    Dec 13, 2008
    6
    The story is thin and the acting in hammy, but the movie was a lot of fun!
  5. Oct 26, 2013
    4
    My memory does fade from time to time, but I do remember being unable to apprehend the convoluted storyline and hammy acting and stereotypedMy memory does fade from time to time, but I do remember being unable to apprehend the convoluted storyline and hammy acting and stereotyped subplots. And the artificial computerized Kangaroo Jack is shockingly painful to look at when at a movie theater. Jerry O'Connell was downhill from 'Stand By Me', and Anthony Anderson, I don't when he acts decent, not even in 'The Departed'. I give it a four because I got a few laughs, a few. Otherwise, this would be a one from me. Expand
  6. LaurenS
    Feb 10, 2009
    2
    Even for a children's movie, it is an extreme flop. I was a kid when it came out, and i saw it with my parents, they were absolutely Even for a children's movie, it is an extreme flop. I was a kid when it came out, and i saw it with my parents, they were absolutely disgusted and i was too! We left the theater, and as a teen, i've had enough of the losers saying it's the greatest movie in the world. For me, everyone has an opinion, but please, seriously, don't watch it. It's such a redneck movie. Expand
  7. Katherine
    Jul 28, 2006
    0
    Terrible. Today all I am seeing is terrible movies. Hollywood is running out of ideas! What happend to those creative, great, original Terrible. Today all I am seeing is terrible movies. Hollywood is running out of ideas! What happend to those creative, great, original movies. It is also a bad influence on kids. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.