User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 215 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 215
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2010
    8
    "I Was Ultimately Shocked by this Compelling remake , tho running 2 and a half hours , the violence is toned up for a PG movie , but this movie is one of the many feel-good movies of the year , and i enjoyed almost Every second" .. A-
  2. Nov 28, 2011
    8
    This movie is a great remake of an awesome movie. It paves a decent story and has a pretty good set of characters. The film changes the background of the original, and does it well. The choice of using kids instead of teenagers wasn't good, and makes the movie slightly takes a downside turn. This movie is great otherwise and is very underrated.
  3. DylanH.
    Jun 12, 2010
    10
    I went to this movie thinking it would be some cheap attempt to make money but what i found was one of the best movies I've ever seen. The acting was amazing and if Jaden doesn't get an award for it then something is wrong with this world. People were cheering and laughing through the whole movie so no matter what critics this is going to be called one of the best movies of the I went to this movie thinking it would be some cheap attempt to make money but what i found was one of the best movies I've ever seen. The acting was amazing and if Jaden doesn't get an award for it then something is wrong with this world. People were cheering and laughing through the whole movie so no matter what critics this is going to be called one of the best movies of the year. The critics that don't like it need a dictionary to look up the words "Remake" and "Re imagining" There's a difference you know. Expand
  4. ChrisG.
    Jun 13, 2010
    10
    Excellent movie, which succeeds on its own. Beautiful imagery from China. A simple, compelling story, which teaches as well as entertains. Jackie Chan leads as no other modern martial artist does since Bruce Lee. Of course Jaden Smith sparkles athletically and personally. Waiting now for the DVD to see the outtakes!
  5. LindaT.
    Jun 11, 2010
    10
    I love the movie! I took my granddaughter r Rosalind and she throughly enjoyed it. LJT Stone Mountain, GA.
  6. DanielF.
    Jun 12, 2010
    10
    I went to see the 2010 Karate Kid remake. I was not expecting much, but let me just give my rating then qualify that. 10/10. I could find absolutely no flaws in this. They treated china and the chinese people with the utmost respect, Jaden Smith was GREAT. I think one of the big reasons he worked so well is he acts like a KID. We have had too many child actors who act like pint-size I went to see the 2010 Karate Kid remake. I was not expecting much, but let me just give my rating then qualify that. 10/10. I could find absolutely no flaws in this. They treated china and the chinese people with the utmost respect, Jaden Smith was GREAT. I think one of the big reasons he worked so well is he acts like a KID. We have had too many child actors who act like pint-size adults (*cough dakota fanning *cough*). Jaden behaves exactly as you Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2010
    8
    In probably one of the biggest reversal of expectations I've had for a movie for a while, I really liked the new 'Karate Kid.' It was similar enough to the 1984 original to conjure nostalgia, but carried its own charm that really made it worthwhile to see. At 140 minutes the movie is long (especially for now when most people complain when a movie is more than 2 hours), but it uses theIn probably one of the biggest reversal of expectations I've had for a movie for a while, I really liked the new 'Karate Kid.' It was similar enough to the 1984 original to conjure nostalgia, but carried its own charm that really made it worthwhile to see. At 140 minutes the movie is long (especially for now when most people complain when a movie is more than 2 hours), but it uses the running time wisely - both to give depth to Dre's character, and do something that summer blockbusters rarely so these days: build anticipation. Expand
  8. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    I've never watched any of the Karate Kid movies, but I have heard that they made a remake of the original. So, I got it on dvd for christmas almost three months ago. I watched it once and I really liked it. The character development was amazing, The actors were amazing, The music score from James Horner has heart and emotion, and the Jaden Smith and Jackie Chan make a great screening teamI've never watched any of the Karate Kid movies, but I have heard that they made a remake of the original. So, I got it on dvd for christmas almost three months ago. I watched it once and I really liked it. The character development was amazing, The actors were amazing, The music score from James Horner has heart and emotion, and the Jaden Smith and Jackie Chan make a great screening team in this awesome and powerful remake. Expand
  9. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Another great movie. I haven't seen the original version from 80s, but judging by the other reviews it's a great remake. I can't see why anyone would watch the movie because of Smith's kid, since this one is worth watching for Jackie Chan.
  10. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    I loved it! I did not think it would be so good. Loved the story, and I think the kids a great actor! Most of the people who hate it, are just mad about a child hood movie being redone. It`s good enough to watch again!
  11. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    Favorable over the original.
  12. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Jaden Smith's first star vehicle The Karate Kid (the movie was sold out since the 11:15am show when I saw it) and....wow. I was truly impressed as I only went in with modest expectations. Not only was it a very good remake, it's the best movie so far this summer, and it stands on it's own two feet and surpasses the original in a lot of ways (which one is better will probably beJaden Smith's first star vehicle The Karate Kid (the movie was sold out since the 11:15am show when I saw it) and....wow. I was truly impressed as I only went in with modest expectations. Not only was it a very good remake, it's the best movie so far this summer, and it stands on it's own two feet and surpasses the original in a lot of ways (which one is better will probably be generational. From the standing ovation these kids at the theater I attended gave this film I'm pretty sure from 15 or so on down, it will be this one.) But first off, let me start by saying this: To anyone who doubts that Jaden Smith can act (which he ironically already proved in The Pursuit of Happyness), is a star, or deserved this movie: See The Karate Kid. I don't care how you see it. Pirated. Bootleg. Or the old fashion way (like I saw it cause I'm cool like that) by buying a frickin' ticket and sitting in an auditorium with a bunch of cheering 10 year olds (I swear I've never seen kids give a movie a damn near standing ovation like they did during this film's finale). Jaden Smith has just silenced his haters. From here on out, if you don't like Jaden Smith: fine. Whatever petty reason you've given yourself to make you not like an innocent 10 year old. Fine. But you can't say he's not talented. Cause he is. If nothing has proven it to you before, THIS will. He carries the film on his little shoulders, shows leading man qualities (has a 10 year old ever done that?!?!? And Im being serious here). Has a ten year old ever acted in a film and not only carried it but possessed the charm, charisma, quick wit, comedic timing, dramatic presence and physicality of a hero all in the same movie?!?!? I shutter to think, I couldn't think of any leaving the theater. If they have, please point them out to me so I can say bravo to them to. His performance was truly great and the fact that he did all of his own stunts and clearly learned kung fu and looks not only believable but in command of the craft is some sort of a mini-miracle. This little dude is miniature Will Smith of the highest caliber. He WILL be a star (pun, intended). Only thing can stop that is, well, him. Barring any personal issues, the kid will go far. Very far. He has it all. And as cliche as it may sound the biggest development to come out of the Karate Kid is that "A Star is Born". Don't believe me: watch it for yourself. But I digress, I only spent so much time on the Jaden issue because all the unwarranted hatred thrown his way is beyond disturbing. I have never seen such vitriolic speech directed towards a kid in my life. Not even the kid from Problem Child and he was a certified a-hole! But anyway, the movie is good. Jackie Chan was surprisingly really good (and I mean really really good like Oscar-nominee good) in a dramatic turn as Dre Parker's mentor. The action was better than the original's and the heart and soul was just as engaging and entertaining. Though lacking the iconic "wax on, wax off"-moment what they do with "jacket on, jacket off" was truly surprising and pretty good stuff when you realize what Mr. Han was really teaching him. Instead of the "Crane Kick" we do have another pose and it's pretty damn good too. To me, the original will always be special. I remember Daniel-son, and Mr. Miyagi is a fuggin' legend in every sense of the word. I'm actually utterly surprised this remake was so well made and engaging. Even though every one in the theater knew the outcome, everyone was still cheering and/or elated and moved by the movies "big moments". That in itself is pretty impressive. It's like if people were still surprised even though they knew who the killer(s) were in Scream 4 before seeing it. Could you imagine that? Yea, I couldn't either. Which is why I'm surprised at how good this remake was. Expand
  13. Peter
    Jun 20, 2010
    9
    Loved it. Better than the original.
  14. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    sexy beast movie id like to have sex with it jayden is soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooootttttttttttttt
  15. JoshS.
    Jun 15, 2010
    8
    This was a great movie and everyone who is hating on it doesn't know what they're talking about, Jackie Chan and Jaden Smith make for a good teacher and student relationship. The only problem is why didn't they use Jada as the mother?
  16. TahaA.
    Jun 13, 2010
    9
    A solid movie outing with great action sequences and a strong chemistry between the film's primary protagonists, Smith and Chan. Also, the movie's overriding theme about standing your ground against bullying still carries relevance in today's era of "cyber bullying."
  17. JamesM.
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    It was really really good the action was great and i got to say they were all really good actors and my favorite part is when he saw the snake and he was staring at mr han.
  18. Sep 21, 2010
    7
    I don't know if it's because i set my "mental karate movie bar" to low, or because it is actually a good movie but i liked it. The plot was interesting and the actors played very well, Jaden Smith showing that he has much potential in the acting career and Jackie Chan, being more serious than funny this time, pulled it off and gave a great performance. Good movie.
  19. kyles.
    Jun 12, 2010
    8
    For that low score by kyle smith, i got no problem with the score itself, but ur reason are as stupid as they come, propaganda by the chinese government, have you even watched the movie or just saw the trailers, cause they make the bullies and master of the bullies complete ass holes. either you havent watched the movie or you need to learn the meaning of propaganda. as for the movieFor that low score by kyle smith, i got no problem with the score itself, but ur reason are as stupid as they come, propaganda by the chinese government, have you even watched the movie or just saw the trailers, cause they make the bullies and master of the bullies complete ass holes. either you havent watched the movie or you need to learn the meaning of propaganda. as for the movie itself, it has its highs and lows, the fighting is great, especially for little kids. the stunt double for jaden smith was great, and the other kids were great as well. jackie chan had one good fight scene (which i understand, but kinda wished there were more). the training scenes were to be expected so that could either be bad or good depending on your views. the only true problem i have with the film is that it seems to promote jaden smith too much, as opposed to letting him succeed by him self. overall a good movie, still prefer the original tho, just for the simple fact that its the original. Expand
  20. NathanL.
    Jun 12, 2010
    8
    I have been to the theater over a thousand times and I have never seen a crowd like I saw this morning. This is the greatest compliment I can give this movie. It is one of the few films that can quite literally be called a crowd pleaser. This will not be on my top ten of the year and will not go down in history as some great film altering movie. That said, I will never forget looking over I have been to the theater over a thousand times and I have never seen a crowd like I saw this morning. This is the greatest compliment I can give this movie. It is one of the few films that can quite literally be called a crowd pleaser. This will not be on my top ten of the year and will not go down in history as some great film altering movie. That said, I will never forget looking over at my children as they stood up cheering along with over 400 people (sold out MORNING crowd) for the wonderful charasmatic Dre (a fabulous Jaden Smith with every bit his fathers talent) as he landed the hard earned punches or thunderous applause as the enemies bowed before Mr. Han (Jackie Chan in a career best performance) in respect. I know these moments are engineered to create these actions in us. Film is largely an art of manipulation. However, it is to be respected when it works as well as this one does. I have never heard such applause in all of my life. I know that every person in that theater loved the character they were rooting for. This is a rare thing and in a summer filled with decent films that seem to be very mixed with audiences it is nice to see an audience fall in love with film again right before your eyes. And they have good reason to here. This is a solid story that borrows its outline from the 1984 original (which I grew up with) but, expands on much of it in wonderful ways. This movie knows when to give you comedy, action, suspense, and emotion. This all comes from a deep rooted love for the central characters. This may have been directed by Mr Zwart (Pink Panther 2 sadly) but, it owes everything to the Smith family. Will has been attempting to create family friendly films with characters we care about for years with minimal success. Here he hits a home run and everyone invloved has the world to thank of him for handing them this wonderful child of his to carry this film. Throw in some beautiful cinematography and a stunnig soundtrack, composed by the great James Horner, and you have a move worth rooting for. This is the biggest surprise of the year to me. I did not expect it but, I can say without a shadow of a doubt that this is the most fun I've had at the movies this summer! Expand
  21. ChadS.
    Jun 14, 2010
    7
    Some things are sacred. With bated breath, you wait for the line, but the line goes unspoken, and you're relieved, because the line can retain its immaculacy and filmic chastity in the celluloidal time capsule. After all, there can only be one "sweep the leg". (Martin Cove circa 1984, still the best.) More importantly, there can only be one crane kick. At the pivotal moment, when Some things are sacred. With bated breath, you wait for the line, but the line goes unspoken, and you're relieved, because the line can retain its immaculacy and filmic chastity in the celluloidal time capsule. After all, there can only be one "sweep the leg". (Martin Cove circa 1984, still the best.) More importantly, there can only be one crane kick. At the pivotal moment, when victory or defeat hangs in the balance, Jaden Smith does his own thing, allowing Ralph Macchio to keep Danny LaRusso's signature move all to himself. Should the major studios get around to remaking the whole of eighties cinema, even Walter Hill's "Crossroads", in which Macchio outduels Steve Vai like "The Shredder Kid" for his soul, let the new Eugene Martone(aka "Lightning Boy") vanquish Dweezil Zappa instead. Vying with the John G. Avildsen original for bragging rights, this overlong but surprisingly effective(and pertinent) "Karate Kid" rendering has the advantage of its vivid Chinese backdrop, which sets up a fish-out-of-water scenario that any English-speaking moviegoer can identify with. The movie never really answers as to why Sherry(Taraji P. Henson) had to drag his son halfway around the planet, instead of, say, Seattle. China intimidates; China is the new Japan. Economically speaking, China owns us, on account of the borrowed money(three-trillion and counting) lended to us by the hard-charging superpower, which comprises the bulk of our national debt. This simple fact, America's vulnerability to our easterly neighbor, most definitely is ingrained firmly within the narrative. Prior to China joining the WTO(World Trade Organization) in 2001, an American like Trey might have been looked upon with awe, and not treated with such animosity from Cheng(Zhenwei Wang) and his friends, who are so thoroughly brainwashed by the "no mercy" philosophy of their "sensei", they resemble WWII Japanese soldiers descending on Nanking, due to their unflagging single-mindedness for destruction, as Dre becomes the victim to a sort of "Detroit Massacre" when the merciless Cheng nearly kills Dre in a one-against-five confrontation. But then, out of nowhere, it's Mr. Han to the rescue, just like the Ash song "Kung Fu"("C'mon, Jackie Chan/Uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, oh."). No doubt about it, China has come a long way since Mark Salzman's "Iron and Silk", the 1987 film about an American English teacher's adventures in Changsha, Hunan, a more innocent time when the Chinese denizens probably still revered the America lifestyle. Back then. Michael Jackson was "bad", not dead. And Detroit still stood a fighting chance for an economic renewal. Expand
  22. AlanG
    Jun 23, 2010
    9
    This movie is really cool.
  23. MichaelM
    Jun 23, 2010
    7
    This movie seems to revert to older ways of film making. The story has a moral and the audio actually fits the emotion of the scenes. The story can seem to drag out in some parts (I blame the screenwriter trying to fit too much in), though the acting is believable from the cast. I feel the movie was appropriately cast and the camera is not too jerky or capturing worthless angles. This is This movie seems to revert to older ways of film making. The story has a moral and the audio actually fits the emotion of the scenes. The story can seem to drag out in some parts (I blame the screenwriter trying to fit too much in), though the acting is believable from the cast. I feel the movie was appropriately cast and the camera is not too jerky or capturing worthless angles. This is a martial arts movie; if you do not like martial arts movies do not go see it. There are no car chases, big explosions, gun fights, sex scenes, or gore. 7 for not a bad movie, but not brutal. Expand
  24. JakeA
    Jun 14, 2010
    8
    Dave J. you are an idiot Jaden Smith is a very talented little kid and this movie was actually really entertaining and enjoyable.
  25. Dec 9, 2010
    8
    If you had never saw the original, then this would have been an even better movie than the 8 I am giving it. Granted, it was predictable, but still done really well. Jaden Smith is a very talented actor, and does a tremendous job in this film.
  26. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    The highest praise, in my opinion, for the new Karate Kid movie would be that it will make this generation's youth as enthused about martial arts as its predecessor. And thus, such praise is in fact appropriate and well-deserved. Very well acted and beautifully directed. Can't wait to own the DVD.
  27. Nov 29, 2010
    8
    Jackie Chan as never seen before. The movie is not really about Kung-fu, but the interactions and the filming perspective. There's a particular scene where I defy someone, following the movie, not to have a tear or two well up. I found it appropriate for children to view on several layers. It has a more believable plot than the original, plus it's not as annoying.
  28. Dec 13, 2010
    8
    Remakes are always a touchy subject. Especially when it is done with a movie people cherish and love like "The Karate Kid." When I heard that it was going to be remade, I was personally excited because I didn't grow up with the original "Karate Kid" movie. I can see however how it might upset some people that someone is messing with one of their childhood memories. I must admit though, IRemakes are always a touchy subject. Especially when it is done with a movie people cherish and love like "The Karate Kid." When I heard that it was going to be remade, I was personally excited because I didn't grow up with the original "Karate Kid" movie. I can see however how it might upset some people that someone is messing with one of their childhood memories. I must admit though, I did have mixed feelings when I found out who would be playing the lead roles. I was excited to hear that Jackie Chan was playing Mr. Miyagi, but I was a little worried when I heard that Jaden Smith would be taking on the role of Daniel-san.

    Read full review at FlicksWorthWatching.com
    Expand
  29. Apr 9, 2011
    8
    The new Karate Kid movie is just as good as the original, while I thought that having Jaden Smith curse was uncalled for, and some of the things they added were cheesy, it's still a great movie.
  30. Dec 23, 2014
    8
    The Karate Kid reboot is a surprisingly great film full of color, meaning and heart. The Chinese location also adds a nice travel-porn element to the proceedings as well. The Karate Kid is superior to the original in pretty much every way.
  31. Jun 23, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie was very good. But I still think the original was better because to be honest, they imitated every single thing that happened in the original. But it's still a great movie. Expand
  32. Jan 16, 2011
    7
    Finally and at least for me, thiz is the best Jackie Chan acting of all time, especially in Hollywood movies. Commonly, he always performed comical elements into his characters. But on thiz one, he turned successfully into deep and serious character. I think Jackie also realize he cannot depend on his martial arts forever (since SHINJUKU INCIDENT (2009)), considering his age which is 56Finally and at least for me, thiz is the best Jackie Chan acting of all time, especially in Hollywood movies. Commonly, he always performed comical elements into his characters. But on thiz one, he turned successfully into deep and serious character. I think Jackie also realize he cannot depend on his martial arts forever (since SHINJUKU INCIDENT (2009)), considering his age which is 56 thiz year. Yes, it is still using the same formula. It is what we saw on THE KARATE KID quadrilogy (1984-1994). In the other hand, the Casts are amazing, to put Will Smith son, Jaden Smith to become the disciple and Jackie Chan as the master. It is spectacularly ingenious combination. Beside of that, the setting in China was exotic and wonderful. They kept the famous title, but actually it is all about Kung Fu. I did not understand why most of critics underestimated thiz movie. What I observe, everything is already maximized. The plot was the same, but the atmosphere was renew and absolutely refreshing. The movie is not just fills with great action scenes but also thoughtful life philosophies inside. -Life will knock us down,.. But we can choose to get back up- is definitely will be one of the memorable quotes. It is not Jaden Smith best performance, but what amazed me is how his attitude and body language looks similar to his father on some moments. The scene stealers are two chinese kids around Dre character (Smith). First one is a girl who becomes Dre lovely friend, Meiying (Wenwen Han) and Cheng (Zhenwei Wang) as Dre furious foe who appears with firm performance. I will watch closely what development may comes to thiz potential young Action Actor in coming years. The film directed by Harald Zwart, The Dutch Director, nothing is special on him. In fact, many of his directing was corny and typical children movies, such as: AGENT CODY BANKS (2003) and THE PINK PANTHER 2 (2009). In thiz case, it is exactly what we need to make thiz new Karate Kid. In thiz movie, the story telling has detailed chronology. As a consequence, the film duration is practically a little bit long. But every scene, every character, and every action was fantastic. It wont bore us at all. Bcoz everything is Kung Fu!

    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  33. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Although I haven't seen the original Karate Kid, I loved this one. It's full of action, love, and interesting facts about Kung Fu that make me want to learn more about it. Its long, but the pacing is great, I felt like this was going to be like Avatar where the start and the end would be great, but the middle would be boring, that doesn't happen here, the entertainment is throughout in theAlthough I haven't seen the original Karate Kid, I loved this one. It's full of action, love, and interesting facts about Kung Fu that make me want to learn more about it. Its long, but the pacing is great, I felt like this was going to be like Avatar where the start and the end would be great, but the middle would be boring, that doesn't happen here, the entertainment is throughout in the Karate Kid. The experienced I had with this movie couldn't have been experienced by someone who watched the original, because by the end of the film, I didn't know who was going to win the final fight, and I found myself really in the moment, and at that point I realized what a great film this is. Add Heart and a great story with great music, sound effects, special effects, and all of that, this makes for one hell of a movie Expand
  34. Jan 26, 2011
    8
    A remake of such a popular film as the original 'Karate Kid' is risky business, but luckily this 2010 edition actually surpasses it, and probably the most ingenius thing about it, was the casting of Jaden Smith in the leading role. He is a charming, sympathetic, funny and charismatic young guy, and throughout the film he actually shows some good acting chops too. The film is perfect in itsA remake of such a popular film as the original 'Karate Kid' is risky business, but luckily this 2010 edition actually surpasses it, and probably the most ingenius thing about it, was the casting of Jaden Smith in the leading role. He is a charming, sympathetic, funny and charismatic young guy, and throughout the film he actually shows some good acting chops too. The film is perfect in its approach to the material, as it doesn't take itself too seriously and all of the more mellow scenes are done with a good balance. One of the most entertaining films of 2010! Expand
  35. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    dsfbffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
  36. May 23, 2011
    7
    As it is turning out, 2010's almost a nice year for remakes (Predator. The Crazies). But when I first heard of the remaking of Karate Kid, I dissed it off almost completely. I mean, does the John Avildsen classic need a makeover when the 1984 film itself is so iconic? Can we really like the changes (wax to jacket, white kid to black kid, Pat Morita to Jackie Chan) and call it a standaloneAs it is turning out, 2010's almost a nice year for remakes (Predator. The Crazies). But when I first heard of the remaking of Karate Kid, I dissed it off almost completely. I mean, does the John Avildsen classic need a makeover when the 1984 film itself is so iconic? Can we really like the changes (wax to jacket, white kid to black kid, Pat Morita to Jackie Chan) and call it a standalone remake? Will Jackie Chan give a strong supporting role? Is Jaden Smith going to give a performance that'll mark his name in the Young Hollywood A-list? Will it show off fighting scenes that could match the original's? Will there be tweeny kissing scenes (eww)? Is it going to be inspirational? Is Lady Gaga included in the soundtrack? The answer to all these, my friends, is yes. Collapse
  37. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    I'll be honest, I was expecting this to be a waste of my time. i was pleasantly surprised. there are some moments of awfully wooden acting from side characters, but overall a well planned and executed movie. I enjoyed watching the film and I would recommend this film to anyone who wanted a good film.
  38. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    It's safe to assume that People who gave this film a mixed or negative review have obviously compared it to the original Karate Kid. The original Karate Kid is a classic and it is way better than this Version, I won't deny that, but I still love this Film. People expectations are too high for this film. No remake or reboot is going to replace the original Karate.

    I love Jaden and Jackie's
    It's safe to assume that People who gave this film a mixed or negative review have obviously compared it to the original Karate Kid. The original Karate Kid is a classic and it is way better than this Version, I won't deny that, but I still love this Film. People expectations are too high for this film. No remake or reboot is going to replace the original Karate.

    I love Jaden and Jackie's performance in this film. This still is a great reboot version of the Film. It may not be a classic but it is still favorable for me.
    Expand
  39. CRL
    Aug 26, 2011
    8
    (I'll preface this by saying I have NOT seen the original). Karate Kid, more correctly called Kung-fu Kid, was a fun, attention-holding and, at some points, surprisingly deep film that uses Jackie Chan and Jaden Smith to the fullest it possibly could.
  40. Aug 23, 2011
    7
    The 2010 version of THE KARATE KID was a fairly decent way to re-imagine the 1984 classic--with an African-American tween, in China, with Jackie Chan.
  41. Nov 11, 2013
    7
    Not having watched the original, I found this film entertaining and has a good winning spirit. The casting was great: Jaden Smith was excellent at his role, and surprisingly works really well with Jackie Chan.
  42. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    Film çok güzel sadece okul sahnesi biraz az çocuk eğitime başlayınca ilk arkadaşı bidaha film'de gözükmüyor Bilmiyorum ama İnallah 2. film çıkar
  43. Oct 4, 2014
    9
    Filme muito bem feito e muito bem dirigido. Pegou o melhor de Jaden Smith na atuação e mandou ver. Jackie Chan também fez uma ótima atuação, assim como os outros.
  44. Jul 2, 2015
    8
    Mais focado no mundo em que o protagonista vive do que no próprio protagonista, isso é um erro, mas o modo como ele demostra suas características, e o modo como tudo progride, é impressionante!
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. It's a measure of the times that the new version of The Karate Kid manages to be longer and bigger-budgeted than the original while having lesser impact.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    70
    It's a sign of that pic's dramatic durability that "Kid" manages to be as absorbing as it is, despite its nearly 2½-hour running time.
  3. Jaden Smith is destined to be a star by the force of will (and wallets) of parents Will and Jada Smith, both producers on The Karate Kid. But he's also got the raw material.