Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: The 3D movie music event of the summer, Katy Perry: Part of Me 3D is a backstage pass, front row seat and intimate look at the fun, glamorous, heartbreaking, inspiring crazy, magical, passionate, and honest mad diary of Katy. (Paramount Film)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jul 4, 2012
    91
    Part of Me works hard to prove it's more than a glorified infomercial, and one reason it is more is that Perry has a startling story to tell.
  2. Reviewed by: Edna Gundersen
    Jul 5, 2012
    75
    Does Part of Me plumb the depths of her soul? Hardly. As billed, it's a part of Perry she's willing to share.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Jul 4, 2012
    70
    Seemingly composed in a laboratory from stray bits of Betty Boop, Sailor Moon and Daphne from "Scooby-Doo," pop princess Katy Perry is the closest thing to a human cartoon the music business has produced since Kiss. This is an impression that concert-tour documentary Katy Perry: Part of Me looks to round out and humanize, and it's successful in a number of strange, seemingly accidental ways.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jul 3, 2012
    63
    When you see and hear so many fans of so many backgrounds expounding on what "Firework" means to them, you realize that while a song may or may not be for you, it most certainly is for others.
  5. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Jul 2, 2012
    60
    Despite being as garish and manufactured as Perry's multi-coloured hair-don'ts, Part Of Me deserves kudos for allowing an element of unpredictability to intrude upon its tween exploitation and sugary vulgarity.
  6. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    Jul 4, 2012
    42
    Part Of Me's hybrid format ultimately proves an uneasy marriage, and does a disservice to Perry as both a performer and a human being by never reconciling what happens in the space between those two lives.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Jul 3, 2012
    40
    Part of Me strains so hard to make Perry seem at once triumphant but totally relatable that it veers toward a self-seriousness you won't find in her music, image or Hershey's Kiss bra.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 9 out of 28
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    Fantastic Film, It really takes you inside her life in a whole different way, she doesn't hide anything and is not afraid to be vulnerable.Fantastic Film, It really takes you inside her life in a whole different way, she doesn't hide anything and is not afraid to be vulnerable. She is a true inspiration. Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    I'm Not Sure Why People That Havent Even Seen The Movie Give It Bad Reviews, It Is A Amazing Movie People!
    Katy Is Not Talentless I Have Gone
    I'm Not Sure Why People That Havent Even Seen The Movie Give It Bad Reviews, It Is A Amazing Movie People!
    Katy Is Not Talentless I Have Gone To One Of Her Concerts She Is AMAZING LIVE!
    If You Dont Believe Me About Her Vocals Watch Firework Live At Wallmart Soundcheck Or MTV Unplugged. Truly My Favorite Movie Of 2012!
    Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    Movie was great! Would have been a 10 but i thought the movie was missing things.
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    6
    It's entertaining alright but it doesn't quite make up for the fact that behind the eye-candy it's just a resort to make Katy's fans buy moreIt's entertaining alright but it doesn't quite make up for the fact that behind the eye-candy it's just a resort to make Katy's fans buy more merchandise. Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    5
    It's Ok but only if you like Katy Perry and her every stuff and though it was nice i give it a 5 because of the cast and crew...not nice crewIt's Ok but only if you like Katy Perry and her every stuff and though it was nice i give it a 5 because of the cast and crew...not nice crew work........ Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2012
    3
    Unless you're a fan of bubblegum kiddie pop and senseless cupcake and candy dresses you will not like the huge pandering of a movie. It isUnless you're a fan of bubblegum kiddie pop and senseless cupcake and candy dresses you will not like the huge pandering of a movie. It is supposed to be a documentary but we get nothing as to how she rose to fame and nothing on her creative process which only leads you to believe that this pop star is nothing more than a music producer's puppet. Collapse
  7. Aug 31, 2013
    0
    Banal and overlong, not even Perry's most diehard fans would find the necessity to sit through this vanity project fluff. Simply a lure ofBanal and overlong, not even Perry's most diehard fans would find the necessity to sit through this vanity project fluff. Simply a lure of fecal bait in a sea of Perry's tears. Put not your pennies in this well. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers