Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: September 9, 2005
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 17 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
12
Mixed:
2
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
AkashVijayJan 22, 2015
The film is nonsense. But Damian Lewis' tour de four is enough reason to give it a chance. He once again shows us why he continues to be one of the most underrated actors working today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JonathanANov 6, 2007
Keane successfully fries your nerves. I was not absolutely happy with the somewhat-ambiguous ending, but it fits the character, whose life story and personality you are never, ever sure about. Thrilling in its own way because we don't Keane successfully fries your nerves. I was not absolutely happy with the somewhat-ambiguous ending, but it fits the character, whose life story and personality you are never, ever sure about. Thrilling in its own way because we don't know what to expect Keane will do next, but deeply sympathetic because we don't end up hating Keane either and even wish for him to do well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HansB.Apr 22, 2006
A good character study of a borderline figure. But that is all. Not very interesting and rather dull. The open end of the film should make it interesting?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EdwardV.Mar 27, 2006
This is one of the worst movies I have ever wasted 100 minutes on. There is NO plot. There is NO suspense. You'd have to be a borderline manic depressive to even imagine that there is one. Riveting? Unforgettable? I have come up with This is one of the worst movies I have ever wasted 100 minutes on. There is NO plot. There is NO suspense. You'd have to be a borderline manic depressive to even imagine that there is one. Riveting? Unforgettable? I have come up with only one conclusion as to why critics are using these words to describe this movie and other boring, empty, dreary movies like it. Movie critics are from Mars. Movie watchers are from Venus. If you perhaps think inside your heart that the reason i did not enjoy this movie is because I am not intelligent enough, then I say "Thank God for stupidity!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardNov 7, 2005
Well, I skipped an employee appreciation picnic, barbecue and all, to see this because I know you can go to one of those any old time, right? But this picture isn't going to be in town long... There was an enormous line of NOBODY when I Well, I skipped an employee appreciation picnic, barbecue and all, to see this because I know you can go to one of those any old time, right? But this picture isn't going to be in town long... There was an enormous line of NOBODY when I got to the box office, but five viewers suffered through this inside. It's a great movie, which took courage to write, act, and direct. From frame one until the bitter end, all I felt was dread; exquisite, complete and total dread. I'd never heard of the director, but now I'm an admirer. I won't encourage my friends to see this, but I'll never forget this film. It was a beautiful and astounding work or art. Kafka? Camus? Dostoevsky? I don't know. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Oct 26, 2005
Damian Lewis is so convincing as a very troubled man, you can almost smell his stink when he cleans himself in a public bathroom. His scenes with Abigail Breslin are touching, but there's always that edge underneath their bond. After Damian Lewis is so convincing as a very troubled man, you can almost smell his stink when he cleans himself in a public bathroom. His scenes with Abigail Breslin are touching, but there's always that edge underneath their bond. After all, he's still a stranger. If you don't like William Keene, you're out of luck because he's in every scene, and director Lodge Kerrigan shoots him in close-up. That big Caucasian head suffocates the frame, but when William isn't having one of his episodes, we can see that he indeed does have a body. "Keane" is a borderline masterpiece, a living thing. In the film's opening scene, William shoves a photo of his daughter in strangers' faces, and Kerrigan's camera seems to mimic his protagonist's exasperated breathing; as like most people when greeted by a manic stranger, they walk away. "Keane" is an absolute triumph, and it's doubtful that there'll be a better American film to be released this year. Thank god Kerrigan didn't shoot this on digital video. He's talented enough to depict the harsh realities of the city on celluloid. By the way, Breslin is better than Dakota Fanning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathyVOct 3, 2005
Keane is an incredible film created by talented writer/director Lodge Kerrigan and brilliant actor Damian Lewis. The film is realistic, believable, inspiring and important.
0 of 0 users found this helpful