Keeping Up with the Steins

Keeping Up with the Steins Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Like the young Indian braves of long ago, Benjamin Fiedler (Sabara) is about to undergo an initiation rite that will take him from boy to man. But rather than face the perils of the hunt, he must endure something far worse -- a Bar Mitzvah in Brentwood, California. (Miramax Films)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. The tribute to an aging parent is moving and gives this routine comedy an extra something.
  2. Mazel tov to Scott Marshall for creating an endearing portrayal of familial lunacy that ought to charm as many Smiths as it will Steins.
  3. 75
    What begins as a scathing but loving satire of materialism loses its way once it turns into a warmhearted after-school special about a nice young Jewish boy discovering the true meaning of the bar mitzvah.
  4. Despite problems of tone and tempo, Steins is appealingly cast.
  5. Keeping Up With the Steins would have been a much better film if it had waited twice as long before retracting its fangs.
  6. 50
    Director Scott Marshall and screenwriter Mark Zakarin pander to Jewish viewers the way Andy Garcia's "The Lost City" panders to Cuban Americans.
  7. There is potential for laughs in a satire of rich people spending big money on religious galas, but that is not even the real subject of the picture.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. PeterH.
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    Having seen the trailer several times, I thought I had this movie figured out. I was wrong. But not disappointed. It was funny and fun.
  2. IraA.
    May 30, 2006
    9
    Nice to have a warm family comedy. The plot is thin but the individual performances by Gary Marshall, Daryl Hannah, Larry Miller, Doris Nice to have a warm family comedy. The plot is thin but the individual performances by Gary Marshall, Daryl Hannah, Larry Miller, Doris Roberts and Jeremy Piven alone make it worth seeing. It's almost satire, almost sitcom and pretty much fun. Collapse
  3. NancyS.
    Jul 3, 2006
    7
    I think my opinion runs to the first review listed here from "The Onion". It does lose its way from a satire to a family story but, since I I think my opinion runs to the first review listed here from "The Onion". It does lose its way from a satire to a family story but, since I really didn't have any expectations, I was okay with that. A satire about people who lack any sense of self-awareness in their amoral race to be on top? Watch "Thank You for Smoking" (which was well done but somewhat unsettling for me). The loss of direction here left Piven (and I am a fan of his intensity) with not a lot to work with but, overall, the actors were enjoyable to watch and the life lessons just this side of Hallmark Heartwarming. I think if they had stuck to the vision from the satiric first part of the film all the way through. it would have been more of what the viewers posting here would have enjoyed. On the other hand, if they had taken the time to develop some of the themes and issues that were brought up in the family story, they could have had something quite thoughtful and satisfying. The truncated scenes and TV-wrap-up did not provide any real depth. But, this is still something you could watch with your kids and talk about later... Expand
  4. Mase
    May 20, 2006
    6
    Light hearted and treats it's family and characters with care. I nice glimpse into the white collar jewish brentwood lifestyle if Light hearted and treats it's family and characters with care. I nice glimpse into the white collar jewish brentwood lifestyle if anything. This is a obvious love letter to director Scott Marshall's father Gary Marshall who gets the bulk of the scenes. If you like Gary this will go down very easy if not you might want to look for another flick. Expand
  5. MarcK.
    May 22, 2006
    3
    I am Jewish, and the friend I saw it with was Non-Jewish, and we both thought it was pretty bad. It wasn't offensive...it just I am Jewish, and the friend I saw it with was Non-Jewish, and we both thought it was pretty bad. It wasn't offensive...it just wasn't funny. Garry Marshall must have called in a lot of favors to get actors like Jeremy Piven, Jami Gertz, Daryl Hannah and Richard Benjamin to appear in this movie for his son. And judging by the strong critical acclaim (which is one of the reasons why I went to see this movie in the first place), he obviously must have called in a few favors on the film critics he knows. Expand
  6. BenF.
    Jun 5, 2006
    1
    Appalling. Heeb magazine ran a profile of this film a few months ago and we presume it would have the same edgey humor of "Jesus is Magic" or Appalling. Heeb magazine ran a profile of this film a few months ago and we presume it would have the same edgey humor of "Jesus is Magic" or "The Hebrew Hammer." Wrong! Smarmy family fare, no edge whatsoever; even the old couples in the audience could barely muster a chucle. We walked out, and couldn't even get a refund. Expand
  7. AmyR.
    May 31, 2006
    0
    I was Jewish before I saw this movie, but now I am reconsidering everything. I wasn't offended as a Jew, I was offended as someone who I was Jewish before I saw this movie, but now I am reconsidering everything. I wasn't offended as a Jew, I was offended as someone who likes to not be subjected to awful writing for what felt like hours and hours. Thanks for nothing. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.