Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jul 3, 2013
    60
    Some of Hart’s set — including jokes about his security team and an inspired recounting of a disastrous trip to a dude ranch — is hilarious. And his profane outrage is often funny enough to sell the weaker writing.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jul 3, 2013
    50
    Intermittently funny. But the movie's first 20 minutes is devoted to tediously showing how his career has taken off around the world. That might be fine if this were a documentary, or if it were done more artfully, and with humor — since we go into the movie expecting a 75-minute laugh-fest.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jul 8, 2013
    50
    Once you get past an incredibly self-indulgent intro — an uncomfortably long mash-up of comedy sketch and road-trip-with-entourage doc that seems simultaneously apologetic and arrogant — you can enjoy approximately an hour of boisterously freewheeling and unabashedly raunchy funny stuff in Kevin Hart: Let Me Explain.
  4. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jul 4, 2013
    60
    Diverting but not enough to expand Kevin Hart's fan base much.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Jul 3, 2013
    40
    The hour of mike time isn't as strong as such previous dispatches as "Seriously…Funny."
  6. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jul 2, 2013
    60
    Fans will love it; their main complaint may be that it ends too soon. Amateur psychologists in the audience, meanwhile, may be asking why such a successful guy seems so defensive.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Keough
    Jul 2, 2013
    50
    Few comedians talk so much to get a laugh, and sometimes the strain shows... And the directors don’t do him any favors by the annoyingly frequent close-ups of audience members in convulsions of laughter.
  8. 50
    The film is flat and lazy, and the audio mix is so low it sounds as if the audience is barely laughing. His cable comedy specials have better production values.
  9. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    Jul 10, 2013
    50
    The Kevin Hart brand is clearly doing well, but Let Me Explain doesn’t seem interested in providing anything more than a surface-level presentation of the product.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    I have always loved Kevin Hart and his comedy. I laughed really hard a couple of times, it felt like I was gonna die. The parts where he isn'tI have always loved Kevin Hart and his comedy. I laughed really hard a couple of times, it felt like I was gonna die. The parts where he isn't doing his stand-up was kind of a bore to me. He is getting way more successful in his career as he should be and I think he is only gonna get bigger. Pick this up on dvd or wait for Netflix to watch this must-see stand-up concert. Full Review »
  2. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    Be there to enjoy Hart's performance and the lovely shots but don't be there if you want everything perfect or clichéd. Good performances andBe there to enjoy Hart's performance and the lovely shots but don't be there if you want everything perfect or clichéd. Good performances and heart melting awesomeness. Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Let me explain is just as good as his other other stand ups. He is getting that paper because he deserves it. Memorable jokes and straight upLet me explain is just as good as his other other stand ups. He is getting that paper because he deserves it. Memorable jokes and straight up honesty. The funniest man on earth does it again. Prepare to laugh and consider dat ending. Full Review »