Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jul 3, 2013
    60
    Some of Hart’s set — including jokes about his security team and an inspired recounting of a disastrous trip to a dude ranch — is hilarious. And his profane outrage is often funny enough to sell the weaker writing.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jul 3, 2013
    50
    Intermittently funny. But the movie's first 20 minutes is devoted to tediously showing how his career has taken off around the world. That might be fine if this were a documentary, or if it were done more artfully, and with humor — since we go into the movie expecting a 75-minute laugh-fest.
  3. 38
    In Let Me Explain, you’re never NOT aware that you’re watching a gifted, rubber-faced/rubber voiced performer (his “Laugh at My Pain” concert film was a surprising hit in 2011) work too hard to make inferior material go over.
  4. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jul 10, 2013
    30
    All together, it is a wearying display of defensiveness from a man who – by any barometer, not just his own – is wildly successful.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jul 8, 2013
    50
    Once you get past an incredibly self-indulgent intro — an uncomfortably long mash-up of comedy sketch and road-trip-with-entourage doc that seems simultaneously apologetic and arrogant — you can enjoy approximately an hour of boisterously freewheeling and unabashedly raunchy funny stuff in Kevin Hart: Let Me Explain.
  6. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jul 4, 2013
    60
    Diverting but not enough to expand Kevin Hart's fan base much.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Jul 3, 2013
    40
    The hour of mike time isn't as strong as such previous dispatches as "Seriously…Funny."
  8. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jul 2, 2013
    60
    Fans will love it; their main complaint may be that it ends too soon. Amateur psychologists in the audience, meanwhile, may be asking why such a successful guy seems so defensive.
  9. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Jul 3, 2013
    63
    It’s a brief movie, and perhaps all that preamble is meant to justify the ticket price. The best advice is to walk in about 25 minutes after the lights go down. You’ll still get all the laughs, and you won’t have to hear about Hart’s YouTube hits.
  10. Reviewed by: Peter Keough
    Jul 2, 2013
    50
    Few comedians talk so much to get a laugh, and sometimes the strain shows... And the directors don’t do him any favors by the annoyingly frequent close-ups of audience members in convulsions of laughter.
  11. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jul 4, 2013
    91
    A welcome change of pace and a truly hilarious, heartfelt experience.
  12. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jul 3, 2013
    63
    If you were to judge Let Me Explain purely on its performance portion, filmed at Madison Square Garden during Hart's 2012 tour, the film would merit a full extra star. But at 75 minutes, it feels too skimpy to rave over.
  13. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Jul 4, 2013
    38
    Wait for this to show up where it belongs — on cable.
  14. 50
    The film is flat and lazy, and the audio mix is so low it sounds as if the audience is barely laughing. His cable comedy specials have better production values.
  15. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    Jul 10, 2013
    50
    The Kevin Hart brand is clearly doing well, but Let Me Explain doesn’t seem interested in providing anything more than a surface-level presentation of the product.
  16. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jul 4, 2013
    83
    Unfortunately, Hart seems to have taken the whole ''leave the audience wanting more'' maxim a little too much to heart. The film clocks in at a hair over an hour. That might be enough for an HBO special, but it feels a little thin for a feature film.
  17. Reviewed by: Kyle Ryan
    Jul 3, 2013
    75
    Let Me Explain finds Hart at the peak of his powers, so the film’s long coronation feels justified, if gaudy. Strip away the preamble and just give him a mic, and he’d earn it all the same.
  18. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Jul 2, 2013
    63
    It’s all in the name of comedy, and it mostly works, with a couple of exceptions, including an especially mean-spirited and somewhat violent tirade against a fan he met in an airport.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    I have always loved Kevin Hart and his comedy. I laughed really hard a couple of times, it felt like I was gonna die. The parts where he isn't doing his stand-up was kind of a bore to me. He is getting way more successful in his career as he should be and I think he is only gonna get bigger. Pick this up on dvd or wait for Netflix to watch this must-see stand-up concert. Full Review »
  2. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    Be there to enjoy Hart's performance and the lovely shots but don't be there if you want everything perfect or clichéd. Good performances and heart melting awesomeness. Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Let me explain is just as good as his other other stand ups. He is getting that paper because he deserves it. Memorable jokes and straight up honesty. The funniest man on earth does it again. Prepare to laugh and consider dat ending. Full Review »