Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Filmed at a sold-out performance at Madison Square Garden, comedian Kevin Hart delivers material from his 2012 "Let Me Explain" concert tour.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jul 4, 2013
    91
    A welcome change of pace and a truly hilarious, heartfelt experience.
  2. Reviewed by: Kyle Ryan
    Jul 3, 2013
    75
    Let Me Explain finds Hart at the peak of his powers, so the film’s long coronation feels justified, if gaudy. Strip away the preamble and just give him a mic, and he’d earn it all the same.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jul 3, 2013
    63
    If you were to judge Let Me Explain purely on its performance portion, filmed at Madison Square Garden during Hart's 2012 tour, the film would merit a full extra star. But at 75 minutes, it feels too skimpy to rave over.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Keough
    Jul 2, 2013
    50
    Few comedians talk so much to get a laugh, and sometimes the strain shows... And the directors don’t do him any favors by the annoyingly frequent close-ups of audience members in convulsions of laughter.
  5. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    Jul 10, 2013
    50
    The Kevin Hart brand is clearly doing well, but Let Me Explain doesn’t seem interested in providing anything more than a surface-level presentation of the product.
  6. 50
    The film is flat and lazy, and the audio mix is so low it sounds as if the audience is barely laughing. His cable comedy specials have better production values.
  7. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jul 10, 2013
    30
    All together, it is a wearying display of defensiveness from a man who – by any barometer, not just his own – is wildly successful.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Let me explain is just as good as his other other stand ups. He is getting that paper because he deserves it. Memorable jokes and straight up honesty. The funniest man on earth does it again. Prepare to laugh and consider dat ending. Collapse
  2. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    The beginning was a bit slow but my god the rest was hilarious! Some people are going to say that it should have been on cable but I'm fine with it being in theaters when it's that funny, Expand
  3. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    Truly showcases Hart's comedic talents in a familiar but nonetheless hilarious way. It does start a bit slow, but it surely progresses into one of the best performances he's done in his career. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    Be there to enjoy Hart's performance and the lovely shots but don't be there if you want everything perfect or clichéd. Good performances and heart melting awesomeness. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2013
    6
    I honestly thought I would leave the theatre with my stomach hurting and in tears from laughing so hard. The hype for the movie was great. Trailers, sneak peeks, etc. Yet the movie it self was not as funny as I expected. Im quite sure if you saw his comedy in person then that feeling would be a little different. Overall, its a great movie for an after dinner laugh or a night out with your friends. Don't let other critics reviews stir you away from seeing it, you just have to judge for yourself. Some are just comparing and contrasting to his last movie "Laugh at my pain". Expand
  6. Feb 4, 2014
    6
    I was very disappointed in Kevin Hart's most recent stand-up special. The first 20 minutes were not even comedy, they were just a poorly written parody of him at a party trying to "explain" himself to his friends. Then the next 30 minutes were just boring, especially for Kevin Hart's standards. By that time, you're checking the clock every five minutes anxious for the special to end. Finally, after that snooze fest, some great, classic Hart-humor kicks in. I'd say the last 30 minutes of the special were outstanding and make the special worth watching. That being said, the first 50 minutes hurt the experience and dragged down the rating. The laugh-to-bore ratio should be better than 3-to-5. Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2014
    0
    Painful to watch. I have a serious issue with him thinking that his set on cheating on his wife was funny. It wasn't and it makes him look like a HUGE JERK. He starts off with it so the rest I spent the rest of his set angry that people like him exist, and literally did not laugh once. This whole video should be embarrassing for him. I loved his old stuff, but I can seriously say after watching this that I am no longer a fan. The only MILDLY redeemable part of the show was at the end when he was crying about being so grateful, and I say mildly because he SHOULD HAVE BEEN GRATEFUL ENOUGH TO THE MOTHER OF HIS CHILDREN TO NOT CHEAT. I have laughed at cheating jokes before, I am not a comedy prude but he straight up said he didn't regret it and he would do it again. None of the jokes are funny when people don't like the person you are portraying yourself as. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews