User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 529 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 529

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Bakwas movie! Only reason it made 100cr+ quickly is because it was released in Eid. Salman needs to sign better films, he deserves far more better films than this 100 cr flop movies.
  2. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    7
    Kick-Ass 2 was an alright film, although it was so incredibly bizarre for a superhero film. I'd say it was just a parody, if there wasn't a comic it was based on.
  3. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    This movie clearly shows, that those "critics" on the left are clueless what the real moviefan wants to see.
    This movie was awesome, in my opinion even better than the first. The switch in the lifes of Kickass becoming a more real hero and Hitgirl trieing to get used to a more normal life is (wich comes a little short tho) is nicely written and entertaining. The final is epic and brutal.

    Action: 9
    Acting:9
    Story:8
    Badassfactor:10 (+)
    The message at the end is clear and inspiring.
    All in one: Just watch that movie if you still havent.

    Ps: sorry for the rather bad english. I tried my best to get my opinion out there *G*
    Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2014
    6
    I absolutely loved the original Kick-Ass. It was witty, brutal, humorous, and the best movies of that year. When I heard Kick-Ass 2 was going to be released, I was jumping with joy, and my expectations were high. Unfortunately, they were far from met. The second movie was filled to the brim with annoying crude humour, awful dialogue, mediocre action scenes, and cliche scenarios. Now I admit I was somewhat entertained throughout the movie, and as far as mindless action movies go, this is far from the worst. Just don't expect anything better than a mindless action movie, and certainly don't expect a movie even close to it's brilliant predecessor. Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2014
    6
    Not as good as the first one but still a bit entertaining. Some good action and violent scenes, but not nearly as many as in the first movie. Could have been way funnier than it was. It had Jim Carrey in it who is really funny so they could have added many more jokes and it would have made the movie great.
  6. Jun 17, 2014
    4
    A light-hearted comedic romp into the pseudo-super-hero genre that quickly descends into torture-porn at an alarming rate. Anybody who is this desensitised to violence to find this funny should take a serious look at their life and make changes.
  7. Jun 15, 2014
    8
    First of all I think the critics were way too harsh on this movie, I loved this movie and it's a worthy sequel to the first. Funny characters, great plot and the action was awesome. I give this move a 8 out of 10 and the first is a 9 for me.
  8. May 25, 2014
    7
    Sadly I had high hopes for this movie but after hearing that Matthew Vaughn was leaving and having Jeff Wadlow replace him i knew that the film was going to be lacking from the first installment and i was right. Story was weak but that's not really what this movie is about. The fight scenes is what we came to watch and with that this movie does deliver. Jim Carrey was great he did an awesome job i don't get why he tried to distance himself from this movie sure it's violent but at least it's better then anything he has been in a couple years. Again Chloe Moretz was the best part of this movie she is just so amazing. If you loved her in Kick-Ass then you are going to love her in this sure she isn't in her costume the whole time but if was cool seeing her in high school acting like a somewhat normal kid.

    Overall i give it a 7.0 I'll be buying it on blu ray but i don't really think ill be watching it all that much unless it starts to grow on me
    Expand
  9. May 3, 2014
    7
    Like many, I was not convinced of the commercial gimmick to make a sequel to Kick-Ass , given that the director had been entrusted to Jeff Wadlow ( director of the abomination of Never Back Down ) and that the original was already a perfect movie , without the need for any sequel.
    I am , therefore, entered the room with no expectations relatively high, but while watching I had to change
    my mind widely .
    Jeff Wadlow was able to direct a film by the incredible pace, but especially from the script fresh , modern , one with a few bumps here and there, but also with a truly enviable lightness trash .
     I am still faithful to the first chapter , which primarily on a technical level can not be higher than that , but I find it completely unfair to criticize Kick-Ass 2 only for its flaws (which are not even many) , and completely neglecting its positives .
    Surely the most unjust and ignorant criticism that is moved is that concerning the use of violence , given free of charge.
    Yes, because in the film are beaten only innocent people , not rapists or criminals who deserve all the evil of this world.
    Maybe I can share the criticism made director of Wadlow , but I find it unfair , however , it certainly is not Vaughn, but you have to admit that the action scenes are shot and battles with a good degree of accuracy without too much fuss .
    In my opinion the only flaws are the beginning of the film a bit ' too hectic , and some passages of the script, which is still very well developed . I would have also liked a more complete characterization of some characters, among them the Colonel Stars and Stripes, who has a background too skimpy and too short a stay . The work done by Jim Carrey was still great , as well as from the rest of the cast, from Aaron Johnson until you get to Chloe Moretz, who at times seems to be the real protagonist of the film.
    In conclusion , the first Kick-Ass remains inviolate , but this sequel is definitely not to be underestimated.
    Expand
  10. Apr 22, 2014
    7
    I’d not heard great things about Kick-Ass 2 prior to watching but for me it delivered pretty much what you’d expect from a sequel, namely much of the same thing. Of course that means it doesn't have the originality of the first movie, and overall it is not as entertaining or funny, but it provided a decent hour and a half of entertainment.
  11. Apr 12, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first one was awesome and funny while still acting seriously, it was really unique in terms of its premise, script and soundtrack and the fact that some of the stuff managed to shock so many people, it had great acting and really awesome action scenes, even if it had a low budget it rarely showed it. You go from that to Kick Ass 2 where it borrows from everything other movie, there is not as much gore, the acting of almost everyone was laughable - talking to you Christopher Mintz Plasse, the soundtrack was pretty lame compared to the first movie, the action sequences were average at best (mostly just boring full shots of everyone with a lot of camera shake added for "intensity"), the fact that the writing is so stupid and all over the place, any new characters added seemed to turn into stereotypes (Brooke and co' turn into the typical Queen Bees to the point of ridiculousness), and the characters from the first movie get completely changed (for the worst) Dave goes from a typical comic book nerd to a knobjock douchebag, Mindy has completely softened in terms of viciousness (say goodbye to the sadistic little girl from the 1st movie), Katie, the really nice supporting girlfriend suddenly does a face heel turn and turns into a psychotic **** and Todd (who was recast) goes from the quiet kind of dumb guy to an extremely stupid, perverted creep. And I would like to add that with the exact same budget of the first movie, the second one felt like B grade direct to dvd flick all the way through. Lazy, lazy, LAZY film making.
    Why does this happen? I really hope they tell Jeff Wadlow to get the **** out of the Director's chair for the next one (if there is one).
    Expand
  12. Mar 12, 2014
    3
    unoriginal sad redo of the same tricks of a already over done concept . Super fans ya'll need to learn to be objective just because you like it doesn't mean it's a good movie . My favorite movies are Godzilla movies and they are not filmed or acted good .
  13. Mar 8, 2014
    6
    It's not quite as good as the first, but it still offers us plenty of crude humor and violent action. The thing is they don't really combine the two elements together as well as its predecessor.
  14. Feb 21, 2014
    7
    I think the movie loses the point on whether it wants to be serious or humorous. But even though it mixes a bit of both together, it still works and the movie is still very enjoyable.
  15. Jan 21, 2014
    5
    This movie, while certainly not bad, is nowhere near as good as the comic or the original.
    Very samey feeling aesthetic and cinematography. But hey, **** it; Jim Carrey is in it, so what the hell
  16. Jan 15, 2014
    7
    Kick-Ass 2 is an insane, fun ride, even if it doesn't compare to the original, this one lacking shock value. The performances are decent, the stand-out being Chloe Grace Moretz who is one of the best young actresses working in the industry today, and the story is fun. It's easy to have a great time at Kick-Ass 2.
  17. Jan 5, 2014
    4
    La primera entrega de Kick-Ass fue muy entretenida, uno de esos proyectos que se quedan contigo y te sientes identificado por su alta gama de personajes cómicos y además es muy divertida. A todas esas personas que han sentido lo mismo que yo les digo: Ni se les ocurra ver esta segunda parte porque quedarán muy decepcionados. Está bien; lo grotesco, la violencia intensa, los personajes graciosos, los diálogos que daban risa, directamente, todo a la basura, ésta vez Kick-Ass no pudo justificar su contenido, estoy consiente que, ni siquiera Hit Girl podría salvar esta película de su atroz destino. Una decepción Expand
  18. Jan 3, 2014
    3
    Tanta expectativa em volta desse filme que fiquei decepcionado com o resultado, o primeiro foi interessante esse aqui uma humilhação para obra original.
  19. Dec 31, 2013
    7
    Kick-Ass 2 packs a serious punch it is filled to the brim with action brings back childhood dreams of one day being a superhero with just a little bit more violence then a child would imagine. Anyway if you like batman type superheros watch this movie. Unfortunately the script writers attempt at humor falls short of what you would from a movie titled Kick-Ass.
  20. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Awesome movie!! The action sequences are very well directed plus the story was amazing. All in all the movie was really a treat. I hope they come up with a sequel.
  21. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    Kick-Ass 2. The sequel to my favorite movie, Kick-Ass. Although Kick-Ass is tied with Donnie Darko. Anyways, Kick-Ass2, I expected some great things from this movie, because of how good the first movie was, but, Matthew Vaughn did not return to direct, but, he was a producer. This was a bit concerning, as I noticed that the new director was none other then Jeff Wadlow, who directed Never Back Down and Cry Wolf, both of which were pretty bad. There were more positives than negatives in this movie. I liked how they developed the relationship between Dave and Mindy, plus the introduction of 'The Motherf*cker' and 'Coronel Stars and Stripes' was pretty cool. Although this movie seemed a bit dumbed down, and much like 2 Fast 2 Furious, it feels as if they tried to do too much at once. Developing many characters and side events in a fairly short amount of time, leaving you out of breath trying to analyze everything that is happening. The main problem with this movie is that much of the comedy was replaced with profane and unnecessary violence, that takes away from the original vibe of the first movie. This seems to have been done for shock value, when really it is just gratuitous and unsettling, it is kind of a buzz kill actually. In the end, this movie was a decent sequel, that fell short from the original, but was still enjoyable, 7/10. Expand
  22. Dec 22, 2013
    8
    good movie. its funny and violent and the story is cool. It is not as good as the first one but it is still really good. if you liked kick ass 1 you will probably like kick ass 2
  23. Dec 20, 2013
    7
    Consensus: Kick-Ass 2 will never overcome its predecessor, but still entertaining, bloody, violent, funny, and full of action! MY RATING: 68/100 B- FRESH

    REVIEW: Starring Aaron Taylor Johnson, Chloe Grace Moretz and Directed by Jeff Wadlow Kick-Ass 2 was definitely one of the movies that more wait in the whole year, but then I let myself down by its low score on several websites like
    Rotten Tomatoes and Metacritic which brought down my expectations. So after a couple of months after the movie came out in theaters I decided to see it online, and I like it so much, I found it very regularly, scattered, about 10 or 15 big laughs, lots of action, gore and the end was great, because it is possible that may be a sequel. The plot is very well performed as well as the comedy, is very similar to the first film, simply just by looking at the first 5 minutes of Kick-Ass 2 to say this. So I can not say that Kick-Ass 2 is original, because it is basically still the same combination of Comedy and Action that used the first film. The performances are excellent, and funny, obviously nobody will win an Oscar but each actor gives 100%; Fits to highlight here Chloe Grace-Moretz, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, the stunningly funny Olga Kurkulina, and of course Jim Carrey that was one of the new characters that liking me more, and i have to admit that i enjoy all the that he said. Kick-Ass 2 is dutiful is a decent sequel, of course could be much better but its low budget prevented it. Has much CGI and this affects many of the action scenes and it looks a bit crappy, it's very entertaining, and at times keeps the tension and action that characterizes it. In conclusion Kick-Ass 2 never cut through the first movie, but still entertaining, bloody, action-packed and has new hilarious characters.

    NICE: All the new characters, action, bloody scenes and big laughs. It's not a masterpiece, but it's very enjoyable.

    FAIL: Unoriginal, and imitates a lot the first film, has very bad special effects and shortages a lot of the cast of the first film.

    WATCH THIS MOVIE IF... obviously you liked the first part and if you like black humor, profanity, action and the comedy which is shown in these kinds of movies.

    DON'T WATCH THIS MOVIE IS... you're very critical, boring, even if you do not like this kind of movies joke after joke, action, etc.

    Twitter: @MemoBosque Facebook: Guillermo Bosque Mendoza
    FULL REVIEW AT MY BLOG: www.MemoBosque.Blogspot.mx
    Expand
  24. Dec 13, 2013
    7
    Although it doesn't quite match up to the original Kick Ass, this sequel still keeps an excellent mix of action, bloody violence, and humour. What needs to be realised is that Kick Ass 2 is meant to be a fun movie more than a drama, although some of the lines are quite inexcusable...
  25. Dec 12, 2013
    6
    Kicks nearly as much ass as it's predecessor, but isn't quite as original. What makes it worth the watch is what made the first one good, great fight scenes and dark humor.
  26. Dec 9, 2013
    7
    I think some people don't know the style of Kick Ass and think that the movie it's so action, action and action, but in Kick Ass 2 you have a "bonus" of the first Kick-Ass, it's a very good continuation, the movie continue the story very well, but in Kick-Ass style, ahh, one thing that is important, Chloe Moretz ;D
  27. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Actually better than Kick-Ass, more heroes, more baddies! Also the plot is superb and funny! I swear I got the package witth this film! Second best sequel of 2013 (one is Despicable Me 2) 10/10
  28. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    I really dug the first film and was excited for this one. Despite hearing some bad talk about it and seeing Jim Carrey disown the film due to his own morals and ethics, I have to say I thought this movie was just as slick, cool and entertaining as the first one. It was nice to see new faces added to the world of “Kick-Ass” and it was nice seeing Aaron Taylor-Johnson get to be a bigger presence in the story (let’s face it, Hit-Girl stole the first movie). I also really dug the evolution of the characters of Kick-Ass and Hit-Girl and the hyper-violent fight and action scenes are just expected from this franchise but just as entertaining as they were the last time around. While the story got a lot darker than it did in the last movie (of course, the comic gets even darker), I still thought “Kick-Ass 2” was a great sequel to an already cool movie. Expand
  29. Dec 2, 2013
    5
    This film is decent and entertaining. The main flaw is the message that these characters are real heroes and not in a comic book and yet the action, dialogue and characters seem right out of a cartoon.
  30. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Never trusted critics, never will. Why you may ask? They are wrong on almost every aspect of what a fun movie should be, I left the theatre extremely satisfied of how awesome this truly was, a great sequel that most can't accomplish but this definitely did the job right. Characters, story, action, revenge it was all there. Only small gripe *SPOILERS* Jim Carrey a.k.a (Colonial Stars & Stripes) who was an ex mob enforcer, died a little too fast in the film even though he had such a badass role it's really a shame. Yea shaky cam these days needs to die off completely, example: (Alex cross) Please don't witness the action sequences, you won't know what the hell is going on it's just all over the place, If you know what i'm talking about then you know what I mean. But here It's great, the fight choreography was done very well there's really nothing more you can ask for, I still kinda wish the movie didn't pace as fast and instead focused a little more on character development and emotion throughout like the first since they pretty much nailed that aspect. Overall I love this movie to death even with it's short, small problems because it didn't take away the experience for me, it actually grew the more I saw it. It had it's serious/funny moments and it blended out really well, It's sort of a Dark Knight of the Kick Ass Movies if you think about it. I'll be buying this on Blu-ray first day, It will have tons of special features, also ones exclusively on Blu-ray with extended scenes, an alternative opening, and 2 hours behind the scenes like the first movie had! Bottom Line........ HIGHLY RECOMMENDED :D 10/10 Expand
  31. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    This is as real as a superhero movie can get, this is freaking awesome and I can't wait to see hit-girl and kick ass in part 3. It's time to end the series on a high note.
  32. Oct 10, 2013
    6
    I'm so torn about this. I loved the first one. But Kick Ass 2 wasn't as good as its predecessor. What annoyed me so much about Kick Ass 2 was the incredibly blatant and cringey product placement of that annoying Union J boy band. Ugh!
  33. Oct 6, 2013
    8
    A highly solid sequel that tops the original in every way and form. The action is satisfying, the humour is timed well, the plot flows well and the violence hit the sweet spot between strong and sadistic. High recommended even if you didn't really have a thing for the first movie. Brilliant.
  34. Sep 28, 2013
    5
    As a fan of the first Kick Ass movie I have to say I was a bit disappointed with Kick Ass 2. It seemed more of a "Teen Drama" then the real superhero movie the first one was. Instead of most of the movie being spent on action it's spent dealing with Hit Girl trying to fit into High School. Its just not the sequel I hoped for, and a huge let down for me.
  35. Sep 28, 2013
    4
    I absolutely loved the first Kick-Ass, but this sequel fell so flat for me. The wonderful color grading, style, and edgy material are gone this time around, and replaced with bad pacing, a horrible script, and over the top acting. I'm not saying the first one had Academy award winning performances or anything like that, but it seemed so more cliche and superhero like this time around, and I wasn't really feeling it. Jim Carry shines every time he is on the screen, and makes an amazing follow up to Nicolas Cages best performance in decades, but he probably only has 30 minutes of screen-time total. Which is a shame. And while I love Chloe Grace in almost everything she has been in, this was her weakest performance, partly due to the horrible sub plot with a bunch of air-head blonde cheerleaders. To be honest, I don't want to see this ever again. Expand
  36. Sep 27, 2013
    7
    It is still a little short but the plot is still spectacular, if it had been different would be better chelates counted first, Kick-Ass, it shows that what worked was more of Violence Movie
  37. Sep 22, 2013
    4
    Despite some brutal action scenes, this film is generally barren of the ironic twists that made the first film successful, and relies on more gag humor this time around, and a rehashed script that's been pulled off more effectively in the past.
  38. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Unlike films such as Iron Man 3, this film doesn't try to be something that it isn't, and I applaud the filmmakers for being unapologetic for the story they told. This movie is a hell of a lot of fun and builds firmly upon the spirit of its predecessor. Loved it, and really hope we get the chance to see Kick Ass 3.
  39. Sep 19, 2013
    8
    why is this got so many low rating on both rotten tomatoes and metacritic it's entertaining from start to finish the only problem is the shaky cam and the one liners ain't as good as the processor but other then that just a really entertaining summer film
  40. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    In a continued exploration of ultra violence and cartoon emotion, Kick Ass 2 leaps into action without a full sense of self awareness. Never fear, though. It manages to find itself in the second half. There's not much in the way of surprise, but you if the first film did it for you, this one has the same elements in spades.
  41. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    I was disappointed in this movie. Maybe I had it coming, I let down my guard and thought that this might be one of the rare instances a sequel does a film good. This film shouldn't be called Kick-Ass 2, it should be called Hit Girl. The entire movie revolves around her and maybe that's not such a bad thing.

    I'll admit the movie was entertaining, but the first film was more than that. In
    a weird, satirical way, it was inspiring. This movie lacked that because the main theme was overacting and over-editing. It missed the genius realism that Kick Ass held and instead gave us characters that felt cartoonish, unrealistic, and overpowered. The scene that got to me most was that of Hit Girl fighting Mother Russia, it just reminded me over and over of Kung Fu Hustle, which was a great film, but it was BUILT to be funny violence. So watch it if you can get it on DVD, or free... But it's not worth paying for. Expand
  42. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    a piece of advice for you, avoid the critics on this one. the typical movie critic will probably see 1 or 2 movies per week. now, i don't know about you, but watching the same mediocre stuff after a while will get boring. watching someone getting eaten by a shark or be disemboweled from the insides of a car by a lawnmower engine become cliches. Kick-Ass 2 is a movie for the fans purely. do not go into this movie expecting the next dark knight rises or man of steel, because it isn't. it isn't deep, it isn't complicated, and it isn't a masterpiece. and that's all the reason better to watch it and love it. the main problem with super hero movies now a days is that having the main protagonist cracking a smile is the equivalent of shooting yourself in the knee. in a world filled with dark, grit, modern, and deep, it's good to see kick-ass 2 be what it wants to be. is it gory? yes. is it morally questionable? yes. but is it these things because that's what is popular or that's what is making money? no. Kick-Ass 2 does what it wants with no restrictions. is it vulgar, bloody, gory, sick, twisted, vile, and radical. 110% radical. if you are the type of movie viewer that you can't stand it when they don't get the backgrounds of "captain stupendous"'s backstory right, you should not view this movie. if you are a fan of cult classic action, gratuitous violence, and fun, then you are welcome to a great movie Expand
  43. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    Es una película totalmente destacable, llena de risas, malas palabras y momentos de inspiración. Tiene esos puntos de inflexión que a uno casi lo hacen llorar. Recomendada 100%
  44. Sep 14, 2013
    8
    The movie is pretty average in the first half, all of that predictable stuff about teenage life, promises, giving up and so on. But later it becomes better and better. Overall not as good as the first one though. There are some new cool characters like Mother Russia or Colonel Stars and Straps. Don't know what else to say, just slightly worse than the original.
  45. Sep 11, 2013
    3
    La vibra del universo de la primera parte de esta aventura se perdió y se convirtió en una cuestión muy comercial y genérica. Por tal razón, es que al mismo tiempo le reconozco al director y escritor su conocimiento en cuanto al fluido del mercado de esta industria. Y es que lo comercial a la mayoría de las personas le agrada, pero hay que entender que es un acto poco original.
  46. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    Very odd to see such a low critic rating for such an amazing movie. Rarely do movies make you feel, laugh, sit on the edge of your seat, and make you want to re-watch it seven or eight more times. It's even debatable that this one is better than the original. It is certainly more funny, and more action packed, what critics didn't like is the lack of innovation. I thought they already innovated enough with the first one to carry over to this sequel and still make it great. Can't wait for the third. Expand
  47. Sep 10, 2013
    5
    Kick Ass was a risque superhero movie that pushed boundaries and created controversy. Kick Ass 2 tones it down and by doing so loses some of the flair that made the original as great as it was. When Dave Lisewski (Aaron Taylor Johnson) returns to his alter ego Kick Ass, he joins a new league of heroes including Colonel Stars and Stripes (Jim Carrey) and Night (Liddy Booth). Meanwhile Hit Girl (Chloe Grace Moretz) tries to fit in during high school while fighting her desire to suit back up. Kick Ass 2 is a very different monster with a similar filming approach to the first one but the characters are different, the writing isn't as sharp and Hit Girl isn't quite as impressive as she was 4 years ago. The new characters pale in comparison as Carrey's Stars and Stripes is more of a cameo than a supporting role and Night while amusing plays almost exactly the same role as Lyndsy Fonseca's from the first film (she does return for a blink and you will miss it cameo but its not the same). While not dire, Director Jeff Wadlow's idea of this world is Kick Ass Lite with toned down violence as to appear sanitized, insults that sound rude but cannot compare to the controversial and ballsy ones of the first. It's all half measures as to be safe enough to sell the film to a younger audience who probably shouldn't be seeing it. Ultimately its story is good and the film does take a few risks that really shock but its all a little late as the heart and soul of Kick Ass has been ripped out thanks to the directors odd decision. Expand
  48. Sep 10, 2013
    6
    While the violence that made the first movie so memorable is there, the charm is clearly lacking. Big Daddy is replaced with another engaging character, Colonel Stars and Stripes, who is underutilized. Hit-Girl is grown up and looks good. Kick-Ass himself has worked out and it shows. But the positives end here. The main villain is sort of funny but is not very compelling. The plot goes nowhere. The fight scenes are good but not up to the level of the first movie. The movie lacked direction. There was no overarching story that bound all the pieces together. It was a mess. Expand
  49. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    I loved this movie it was so funny and had cool action fights a adore this movie it rocked i think it was a good squeal witch was just as good or better
  50. Sep 9, 2013
    8
    Not sure why the critics bash this movie so much. Of course it lacked the awesome surprise element of the first movie, but it was a consequential evolution of the story line, hit girl was still awesome, and I was greatly entertained!
  51. Sep 8, 2013
    7
    ACTION: 8/10 Unsurprisingly violent and well filmed
    STORY: 6/10 Pretty much the same as the comics, which isn't great
    JOKES: 7/10 Most are decent but having CGI vomit and isn't funny, neither is rape
    ACTING: 7/10 Apart from the main leads a lot of the cast don't seem to into it.
    OVERALL: The movie is OK, but don't expect it to be nearly as good as the first.
  52. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    Kick-Ass 2 may be disappointing to some, but it was never going to be as good as the first movie. Never at any point was I bored and even if some scenes were cheesy (and one disgusting) it's still a very good film. Mainly because of the brilliant cast especially Christopher Mintz Plasse as The Mother F*cker.
  53. Sep 7, 2013
    8
    Recently saw this in the Cinema, had high expectations as the first one was brilliant, it was good, but not as good as its predecessor. a positive point is that it doesn't take itself too seriously, very fun and a good laugh, worth a watch.
  54. Sep 5, 2013
    4
    The first film is far superior to this one. On this one they dropped the ball big time.
    Poorly plotted and written. Far too many lengthy speeches from heroes declaring their ideals about being heroes. Sounded like a hero recruitment ad. It very loosely follows the graphic novel, but shifts to a completely different ending.
    Also the humor was the typical teen aged brain dead sort which
    you can see coming a mile away.
    Stick to the first film which was of high cult status.
    Expand
  55. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    I really don't understand where the critics are coming from with this one. How on earth did 1Direction (or however the hell you spell it) get a better score than this movie. That is just so unreal. Sure there were a couple flaws here and there and like ONE thing that I didn't particular feel was executed the right way. But the story was a good adaptation, and I love the improvising aspects of taking the artistic liberty to deal with Hit Girl/Mindy's obviously matured person. The fight scenes shut up, Angry Joe! were good. I had no complaints and actually enjoyed that they looked more realistic than the first one that was more artistically choreographed. I had no complaints and thought that this movie was made very smartly, considering what they had to adapt from. Thumbs up on my end. Expand
  56. Sep 5, 2013
    8
    I would have to say that I loved the original Kick-Ass and I thoroughly enjoyed the sequel. I thought it was very well done. I just miss Nicolas Cage. He was such a lunatic and way better then the new leader of the pack.
  57. Sep 3, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Awash in a summer of sequels and comic book movies comes Kick-Ass 2, sequel to the well received cult classic of three years ago. But where Man of Steel or The Wolverine take themselves seriously Kick-Ass offers something of a deconstruction of the superhero genre, whilst fulfilling every comic book fan's fantasy of donning a costume and taking to the streets.

    The vast majority of the cast return, Aaron Taylor-Johnson topping the bill as Kick-Ass himself, though looking a little too old to play a high school senior. Though he ostensibly holds the title role, Kick-Ass takes a back seat to the continuing development of breakout character Hit Girl (Chloë Grace Moretz), who after vowing to hang up the cape after her father's death, must now become plain old Mindy MacReady and deal with the trials and tribulations of puberty and fitting in at high school.

    Christopher Mintz-Plasse, returns as Chris D'Amico, who is pushed over the edge fairly quickly, first by the death of his mother, who meets her demise in a manner more befitting a Final Destination film than a supposedly light-hearted superhero flick. But that's not really what Kick-Ass is. It's lewd, crude, and graphically violent, and the worst is still ahead. There's something disturbing about a teenager dressing up in his deceased mother's bondage gear, especially considering the moniker he swiftly adopts. It's all played for laughs, of course, but perhaps it highlights just how unhinged and lost the character has become.

    The next ultimatum is delivered by D'Amico's Uncle Ralph, who has become the new head of the crime family. Still in prison, he steals his only scene with all the ruthlessness of The Sopranos' Richie Aprile. In retaliation, D'Amico ups his game, using his financial status to hire a motley crew of mercenaries: MMA fighters, Triads, and ex-KGB. D'Amico gives new monikers to his villainous team: a series of racist stereotypes which he defends as "archetypes".

    The protagonists are likable, and you are concerned for their survival, but the butchering of otherwise despicable goons is grim enough to stay the unconditional rooting for the good guys. The brutal massacre of ten New York police officers by a six foot Russian cannibal was particularly unpleasant. I'm not sure anyone in the cinema was laughing along with the comically fast paced Russian national anthem that played throughout. This is not an abject condemnation of violence in film. Tarantino's great, it's easy to sit through Django Unchained or Pulp Fiction, and many a plot has been moved forward when the death of a character ups the ante. There was just something about this film's attitude that did not resonate.

    This is all true to the source material, and the comics go much further in the sadistic displays committed by some characters. The comic is sold on the back of sickening violence and crude language, and that's just the way the fans like it. They've even complained that the original story's integrity has been diminished by these omissions.

    The narrative is split between the three leads, and Kick-Ass, looking to get back on the streets, joins a league of superheroes calling themselves "Justice Forever". They are led by Colonel Stars & Stripes, in a fantastic turn by Jim Carrey. Unfortunately, the film suffers from a character dump at this point in the form of the bland members of "Justice Forever", all of whom are utterly eclipsed by Carrey.

    Hit Girl spends most of her arc locked in a generic high school movie. Treading the water at a saccharine slumber party, popular queen Brooke at first takes Mindy under her wing; exposing her to the heady delights of British pop music. The tide swiftly turns when a nervous Mindy uses her Hit Girl skills to unintentionally upstage Brooke at a dance try out, resulting in a disproportionate retribution of soul destroying (for a teenage girl) proportions. Brooke is treated to a crude comeuppance that seems weirdly out of place. Yet this high school coming of age story, whilst reasonably well crafted on its own, seems like small potatoes compared to the extremity of the other challenges faced, and is diminished as a result.

    I'm not a huge follower of comic books in general, but I enjoy the aesthetic, and in this, Kick-Ass holds true, with its bright colours, fast paced action, and satisfyingly euphoric soundtrack. Scene changes are greeted with comic book style panel inserts ("Later that day…") and a scene involving a Chinese prostitution ring is cleverly subtitled using speech bubbles.

    Perhaps I misunderstand the appeal of Kick-Ass. Maybe I do, and it's just not for me. The original, violent and thoroughly enjoyable film stirred none of these sentiments. You can't expect two films called Kill Bill to end without someone called Bill biting the bullet, and you can't expect to watch a film called Kick-Ass (or even Kick-Ass 2) without some asses getting kicked.
    Expand
  58. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    While it was hard to ignore some of the cheesy lines, this movie managed to capture my attention the whole way. What a great cast. It was an all-round hilarious movie.
  59. Sep 2, 2013
    3
    Half-ass 2 should be the name of this horrible sequel. A huge fan of Kick-Ass I went in with the lowest expectations possible off the crappy trailer. The only thing worth seeing this for is Jim Carey. His very limited screen time was the only thing that kept my interest. Steer clear of this one.
  60. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    Amazing,brutal humor,one moment i was laughing on floor and oder i was almost crying, awsome script, perfect villians (esspecialy mother russia) i hope there will be kick-ass 3
  61. Sep 1, 2013
    5
    The sequel was never going to be as good as the original, but I didn't expected to be this flimsy and quite frankly embarrassing at times. Far too many inspirational speeches etc. and not enough genuinely cool moments, the kind that covered Kick-Ass 1 like a very welcome rash. A poor return to the series that has its moments, more bad than good, unfortunately.
  62. Sep 1, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love Kick-Ass it was vulgar, violent, and original with a good director in Matthew Vaughn. Unfortunately this is a bad sequel that is terribly paced with to much shaky cam and some really awful scenes involving vomit and the potential raping of a woman. A big disappointment. D+ Expand
  63. Sep 1, 2013
    5
    Every aspect of the film is a bit more extreme than you expect it to be, but that's exactly what it's going for. I simply don't think it's much better than the first film, which didn't particularly thrill me.
  64. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kick-Ass 2 was such a fantastic movie, watched it five times already and going to see it again tomorrow, it was so good that I can't stay away, some things were very unexpected and such a great ending. The fights were so intense that my heart was beating so fast, I'm not a very action person but this was just on another level, it wasn't constantly fighting, there was a story behind it and that is what I love. There was some funny parts, sad parts and just breathtaking parts, it was constantly leaving me on the edge as I just didn't know what to expect. There was scenes where I felt like shouting at the screen but then it took me by surprise. Such a brilliant film, cannot wait for it to be released on dvd as will be watching time and time again. Expand
  65. Aug 31, 2013
    5
    For a movie called kick ass, it is pretty average. The reason why it is average is because very large sections of the movie are taken up by trivial teenage/family/friend issues and it is kind of slow and boring. In addition, this kind of leads to a lack of action scenes and it does not necessarily help define the villains in the film either. What I liked about the movie were the scenes involving the justice forever team and Jim Carrey added a lot to that as well. In conclusion, there are things to like about this movie, but there are too many unnecessary slow parts (no action) and it is why it is difficult to say that this movie is kick ass. Expand
  66. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a good squeal, not as good or hard hitting then the first one, and im kinda pissed about the ending of the movie with Mindy and Dave kissing, really didn't seem necessary because i believed that the relationship between Mindy and Dave seemed more like a brother sister thing, in fact that is what i kinda wanted it to be, also i didn't like the fact that they kept the Dog Decapitation out of the film for i believe that moment in the comic book was hard hitting, overall Kick Ass 2 is a great squeal not as good as the first yet still accomplices and has the same feel as the original movie. Expand
  67. Aug 29, 2013
    3
    The original Kick-Ass was new, funny and original. Kick-Ass 2 is the same old stuff from the first one. Boring and to be honest, not that funny. It seems as if the writers ran out of material and just decided to kill everyone. It's predictable and a waste of time.
  68. Aug 29, 2013
    7
    Although I'm a huge fan of all things Mark Millar, I went in to the show with fairly low expectations. Which was probably for the best. Kick-Ass 2 does a much better job at following the comic books than the first film did and at the same time filling in the plot holes the first created. The parts that were left out are understandably so, i.e. the rape of Kick-Ass's "girlfriend." Overall I was fairly surprised with the movie as a whole and would recommend seeing it if you enjoyed the first one. If the first one didn't float your boat don't expect this one to. Expand
  69. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    I think that they could have left out some of the parts dealing with Hit-Girl and trying to be normal but other than that, it was an excellent film. I absolutely loved it and I will probably watch it a million times more when it comes out on DVD/Blu Ray. I went and say it with a bunch of my friend and we all loved it.
  70. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    I'm a big fan of the first Kick-Ass and to say that this was an improvement on that one is quite big! More Action, more characters and more entertaining; everything was improved and the end result was one very impressive sequel! The young talents of both Aaron & Chloë are amazing and they lead this film, but its also the characters that make the film what it is. It's also still quite violent for a film that seems aimed at teenagers. Overall highly impressive and well worth checking out! Expand
  71. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    I've noticed that in most cases, critics give poor scores to movies/games deserving good scores and they give good scores to movies/games deserving poor scores. Basically, whatever the critics say, expect the opposite. Kickass 2 was a brilliant successor to Kickass. It was the "good" wanna-be's vs the "bad" wanna-be's which is exactly what I was hoping it would be. The only thing that threw me off was the disappearance of Kickass' girlfriend. She was never really mentioned in this film. Expand
  72. Aug 27, 2013
    3
    The attack of the hollywood sequel strikes again. Not sure if it was blind luck the first time around but I have watched the original a dozen times. One of my favorite movies. Kick Ass 2 is an absolute failure from beginning to end. How they could sully the spirit of the first film with such a pathetic follow up is beyond me. The person who wrote this movie should never get work again. Not sure what all these glowing reviews are about. Starting to wonder if these are paid shill reviews. Noone could have possibly liked the movie that much. Expand
  73. Aug 26, 2013
    5
    I was expecting more of a comedy (based on previews) and what I got was actually a really violent movie with a pretty weak story. Obviously they try to be "stupid" with the story as if it supposed to be part of the comedy act but it really isn't funny at all... I did laugh a few times but overall was weak. The characters are decent enough but the movie falls flat. I say pass until it's done with theaters. Expand
  74. Aug 26, 2013
    8
    After watching "Kick-Ass 2", you begin to realize how much this franchise is making it's own rules, deviating from source material isn't necessary uncommon traits in superhero flicks, but for as silly as this franchise gets I'm still having a very fun time.

    One of the biggest so on so charms, coming back to this series, is to see how these actors careers have flourished extraordinary
    well in such a short 3 years and how much that shows no one else really could play these characters. With the addition of Jim Carrey perfectly casted, all these heavy hitters really come back and hit hard in their own kooky style.

    Serious themes of revenge came across wonderfully cartoonish, the violence really pushed the 15 rating to its limit, to an extent where I would say beware who "should" see this, but thankfully it never gets to the level of violence in its comic counterpart.

    All in all I really enjoyed it, it's hard to go to such serious depth with these kinds of movies, and I really wish not to write a list trying to justify violence, or what makes this a superior sequel, something ultimately just works.

    Final Verdict: It's not high art, It's not utter garbage, It's just very self aware comic fun, and that isn't exactly a bad thing, If that's what you're after your in for a treat 8/10.
    Expand
  75. Aug 26, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was pretty good, but it showed unnecessary violence. A Russian she-male lawnmows a guys head off. That's pretty violent. Lots of cussing. It's not that funny, either. Expand
  76. Aug 25, 2013
    2
    A film in the category "Unnecessary continuations".
    The actors carry the lousy film on her slender shoulders and have to resist the bad script and the story grottigen. But they lose the fight and try to save even one of the worst films of the year.
    Mission failed.
  77. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    The movie was hilarious, Had really good action and was surprisingly also very emotional. The plot was very... different compared to the first movie But the acting was great and the movie was a blast to watch.
  78. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. KICK ASS 2 Review. (spoilers) by megafish
    “try to have fun otherwise what’s the point. wise word that fit with this movie,
    Im rating each character
    Music reused from previous movie but some new songs like I hate myself for lovin you! ,when the saints go marching,
    Characters :same actors but have gotten older so they feel different but I still like them ,
    Team Justice forever:
    Kick ass felt like he was saying lines directly from the comic, HE IS RIPPED!! ***
    Jim carry great character deranged yeah there’s a dog on your balls! “try to have fun otherwise what’s the point.”****
    Eisenhower the dog on your balls. I honestly wouldn’t have minded if they had of killed the dog but maybe it would have changed everything, I love when mofo says “im not that evil!” when some one asks him if he wants to kill the dog. !!***
    Hit girl very important and more deeper still great acting I saw worried about her character being a victim but it was cool I love how they had the moter bike scene from the prequel comic of hit girl when she and Marcus race each other to the house !!*****
    Insect man no mask open homosexual reminded me of the blue power ranger because he was ridiculed for being gay but insect man gets acceptance ***
    Action guy he was a nice edition and played out the same as in the comic ****
    Night I like how she had a fling with kick ass and that made more sense for mofo to kill her she looks better in the movie, *****
    Other:
    Katie protected from being attacked. But instantly breaks up with dave because of hitgirl ,**
    Marcus was interesting considering mindy’s mother was dead in the movie. ***
    Daves dad also exactly taken from the comic
    Villains: toxic mega *****
    Mother**er great new costume some funny lines way darker occasional voice change that reminds me of Eddie killbane prior from saints row 3 I was dreading when he attacks night (not Katie- like in the comic but thankfully it was softer, ****
    Mother Russia I was hoping they’d cut her head off, she looked cooler in the movie, ***
    Scenes: hit girl on the van, expanded ,
    The last battle felt a little messy and was premature in the comic kick ass and hit girl go to the lair and fight goons and later the big battle in the centre of the city blowing up comic shops ,
    The comic more violent and sexual ***
    The movie still violent not sexually violent ****
    Note: atomic commix wasn’t init ,
    they put posters from comics made by the writer of the comic mark Millar like American Jesus and superior ,
    It wasn’t as fresh as the original but I liked it ****stars!!!!
    Expand
  79. Aug 22, 2013
    8
    This is critically a bad film... that's because critics are just a bunch of stuck-up w*****s who can't handle a little crudeness. Yes this film is crude, but for a film entitled Kick-ass, what do you expect.
    This film is funny, action packed and full of this years coolest movie characters. This film isn't perfect but it sure isn't bad, it's one of the very films I've seen in a while that
    I've enjoyed. Expand
  80. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    This Movie is not Overrated its Underrated.. I mean how many movies do you get which have a perfect blend f humor, action, murder, superhero I think you Get it.

    Some people here and not only here in every country go crazy over this movie (IN a negative way) even professional critics seem by crazy opinion. Take my word for it, THE MOVIE ROCKS
  81. Aug 22, 2013
    4
    Kick-Ass 2...Sucked Ass. Kick-Ass 2 has a whole new creative team from the first film! And you can tell...The film tries to emulate what made the first movie so good but fails in almost every aspect. I can't say that I down right hate the movie. Of course there many things about the movie that I liked but a lot more that I hated. The thing that bothered me the most was the whole "mean girls" story arch with Hit-Girl, it just didn't work and didn't fit in. It's almost like the creative team glanced at the first movie and said that was Kick-Ass. From what I saw they just don't understand what made the first movie so good. But I will be optimistic and hope that they boot Jeff Wadlow from the directors chair and get somebody who can actually make a movie for Kick-Ass 3. Jeff Wadlow is a hack-fraud... Expand
  82. Aug 21, 2013
    7
    I'll start by saying I enjoyed this one more than the first and I was a big fan of the first. The story isn't as strong as the first, but it's also not bad. The action and humor is even better which wasn't to be expected. Kickass 2 is pure entertainment. If you enjoyed the first then you will love this one. Give it a shot, you won't be disappointed, the critics are wrong on this one (like usual) so don't pay any attention to them. 7.5/10 Expand
  83. GFC
    Aug 21, 2013
    10
    This movie was fantastic! I was a huge fan of the first Kick-Ass movie and when I first heard the rumors of Kick-Ass 2 Balls To the Wall I was excited. The acting was great especially from The Kick-Ass himself seems like a better hero than he ever was before and Hit Girl is still a bad ass. Jim Carreys performance was great but he wasn't in the movie enough. I'd say he had twenty minutes of screen time which was a big disappointment. A big problem with this movie is that they entered so many new characters but they never had any character progression. But even with that you don't even notice it.

    Just a quick message I would like to see the final Kick-Ass movie come out so please support the movie by buying it instead of pirating it online.
    Expand
  84. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    This movie was amazing best movie ive seen all year what are these critics thinking saying that its one of the worst movies this movie was amazing Just as amazing as the first one
  85. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    I thought the first Kick ass film was good.

    Kick ass 2 is much better, its funny, heartbreaking, serious, violent and has lots of new characters. I cant remember the last time i enjoyed a film as much as this.

    I was humming with laughter for the first half then had tears in my eyes for the second half which is more serious. This film is great entertainment, it thrilled me, it excited
    me, it made me laugh and it made me cry with laughter and in genuine heartfelt grief.

    Note: i watched it on a 15 certificate in the UK, this film should be an 18.
    Expand
  86. Aug 21, 2013
    8
    Fun popcorn film. Not necessarily as good as the first Kick Ass, but that was a hella-good movie and hard to equal.

    Well worth the ticket price and a good time.

    Wish they would have shown that photo of Nick Cage a few more times.
  87. Aug 21, 2013
    8
    no reason why critics should be bashing it this hard. just another man of steel. critics are seriously just stupid and bitter these days, you cant trust them anymore. just watch it for yourself so you can see what these idiots are talking about.

    the movie is great, not as good as the first one but still great, jim carrey outshines everyone when he's in a scene. when its bad, its really
    really bad (sickstick) but when its good, its awesome. Expand
  88. Aug 21, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kick-Ass 2 might be worth the 9 bucks to see. It's an occasionally enjoyable ~2 hours. This being said, it falls so flat as anything other than a slightly more "adult" run-of-the-mill superhero film. I know that comparing a movie to written source material is unfair, but what is lost in the transition from comic to screen is astounding. Gone is the gruesome, horrifying critic of superhero worship and the glorification of violence. This movie, rather, is a checklist of hero movie cliches, poorly filmed action sequences "bad-ass" one liners, and the complete lack of emotional depth from any source save perhaps Chloe Moretz's performance as Hit Girl/Mindy. What little lethality is on display is completely lost in the final scene, wherein a clash between two masked armies in a warehouse comes off more as a West Side Story dance fight than the logical conclusion of 90 minutes of gunfights, stabbings, and brutal beatings.

    I digress, though. The worst part of this movie is not that it's generic. The worst part of this movie is the absolute ham handed way that the more adult themes are handled. Violence is made to be applauded and glorified while being so cartoon-ish that it's almost distracting. Women characters, with the notable exception of Hit-Girl, are used as romantic props and tiresome cliches rather than characters of actual depth. The home invasion, attempted rape, and subsequent beating of one female character is played for comedic effect.

    Kick-Ass was meant to be a heart-wrenching commentary on the sacrifice of heroism, the cold reality of violence, and the immaturity of superhero worship. It's also a story of good triumphing over evil, despite all. Somewhere along in production, the former was lost in favor of bolstering the latter. Whether it was a conscious decision on the part of those who funded the movie or a failure on the part of those who created it, I'm not sure, but you, the audience, have been robbed.
    Expand
  89. Aug 21, 2013
    6
    No where near as original as the first. This movie suffered from not knowing what it wanted to be. A mindless fun action movie? Or a meaningful movie with a cast that people cared about. It failed at the latter.
    But in saying that I am not denying that I did enjoy seeing this movie. It was good as a mindless action movie.
  90. Aug 20, 2013
    7
    Kick-Ass 2 is a very good movie but it fails to capture the essence of the first film. The first movie was successful for two main reasons. For one, the brutality and in-your-face factor was incredibly high and created a certain "shock and awe" that left a lasting impression on the audience. The second was the film's refreshing take on the superhero concept. Both of these elements were either lost or severely diminished in this sequel. To cover the shock and awe, it just didn't have it. There were nowhere near as many scenes that made your peel away and get engaged at the same time. I think a big reason for this was the diminished role of Hit Girl. That's not to say that Chloe Grace Moretz' character, Mindy Macready, doesn't get appropriate screen time. If anything, the opposite is true. At times it almost felt as though she was the main character and the driving force of the film. The problem is that Mindy Macready, though Moretz is a fantastic young actress, is not refreshing or profane enough to deliver the effect Hit Girl does. As for the superhero perspective, while the first film felt refreshing, this film almost felt "spoofy" at times. In both cases, I think the directorial and screenplay change from the first film are at fault. Jeff Wadlow clearly had a different vision than many fans, including myself. One last negative, I hated the break in continuity from the movies by changing two characters, albeit they are fairly minor. Detective Marcus Williams (the black cop and friend of Big Daddy who becomes Mindy's care-taker at the end of the first film) and Todd (the less-important friend of Dave) are both played by different actors and neither feels right. Overall though, I hope it doesn't sound like I didn't enjoy this film. Moretz was amazing and Aaron Taylor-Johnson and Christopher Mintz-Plasse both do adequate jobs in the more tradition protagonist and antagonist roles, respectively. The action was really cool and the plot had tons of potential and largely lived up to it with the exception of the aforementioned flaws, in my opinion. If you loved the first film, you'll still probably enjoy this one quite a bit. If you found the first movie offensive, that feeling will not change here. Expand
  91. Aug 20, 2013
    8
    the movie is funny as hell, I never see so people laughing every second, me and my friends laughed all the movie, the movie isn't an improvement from the first one in story sure. but the so many funny part,
    the great characters and the action parts making this movie very good. so suck the critics go and see this movies, ohhhhhhh and yes you got dog on your bolas. lol you will understand
    it when you will see the movie Expand
  92. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    After the movie, i went home and watched the first part for the 10-th time, so, it's a great sequel of a great film. Can't wait for Kick-Ass 3, hope to see it soon
  93. Aug 20, 2013
    4
    Kick Ass 2 is riddled with problems. The core of these problems is director Jeff Wadlow, who clearly does not know how to shoot an action sequence. All the action in this movie looks bad and is filmed with shaky cam, compared to the smooth originals of the first. Overall just an utter disappointment.
  94. Aug 20, 2013
    0
    Worst, non-superhero EVER!!! Movie about annoying teenagers doing bad,bad tricks, and trying to act like adults, the girls is pretty hot tought (I´m 15 lol), still it´s dreadful movie
  95. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    This is a great movie, I like it so much, you people have to see this one. Is nothing wrong with this movie, is no the best movie of the year but is excting.
  96. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    The first Kick-Ass told the story of what will happen if you choose to put on a costume and fight crime, it was a realistic version of a superhero story and those were the reasons why I loved the first Kick-Ass. So I was really excited for the sequel, the movie was really good but don't expect it to be better than it's predecessor. The shows that Kick-Ass and Hit-Girl have started a revolution, there were a lot of superheroes popping out and some of those heroes, are joining the team that was formed by Jim Carrey's character. Kick-Ass joins his team and they started to clean the streets but unfortunately Christopher-Mintz-Plasse is still pissed at Kick-ass for what he did to his dad and decides to create his own army. Aaron Johnson is still good at playing his character and he was also good with the dramatic scenes. Jim Carrey was good as well even though he didn't like this movie but he should be proud of himself for playing an awesome character. Christoper-Mintz-Plasse was also good on playing the villain, but the one that always steals the show like with the first movie is Chloe Moretz. She was really good on the dramatic and action sequences and she always steals the show in every scene that she's in. The action scenes were good but some overused shakey cam and I still don't know why they used that thing. The movie was a bit rushed and that's why some dramatic scenes didn't work for me. Kick-Ass 2 was still a good movie but not better than the first one, I am going to give Kick-Ass 2 a 9/10. Expand
  97. Aug 19, 2013
    5
    Jeff Wadlow decided to take a different approach than the first Kick-Ass, and he made a terrible mistake. The dialog in this movie an absolute disaster, plot is stupid, action & acting is alright. There are couple of funny joke, which isn't enough. Also unnecessary violance all over the place. So, it's a huge disappointment
  98. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    There are so many things I'd like to say about this movie that I'm finding it difficult to choose what to begin this review with. Let's start saying that Kick-Ass is my favourite movie ever. A precious jewel of wit and originality, like no other movies. So I was truly worried, I feared that this sequel would disappoint me.
  99. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kick-Ass 2 is an action film of 2013 directed by Jeff Wadlow (Never Back Down) with Chloe Grace Moretz, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Christopher Mintz-Plasse and Jim Carrey.
    After defeating Frank D'amico, Mindy and Dave try to live like normal people in high school but Priam can not be comfortable and prefers to remain vigilant on the streets in the guise of Hit-Girl and the other, tired of monotony of their lives as normal teenager, initially decides to join the team with Mindy but after the latter retires, Kick-Ass decides to become a part of the Justice Forever commanded by Colonel Stars and Stripes (Jim Carrey). Meanwhile, Chris D'Amico, in revenge for the death of his father, he decides to become the first super villain of the story with the name of and to enlist the criminals in his gang.
    In comparison to other sequel, Kick-Ass 2 does not disappoint and is proving an excellent film. Wadlow's direction is not the same level of Vaughn but it can boast of being able to do the choreography really spectacular (especially when fighting Hit-Girl) and manage well the crowd scenes (the final battle). The main focus of this film is Chloe Moretz and the psychological relationship Mindy Hit-Girl. Also excellent in the role that improves Johnson of Kick-Ass, Mintz-Plasse who with his manages to entertain a lot and Jim Carrey who always manages to leave a mark. Also note the great fidelity to the original comic although the most violent scenes have been removed.
    Expand
  100. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    If you were a fan of the comicbook series, be aware of the fact that the violence is not as prevalent in the film translation, also there's a mildly awkward love story between two characters.

    If you were a fan of the first film SEE THIS ONE. I wasn't a fan of the first one, and all the issues I had with the first one were pretty much fixed in the second. My friends that liked the first
    one left being happy with the film. Expand
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Ali Arikan
    Aug 16, 2013
    0
    One of the year's worst films.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Aug 15, 2013
    38
    Kick-Ass 2 is an uninspired retread. All too often it plays like a Comic-Con gone insane, with costumed do-gooders taking on costumed criminals in gratuitously vicious battles.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Aug 15, 2013
    50
    Moretz, who is 16 now, can't manufacture the same that's-so-wrong jolt she managed the first time around. Back then, it was hilariously taboo to see a little girl spout arias of profanity. Now, she's just another teenager swearing. Like the rest of the film, what was once shocking now just elicits a shrug.