Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 593 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After Kick-Ass' insane bravery inspires a new wave of self-made masked crusaders, led by the badass Colonel Stars and Stripes, our hero joins them on patrol. When these amateur superheroes are hunted down by Red Mist -- reborn as The Mother F%&*^r -- only the blade-wielding Hit Girl canAfter Kick-Ass' insane bravery inspires a new wave of self-made masked crusaders, led by the badass Colonel Stars and Stripes, our hero joins them on patrol. When these amateur superheroes are hunted down by Red Mist -- reborn as The Mother F%&*^r -- only the blade-wielding Hit Girl can prevent their annihilation. When we last saw junior assassin Hit Girl and young vigilante Kick-Ass, they were trying to live as normal teenagers Mindy and Dave. With graduation looming and uncertain what to do, Dave decides to start the world's first superhero team with Mindy. Unfortunately, when Mindy is busted for sneaking out as Hit Girl, she's forced to retire-leaving her to navigate the terrifying world of high-school mean girls on her own. With no one left to turn to, Dave joins forces with Justice Forever, run by a born-again ex-mobster named Colonel Stars and Stripes. Just as they start to make a real difference on the streets, the world's first super villain, The Mother F%&*^r, assembles his own evil league and puts a plan in motion to make Kick-Ass and Hit Girl pay for what they did to his dad. But there's only one problem with his scheme: If you mess with one member of Justice Forever, you mess with them all. Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Aug 14, 2013
    70
    The film delivers almost exactly what fans of the first installment are hoping for.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 15, 2013
    63
    Tone isn't the movie's sole problem. There's something off-putting about Christopher Mitz-Plasse as the chief bad guy.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Risley
    Aug 12, 2013
    60
    A fun if sporadically schizoid return to one of the brighter, brasher comic-bookers of recent years.
  4. 50
    That makes Kick Ass 2 more sour than sweet, a movie that jokes about comic book fanboys but stops short of mocking them the way the first film did.
  5. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Aug 14, 2013
    50
    Even with its edges sanded down, Kick-Ass 2 is unmistakably Millaresque — a juvenile comedy of excess, in which skewering adolescent power fantasies looks an awful lot like indulging in them.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Aug 15, 2013
    38
    Kick-Ass 2 is an uninspired retread. All too often it plays like a Comic-Con gone insane, with costumed do-gooders taking on costumed criminals in gratuitously vicious battles.
  7. Reviewed by: Ali Arikan
    Aug 16, 2013
    0
    One of the year's worst films.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 149
  2. Negative: 17 out of 149
  1. LTR
    Aug 16, 2013
    10
    This movie is AMAZING!The story is great,the characters are funny and in some points very serious.If you want to have a movie that has ll inThis movie is AMAZING!The story is great,the characters are funny and in some points very serious.If you want to have a movie that has ll in one package,watch this movie. Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    There are so many things I'd like to say about this movie that I'm finding it difficult to choose what to begin this review with. Let's startThere are so many things I'd like to say about this movie that I'm finding it difficult to choose what to begin this review with. Let's start saying that Kick-Ass is my favourite movie ever. A precious jewel of wit and originality, like no other movies. So I was truly worried, I feared that this sequel would disappoint me. Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2014
    9
    Just as good as the first film to be honest. Although this film feels a little rushed with some characters being hard to get attached to, IJust as good as the first film to be honest. Although this film feels a little rushed with some characters being hard to get attached to, I personally really like this film. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a good squeal, not as good or hard hitting then the first one, and im kinda pissed about the ending of the movie with Mindy and Dave kissing, really didn't seem necessary because i believed that the relationship between Mindy and Dave seemed more like a brother sister thing, in fact that is what i kinda wanted it to be, also i didn't like the fact that they kept the Dog Decapitation out of the film for i believe that moment in the comic book was hard hitting, overall Kick Ass 2 is a great squeal not as good as the first yet still accomplices and has the same feel as the original movie. Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    7
    Overall, Kick-Ass 2 is a “good” but not “great” followup to Vaughn’s surprisingly smart, stylish and witty original. The sequel will be moreOverall, Kick-Ass 2 is a “good” but not “great” followup to Vaughn’s surprisingly smart, stylish and witty original. The sequel will be more enjoyable for those fans wanting to revisit the world and characters for another romp through a twisted version of the DC and Marvel comic book universes but beyond that, all you’re getting is a standard action film with a B-movie feel. If it wasn’t Kick-Ass or Hit-Girl headlining, there would likely be little excitement and even less payoff from the Kick-Ass 2 experience. Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2013
    5
    As a fan of the first Kick Ass movie I have to say I was a bit disappointed with Kick Ass 2. It seemed more of a "Teen Drama" then the realAs a fan of the first Kick Ass movie I have to say I was a bit disappointed with Kick Ass 2. It seemed more of a "Teen Drama" then the real superhero movie the first one was. Instead of most of the movie being spent on action it's spent dealing with Hit Girl trying to fit into High School. Its just not the sequel I hoped for, and a huge let down for me. Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2013
    0
    Worst, non-superhero EVER!!! Movie about annoying teenagers doing bad,bad tricks, and trying to act like adults, the girls is pretty hotWorst, non-superhero EVER!!! Movie about annoying teenagers doing bad,bad tricks, and trying to act like adults, the girls is pretty hot tought (I´m 15 lol), still it´s dreadful movie Expand

See all 149 User Reviews

Trailers